Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

reilig wrote: »
    Was in the mart over the weekend. Interesting that I saw 1 guy that I know flat out buying cattle for finishing. He's a cute hoor, and never puts a foot wrong. Last year he bought no stock and saved a lot of meadow, for the few years before that he was big into sheep. He's well connected with family working in the Dep of Ag and he has a lot of dealings with meat factories too.

What does he know that we don't know about stocking rates/reference years for the new SFP or does he know something about cattle prices in the next 12 months?

im telling you all my hard work could be rewarded yet, somehow I think not. I havnt even taught twice about this being a potential reference year and the economics of buying animals, im down 40ha of land on previous years so best not be 2013:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Henwin

cud ye tell me what happens to cattle that have TB or Brucellosis. Do they go into the food chain or dumed. are they safe to eat for humans i wonder.
    what about bvd calves and cows, are they dumped. A non farmer was asking me and i didnt have the answers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

#3989 rolliepoley
    blue_star_2.gif

Adverts | Friends

New bull.
    Three bulls heard the rancher was bringing another bull onto the ranch.

First Bull: "I've been here five years. I'm not giving this new bull any of my 100 cows."

Second Bull: "I've been here three years and have earned my right to 50 cows. I'm keeping all my cows."

Third Bull: "I've only been here a year, and so far, you guys have only let me have 10 cows. I may not be as big as you fellows, but I'm keeping all 10 of my cows."

Just then an 18-wheeler pulls up in the pasture carrying the biggest bull they've ever seen. At 4,700 pounds, each step he takes strains the steel ramp.

First Bull: "I think I can spare a few cows for our new friend."

Second Bull: "I actually have too many cows to take care of. I can spare a few. I'm certainly not looking for an argument."

They look over at the third bull and find him pawing the dirt, shaking his horns and snorting.

First Bull: "Son, don't be foolish -- let him have some of your cows and live to tell about it."

Third Bull: "Hell, he can have all my cows. I'm just making sure he knows I'm a bull

Thought it was a suitible joke for here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

factory rep i never dealt with before and barely know abandoned jeep on main road and walked into field i was workin in and asked me did i have any cattle for factory had a quick look at a few and said 4.80 kg base for what i had, i said they wouldnt be fit until early next month was still glad, said he only sourced 30 cattle today and he looking for 400 a day and that was half five, are things gone that tight that soon:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,434 ✭✭✭naughto

any one play this
    http://www.familyfarmgame.com/en/family-farm-game

i got the full version on the internet man that called to my house:P

factory rep i never dealt with before and barely know abandoned jeep on main road and walked into field i was workin in and asked me did i have any cattle for factory had a quick look at a few and said 4.80 kg base for what i had, i said they wouldnt be fit until early next month was still glad, said he only sourced 30 cattle today and he looking for 400 a day and that was half five, are things gone that tight that soon:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Henwin wrote: »
    cud ye tell me what happens to cattle that have TB or Brucellosis. Do they go into the food chain or dumed. are they safe to eat for humans i wonder.
    what about bvd calves and cows, are they dumped. A non farmer was asking me and i didnt have the answers.

In response to a Dail Question in 2000, regarding the means by which abattoirs dispose of tuberculosis infected carcasses, Agriculture Minister, Joe Walsh replied: “In the case of generalised TB, the entire carcass is deemed unfit for human consumption. If only an organ or part is infected, that organ or part is deemed to be unfit for human consumption, with the remainder of the carcass being passed fit for human consumption”. Consuming meat from an animal who has had a single TB – infected organ removed, is apparently safe. This would suggest that bovine TB pose little or no threat to human health.

So unless that's changed, yes for TB animals. Ireland was also declared free of brucellosis on 1 July 2009.

BVD animals can either be shot by knackery man or kept seperate from the herd and fed on to slaughter as it does not pass through in meat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,281 ✭✭✭Good loser

Very interesting. Were they bulls, bullocks or heifers? I believe the flow of clean cattle to the factories has got very tight.

Good loser wrote: »
    Very interesting. Were they bulls, bullocks or heifers? I believe the flow of clean cattle to the factories has got very tight.

