Kids screaming in supermarkets - is it reaching breaking point?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭ThreeBlindMice

Screaming kids are fine in a large supermarket, at least you can at least pace away in the opposite direction but one thing I deplore is screaming babies in a tight space such as public transport and particularly when those in charge just plonk their screaming kids next to you and do absolutely nothing about trying to shut them up!!

Low budget Jet aircraft are the worst for screaming kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Itwasntme. wrote: »
    :pac::pac: You chose the wrong random city because I've never heard kids screaming at fruit markets in Kigali. In fact, you almost never see kids throw the kind of tantrums in Kigali at least, that you see here in the west.

Why African Babies Don't Cry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭mockingjay

Ah kids of today.. never happened 30 years ago... My feckin arse it didn't!

They didn't have these big supermarkets 30 years ago that's why. These places must be a nightmare for kids (and parents) these days. Remember the local shopkeepers would interact with the kids, say hello etc. I remember my local postmistress showing me my £5 that I had in my savings book one day - magical stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

It's funny when a little urchin runs around the supermarket like a midget on crack only to fall flat on their face. Real funny shít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

mockingjay wrote: »
    They didn't have these big supermarkets 30 years ago that's why. These places must be a nightmare for kids (and parents) these days. Remember the local shopkeepers would interact with the kids, say hello etc. I remember my local postmistress showing me my £5 that I had in my savings book one day - magical stuff.

The supermarkets have product placement and "pester power" down to a science now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 116 ✭✭Ciarabear

Chucken wrote: »
    Agreed. But lets suppose you had to deal with it?

You're not really getting my point, are you? My point is that well-raised children who are taught to respect boundaries by parents who anticipate their child's needs before bringing them to supermarkets rarely encounter tantrum scenarios.

That's what I mean by prevention is better than cure -pre-empting potential outcomes and taking active measures to avoid them materialising i.e. ensuring your children learn to do what they're told or realising there will be consequences if they don't or not traipsing your tired/hungry child around a busy supermarket.

All otherwise known as common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Do people think that parents enjoy the tantrums, the glares, the looks, the comments? We hate it, we want nothing more than to not to have to deal with it. But to raise people and not spoiled brats we have to "ignore" the tantrums. No one is more annoyed by them that us. You see them for 20 min in Aldi, we go through weeks/months of them so to train our kids out of them, interfering and judgemental people making comments, grandparents giving in to every whim, we are the ones fit to give up and become recluses, but you can't. You have to show them how society works and that there is a way to act in public and to ensure they grow up to be an asset to society.

Every last person on boards had times in their lives that they were little shíts whose parents wanted nothing more than to kick the arse off of for wanting their own way all the time, the only thing is, some grew out of that mindset, others clearly didn't ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

Kids today run wild, so they do. It's all them video games and tv and sugary cheese sausage rolls. They have short attention spans. They can't concentrate. What we need to do is send them concentration...

Um, picnic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    Everyone has to get their bloody groceries like! I'm sure mothers arent on here making threads that some weird 30 year old bloke is wandering around Aldi staring at their kids :rolleyes:

I absolutely despise that attitude you have in the highlighted text and its the number one reason why anytime a male of any age simply looks at a kid hes automatically a paedo. I sense it and Im sure most men do that nowadays that because of all the exposure of sex abusers, kidnaps etc almost all men are tarred with the same brush if they look at a kid for longer than 3 seconds, even if just observing them mid-tantrum, looking at them because they remind them of their nephew, staring into space etc etc, they are automatically a weird and depraved loner.

Women these days know they can play the whole "that guy will probably kill my child" card when it comes to refuting arguments from disapproving men and its bang out of order. Men are entitled to express opinions on the actions of kids and even if you dont agree with them you cant throw the whole "weird 30 yr old staring" card back at them, its weak and proves someone hasnt the spine to face issues about their kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Ciarabear wrote: »
    You're not really getting my point, are you? My point is that well-raised children who are taught to respect boundaries by parents who anticipate their child's needs before bringing them to supermarkets rarely encounter tantrum scenarios.

