Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭jharr100

zerks wrote: »

Could have done with a wash and a hoover..
    However these are unreliable yokes even when regularly washed and hoovered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭FortyMedals

Small engine, and low enough mileage, might be tough but try and get it for 1500, great car for anyone starting
    Full-20758511.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-polo/5198209

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

These should be posted here more.
    Best thing about this one is all that lovely petrol :D Hate seeing cars advertised with no fuel at all, don't know why.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-panda-dynamic/5167700

Full-20605609.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,578 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Best thing about this one is all that lovely petrol :D Hate seeing cars advertised with no fuel at all, don't know why.

What petrol? :)

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Pandas are great. There's just something cool about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

unkel wrote: »
    What petrol? :)

Oh I thought It was all the way at full but the needle is just covering the bottom of the E to make it look like an F, How embarrassing :o

Anyway, Ads like that annoy then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,578 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Oh I thought It was all the way at full but the needle is just covering the bottom of the E to make it look like an F, How embarrassing :o

The only thing embarrassing is that the ignition is not on, so none of us know how much fuel is left in the tank :p

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Small engine, and low enough mileage, might be tough but try and get it for 1500, great car for anyone starting
    Full-20758511.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-polo/5198209

Happy days for me then. Mines same year, 12000 miles less and nct'd until august 2014.
    Id gladly take 1500 for it when i put her up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Some early 90's retro with nct until May '14.
    Asking €750 (Ambitious..!)
    Looks decent. 103k miles.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/opel-vectra-1-6-nct-may-2014-ex-cond-/5111657

View2-20311206.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

no mention of test but with 6 months test still a contender in here i think.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2000-lexus-gs-300-executive-taxed/5001707

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Old diesel

W123-80's wrote: »
    Some early 90's retro with nct until May '14.
    Asking €750 (Ambitious..!)
    Looks decent. 103k miles.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/opel-vectra-1-6-nct-may-2014-ex-cond-/5111657

View2-20311206.jpeg

If that Vectra is genuinely as nice condition wise as it looks in those pictures - then id say 750 euro isn't ridiculously overpriced.

What are the big things to watch out for on these - I know the Mk 3 cavalier - which is this car just with a different badge - has a reputation for rusting rear arches - what are the other issues.

Is the 1.6 on this the Ecotec???.

Scortho wrote: »
    Happy days for me then. Mines same year, 12000 miles less and nct'd until august 2014.
    Id gladly take 1500 for it when i put her up.

cork by any chance ? friends after one :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭eire-kp

Old diesel wrote: »
    If that Vectra is genuinely as nice condition wise as it looks in those pictures - then id say 750 euro isn't ridiculously overpriced.

What are the big things to watch out for on these - I know the Mk 3 cavalier - which is this car just with a different badge - has a reputation for rusting rear arches - what are the other issues.

Is the 1.6 on this the Ecotec???.

I used to buy one of these every few months 4 years ago. Problems would include engine managment light usually on..best ignored usually!, rusted sills and as you said arches. The 1.7td Izuzu engined cavalier/vectra was a better bet than the petrol engines.

eire-kp wrote: »
    I used to buy one of these every few months 4 years ago. Problems would include engine managment light usually on..best ignored usually!, rusted sills and as you said arches. The 1.7td Izuzu engined cavalier/vectra was a better bet than the petrol engines.

Thanks a million for that :).

I know that you can only see a small bit of the steering wheel in the photos of that car - but from what you can see - do you think that looks like the right steering wheel for that car???.

Old diesel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

cork by any chance ? friends after one :P

Kildare. Won't be selling for another week or so. I have to buy something new first! :)

Scortho wrote: »
    Kildare. Won't be selling for another week or so. I have to buy something new first! :)

bit of a distance, best of luck with it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭eire-kp

Old diesel wrote: »
    Thanks a million for that :).

I know that you can only see a small bit of the steering wheel in the photos of that car - but from what you can see - do you think that looks like the right steering wheel for that car???.

