Travellers have just moved in up the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

CruelCoin wrote: »

I have yet to meet one who acted with any degree of normality and respect for the people, property, locality. Why do you think they deserve respect?

Exactly, you earn respect, you don't get it because of "your culture".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,888 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Can i just add this to the debate going on here, it is my personal experience of Travellers and of an opinion which i will not change ever.

Many years ago, my grandmother who at the time was in her early 70's, lived on a laneway which lead to a cemetery, she used to be able to leave her front door open safe in the knowledge she would not be bothered.

That was until 1 day 5 caravans of Traveller families moved in not far from her, and within a day, which happened to be her pension day, her house that she lived in since she was a child, was ransacked and she was pinned up against the wall of her kitchen as this happened, Gardai were called but nothing was done because she was scared so much after the experience, she then moved in with us, and 2 days later her house was ransacked again.

The Travellers got put off the laneway and on the day they left, they waved at her in a fashion that really got our blood boiling, and i quote here cos ive never forgot it goodbye mam, one of them said, hope we werent to much bother :mad:.

Her life was destroyed, she never went back into her house, and i wish i could say what i want to say, but i will never like them after that, simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

MadsL wrote: »
    The general consensus on Dale Farm around AH was that it was OK to evict 80 families who had been living there for 10+ years and sending their kids to a local school.

The general consensus seems to be it is a Bad Thing for familes to have moved onto this site and that various intimidations should be used to get them to move.

So, they should not stay in one place nor should they move.

Slow hand clap.

...or, the general consensus is that they should use legal halting sites as opposed to illegal ones?

Slower hand clap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I used to have a massive crush on the guard in Ballykissangel.

Ohh Ambrose....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Can i just add this to the debate going on here, it is my personal experience of Travellers and of an opinion which i will not change ever.

Many years ago, my grandmother who at the time was in her early 70's, to which lead to a cemetery, she used to be able to leave her front door open safe in the knowledge she would not be bothered.

That was until 1 day 5 caravans of Traveller families moved in not far from her, and within a day, which happened to be her pension day, her house that she lived in since she was a child, was ransacked and she was pinned up against the wall of her kitchen as this happened, Gardai were called but nothing was done because she was scared so much after the experience, she then moved in with us, and 2 days later her house was ransacked again.

The Travellers got put off the laneway and on the day they left, they waved at her in a fashion that really got our blood boiling, and i quote here cos ive never forgot it goodbye mam, one of them said, hope we werent to much bother :mad:.

Her life was destroyed, she never went back into her house, and i wish i could say what i want to say, but i will never like them after that, simple as.

Horrible. No excuses for that. :( But then, no excuses for you, either.

Replace Traveller with "black person" or any other minority and you see why. And that's not trying to reduce the awfulness of the attack on your gran. It's just common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Listen its a feckin fact wherever travellers camp up there is problems, that just the truth of it they have the place in a state and yes while not all travellers are bad a higher percentage engage in theft anti social behaviour then the general population, there is a reason 10% of the prision population are travellers far more then there overall percent in society, for everyone who tells people to stop giving out about them ect bet you wouldnt like them living in your area i'd imagine your view of them would change pretty quick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Keep knocking on their van doors asking if they want to buy carpet, lino or some couches. If they say no, then ask do they need their roof guttered and if no then move onto selling any old crap.

If you go everyday for a while they will get pissed off and move

old hippy wrote: »

Replace Traveller with "black person" or any other minority and you see why. And that's not trying to reduce the awfulness of the attack on your gran. It's just common sense.

what are you on about, is traveller not the term they like to use to call themselves, ive not insulted them in anyway, ive given a personal account of what they done and then then you have a go at me.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bertser wrote: »
    Agreed, settled traveller is the most annoying oxymoron out there.
    I wouldn't agree there TBH. There is a long standing Traveler culture that has differences from the wider community(and I'm not talking of wedding dresses by Barbie). I have known settled Travelers who still held onto those aspects of their culture even though they were living in a house, working jobs, going to school etc, just like the rest of us.
    The general consensus on Dale Farm around AH was that it was OK to evict 80 families who had been living there for 10+ years and sending their kids to a local school.

The general consensus seems to be it is a Bad Thing for familes to have moved onto this site and that various intimidations should be used to get them to move.

Slow hand clap.
    With respect M, keep your slow handclap as it's hardly an argument. Should they not stay in one place or should they move? I have no problem with people staying, or indeed moving from one legal settlement to another if that's their buzz(and the rest of us don't fork out the majority of the costs for their lifestyle choice). However we're not talking about legal halting sites are we? We're talking about mass trespass, local intimidation, pollution and destruction and some aspects of criminality. EG if the majority of Travelers are in receipt of state benefits how are they funding their lifestyle? Answers on a postcard to the usual address. Never mind the serious health issues for the Traveler families themselves. It's no coincidence that longevity for Travelers is notably lower than for other Irish people.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

One thing Irish travellers and Roma gypsies seem to have in common is their attitude to the settled community - essentially little more than a natural resource which is to be exploited for the benefit of travellers/roma.