That's what I mean by prevention is better than cure -pre-empting potential outcomes and taking active measures to avoid them materialising i.e. ensuring your children learn to do what they're told or realising there will be consequences if they don't or not traipsing your tired/hungry child around a busy supermarket.

All otherwise known as common sense.

I'm getting your point alright. Did you not read the rest of my post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

mockingjay wrote: »

You're joking, right?

Quinnsworth

Our mother used leave the six of us in the Ford Cortina when she went in to do the shopping in Quinnsworth, and there was Dunnes Stores too. That was 30 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Kids just wanna be free - to do what they wanna do.

yeah they wanna get loaded, they wanna have a good time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

I dunno lads, I had the misfortune to hear that PITA Fiona Looney lecturing us all on George Hook as to how it was disgusting to see parents giving out to their kids in shops and she saw it every time she went to the shops, and if you saw a parent slap a child you should intervene to prevent the abuse, then I come here and find the problem is actually that parents ignore their kids' behaviour...

Kids acting out in shops, four options for parents:

1. Ignore them (resulting in kids running wild, or lying on the floor tantruming).
    2. Continuous vocal discipline (i.e. giving out and resultant tears and shouting).
    3. Slap them (resulting in eternal opprobium and shame, and tears and screaming).
    4. Drag them out of the shop (no doubt annoying everyone as they kick and scream), find that fictional babysitter you keep on hold 'for an hour', and come back later, meaning that no homework gets done, food isn't on the table until late, and everyone gives out about kids being tired and distracted in school.

Which one do you fancy?

Kids don't want to be in shops. Parents don't want their kids in shops. It's **** for everyone - that's why Superquinn used to run creches at the door. If parents had a viable option, they wouldn't take them in, so try to show some understanding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Tordelback wrote: »
    I dunno lads, I had the misfortune to hear that PITA Fiona Looney lecturing us all on George Hook as to how it was disgusting to see parents giving out to their kids in shops and she saw it every time she went to the shops, and if you saw a parent slap a child you should intervene to prevent the abuse, then I come here and find the problem is actually that parents ignore their kids' behaviour...

Kids acting out in shops, four options for parents:

1. Ignore them (resulting in kids running wild, or lying on the floor tantruming).
    2. Continuous vocal discipline (i.e. giving out and resultant tears and shouting).
    3. Slap them (resulting in eternal opprobium and shame, and tears and screaming).
    4. Drag them out of the shop (no doubt annoying everyone as they kick and scream), find that fictional babysitter you keep on hold 'for an hour', and come back later, meaning that no homework gets done, food isn't on the table until late, and everyone gives out about kids being tired and distracted in school.

Which one do you fancy?

Kids don't want to be in shops. Parents don't want their kids in shops. It's **** for everyone - that's why Superquinn used to run creches at the door. If parents had a viable option, they wouldn't take them in, so try to show some understanding.

finally ....common sense in AH:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭skippy15

IM0 wrote: »
    yeah they wanna get loaded, they wanna have a good time

I think there is two sides to this,

Some parents don't care what there children and generally let them run riot, shout be obnoxious, tear things open and harass other customers. Hence the bad rep :mad::mad:

I would say in general the parents are way more annoyed and stressed and embaressed than you could even imagine, or be yourself. As stated its not easy working coming home doing a shop and knowingly have to do a shop when U know your kids will act up. :(
    No matter what I do my 2 year old wants an apple (whether it be apple onion or potato- all apples to him) even if I bring some. snacks toys it does not matter despite every effort I make. and only solution is to ignore him for 2/3 mins.

If it bothers you that much, either do online shopping, change times or wear ear phones which I often do myself (when alone). Or if seriously still unhappy try complaining to shop manager wonder what they would say :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

finally ....common sense in AH:)

Maybe someone put something in the water ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

I absolutely despise that attitude you have in the highlighted text and its the number one reason why anytime a male of any age simply looks at a kid hes automatically a paedo. I sense it and Im sure most men do that nowadays that because of all the exposure of sex abusers, kidnaps etc almost all men are tarred with the same brush if they look at a kid for longer than 3 seconds, even if just observing them mid-tantrum, looking at them because they remind them of their nephew, staring into space etc etc, they are automatically a weird and depraved loner.

