Should children be banned from pubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

I some times think they shouldn't let 20 and 30 year olds in bars as well,as I can guarantee on a Friday night they will kick off and start a fight,us old ones cannot get a quiet drink.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

No, but we need to have more adults only restaurants and pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

No, but we need to have more adults only restaurants and pubs.

And the answer to that one is - go open one! Once a person has money in their pocket and supervises their childern properly, pubs and resturants will always cater for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

went into a irish bar the other night,it was full of very old men,not one young one,I said to the barman;who is the oldest in the pub?he said we no longer have one,he died last week,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

No not really when food is served but up to a certain time like 7 or 8pm maybe have a restriction or something but they have that all ready haven't they though? if under 16 or 18 they have to be accompanied by an adult. They can legally be in a pub/pub on their own from 16-18 onwards isn't that the case? Legal age to be served alcohol is 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

And the answer to that one is - go open one! Once a person has money in their pocket and supervises their childern properly, pubs and resturants will always cater for them.

I would, if I had money to start off with, want to invest with me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

I would, if I had money to start off with, want to invest with me ;)

You supply the Capitol and ill run it for you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭ILikeFriday

I don't think they should be banned full stop e.g. someone should be able to go out for lunch with their kids on a Sunday or whatever. I do think pubs/restaurants should consider whether they want adults only or not. I would be quite annoyed if I went out for a nice meal as a treat on a Friday night and had a baby screaming beside me for the whole thing for example. But I don't think many restaurants would allow that. I think kids in pubs is something people like to complain about based on the one occasion years ago they had some problem because of it, rather than a serious ongoing problem. If customers were that annoyed, they would leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,194 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The arent allowed to be in pubs after 9pm as it is and I wouldn't be in a pub before that time anyway so I'm happy enough with it as it is.

I was occasionally brought to the pub myself as a kid but knew how to behave and didn't run around the place annoying the adults there which is how it should be, nobody want to be hassled by noisy brats as they are having a drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I can't think of a more depressing place for a child to be than a pub during the day, well in my town anyway. All full of middle to old aged drunks who only leave to go to the bookies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

if i pub dose not serve meals there is absolutely no reason to allow under 18s on the premises,unless its a teenager trying to earn some extra pocket money with a part time job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

The amount of supervision of kids in pubs is inversely proportional the the number of drinks the parents have had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Nah, the current general "No kids after X PM" setup works pretty well in my view.
    But I absolutely approve of a policy of being allowed to warn first and then eject people with unruly kids from any establishment. As it happens I find kids pretty amusing and get on well with them (a consequence of being a twenty something in a family full of preteens) but I can totally understand how noisiness etc might irritate others, or weaving in and out of tables like mad yokes while people are trying to have their food.

Kids I'm generally fond of - parents who let them run riot in public places, on the other hand.........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Incidentally, I'd like to thank the couple who brought their wailing young baby, pram and all to the screening of Man of Steel, on Sunday. A bawling infant was precisely what Zack Snyder's epic reboot was missing.

I was feeling so grateful, I almost went to the local afterwards but thankfully the missus reminded me that it would be overrun by unruly kids.

Phew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

They should open up bars in play centres :D

• Site Banned Posts: 106 ✭✭J.P.M

old hippy wrote: »
    Incidentally, I'd like to thank the couple who brought their wailing young baby, pram and all to the screening of Man of Steel, on Sunday. A bawling infant was precisely what Zack Snyder's epic reboot was missing.

I was feeling so grateful, I almost went to the local afterwards but thankfully the missus reminded me that it would be overrun by unruly kids.

Phew.

Complain! Simple as that! A baby should not have been allowed in. There are age ratings for a reason. The couple should have been refused entry.

Complain and get the free passes you deserve :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

For me, it depends on the pub. A Local bar or a tourist bar, which do food, they probably should be allowed.

