Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Makes You Cringe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,480 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

dan1895 wrote: »
    Ireland fans booing Peter Madsen.

What even more cringe is the fact that the stadium announcer went on to apologise for the fools that booed.

If you recall there was a bit of a cerfuffel from UEFA about the booing being racist or something.
    In a copy of YBIG in about 2006 the stadium announcer said something to the effect that it was his mistake and that he was sorry for causing 'the greatest fans in the world' to be accused of racism based on a mistake he made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,571 ✭✭✭patmac

John Delaney makes me cringe as does the Aviva been there twice a soulless 3/4 finished abomination with no decent toilets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Stephen Alkin's commentary on LOI matches

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Madworld

EdenHazard wrote: »
    I cringe when Irish people talk about 'foreigners' in the Premiership.

And Irish people giving out about foreign owners of Premier League teams.

Irish people moaning about other Irish people supporting English teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Irish people moaning about other Irish people supporting English teams.

I agree. Honestly the importance some people place on nationality is crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Dr.Winston O'Boogie

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Maybe just easier to shout than "Hoolahan"?

Could say the same for many players who are still called by their surname.
    A lot of fans do this, particularly at games. Calling someone by their surname doesn't make much sense really, you wouldn't do it in many other situations.

No different to people talking about Robbie (Keane), Roy (Keane) or Shay (Given) during their Ireland days.

Its much more prominent than with the above players though. There's a bloke on Newstalk Off the Ball who completely over does it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

patmac wrote: »
    John Delaney makes me cringe as does the Aviva been there twice a soulless 3/4 finished abomination with no decent toilets.

Never had any problems with the jacks in the Aviva.Far better then the ones in Croker or the overflowing trough + floor soaked in urine in the old Lansdowne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,855 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

niallo24 wrote: »
    Could say the same for many players who are still called by their surname.

Its much more prominent than with the above players though. There's a bloke on Newstalk Off the Ball who completely over does it.
    Andy Gray used to do this too back in the day, Frank and JT were his most annoying usages.

He still does it on Talksport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,559 ✭✭✭✭CSF

I agree. Honestly the importance some people place on nationality is crazy.

That is a global thing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,682 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

What makes me cringe? Charlie Adam lining up a penalty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

Madworld wrote: »
    And Irish people giving out about foreign owners of Premier League teams.

And Irish supporters of English teams who give out about or make fun of other English teams, because of they draw less support from the locality and more from foreign countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Some of the hyperbole around Spain and Barca over the past few years has been horrendous.

Both great sides of course but fuck me, there are some people out there who need a good kick up the hole after hearing them talk about "the right way to play football".

This plus a million times.
    inmyday wrote: »
    The Irish people who support english clubs. But hate the English national team. And when Gerrard, Lampard, Walcott, Rooney wear the english jersey, utd liverpool, chelsea, arsenal fans call them "scum" and love when England lose.

Anyone one of us who support english clubs, could name the england squad.

Other than Ireland, I like to see England do well.

There is two sides to that though, I'd never cheer for England but it's more in a friendly banter kind of way in the same way I'd never cheer for United, Liverpool etc. Certainly wouldn't brand them scum or anything like that.

Then footballers and twitter some of them shouldn't be allowed near it, most recently Nicklas Bendtner I'm not even going to post it but a tweet he posted on 16th of June cringeworthy at it's finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,559 ✭✭✭✭CSF

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Irish people supporting English teams.

Agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Bionicle

When Chelsea fans boo Wayne Bridge after what JT did. As a Chelsea fan, this sickens me.

Also, when Chelsea fans automatically forgave JT for almost f*cking up are already slim chance of getting through to the UCL final in 2012. Singing his name and all after that makes me cringe so hard.

Chelsea fans supporting our "captain, leader, legend" to the death is just cringeworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Irish people who begrudge anyone supporting non Irish teams. Around the world people support teams not from their country, television and other sources of media have made it possible. It's a necessary lifeblood of football. Trying to stop anyone from watching the brilliance of Barcelona or the entertainment and quality of the Bundesliga or the Premier League and instead trying to almost bulky them into being LOI fans makes me cringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

It's so predictable what threads the LOI brigade will swarm over while banging the same drum. You could see this one a mile off... criiiiinge.

CSF wrote: »
    Agreed.

Agreed what?

You changed my post :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭farna_boy

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Andy Gray used to do this too back in the day, Frank and JT were his most annoying usages.

He still does it on Talksport.

