Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

father-ted-careful-now.jpg

Are you sure it wasn't just money resting in the account :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Sami23

delaval wrote: »
    Getting things moving again
    3x18/6/12 followed by 1xASN

Just wondering what is ASN ? Is it CAN or some form of it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

have half in pit and watching to do the rest-lucky i didnt wait to do it all as weather is not looking good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Mowed my silage on Friday afternoon 7th June
    Baled on saturday before lunch - Grass was dry
    and to my amazement, had 12.9% extra yield compared to last year.

Last year it was cut on Thurs 24th May and baled on Friday 25th May.
    It was savage silage . Remember that week was the summer of 2012 :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

....and to my amazement, had 12.9% extra yield compared to last year.

I'm just amazed you could calculate it s accurately! :D That's accountants for ya! Was it weight or volume you are going by in your calculations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Muckit wrote: »
    I'm just amazed you could calculate it s accurately! :D That's accountants for ya! Was it weight or volume you are going by in your calculations?

Volume. :cool:

I would ghave rounded up by +0.1% but didnt want farmers giving out about that number :D.

All baled with a Mchale F550. Grass had not headed out so should be good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,808 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Sami23 wrote: »
    Just wondering what is ASN ? Is it CAN or some form of it ?

Can based,27 nitrogen and 14% sulphur.right good stuff too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Can based,27 nitrogen and 14% sulphur.right good stuff too!

Sorry for being pedantic, but the nitrogen part of ASN is mainly produced from Ammonium Nitrogen whereas CAN is half and half Ammonium Nitrogen/nitrate nitrogen. Ammonium Nitrogen would have a slower release N that nitrate nitrogen so maybe this is why outside of the sulphur you are seeing a better return from ASN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Sorry for being pedantic, but the nitrogen part of ASN is mainly produced from Ammonium Nitrogen whereas CAN is half and half Ammonium Nitrogen/nitrate nitrogen. Ammonium Nitrogen would have a slower release N that nitrate nitrogen so maybe this is why outside of the sulphur you are seeing a better return from ASN

You're a right pedant, no doubt about it. Where does your knowledge of soils and the interactions of various elements come from? it would appear to be a lot more in depth than most guys I'd know with an Ag degree. I'm not accusing you of having an Ag degree mind:D. Is it just info you've accquired over the years or did you study it?

unfortunately I didnt study it in any detail, do you realise what you have to do to get an ag degree nowadays(drink gallons of jungle juice and blow about how many women you had:rolleyes:). Im just of the believe you have to start with nutrition from the ground up and if you look after the soil it will look after you and I find chemistry interesting. The more I learn about soils the less I think I actually know as the subject is just so vast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭dar31

unfortunately I didnt study it in any detail, do you realise what you have to do to get an ag degree nowadays(drink gallons of jungle juice and blow about how many women you had:rolleyes:). Im just of the believe you have to start with nutrition from the ground up and if you look after the soil it will look after you and I find chemistry interesting. The more I learn about soils the less I think I actually know as the subject is just so vast

any particular books or reading that is useful, with out being too complicated to start off with. last year i took on soil fertility and the understanding of it as a long term project on farm, my success and interest varies at times!!!
    always enjoyed listening to Stan Lawlor (teagasc) any time he was talking at conferences and the such

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Lost Covey, your cover has been blown:cool:

Dont think LostConvey ever started a reply with "I didnt study it in detail":D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

do you realise what you have to do to get an ag degree nowadays(drink gallons of jungle juice and blow about how many women you had:rolleyes:).

Seriously, is that all I have to do?

And they'll start giving me entitlements and free plate coolers and drafting gates and stuff?

Where do I sign?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

That's why I said I wasn't accusing you of having one. If you want to admit to it that's fair enough.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,808 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Ready for the off again tomorrow 4 paddocks to wrap,Will cut tomorrow and mop up thursday am.Measured 95 kg growth across milking block this week and driven into surplus again.second cut also hopping out of the ground

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Ready for the off again tomorrow 4 paddocks to wrap,Will cut tomorrow and mop up thursday am.Measured 95 kg growth across milking block this week and driven into surplus again.second cut also hopping out of the ground
    Knocked some today will wrap tomorrow

Lads, was thinking of cutting about 5-6 acres this afternoon and wrapping Thursday afternoon, do ye think I'll be safe enough weather wise or anyone know how next week is looking ??? It was manured 6 weeks last Saturday so no problem that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

id say it should be ok meant to rain thurs evening friday. im cutting 71 acres mid july and maybe some bales also weather permitting:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Lads, was thinking of cutting about 5-6 acres this afternoon and wrapping Thursday afternoon, do ye think I'll be safe enough weather wise or anyone know how next week is looking ??? It was manured 6 weeks last Saturday so no problem that way.

Don't know where you are Sami but no rain forecast for midlands and west till Friday morning

hugo29 wrote: »
    Don't know where you are Sami but no rain forecast for midlands and west till Friday morning

In the west too so gonna chance it

go for it, lot of silage down around me at the moment and some down since saturday,
    just wish I had some ready

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

I'm getting 15 acres cut today and baling it Thursday. The weather is forecast to be good in the west till Friday afternoon at least. I had to leave mine for over 50 days since I fertilised it because it got 100 units and I'm still giving it a day to wilt to be on the safe side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

delaval wrote: »
    Knocked some today will wrap tomorrow
    Lovely stuff 5 bales pr acre:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

towzer2010 wrote: »
    I'm getting 15 acres cut today and baling it Thursday. The weather is forecast to be good in the west till Friday afternoon at least. I had to leave mine for over 50 days since I fertilised it because it got 100 units and I'm still giving it a day to wilt to be on the safe side.
    Outside of the N, the days wilt will only do it good. I gave mine 24hrs and at that I regret not shaking it as well! For the second cut I'm planning on a 36hr wilt with a shake thrown in for good measure;)

just do it wrote: »
    Outside of the N, the days wilt will only do it good. I gave mine 24hrs and at that I regret not shaking it as well! For the second cut I'm planning on a 36hr wilt with a shake thrown in for good measure;)

Yea funny one neighbour has baled this evening after cutting on Sunday, other lad cut today lunch time and wrapped there now, god knows why he did not wait, suppose he has his reasons, lot of silage downed today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭red bull

Hope to cut soon still poor crop, usually cut end of May. Cut and fertilize immediately and hope for a good 2nd cut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,283 ✭✭✭Good loser

Do you mean spread it out after cutting and then rake it back in for the baler? Two goes with the rake/tedder?

hugo29 wrote: »
    Yea funny one neighbour has baled this evening after cutting on Sunday, other lad cut today lunch time and wrapped there now, god knows why he did not wait, suppose he has his reasons, lot of silage downed today
    Does he sell any of it? That might explain not wilting.

I would always give mine the day after cutting to wilt but with our unpredictable weather in the last few years it can be a close thing before rain starts.