Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15 Mod Warning post #6011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Courtesy of the HB :D

Spotted in Afghanistan

28mijl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Forgot to wish ye congrats over past couple of days. (too emotional)

Been super season for the club.

I say bar Jock Stein reign and couple of other years it's been right up there as one of yer best.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Russell being linked now and Hooper to Hull for a pittance.

Still believe deals can be done to keep Hooper and Wanyama and Id take Russell aswell but he' not going to want to sit on the bench much.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Dempsey wrote: »
    Hooper to Hull for a pittance.

Jaysus. :( I honestly think Hooper would stay at Celtic rather than go to Hull. The draw of Europe has to count for something, even if the draw of Fir Park doesn't! :)

PauloMN wrote: »
    Jaysus. :( I honestly think Hooper would stay at Celtic rather than go to Hull. The draw of Europe has to count for something, even if the draw of Fir Park doesn't! :)

The motivation for Hooper is to increase his chances of playing for England, yes playing in the EPL can help that but not a chance of it happening whilst at Hull. He's not getting a look in at the moment because he isnt playing well enough.

Celtic will flog him to the likes of Hull before the end of the summer though. At this stage its the highest bidder to Celtic that will get to sign him if his agent still wont do a deal with the club not necessarily the club that will best suit him and his ambition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Russell being linked now and Hooper to Hull for a pittance.

Was there any figure mentioned in the Hull rumour? It was rumoured a while ago that QPR were willing to pay £6 million to bring him to the Championship, which wouldn't be bad money for a player entering the final year of his contract who doesn't look likely to sign a new deal.

Lennonist wrote: »
    Was there any figure mentioned in the Hull rumour? It was rumoured a while ago that QPR were willing to pay £6 million to bring him to the Championship, which wouldn't be bad money for a player entering the final year of his contract who doesn't look likely to sign a new deal.

£5m was the number mentioned by the Scottish Sun.

Hopefully the likes of Hull, Norwich & QPR being the only clubs showing real interest in him hammers the idea home that he's better off at Celtic.

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11781/8741453/Fraser-Forster-coy-on-Celtic-future-as-he-chases-England-dream
    "Celtic have been fantastic for me and this season couldn't have gone much better, personally and as a team. But it's disappointing not to be in this England squad.

"I've got to be looking towards the World Cup next year and trying to be on that plane. So I'll just have to do whatever is necessary to make that squad.

"I've got quite a while left on my contract here, and if we can get through the Champions League qualifiers - which will be tough - to get in the group stage again would be something special. We'll just have to wait and see.

"I didn't get an explanation as to why I was left out this time, although I haven't spoken to anyone at England. It's just one of those things.

"Having had a taste of being in an England squad before and after Christmas, that's what you're aiming for. Once you've been in, you want to be in every time.

"It's a World Cup year and World Cups in Brazil don't come around very often. That would be something special. I'll just have to do whatever I can to force my way on to that plane."

Like Hooper, he wants to be in the England squad. Hodgson has shown that he's not ignoring them because they are playing for Celtic or in Scotland. He's not picked them because they both have been distinctly average since January. They are too quick to blame everything except their own performances.

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11781/8741610/Keeping-Gary-Hooper-at-Celtic-is-Neil-Lennon-s-first-priority-this-summer
    "He's a master goalscorer, I just thought he was wonderful against Hibs," Lennon said about Hooper.

"He and Anthony Stokes play so well together at times and have really caught the imagination. If Gary needs to go, then he leaves a great legacy, but he'd be one I would be desperate to keep.

"If he wants to go, he'll be really hard to replace, but we'll do everything we can to keep him."

Lennon still keen on a deal being done.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

He's not picked them because they both have been distinctly average since January. They are too quick to blame everything except their own performances.

Totally agree with you on this point. It could be argued that Hooper gets the best service of any striker in the SPL, and obviously does not have to score against the best team in the SPL. He's been outscored in the league by Higdon, Griffiths, McKay and McGinn. He's not had a poor league season by any stretch, but it could really have been better in the second part of the season.

