Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

gutteruu wrote: »
    Lane choice for time saving? Your saying undertake? Thats a lot more dangerous in my opinion.

Not at all. Procedural, structured driving.

The statement that you get held up by people lane blocking is laughable because you actually have no concept of time. General congestion, traffic and even a light change will add more time to your journey than someone blocking you at 80km/h. Because when you hit traffic or have to stop at lights, you fall well below 50km/h and at lights you actually have to stop. Thats adding far more time and cutting far more off your forward speed than someone doing 80km/h in the outer lane for perhaps 10 mins.

If we take say a 10 minute window, if you had to fall from 120km/h to 80km/h for 5 minutes of that 10 minutes, you'll have travelled about 16km. (As opposed to the 20km you would have travelled had you been able to maintain 120km/h for 10 mins)

Contrast that to being on a congested road doing say 60km/h for 10 mins, and you'll have travelled 10km.

What I'm trying to say, being stuck behind someone on a motorway at 80km/h for 10 minutes, is actually negligible in the overall timings. Your talking seconds out of your day. Not hours. Being stuck at 80km/h the whole way to Cork from Dublin will add one hour to your day.

Its a terrible driver mentality that speed means you'll get somewhere faster. Not always the case when you start to factor traffic and the overall length of your journey. Ireland doesn't have roads long enough to make the justification your making. Were we having this conversation on a pan-European basis or on American highways I'd agree with you.

Just calm down behind the wheel and if your managing to save 4 hours per working day, sell the idea because I'm sure every courier company in the world would want to hear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

gutteruu wrote: »
    6.5 months of the year stuck behind them

smiley-face-_scared.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Owenw

BX 19 wrote: »
    You have a point. Most often these people are such clueless drivers that giving out about them will have no effect. They'll still be ignorant drivers tomorrow and the day after....

Tailgating is also pig ignorant driving too. Both annoy me as much as the other.

Nothing can be done? The traffic corp could pull these road hogs, give them fair warning, log them in the system. Each time they are caught the penalties increase: fine, court appearance and stiffer fine, 6, 12, 24 month ban plus large fines, 5, 10 year bans, permanent ban and car confiscated and sold or crushed. Each ban over 12 months gets you knocked back to a provisional licence and mandatory lessons. Failure to pay fines or driving while banned: community service maintaining the verges of back roads. Then deal with the few remaining tailgaters who are taking the p1ss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Owenw wrote: »
    Nothing can be done? The traffic corp could pull these road hogs, give them fair warning, log them in the system. Each time they are caught the penalties increase: fine, court appearance and stiffer fine, 6, 12, 24 month ban plus large fines, 5, 10 year bans, permanent ban and car confiscated and sold or crushed. Each ban over 12 months gets you knocked back to a provisional licence and mandatory lessons. Failure to pay fines or driving while banned: community service maintaining the verges of back roads. Then deal with the few remaining tailgaters who are taking the p1ss

Realistically that's not going to happen anytime soon with the current shortage of Garda resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭gutteruu

BX 19 wrote: »
    Realistically that's not going to happen anytime soon with the current shortage of Garda resources.

Realistically that won't happen because of the Irish mindset. As long as your not speeding you can do what you like. Most people on here are arguing for and trying to justify the reasoning behind people refusing to move and blocking lanes. Thats why nothing will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

CiniO wrote: »
    Why do you think flashing is illegal?

In such cases I always flash, but there's no point in tailgating. It's dangerous and might get you in big trouble if person in front decides to brake test you. Completely no point in doing so.
    Just stay away - keep distance and keep flashing.
    I'd heard it on the radio, but wasn't really paying attention and it looks like it was directly in relation to warning incoming drivers of a speed trap ahead, so I'll be continuing to flash the fcuk it of them in future. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭gubbie

vibe666 wrote: »
    I'd heard it on the radio, but wasn't really paying attention and it looks like it was directly in relation to warning incoming drivers of a speed trap ahead, so I'll be continuing to flash the fcuk it of them in future. :D

I remember my driving instructor told me about 2 years ago that flashing someone was to be used or informing another of your presence and that's why you shouldn't flash someone to let them through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

But your example assumes, that you normall travel at 120 at all times, which is impossible except from few odd times at the night. And it's not because of people blocking the overtaking lane, but from congestions in general.

