Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

muckit getting warmed up for Bon Jovi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Tidy little goat!!!!
    Now where are me wellies??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

jaysus that would give a horn to a snowman, Love that tune.

Blurred lines not alan partridge.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Cant beat a bit of culture of a Friday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

mf240 wrote: »
    jaysus that would give a horn to a snowman, Love that tune.
    Alan Partridge ???:eek: Tis a catchy tune in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭dzer2

moy83 wrote: »
    Alan Partridge ???:eek: Tis a catchy tune in fairness

Go back a bit further:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Them boys were on norton last week , great stuff,
    Off to table quiz now and few pints, won't be able to concentrate :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

dzer2 wrote: »
    Go back a bit further:D:D
    Mighty video dzr2 , of course the wife had to walk past the puter while I was watching it though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 tkehoe

well lads, can anyone help me regarding where i can freely get parts for a mengele silage harvester? the model i have is a sh40n

tkehoe wrote: »
    well lads, can anyone help me regarding where i can freely get parts for a mengele silage harvester? the model i have is a sh40n

Which broke first, the weather or the harvester?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 tkehoe

delaval wrote: »
    Which broke first, the weather or the harvester?

wont be in action until 1st week of july hopefully, just want a few bits for it, can get tines, need bushes for pickup and few other bits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

just back from parents council table quiz, only 6 tables very poor show, unreal as there are 170 kids in the school:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan1 wrote: »
    just back from parents council table quiz, only 6 tables very poor show, unreal as there are 170 kids in the school:mad:

Standard enough you have to sell them hard to get a crowd. Grandparents local to the area are a good mark.

i started the whole table quiz thing when i was on the council 4 years ago there was 22 tables on the first one but it was in march think in june its a no no, anyway we came 3rd, at least we bothered to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

Anyone know where to get the vane settings for Amazone ZAM. Have tried everywhere but can only get info for non Irish ferts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Insp. Harry Callahan

Anyone else here get those statistics forms sent out to them to fill in?,
    Been getting them twice a year here for years. Bit of a pain to be honest, have to fill in area farmed, area in different crops, livestock numbers, hours worked etc
    If not filled in on time they keep sending reminders, is there a penalty for just binning them and forgetting about it!?

maxxuumman wrote: »
    Anyone know where to get the vane settings for Amazone ZAM. Have tried everywhere but can only get info for non Irish ferts.

I have them on tractor. I can't scan but Farmhand would have them I got new book with new spreader.
    Let me know what setting you are looking for and I can look up for you

Cow with Tetney this am keep ye're eyes open.
    2 cal in vein and 1 mag under skin she is back in paddock now all well thank god.
    It's one thing I hate is losing one to Tetney as its very avoidable

delaval wrote: »
    Cow with Tetney this am keep ye're eyes open.
    2 cal in vein and 1 mag under skin she is back in paddock now all well thank god.
    It's one thing I hate is losing one to Tetney as its very avoidable
    might be no harm to give her 2 magnessium bullets also to cover her for a couple of months, we give them to any cows that get tetany after treatment

whelan1 wrote: »
    might be no harm to give her 2 magnessium bullets also to cover her for a couple of months, we give them to any cows that get tetany after treatment

Good idea it's her second time will do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

just got news my niece gave birth to her first child a baby boy.

Really beginning to feel old now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Great-Uncle Jo, has a ring to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Great-Uncle Jo, has a ring to it!

Aren't ya great to be able to use the interweb at your age.

How do you find "the donedeal"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

mf240 wrote: »
    Aren't ya great to be able to use the interweb at your age.

How do you find "the donedeal"
    Taking to someone there recently who had met a Nun who was 93 years old. For her birthday they got her a smart phone. He asked her how was she getting on with it. Grand, she said, but she hadn't figured out yet, how to cut and paste from a text to an e-mail.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

my mates grandmother in her mid-90's, was going to enroll for an accountancy/bookkeeping night course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

pakalasa wrote: »
    Taking to someone there recently who had met a Nun who was 93 years old. For her birthday they got her a smart phone. He asked her how was she getting on with it. Grand, she said, but she hadn't figured out yet, how to cut and paste from a text to an e-mail.:D

Careful. http://youtu.be/XcIwXVKQjsQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

jomoloney wrote: »
    just got news my niece gave birth to her first child a baby boy.

Really beginning to feel old now :D

I don't know if it's any consolation but that happened to uncles of mine when they were still in their thirties. Mind you they're still younger than you now and those kids are near 20 soo..... maybe not that much help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Got 40 of the late winter/early spring calvers scanned today. 4 empties in total, all were cows that were dirty inside, they had showed one strong heat back in May, and had not come bulling since, so alittle disappointing in that respect, but to be expected. I'm thinking of getting them washed out, then coils/injection, what sort of timeframe would you's suggest to do all that?

Timmaay wrote: »
    Got 40 of the late winter/early spring calvers scanned today. 4 empties in total, all were cows that were dirty inside, they had showed one strong heat back in May, and had not come bulling since, so alittle disappointing in that respect, but to be expected. I'm thinking of getting them washed out, then coils/injection, what sort of timeframe would you's suggest to do all that?
    Good result I'd say.
    Cull those cows as they are problem cows and are going to be late calvers. Milk away and they will be putting on condition as calved a while, at drying send to factory. They'll leave you more money than farting around with treatments to have nothing only a late calving cow at the end. You also have lots of heifers coming on so they will make room for them

Phuckin rain going to swimming pool with kids