Old diesel

That looks like a steering wheel out of a Gsi (2ltr sports model) Its definitely not the same as a 94 model with the airbag. Its posibly the right one. The ones I had either had were Vauxhall with the airbag or were gsi/sri with a wheel like that. I never had an Opels of that vintage..it could be typical Irish poverty spec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

I like this.... Such a sleeper. Get it for €1k and it could be a bit of fun, is it turbo though? Always thought these were N/A...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/00-vw-passat/5205105

View2-20793498.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Registration 00D34352
    Make VOLKSWAGEN
    Model PASSAT
    Description 2.8 V6
    Fuel Type PETROL

No mention of a turbo there
    Or on the engine cover.

I'd imagine the 1 owner from new isn't the guy selling it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

is that the same engine as used in the vr6 golf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Registration 00D34352
    Make VOLKSWAGEN
    Model PASSAT
    Description 2.8 V6
    Fuel Type PETROL

No mention of a turbo there

Yep reckon they're just N/A... Pity because a turbo could have made it a very fun/interesting car indeed. Remap the bejaysus out of it.. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

166man wrote: »
    I like this.... Such a sleeper. Get it for €1k and it could be a bit of fun, is it turbo though? Always thought these were N/A...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/00-vw-passat/5205105

View2-20793498.jpeg

looks skangerized.......:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Looks dead standard. :confused:

eire-kp wrote: »
    That looks like a steering wheel out of a Gsi (2ltr sports model) Its definitely not the same as a 94 model with the airbag. Its posibly the right one. The ones I had either had were Vauxhall with the airbag or were gsi/sri with a wheel like that. I never had an Opels of that vintage..it could be typical Irish poverty spec.

That's what I was thinking - that it wasn't the airbag wheel, the thing is I thought the airbag was standard in 94 - but im probably thinking of Uk Cavaliers.

Quite possible the airbag was optional, is there anyway of finding out the exact spec that a particular Opel had from the factory in the way you can do with BMWs and (modern) Fords.

From what I recall - the airbag was optional on the 1993 model - so even if the 94s had it as standard - this may be a left over car from 1993 (not sold) in the same way that back in the day - there was Nissan Bluebirds registered in 1991 even though the replacement Primera arrived in 1990.

I know it shouldn't be a big deal on a 750 euro car - but to be honest id happily drive that car if it never had an airbag - but id be concerned if it had an airbag at some point but now doesn't have an airbag steering wheel - like if the car originally had the airbag and doesn't have the airbag steering wheel anymore - why would it have been replaced.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Looks dead standard. :confused:

they did'nt come standard with a full limo pimp knacker tint :pac:

anyways, I'd like to make this point, this thread has gone to fcuk with all this inane BS chit chat.

Some of that chat is like a bunch of oul wans shyting on and on, going over the same old **** thats been discussed before time and time again .......

I think if your going to post, you got to post a banger too......or don't post or get a ban.....less talk, more BANGERS!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-avensis/4766786

MidlandsM wrote: »
    they did'nt come standard with a full limo pimp knacker tint :pac:

Hardly makes it a skanger car, the tint is easily removed.
    Could have been a factory extra too, seeing as it's not just Paddyspec.

Hardly makes it a skanger car, the tint is easily removed.
    Could have been a factory extra too, seeing as it's not just Paddyspec.

it does look like creamer mobile........
    and more chit chat.....?!?!?!?! like FFS!

post a banger FFS!

MidlandsM wrote: »
    it does look like creamer mobile........
    and more chit chat.....?!?!?!?! like FFS!

post a banger FFS!

As you can see, you edited your post after I had already replied, so don't make me out to be causing trouble.

We've went pages talking about cars before.

As you can see, you edited your post after I had already replied, so don't make me out to be causing trouble.

We've went pages talking about cars before.

utter bollox...post some cars.........thats what this thread is about, see post no 1

tax and test, do the job

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2002-nissan-micra/5206055