A Bar in the city that does food, I don't think they should be, but that's up to the owner, whenever I get the money together to open my own pub (if I decide to have food), I'm going to steadfastly disallow any kid under 10, and those 10-17 won't be allowed after 5.

A bar that does no food, kids shouldn't be allowed in ever, even if they do crisps and such. They should at least have a sandwich bar if they wanna let kids in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭aisr1ofk43dpy5

whenever I get the money together to open my own pub (if I decide to have food), I'm going to steadfastly disallow any kid under 10, and those 10-17 won't be allowed after 5.

So you're planning on opening a pub and your first move is to bar all your future customers sounds like a plan.

For me, it depends on the pub. A Local bar or a tourist bar, which do food, they probably should be allowed.

A Bar in the city that does food, I don't think they should be, but that's up to the owner, whenever I get the money together to open my own pub (if I decide to have food), I'm going to steadfastly disallow any kid under 10, and those 10-17 won't be allowed after 5.

A bar that does no food, kids shouldn't be allowed in ever, even if they do crisps and such. They should at least have a sandwich bar if they wanna let kids in.

So basically you are happy to lose out on lots of money by having a silly rule like this. There are plenty of people I wouldn't want in my pub obviously, scumbags etc but family's spending money on food and drinks are not one of the groups I'd be excluding or parents and people u-18 coming in to watch matches etc if my pub didn't have food.

The legal time children have to leave is the only rule I'd enforce.

The 9pm rule is great, I wouldn't go to the pub too ofton but there was nothing as annoying as having teenage lads going in and out the door every minute and more ofton than not being too thick to close it after them, and if it was mentioned you would get the "fook you, wha ya gonna do bout it" attitude from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

Why on earth would you take your kids into a pub??

Phew.

why would anyone bring a little baby to a place where the would be bright flashes, loud noises???

no wonder the child was wailing

tatabubbly wrote: »

Good question.

tatabubbly wrote: »

Lunch, dinner, watch a match, parents are entitled to a quick pint on a sunny day, quick pint when in town shopping, Christmas and other special occasions etc.

A pub is an everyday place the way people are talking you would swear they were some sort of place where children will instantly die if they enter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Lunch, dinner, watch a match, parents are entitled to a quick pint on a sunny day, quick pint when in town shopping, Christmas and other special occasions etc....

Brilliant 'entitled'. I love the way shopping is classed as a special occasion, just like Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Yes kids should not be in pubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Brats under the age of 12 should not be seen and certainly never heard. Anything between 12 and 18 should behave like an adult. If you were grown up enough to have them you should be grown up enough to think of something to occupy them that doesn't involve boring or annoying me.

As for bringing them to supermarkets, it is perfectly acceptable to tie up a dog outside the premises while you shop, why not a mewling child ?

On planes and buses, they have baggage compartments - use them. If the child doesn't survive - have another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Sandypants

people go to a pub to get a break from their kids.... but they should only be allowed if there gettin a family meal or at a funtion...nothin worse then seeing kids being pumped full of crisps and peanuts on a sunday afternoon watching there parents get drunk...bring them to the feckin park!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

the 9pm rule should be the 6pm rule... kids should not be in any pubs after 6pm and parents who let there kids run up and down the pub/restaurant screaming should be shown to the door regardless of weather its in a pub or a restaurant.

Boombastic wrote: »
    Brilliant 'entitled'. I love the way shopping is classed as a special occasion, just like Christmas.

Yes entitled. I hate the way you cannot use the word entitled in AH without some stupid arsehole type comment made in reply.

I wasn't saying shopping was a special occasion I was saying Christmas and other special occasions as one of the reasons and having a quick pint if in shopping as another. What sort of dry, do gooders are getting so bothered about parents having one or two drinks while there kids are with them. Of course going out and getting pis*ed with kids is completely out of order but a couple of drinks is absolutely fine.

People really need to lose the sensationalist bull "oh my god a child in a pub call the guards" I was in pubs plenty of times as a child and it never did a thing on me.