Women these days know they can play the whole "that guy will probably kill my child" card when it comes to refuting arguments from disapproving men and its bang out of order. Men are entitled to express opinions on the actions of kids and even if you dont agree with them you cant throw the whole "weird 30 yr old staring" card back at them, its weak and proves someone hasnt the spine to face issues about their kids.

I think you will find that you have completely mis-read my point.

Which was that it is not appropriate to come on here and whinge about something when you do not have the full story. You don't see the mothers of all of these kids coming on here and tarring him as a paedo because he was staring at their kids. Because likely they know why he would be staring. But you see him come on here and tar all the parents as useless so-and-sos that cant control their children and shouldn't take them out in public, even though he has admitted that he pretty much has no idea what he is talking about.

It's called an unfounded assumption.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I have a suggestion... someone gives op their tired bored kids for a hour and let's him to his shopping.
    op should then give us a full report on how well he managed.

I'd give you mine only he's an angel all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I have a suggestion... someone gives op their tired bored kids for a hour and let's him to his shopping.
    op should then give us a full report on how well he managed.

I'd give you mine only he's an angel all the time.

I would offer mine but since I stuck out the humiliating tantrum stage he too is well behaved and somewhat useful in Tesco's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭collegeme

OP I wonder was my little darling one of the toddlers in Aldi Clonee :)

1.5 year olds just wanna do what they wanna do. Most of the time in public they can't be allowed do what they want .ie run out the door of Aldi while you are at the checkout ;).
    I think you will just have to learn to ignore the screams yourself because that's life!
    Kids will be kids.

And to the poster who said that her children have never had a tantrum at any age ...well I don't believe that for one minute. Tantrums are one of a toddlers many ways of expressing emotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

collegeme wrote: »
    OP I wonder was my little darling one of the toddlers in Aldi Clonee :)

1.5 year olds just wanna do what they wanna do. Most of the time in public they can't be allowed do what they want .ie run out the door of Aldi while you are at the checkout ;).
    I think you will just have to learn to ignore the screams yourself because that's life!
    Kids will be kids.

And to the poster who said that her children have never had a tantrum at any age ...well I don't believe that for one minute. Tantrums are one of a toddlers many ways of expressing emotion.

In fact, until they are taught otherwise, it's probably one of the only ways. After all, it's how they alert mammy that they need food!

I once saw a child throw a tantrum in Super Valu here in Monaghan. She saw me come around the corner of the aisle, stopped dead in her tracks and pointed at "the lady with the pink hair". Her mother apologised and shouted at her as she ran up to me and asked how did I get such pretty hair. I told her that if children are very well-behaved for mammy and daddy, they might let them get a pretty hair colour like me when they grow up. She turned and shouted "Sorry mammy I love you!" and was as good as gold for the rest of the trip.

A little patience and understanding goes a long way. And I don't even have kids!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭delthedriver

I can understand the original poster's frustration and perhaps annoyance.

We live in more stressful times than the 80's, however it does not excuse bad manners and boisterous behaviour.

On a flight from Ireland to Spain some weeks ago, I recall my trip was like visiting the Zoo for over two hours. Screaming, screeching , squawking children, accompanied by parents who were either too exhausted to control them or simply immune to their behaviour.

A similar episode last Monday night when I flew from Portugal to Ireland. The problem in a plane however is one cannot move away from the racket unlike in the supermarket. There is certainly a lack of concern for other passengers on the part of these parents.

The same lack of concern for other shoppers exists in the supermarket scenario. One can make excuses for the hectic pace at which we live our lives. There is no excuse for lack of manners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

Parents usually ignore tantrums because telling the child to shush or offering anything that isn't what they want usually only makes it worse. My mother minds children and trust me the more attention you give to a child whose throwing a tantrum the worse it'll get, plan and simple! You ignore it, the child realise it's roars are not being heard and they stop, it may take a few minutes but they do. I also think these days parents are very reluctant to slap a child in a public place so they feel that ignoring the child is the easier of the two. Your mother is lying when she told you you didn't act like that, children are all the same, maybe some are not as disciplined as others but even 30 years ago that was the case in some family. This old thing of 'In my day things were like this....' is usually just a rose-tinted view of that time and not really how every person and child behaved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

It's common theme, through-out history, for people to view the next/current generation of children as being worse behaved than they were. We tend to be convinced that things were much better 'back then' and now things are falling apart. It doesn't matter when, back in the 1700s people were saying fiction books were rotting the minds of the lazy children.