I'm sorry but i'm still reading this trying to figure out what point your actually making here, anytime i see/hear them interviewed they refer to themselves as Travellers.

I would like to know why you reckon ive got no excuses please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭worded

It's the 99% that give the 1% a bad name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

A number of years ago, a group of travelers moved into a patch of land between my house and my bus stop. Within about two weeks, the general area became strewn with an unbelievable amount of litter ranging from used nappies to car parts, my bike was stolen, and I was punched in the back of the head for absolutely no reason on my way to the bus stop one morning.

I am an open minded guy and there is no doubt that some members of the community are honest hard working people, but my experience with travelers has been wholly negative, and you know...once bitten twice shy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No this is a nonsense oft trotted out as a stick to beat an argument with. It's not the same. "Black people" are a massively diverse group of people, with massively diverse cultures. It would be a nonsense to suggest all Black folks are X, but the comparison to a relatively homogenous and culturally much narrower group is also a nonsense. The fact is some cultures(and "race" means jack here) are inferior in many respects to others.

Take the wider Irish. Few would take issue with saying that the high water mark of Irish Catholic culture was inferior to the more liberal and inclusive society of today(though god we've still some way to go). The previous culture was an inferior in many respects to todays. Same people, different cultures.

I would suggest that too many aspects of the Traveler culture as it has evolved are more prone to antisocial behaviour by their very nature. Look at the stats surrounding domestic abuse compared to the rest of Ireland. Look at the stats surrounding public violence. Look at the stats surrounding mental and physical health and longevity.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭worded

What did the person get for Xmas?
    My bike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I'm sorry but i'm still reading this trying to figure out what point your actually making here, anytime i see/hear them interviewed they refer to themselves as Travellers.

I would like to know why you reckon ive got no excuses please.

Jaysus give them a chance to reply to you

Ah stop, he should have burned them out after they did that to his mother.

You are really trying to defend the indefensible here. Where ever travelers go there is trouble that's a simple fact, there are some who are decent people but the majority are totally untrustworthy people who would steal the eye out of your head given half a chance and they have no respect for any law in the country.

Everyone knows this yet you are here trying to tell us otherwise.

Jaysus give them a chance to reply to you

By the quickness that he/she took to reply to my original post, i taught i might've got a reply before now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

worded wrote: »
    It's the 1% that give the 99% a bad name

FYP :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

Ah stop, he should have burned them out after they did that to his mother.

You are really trying to defend the indefensible here. Where ever travelers go there is trouble that's a simple fact, there are some who are decent people but the majority are totally untrustworthy people who would steal the eye out of your head given half a chance and they have no respect for any law in the country.

Everyone knows this yet you are here trying to tell us otherwise.

completely agree. I have never had anything but bad experiences from travellers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

worded wrote: »
    It's the 99.9% that give the 00.1% a bad name

Fixed That Up There For You

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,400 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

OH, I'm sure you would have behaved differently had your mother been on the receiving end of a similar experience, but you are talking pure sh1te TBH . Take a piece of paper, line down through the middle. Survey this thread. one side BAD experiences- other side GOOD experiences. Its a heavy odds-on shot which side will be more populated once the exercise is complete. boss.

@OP - I feel your pain. Hopefully resolution will be quick.

EyeSight wrote: »
    completely agree. I have never had anything but bad experiences from travellers

I know of a family or two of (former) travelers who are decent people, they are settled though in their own houses build out of their own pockets (not council ones) and I haven't heard of them getting into any hassle with the law.

Unfortunately the likes of this family are very much in the minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,926 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I know loads of Traveler families who are very decent and law-abiding. They are mostly settled though. I also know Traveler families who are always committing crimes. I think we should judge them as individuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,976 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I wonder if part of the problem isn't that people tend to only identify travellers as such when they're involved in something dodgy, be it illegal sites or whatever.
    Someone who self identifies as a traveller but who goes about their business is just another ordinary Joe on the street like everyone else.
    But all that said, I've rarely heard a story that wasn't bad and reputations rarely spring out of nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

Slow hand clap.

They should be expected of obeying the set of laws that the settled person lives by. Should I be allowed to buy any old lump of land and build what I please? I am a member of a family, have no criminal record, if they can build and just be told "Sure your grand, building regulations are for others" why cant I?

Nothing is stopping travellers obeying the law.

If they obey the law there would be zero problems with travellers. If they want to build a house they will go through the same procedures and red tape "settled" people have too as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

that's clutching at straws even for you. You're looking for discrimination and racism where there is none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Surprised this bad boy hasn't been locked yet.

Rarely smoke without fire, and for every positive story I hear there are dozens of unsavoury incidents. Personally, I wouldn't trust travellers - I know that this is prejudice, but experience has taught me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

"I'll give you yer shooter, ya cunt"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

This thread has been posted by the CIA so we don't start commenting on the Obama's.

Brilliant.

Divide and Conquer.