I travelled to Athlone and back last friday daytime with cruise control set at 120kmh the whole way. (bar a couple of flooring it which "didnt" happen :P). Leaving dublin at about 2:00

That was M50-m4-m6, Only didnt do 120 on the intersection between the M50 and the M4 as it was bendy, and on the N4 where the limit is 80.

It is totally possible to travel at 120 on the motorway for the entire 200+kilometers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

Two red light breakers from the other day within minutes of each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Watching the first video i thought you were referring to the silver astra, and was thinking it was a yellow light let him off with it and and WOW, that was very late :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Shane_ef wrote: »
    Watching the first video i thought you were referring to the silver astra, and was thinking it was a yellow light let him off with it and and WOW, that was very late :eek:

Yep, same. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

rocky wrote: »
    N17 overtaking lane hogger... in a Yaris.

I agree, they overtook very slowly, but seeing as it's a very short stretch of two lanes I would have waited it out instead of being on their rear like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Barrel

I agree, they overtook very slowly, but seeing as it's a very short stretch of two lanes I would have waited it out instead of being on their rear like that.

:confused: short stretch? :confused: Doing around 100 kph the lane hogger took 20 seconds after the Toyota went completely into the left lane to get into a position to pass and move into the left lane safely but even then he continued in the overtaking lane for another 15 seconds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Ahh the N17, feck all overtaking opportunities on that plike of a road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Watch the front passenger wheel of the fiesta as its breaking the light :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Barrel wrote: »
    :confused: short stretch? :confused: Doing around 100 kph the lane hogger took 20 seconds after the Toyota went completely into the left lane to get into a position to pass and move into the left lane safely but even then he continued in the overtaking lane for another 15 seconds!

And that's the reason to tailgate him?

Yes because you would expect him to move over after the 20+ seconds he took to pass the "slow" moving car - if that had happened like it should have you would not have to close the gap to pass as its a climbing lane not a dual carrigeway ... the overtaking lane ends in a bit

What would you prefare the camera car to do ... undertake him? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

Youtube seems to decrease the quality, it was crystal clear on my laptop. Face this everyday, people not using lanes, i only gave a short beep to let him know. Nearly got caught on the roundabout myself by the mondeo slowing :D

Barrel wrote: »
    Yes because you would expect him to move over after the 20+ seconds he took to pass the "slow" moving car - if that had happened like it should have you would not have to close the gap to pass as its a climbing lane not a dual carrigeway ... the overtaking lane ends in a bit

What would you prefare the camera car to do ... undertake him? :eek:

Undertaking still would be safer than tailgating.
    And also as you can see on the video - tailgating didn't have any effect. Camera car was still stuck behind that vehicle even though he was tailgating.
    So what was the point in tailgating?

He wasn't tailgating he was making his intention to overtake apparent, tailgating is being up another cars backside for an extended period of time also dash cams make you look closer than you are.

Undertaking (an illegal manouvre) while more convienient is not the answer and if the Yaris driver (who doesn't seem to have much in the way of any observational skills) pulled back into the left lane and hit the cam car then he is in the wrong because of it.

Cam car did the right thing regardless of what hindsight heroes think

He wasn't tailgating he was making his intention to overtake apparent, tailgating is being up another cars backside for an extended period of time also dash cams make you look closer than you are.
    Unfortunately you are wrong here.
    Dash cams, as they are very wide angle (usually about 120degrees) makes you look further than you really are.
    Also tailgating is tailgating, no matter if it's for few seconds of few hours.
    Additionally I never heard it was advised to to make your intention to overtake apparent by tailgating.