27 month charolais u grades bullocks

was he wearing cowboy boots and a cowboy hat aswell:D. fair dues to any man able to buy 400 cattle a day, definitely horse manure. keep your card marked for him. things are getting tighter but I would be well aware of anyone paying well above the market price

well i wasnt surprised about the price, they are a top batch of u grades i was more amused at how bet he was to find stock and that he let on he was finding stock scarce as its the last thing they normally let on.

sure even at 4.80 they wont leave a profit worth writing home about with the year just gone by:mad:

well i wasnt surprised about the price, they are a top batch of u grades i was more amused at how bet he was to find stock and that he let on he was finding stock scarce as its the last thing they normally let on.

sure even at 4.80 they wont leave a profit worth writing home about with the year just gone by:mad:

maybe us farmers just dont know a good thing when we see it. Send that guy south as he could buy every bullock slaughtered in the South if he is paying €4.80 base as thats way over what is on offer down here for bullocks . wonder how does he balance his book at the end of the day :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

maybe us farmers just dont know a good thing when we see it. Send that guy south as he could buy every bullock slaughtered in the South if he is paying €4.80 base as thats way over what is on offer down here for bullocks . wonder how does he balance his book at the end of the day :rolleyes:

He probably balances it somewhere between the taxman ant the vat man. .... and neither shall ever see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Perfect slurry day here. Tank is stirred, tae now, then a day in the seat blackening silage fields.

ill clear this up it was 4.80 u grades and 4.60 r grades with no penalty on high carcass weight transport organised by him and payment on the day.
    he's not a messer we built his house over 10 years ago, the old lad would know him but I never put two words together to him until yesterday, I only wanted to find out off other people are cattle scarce that's all, im not posting on here only to be made out i'm stuck with me head in the clouds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

ill clear this up it was 4.80 u grades and 4.60 r grades with no penalty on high carcass weight transport organised by him and payment on the day.
    he's not a messer we built his house over 10 years ago, the old lad would know him but I never put two words together to him until yesterday, I only wanted to find out off other people are cattle scarce that's all, im not posting on here only to be made out i'm stuck with me head in the clouds

Man says, he is looking for 400 head a day. That's the bit, that really interesting:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,899 ✭✭✭mf240

Its obviously 400 a week but cattle must be scarce, Bob is a fecker for talking down the trade but at the same time I can see where hes coming from about them balancing there books.

There is a big difference between €4.80 base price and €4.80 for the U's. One price is available the other isnt. Its a 20c of a difference on base price. Dont understand why people sell cattle off the grid.

mf240 wrote: »
    Its obviously 400 a week but cattle must be scarce, Bob is a fecker for talking down the trade but at the same time I can see where hes coming from about them balancing there books.

I'm talking about reality and real time prices, if you want fantasy read the IFJ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

any brainwaves on what to do with a burnt patch in a field (where mound of bushes were burnt), any quick fix
    break it up and bit grass seed ??

hugo29 wrote: »
    any brainwaves on what to do with a burnt patch in a field (where mound of bushes were burnt), any quick fix
    break it up and bit grass seed ??

Scratch with box or leveller, grass seed by hand, tank of slurry on top.

what about the fresh ash, only burnt 2 days ago

hugo29 wrote: »
    what about the fresh ash, only burnt 2 days ago

That's free potash

ever grow crops where there was timber burned, serious reserves after a fire. spread out nice and thinly if you can

That's free potash

:D yea but was worried might be too deep, suppose if its scraped in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

What would you use to stick a bit of a mirror on a tractor, the panel is still there just no glass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

quadboy wrote: »
    What would you use to stick a bit of a mirror on a tractor, the panel is still there just no glass

tec 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭dzer2

quadboy wrote: »

get some stone mastic stays flexible and doesnt degrade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

jomoloney wrote: »
    tec 7

That stuff is mighty, but I end up wasting half of it because the cap never screws on tight enough and it all dries up. Same with most mastic/silicone gun applied products. There's a market there for a better designed applicator system

Muckit wrote: »
    That stuff is mighty, but I end up wasting half of it because the cap never screws on tight enough and it all dries up. Same with most mastic/silicone gun applied products. There's a market there for a better designed applicator system

is it like tigerseal?