Just be grateful we are not a GAA levels yet. Any coverage I ever saw of Kerry, "the Gooch" was used by absolutely everyone from commentators to pundits. Fair enough if there is a team mate on the panel who is an actual friend, but other than that no one should be calling a player by a nickname and I just found it really unprofessional, especially considering he hates it himself.
    Bionicle wrote: »
    When Chelsea fans boo Wayne Bridge after what JT did. As a Chelsea fan, this sickens me.

In a similar vein, Stoke fans booing Ramsey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I cringe just at the thought of United-Liverpool threads on here and the usual suspects going mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭DaveyCakes

Most of the stuff in the "Humour" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

It's so predictable what threads the LOI brigade will swarm over while banging the same drum. You could see this one a mile off... criiiiinge.

"LoI brigade". You don't half have a chip on your shoulder, yourself. "Criiiiinge".

You'll also notice that the thread was only ten minutes old when someone had a pop off the League of Ireland. But sure, it's all LoI fans at it, it doesn't happen the other way at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,480 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

When Irish fans of English clubs seem to have a fanatical hatred for that clubs local rivals.
    Even though they have never been to the city or know anything bout the place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Goal scorers who run to opposition fans to make some gesture or even worse, point at the club crest....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Pedro K

bohsboy wrote: »
    Goal scorers who run to opposition fans to make some gesture or even worse, point at the club crest....:rolleyes:

Fans who throw bottles at such players...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,855 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

bohsboy wrote: »
    ........and the following week whinge to the press that they want a transfer because of...........press intrusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

1. The Dublin Decider

2. Irish people packing out mickey mouse grounds in Ireland to see their english teams U18's play some second strength LOI side wearing all the gear from head to toe then OTT celebrations when some lad from London with about as much connection to Ireland as a box lucky charms scores against lads that are actually local.

3. people in pubs shushing others cos ''sir Alex'' is giving an interview.

4. Grown men wearing jerseys in pubs clapping at the team when they come on.

5. Ireland are the best supporters in the world

6. John Delaney

7. any baller that comes home from england is seeing as a failure

8. The garda's policing of matches in Ireland

9. X and Y are the Catholic clubs in England (Who cares)

10. Irish people who put English Crests on Irish tri-colours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Pedro K wrote: »
    Fans who throw bottles at such players...

And vermin fans who smash their star striker's car up. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Irish people who begrudge anyone supporting non Irish teams. Around the world people support teams not from their country, television and other sources of media have made it possible. It's a necessary lifeblood of football. Trying to stop anyone from watching the brilliance of Barcelona or the entertainment and quality of the Bundesliga or the Premier League and instead trying to almost bulky them into being LOI fans makes me cringe.
    Fully agree, at the end of day football is a business, and the business with the best product is going to have the most customers, i.e. the most fans.

On a related note, what makes me cringe equally as much is those people who absolutely lambast the likes of Modric, RvP & Gotze for going to, what essentially are bigger businesses with a much bigger wage. As if the vast majority of people wouldn't do that. If people, regardless of field they're in, were given the opportunity to work with the best company in that field, in the best possible conditions and earn nearly twice as much for doing so, they would take it in a shot. I don't see why footballers should be treated any differently, they can only work until they're ~34, dead right for squeezing every penny out of it while they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭farna_boy

THFC wrote: »
    Fully agree, at the end of day football is a business, and the business with the best product is going to have the most customers, i.e. the most fans.

On a related note, what makes me cringe equally as much is those people who absolutely lambast the likes of Modric, RvP & Gotze for going to, what essentially are bigger businesses with a much bigger wage. As if the vast majority of people wouldn't do that. If people, regardless of field they're in, were given the opportunity to work with the best company in that field, in the best possible conditions and earn nearly twice as much for doing so, they would take it in a shot. I don't see why footballers should be treated any differently, they can only work until they're ~34, dead right for squeezing every penny out of it while they can.

I actually agree with pretty much everything you said (hard for me as an Arsenal fan ;) ) but I think you have to recognise that there are other factors which can make fans feel hard done by.

RVP is a prime example of that where he spent 7 seasons on the injury list, had one good (full) season before leaving. I think his handling of the whole situation probably exacerbated things and the fact that he went to another team in the same league didn't help either, but after a club showing him so much loyalty it was a shame he didn't do the same.

The same argument could probably be used for Suarez if he decides to leave, with Liverpool showing him so much loyalty through everything, but I think at this stage Liverpool would be glad to see the back of him to a certain degree.