Kids jumping in Liffey from roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Article here where the author suggests that the boy struck exposed steel on the ledge below him.

I can't see any reputable written source to back up the video. There is nothing from any newpaper, that I can find.

I have my doubts.

Nasty video, by the way. I recommend not watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭starling

Good Jaysus OP never read YT comments, they are invariably vile. YT doesn't care. I use an extension that replaces them all with the words "herp derp" instead, much more pleasant :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

That the best the Dubs can do? :P

Jumping off the bridge by Ardnacrushna is far higher and more impressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭ronan45

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

seriously dumb thing to do, lucky bastards tbh, they had feck all clearance from the wall :eek:, but one day darwin will find em...one day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

Allyall wrote: »
    SharonGodwinFans (youtube user) is obviously reading Afterhours..

Posting racist comments on a few videos that are posted here.

First time I noticed was the Riots on Portmarnock beach, but now appears in Brighton train video (DrunkRacist Irishman goes Viral) and this..

Yes SharonGodwinFans is a piece of work. I exchanged a few comments with him/her on one of the Portmarnock videos. I am actually relieved to see that he/she is just a troll as the level of racism seemed immense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

MarkY91 wrote: »
    we all did stupid stuff as kids. we all hurt ourselves doing them things

As they say

" When i was younger, they didnt have to say.. Do not try this at home.... we wernt that ****ing retarded"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Article here where the author suggests that the boy struck exposed steel on the ledge below him.

I can't see any reputable written source to back up the video. There is nothing from any newpaper, that I can find.

I have my doubts.

Nasty video, by the way. I recommend not watching it.

Maybe im just thinking this to keep sane, but there's no way someone would
    keep filming that in the ER room, the doctors woudln't allow it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

awec wrote: »
    Guy dives off a wall into the sea, but he slips just as he's about to jump and falls head first into a bit of concrete below.

Head lands on the corner of the concrete and he falls into the water unconscious.

Scene cuts to him in hospital, his face is literally split in half while he's still alive. Not just a cut down his face, I mean actually split in half and lying there gaping open. Doctor has to put his hands on both sides of the face and push them together to make it even look like a face again.

The water is red, cause obviously when you split your face in half you bleed quite a bit.

Apparently he died a few days later.

Jaysus. I feel nauseous even reading about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Nodin wrote: »
    Exactly. They're the worst kind. Young lads never did anything stupid in my day. I blame the video games and the trailer for that superman film.

If video games affected young people then Pacman would have caused our generation to be running around in dark rooms, munching pills and listening to repetitive electronic music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The guys are complete morons. That's so dangerous and they're lucky one of them isn't dead.

Pretty certain that when i was 16 i would have been first in line. let's face it, teenagers are isiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭aaakev

Festy wrote: »
    Careful now...

Not for the fainthearted...

18 + only

http://www.viduu.com/video/guy-splits-face-open-in-diving-accident/
    That woke me up anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

I cant say much as we used to jump of quincentenary bridge in galway. Cleaner water though id imagine.

Yes Galway doesnt have a cryptosporidium problem at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

the_monkey wrote: »

Based on your experience of Lebanese hospitals?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Festy wrote: »
    Careful now...

Not for the fainthearted...

18 + only

http://www.viduu.com/video/guy-splits-face-open-in-diving-accident/

****ing hell. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I have done worse and it looks like great craic

if i was 20 years younger i would give it a go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭bacon n eggs

Young people have no concept of danger, and then in a group being egged on by others don't want to be seen as a coward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

The Liffey needs more crocodiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Bunch of fecking eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

That took balls. Not a ****ing hope I'd do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 DaithiOGormain

I hope that if anybody was to get hurt it would be one of the eejits jumping off and not some person just walking along going about their own business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

the_monkey wrote: »

That doc was trying to push the kids face together with his hands, (reportedly) repeating "Where do I begin?" Doesn't inspire confidence.

I don't think that place was the Cleveland Clinic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,790 ✭✭✭tvnutz

It's all well and good to say they are only young lads, just having a laugh, trying to feel alive, blah blah blah. You can do all that without actually putting your life in danger. Some teens have no cop on,no basic common sense cop on at all.

I am a secondary school teacher and at the end of every year I remind them to be safe and think about what they are doing and if it seems risky or stupid,it most likely is. Few years ago one student in a previous school I was in was doing something similar to that video in the OP, he hit his head of a rock in the Liffey and drowned, 15 years old. Nice memory for all his friends to have witnessed and for everyone that cared about him to have to deal with.

My next school a few lads decided to play chicken on the motorway, he was on the way back when he got hit by a car going 100km/ph, killed instantly in front of all his friends, 16 years old.

There are many ways to have a laugh and enjoy yourself without taking stupid risks that cut your life short far too early and destroy the lives of those closest to you. To also say that teens are just stupid, I never did anything so stupid when I was that age I have taught tons of students that I know would have the sense not to do stuff like that either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Those noobs made the news anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

If a few eegits want to risk serious injury by doing that then l say let them at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

tvnutz wrote: »

My next school a few lads decided to play chicken on the motorway, he was on the way back when he got hit by a car going 100km/ph, killed instantly in front of all his friends, 16 years old.

Ah here, there's no comparison between jumping into a river and playing ****ing chicken on a motorway, in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 mangochavez

I was devastated at it not being suicide attempts :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

They appear to be making a blind landing on the inside of the Liffey wall. Huge danger of jumping on a mate's head. Crazy, crazy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I was devastated at it not being suicide attempts :(

Maybe you should head up there and lead them by example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

I'd sit next to the edge with my shotgun & just beofre one jumped I'd shout "pull".