All you wrote above it pretty much wrong.
    Undertaking (an illegal manouvre) while more convienient is not the answer and if the Yaris driver (who doesn't seem to have much in the way of any observational skills) pulled back into the left lane and hit the cam car then he is in the wrong because of it.
    Yes, that's true.
    But tailgating is the same illegal manouver, and if Yaris decides to have his brakes tested, then cam car is in the wrong anyway.
    Only difference is that tailgating doesn't give any results. Undertaking might help, but don't get me wrong - I'm not advising to undertake.
    Just out of those two, it's clear which manuover is better and safer.
    Cam car did the right thing regardless of what hindsight heroes think

I'm genuinely shocked that so many people in this forum seem to share this opinion.

In a perfect world.

I would just prefer to be in the right tbh.

Rules of the road aren't advisory.

:eek: 3 words

pot kettle black

If you think that undertaking that car before that climbing lane runs out in a few seconds is safer than tailgaiting the car while waiting/hoping he moves into the left lane - then I am astonished at your perception of safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭The_Nipper_One

CiniO is viewing the best practical outcome to the problem if you assume that getting the overtake is a life or death situation, which apparently it was in this case and could not be postponed for even a bit...

His thinking is right if you ask me; tailgate and you're getting nowhere and putting yourself in a vulnerable situation.
    Undertake and you still are putting yourself in a bad situation, but you would at least get somewhere.

Regardless of what the car in the video was doing, right of way can't be taken and must be given. The driving posted was an example of aggressive driving and not defensive at all. I never tailgate, flash, beep, etc, anyone in front of me in an attempt to harass them out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Keeping a good distance and flashing is way more effective than tailgating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

In a perfect world.

I would just prefer to be in the right tbh.

Rules of the road aren't advisory.

In the real world,
    I would prefer to be safe

Rules of the road are advisory,
    It's the law that is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

BohsCeltic wrote: »
    Youtube seems to decrease the quality, it was crystal clear on my laptop. Face this everyday, people not using lanes, i only gave a short beep to let him know. Nearly got caught on the roundabout myself by the mondeo slowing :D

Those roundabouts around Liffey Valley have alot of that going on.
    I enter from Liffey Valley in the outside lain take the 3rd exit [that lain is marked accordingly] and then the slip for the N4 west bound and the amount of times i have someone on the inside try and cut across me for the same slip is mad.
    The one up at the cinnama exit is worse tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

CiniO is viewing the best practical outcome to the problem if you assume that getting the overtake is a life or death situation, which apparently it was in this case and could not be postponed for even a bit...

His thinking is right if you ask me; tailgate and you're getting nowhere and putting yourself in a vulnerable situation.
    Undertake and you still are putting yourself in a bad situation, but you would at least get somewhere.

Regardless of what the car in the video was doing, right of way can't be taken and must be given. The driving posted was an example of aggressive driving and not defensive at all. I never tailgate, flash, beep, etc, anyone in front of me in an attempt to harass them out of the way.

I agree. That clip just showed a driver being wound up and frustrated by a car in front, followed by an aggressive flat to the floor overtake.

I just ask myself these days if I really need to get where i'm going super quick before making rash decisions.The answer is usually no (as much as i like to put the boot down the odd time).

Also as Cinio said, dash cams do indeed make you look further away than you are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I agree. That clip just showed a driver being wound up and frustrated by a car in front, followed by an aggressive flat to the floor overtake.

I just ask myself these days if I really need to get where i'm going super quick before making rash decisions.The answer is usually no (as much as i like to put the boot down the odd time).

Also as Cinio said, dash cams do indeed make you look further away than you are.

I'm just surprising myself by agreeing with that. But partly because I'm not on the road in a professional capacity anymore. Partly also because I'm older and a little less stupid.
    But if you have to cover 200 km in a day and get 5 jobs done in various locations, dawdlers can be a serious headache. Their mindset is "because I'm not in a hurry, nobody else is, oh look, someone is going fast, let's pull out and show them at what speed they should be going, I bet he'll be grateful for this free lesson in road safety". Idiots like that would drive me crazy and I did a few things that, in hindsight, where not smart, safe or even sane.
    For some reason these people don't bother me anymore and I realised the holdup is never as bad as you think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭gutteruu

Try passing me on the inside of my van a few times and see how long you last. Blind spots everywhere. Far more dangerous to undertake.

It also forces the person who is doing nothing wrong to do something illegal.