Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,808 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

In general on dairy farms etc how are ye finding size of first cuts compared to other years?......has late spring left ye short??

Yield back about 30% but quality will be excellent,second cut absolutely flying weather came near perfect for it so far.3 k gallons of slurry went on with trailing shoe 2 days after harvest then bag and a half of pasture sward and topped up this week with a bag of asn.hoping to cut week before August bank holiday just in time for a few days at the Galway races!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Yield back about 30% but quality will be excellent,second cut absolutely flying weather came near perfect for it so far.3 k gallons of slurry went on with trailing shoe 2 days after harvest then bag and a half of pasture sward and topped up this week with a bag of asn.hoping to cut week before August bank holiday just in time for a few days at the Galway races!!
    Second cut flying we spread ASN topup last week looking at end of July if we get rain if nit we may have to take sooner to reduce sr by getting this land back grazing again.

We have only had 350mm rain so far this year and some of our ground is showing drought stress. We have covers of 900 showing seed heads:eek: It's better than lst yer though;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

delaval wrote: »
    We have only had 350mm rain so far this year and some of our ground is showing drought stress.
    Do you measure it?

just do it wrote: »
    Do you measure it?

Ha ha! My neighbour does and we were chatting about the need for rain today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭stanflt

Just in from walking crops- think ill knock 60 acres second cut tomorrow

35 acres that I left cattle on to eat around ditches is around 10 days behind

Think there's a good start to the week coming

stanflt wrote: »
    Just in from walking crops- think ill knock 60 acres second cut tomorrow

35 acres that I left cattle on to eat around ditches is around 10 days behind

Think there's a good start to the week coming
    Is it second cut or another piece of first cut?

Second cut

Second cut
    Must be lovely stuff. Is there 3000 on it? I must be doing something wrong as I cut the same time as you and ours won't be reeady for a whil yet

That would only be four tonne fresh per acre- there is more like 7-8 tonne @ 30dm fresh weight

It's very hard to measure covers over 2000 correctly

That would only be four tonne fresh per acre- there is more like 7-8 tonne @ 30dm fresh weight

It's very hard to measure covers over 2000 correctly
    You need a couple of dry days and I need a few wet ones, just can't please us:rolleyes::rolleyes:

We've had fantastic growing conditions- got enough rain last week followed by three or four scorchers- it was wet yesterday evening but not enough to make muck- three days to cut ted and spread compound and it can rain like hell after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 galway_dude24

Just finishing first cut today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Another 25 acres in today, last of the 1st cut. Will feed that to the drycows, another 40acres 2nd cut should be ready in august. Anyone hazard a guess what the dmd of 2nd cut will be? Mostly new swards. Does 2nd cut dmd follow a similar trend to 1st cut, ie does the dmd fall off a cliff when it bulks out, or is it a case of its growing slower, so wider window to get it cut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Timmaay wrote: »
    Another 25 acres in today, last of the 1st cut. Will feed that to the drycows, another 40acres 2nd cut should be ready in august. Anyone hazard a guess what the dmd of 2nd cut will be? Mostly new swards. Does 2nd cut dmd follow a similar trend to 1st cut, ie does the dmd fall off a cliff when it bulks out, or is it a case of its growing slower, so wider window to get it cut?

I started a thread on exact same question timmay.

:)http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=85065862

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

10 acres knocked today. The contractor will row it up tomorrow and bale Wed all going to plan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

Timmaay wrote: »

its a safer bet for quality cos its def got that wider window..... reckon it could be as heavy as first cut this year but need some more rain too..
    just enough moisture to keep going on grazing ground but ground not topped or baled so far is getting v rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭red bull

cutting 40 acres tomorrow pick up wednesday, grew a lot in last week, usually do first cut early june

Busy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Lads made a fuxk up of fertiliser in 1st silage field for second cut. Put on way to heavy after miscalculation and 600kg bags instead of 500. Anyway ground got 2000k slurry around 10 days ago n today over 4 bags of 24-5-5. So what are implications of this?

None except you should have a savage crop. Be sure to wait 45 days a min for N to be gone

Feck all N in slurry so 48 days for 96 units of N in fertiliser to be used up i.e. 7 weeks to the day of spreading. Of all the years, this was the year to make that mistake!

Yeah was good year for mistake except I'm getting married 2nd week of August !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

I have cut silage up to five days before this recommended date according to the two units nitrogen per day formula.
    Never seen a problem as a result
    Often thought to myself, that if this formula is so exact, then the actual nitrogen content in the stuff we buy, must be less than claimed on the bag!!

Which is it? Silage or marriage? Now's your chance to set down a marker :D

(I an joking of course)

I have cut silage up to five days before this recommended date according to the two units nitrogen per day formula.
    Never seen a problem as a result
    Often thought to myself, that if this formula is so exact, then the actual nitrogen content in the stuff we buy, must be less than claimed on the bag!!
    Yeah I can't see it being a problem this time of year especially. I took my first cut 3 days early as the weather was due to break.

Either way lads I'd say it will be cut before n take the chances!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Cut the silage and postpone the wedding. im sure she will understand, with the year thats in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

1st cut 6 June will look to take 2 nd cut 1st week of August.Would leaving it another couple of weeks lose to much feed value by trying to bulk it up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

I think( now im no expert )that you would lose no quality at that time as grass wont be shooting out but the only thing is if you get very wet weather in early sept god knows when youd get it cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Bale that field and wilt it well.