Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

tipp bate and the hay saved all before the 10th of June. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

1chippy wrote: »
    Second wind here anyway. barby lit up and a couple of mates around, has anyone ever put tyres on a pit with a hangover, id say it will be good.

All through my twenties I never did it any other way. Both myself and the boss were working full time at that stage so we tried to cut of a Friday afternoon or a Saturday. That left me drinking heavily on that night with a pit to cover the next morning. It always got done but with the heat on top of black plastic you would sweat like a nun in a whorehouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

1chippy wrote: »
    has anyone ever put tyres on a pit with a hangover

When are you putting on the tyres? The trick is not to get a hangover, ie you won't get one if you're drunk;) Have a few cans before throwing them up, then sweat it off ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭epfff

All this talk of hay and silage is making me think I must close up a bit.
    rang a guy yesterday to rent 15 acres of grass looked for 200 per acre
    it was light crop of old grass was I wrong to smile and politely hang up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

tipp bate and the hay saved all before the 10th of June. :)

Best thing ever for Tipp will get a good run now to skin the cats in sept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Heifer repeated a few days ago and this evening there was bloody slimmy stuff by tail, bad news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

quadboy wrote: »
    Heifer repeated a few days ago and this evening there was bloody slimmy stuff by tail, bad news?

that's normal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Best thing ever for Tipp will get a good run now to skin the cats in sept

We need a good run, were fair bad today I'll tell ya

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,910 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Tipp Man wrote: »
    We need a good run, were fair bad today I'll tell ya

At least we have the hay saved, can't win them all. Sit back now and let Clare beat Cork and we'll be in the back door......;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,259 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

hugo29 wrote: »
    Best drinking town ireland, did you stay in the madhouse that is the castle court

Nah couple of B&B's.

Surfing yesterday. Greast craic altogether. tismesoitis was there on the Sat. Some man in a kayack I'll tell ya! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Second letter in the last month arrived today to say that a neighbouring farmer has gone down with TB :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭naughto

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Second letter in the last month arrived today to say that a neighbouring farmer has gone down with TB :(
    its must be bad when the farmer gets it and not the cattle

naughto wrote: »
    its must be bad when the farmer gets it and not the cattle

Hahahaaha:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭naughto

all joking a side does he buy in a lot of cattle or whats going on

naughto wrote: »
    all joking a side does he buy in a lot of cattle or whats going on

No, it's old farming country round here, both farmers are in their 60s. Just seems to be rather prevalent in the land there. Thankfully it's the bit of land we have that's away from the main farm but still, now we have TB on 2 sides of the land, one of which we have to walk the cattle through an old pass which has more holes in the hedge than hedge just to get to our patch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Was in the mart over the weekend. Interesting that I saw 1 guy that I know flat out buying cattle for finishing. He's a cute hoor, and never puts a foot wrong. Last year he bought no stock and saved a lot of meadow, for the few years before that he was big into sheep. He's well connected with family working in the Dep of Ag and he has a lot of dealings with meat factories too.

What does he know that we don't know about stocking rates/reference years for the new SFP or does he know something about cattle prices in the next 12 months?

Were ye watching the repeat of countryfile yesterday evening? Part of the prggramme was covering TB in Rep. of Ireland and our national herd test. They were following a Cork suckler farmer as he was having his readings done. He got the all clear Thank God. He had fine cows and calves, not to mention his stock bull, lovely muscly Limousin. Twas the cows that really caught my eye though. Worth a look if you any of ye could find it online, perhaps Youtube?

Muckit wrote: »
    Were ye watching the repeat of countryfile yesterday evening? Part of the prggramme was covering TB in Rep. of Ireland and our national herd test. They were following a Cork suckler farmer as he was having his readings done. He got the all clear Thank God. He had fine cows and calves, not to mention his stock bull, lovely muscly Limousin. Twas the cows that really caught my eye though. Worth a look if you any of ye could find it online, perhaps Youtube?

http://www.tvmuse.eu/

Found it. I love that site. :D Now....what episode?

http://www.tvmuse.eu/

Found it. I love that site. :D Now....what episode?
    It would have been last sunday's episode really, but repeat was shown yesterday before last night's one....

Muckit wrote: »
    It would have been last sunday's episode really, but repeat was shown yesterday before last night's one....

Rightio, I'll see if I can get it there anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

reilig wrote: »
    Was in the mart over the weekend. Interesting that I saw 1 guy that I know flat out buying cattle for finishing. He's a cute hoor, and never puts a foot wrong. Last year he bought no stock and saved a lot of meadow, for the few years before that he was big into sheep. He's well connected with family working in the Dep of Ag and he has a lot of dealings with meat factories too.

What does he know that we don't know about stocking rates/reference years for the new SFP or does he know something about cattle prices in the next 12 months?

I'd say he s covering both angles for himself.Judging by the way it's gone quiet about reference year I d bet 2013 will be the year they use,because even though its been said all parties favour 2012 why has nt there been an official announcement by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

rang bank on 19th april to orgainise a small loan.. after doing cash flow planner, profit monitor etc i finally got a reply on friday......... it was the slow yes:D i am sure alot of people just wouldnt bother when they keep looking for more info, interestingly on letter of acceptance is says this money will be available for draw down until 4/9/13, think it will be long gone by then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Anyone got farmers journal from 10 days ago handy?

If you do, would you mind checking what Irish Country Meats quoted for lamb price please, it'll be in a table somewhere around the second last page...

Thanks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

reilig wrote: »

I'd guess it's the former. Supply and demand - there will be poor supply of quality stock this autumn and demand will be strong. He's getting in before the market catches on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

If you do, would you mind checking what Irish Country Meats quoted for lamb price please, it'll be in a table somewhere around the second last page...

Wouldnt you know i have may 25th and june 8th editions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

just do it wrote: »
    I'd guess it's the former. Supply and demand - there will be poor supply of quality stock this autumn and demand will be strong. He's getting in before the market catches on.

Ya, it will be interesting to see how much the national suckler cow herd falls this year. A lot of guys reducing their numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 IPFree

Edition 1st June 2013

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

pakalasa wrote: »
    Ya, it will be interesting to see how much the national suckler cow herd falls this year. A lot of guys reducing their numbers.

Plus some dairy guys, with suckler herds also, giving up on the suckling and going 100% dairy.
    Plus some bigger suckler herds converting to dairy.

It's not a bad time I'd say, for smaller suckler guys to increase numbers a bit and or improve cow quality a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Plus some dairy guys, with suckler herds also, giving up on the suckling and going 100% dairy.
    Plus some bigger suckler herds converting to dairy.

It's not a bad time I'd say, for smaller suckler guys to increase numbers a bit and or improve cow quality a bit.

yea i wonder what sort money in calf heifers will be this year, must go back to the man i have always bought off, need to replace a few culls but there is no way i am buying if they are not BVD tested, i have a BVD free herd the last 2 years,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 foxfield21

550 cent/kg incl VAT