So there is that. We're not very objective about these things.

Having said that, that doesn't mean things don't change. I do, distinctly remember, many times growing up when a parent would leave a public place with their child. That is something I haven't seen in years. 'Ignoring children' is being taught as an effective means of parenting, and a lot of parents follow it. I don't know if it works in the long run, but back in the 70s a parent would leave a restaurant with the screaming 3 year old (probably to spank them), rather than letting the tantrum continue for 20 minutes.

The 'breaking point' will be once the experts writing books and appearing on talk shows start to sell less books. They'll need a 'new and improved' way to raise children....and maybe it'll become culturally inappropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,096 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Supermarket should be an enjoyable place to go to.

As Eddie Murphy once put it - "I'm sadistic. I go to the supermarkets to watch mothers lose it and beat the shít out of their kids."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Tantrums are best ignored by parents 90+% of the time its basic attention seeking ,
    Some say ignore ,
    some say scream louder than the child
    Positive Communication is also key

People with no children making comments about kids being out of control and blaming it on bad parenting is just plain stupid,
    Can't wait to see how there kids turn out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Czarcasm wrote: »
    You're joking, right?

Quinnsworth

Our mother used leave the six of us in the Ford Cortina when she went in to do the shopping in Quinnsworth, and there was Dunnes Stores too. That was 30 years ago.
    Very true, I can clearly remember wandering off in Quinnsworth as a very young child and for some reason deciding to eat a dog biscuit from a torn bag, I think it was black, it didn't taste nice:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Gatling wrote: »
    People with no children making comments about kids being out of control and blaming it on bad parenting is just plain stupid,
    Can't wait to see how there kids turn out

Mine turned out just fine, knows well how to behave in a supermarket, because he was taught how to behave in a supermarket-

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Nothing against you personally shruikan, but I hate that sort of bullshìt perspective with a passion! We were all children once yknow, and we all have relations who have children. I have a child myself and he doesn't act like a ferral, indisciplined little prick with no manners or social skills when I take him shopping with me, but rather he'll push the trolley and do the shopping and all I have to do is follow around after him.

There's a thing called teaching your children to be responsible, and unfortunately there's but a small minority of parents are of the school of thought that says "ah shure they're just kids!".

They are, and it's an adult's job to act as their role model and teach them how to behave, not just let them treat the supermarket like it's their own personal playground and make excuses for them after the fact.

It's hardly rocket science, and not instilling discipline and responsibility in children early life is actually what leads to all sorts of problems later on, because you're only postponing a time when someone else says to them "NO!", and no amount of screaming or throwing tantrums like they did with their parents is going to work on another grown adult.

It's best teach children early how to behave and get on with other people, that gets them a lot further in life than any screaming or bawling like a petulant, spoilt child.

That behaviour in itself will come back and haunt the parents too who failed to nip it in the bud rather than enable their children all their lives. People wonder where the sense of entitlement comes from - right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭confuseddotcom

Babysitting problems and numerous other issues may contribute to difficulty getting away from the house where they have to bring the posse with them. Shop online if you must and you'll never have to breathe the same air as them again. It's a bit of a reality-check what kids can really be like to go to a Supermarket. A good eye-opener! You could be perfectly "at-one" happily mosying along in your own little world walking up, and once ya go in the doors, you're hit, with a screaming mass of a mess. :D They are just kids. Kids are kids. They could be perfectly well-behaved well-mannered most of the time but it's always going to be a place to play for them, a place to act out! Just think you can get away from them once you go out the Exit!

Anyway once those 4 sets of brats grow up they'll be replaced by another 4 sets of brats. It's that whole life thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

It's not just the kids who act up I know teens who go off the rails in supermarkets, I know a certain crew thought it hilarious to pretend to have Tourette's. (You know who you are).