Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Sami23 wrote: »
    How soon after 1st cut wud ye recommend putting out fertiliser for 2nd cut. I don't usually do a 2nd cut so no experience of it.
    I was thinking of leaving it 1-2 weeks to green up a bit as didn't think it wud be great to spread on bare ground ?

Today I spread 3x18-6-12 on what was cut yesterday and will follow with 1 ASN next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

Hay baled and I stayed off the tractor until this evening as requested my Muckit!

IMG_0633.JPG

IMG_0631.JPG

IMG_0634.JPG

Heading off to knock some grass. Is the weather to hold till Tues?
    We hope to pick Mon am, I don't want to start tomorrow afternoon!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

delaval wrote: »
    Heading off to knock some grass. Is the weather to hold till Tues?
    We hope to pick Mon am, I don't want to start tomorrow afternoon!!
    http://www.met.ie/forecasts/5day-ireland.asp

You're based in KK right? You'd possibly get away with it but the model is showing some light rain for Monday. I'll give you a heads up when it arrives as we'll have it here in the West a few hours ahead of you;) (as well as having more of it:rolleyes:).

just do it wrote: »
    http://www.met.ie/forecasts/5day-ireland.asp

You're based in KK right? You'd possibly get away with it but the model is showing some light rain for Monday. I'll give you a heads up when it arrives as we'll have it here in the West a few hours ahead of you;) (as well as having more of it:rolleyes:).

Cheers
    Having a cuppa on the headland. One if the longest memories I have is having a bottle of tea with my Dad when I was a little boy. Nothing nicer!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Another paddock down this am, will have to bale this evening, contractor don't work Sunday and rain due Monday

Cheers
    Having a cuppa on the headland. One if the longest memories I have is having a bottle of tea with my Dad when I was a little boy. Nothing nicer!!

Yes remember being in hayfields when I was young with brothers an sisters and mum would arrive with tea for us all, fantastic memories

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Cheers

The mother and Granny arriving with huge kettle full of tea. Roll of brown paper in spout. Batch loaf cut thick.
    Hay was a very sociable thing

bbam wrote: »
    The mother and Granny arriving with huge kettle full of tea. Roll of brown paper in spout. Batch loaf cut thick.
    Hay was a very sociable thing

Yea and the homemade buns and Kimberley biscuits after, all neighbours in one field helping out, seems like a lifetime ago now, (suppose its over 25 years ago now)is it me but all I remember is weather like this all summer back then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

FFS lads, put away the flasks, smartphones and sentimentality and get back to work :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

just do it wrote: »
    FFS lads, put away the flasks, smartphones and sentimentality and get back to work :D:D
    i have to go for afternoon tea with my lady friends this afternoon, far from afternoon tea i am used to i can tell ya, would prefer to be here at silage.... argh:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan1 wrote: »
    i have to go for afternoon tea with my lady friends this afternoon, far from afternoon tea i am used to i can tell ya, would prefer to be here at silage.... argh:mad:

Are these friends now or wans you've had to fall in with because your kids are in school with their kids. Mrs freedom is mad about the former and yet sees them very little and considers the latter a pain in the hole most of the time and can't get away from them:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Im going to be odd here and say that I hate eating outside , wont even eat in the kitchen if the door or windows are letting a breeze at me . I dont know why but sure we cant all be the same .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

moy83 wrote: »
    Im going to be odd here and say that I hate eating outside , wont even eat in the kitchen if the door or windows are letting a breeze at me . I dont know why but sure we cant all be the same .

No I am with you 100% Moy

I absolutely hate eating outdoors and avoid it at all costs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Tipp Man wrote: »

What both of ye need, is a bit of starvation! -;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

What both of ye need, is a bit of starvation! -;)

Hunger is good sauce :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Tipp Man wrote: »

We got a deck done at the house last year and it gets great use.
    Had me breakfast out there thismorning. Posh or what? Brekie on the veranda :)

bbam wrote: »
    We got a deck done at the house last year and it gets great use.
    Had me breakfast out there thismorning. Posh or what? Brekie on the veranda :)

Just had lunch on mine, what a country when sun shines, now to sneak off without two young helpers wanting to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

hugo29 wrote: »
    Just had lunch on mine, what a country when sun shines, now to sneak off without two young helpers wanting to come

The young helpers want to help and the older ones dont here.

td5man wrote: »

Two boys here and all they want is tractor, still not got away mind you not trying to hard at moment, nice to enjoy them too

back from my afternoon tea 25 euro per person:eek:, lads are drawing in silage, pit bulking up, will do a barbecue for the silage lads after milking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan1 wrote: »
    back from my afternoon tea 25 euro per person:eek:, lads are drawing in silage, pit bulking up, will do a barbecue for the silage lads after milking

€25 and you still want barbecue I'd be looking for a refund.

barbecue is for the silage lads and tbh you didnt get an awful lot for 25 euro

I tell the real young ones that I'm going to move bulls, but the older ones say that they'll drive the bike. Will need to update my story!!
    Mine are twins 4, one 6 and one 8. Wife warns my that in 8 years none will want to come out at all.

Decided to pick up tomorrow as I don't want it wet now. Tedder working behind me as I mow

I tell the real young ones that I'm going to move bulls, but the older ones say that they'll drive the bike. Will need to update my story!!
    Mine are twins 4, one 6 and one 8. Wife warns my that in 8 years none will want to come out at all.

10 year old is let drive everything here ie . tractors track machines etc, but gets fed up after an hour or so, if i got the chance to drive something like that at his age i'd be awake all night in case i'd miss out.
    8 year old has an interest in stock can remember which cow had which calf.
    1 twin is machinery mad while the other likes stock

Weather isn't looking too bad for next bit cooler than this week but not as much rain as previously forecast.

all done and dusted. covered and all. lads fed chilling with:D a glass of wine

10 year old is let drive everything here ie . tractors track machines etc, but gets fed up after an hour or so, if i got the chance to drive something like that at his age i'd be awake all night in case i'd miss out.
    8 year old has an interest in stock can remember which cow had which calf.
    1 twin is machinery mad while the other likes stock

5 year old is tractor mad, 2 year old is beginning to cop on that a spin on the tractor looks good, oh I can see the fighting starting soon :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Mine are a five year old girl and a two year old boy. She loves the livestock and if it burns diesel and makes noise he is all over it like a rash. They really do gave their own personalities.