As for Forster, he got an England call up late last year and in March, so it's not like it can't happen while playing for Celtic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Totally agree with you on this point. It could be argued that Hooper gets the best service of any striker in the SPL, and obviously does not have to score against the best team in the SPL. He's been outscored in the league by Higdon, Griffiths, McKay and McGinn. He's not had a poor league season by any stretch, but it could really have been better in the second part of the season.

As for Forster, he got an England call up late last year and in March, so it's not like it can't happen while playing for Celtic.

In Forster's case though it was very clearly on the back of he's Champions League performances and a bit in reverse to the points you make about Hooper he gets very little to do in the SPL.

With regard to Hooper, to my mind Stokes is every bit as good especially if he gets a consistent injury free run inthe team and yet especially in teh media here there is very little made of the fact that Trap has ignored him, he is definitely a better striker than Salmon or Cox and I would have him as Ireland third best striker at worst - he doesnt have Robbies experience but would surely be a better bet for 90 mins and while Long has a great attitude and energy I would argue that Stokesy is a more natural goal scorer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭eire4

In Forster's case though it was very clearly on the back of he's Champions League performances and a bit in reverse to the points you make about Hooper he gets very little to do in the SPL.

With regard to Hooper, to my mind Stokes is every bit as good especially if he gets a consistent injury free run inthe team and yet especially in teh media here there is very little made of the fact that Trap has ignored him, he is definitely a better striker than Salmon or Cox and I would have him as Ireland third best striker at worst - he doesnt have Robbies experience but would surely be a better bet for 90 mins and while Long has a great attitude and energy I would argue that Stokesy is a more natural goal scorer.

I totally agree with you there about Stokes. At worst he is Irelands third best striker behind Keane and Long. But as usual Trap holds grudges and yet another player is frozen out. I cannot wait to see the back of Trappatoni personally as Ireland manager.

I think Stokes shot himself in the foot with the whole "I'm tired" stuff wrt those friendlies. Himself and Trap didn't seem to see eye to eye. I think Stokes has grown up a lot since then, and grown into a better player, but I think Trap is still a stubborn git. Would love to see him do well for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

I'l admit that when stokes was injured i was quite skeptical about his return but I'm more than willing to say i was wrong. He has in my opinion done a lot more for us in the second half as Hooper who aside from the last game has been on cruise control.

Forster was in the squad when his form merited it and Hooper missed a callup due to injury. If they think they should be in the England squad based on recent form then they are deluded tbh, loads of average performances even by SPL standards.

I think Hooper is a better player tbh but the way the play the game is different aswell so its not exactly comparing like with like. They do work so well together. I'd agree about Stokes being a natural finisher, only better Irishman at finishing is Robbie Keane. And he has added more to his game since coming from Hibs. Cant see Trap picking Stokes again but the Irish media should be putting more pressure on him about that point aswell especially after his performance in the cup final.

http://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/top-stories/celtic-fan-cleared-after-singing-pro-ira-song-1-2947098?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitterfeed
    A Celtic fan who sang a pro-IRA song has been cleared in a landmark ruling that could have an effect on future cases where charges have been brought under the Offensive Behaviour at Football bill.

Sherrif Margaret Neilson cleared Celtic fan Calum Graham of singing a chant that was “likely to incite public disorder” after being accused of singing a pro-terrorist song at a football match.

In her judgement, Sherrif Neilson said that it was not enough for a song to be offensive to warrant a conviction.

She said: “Parliament clearly has it in mind that you must pass this hurdle [of inciting public disorder] for it to be an offence,” she explained, admitting she had “certain sympathy” with the police trying to deal with the legislation.

Police identified Graham as he sung The Roll Of Honour at a match between Inverness Caledonian Thistle and Celtic on August 25 last year. The song is a pro-IRA song commemorating hunger strikers in Northern Ireland prisons.

The fan, from Glasgow, admitted he was one of a group singing it but denied behaving in an offensive manner likely to incite public disorder.

The court heard Graham was among dozens of fans caught chanting on camera by officers drafted in from Glasgow.

The judgement has lead to calls for a review of the Offensive Behaviour at Football and Threatening Communications (Scotland) Act 2012.

Labour justice spokesman Lewis Macdonald said the law was “fundamentally flawed”, before adding: “Neither the police nor the courts cam be expected to have clarity about what constitutes an offence when the Government wasn’t able to provide evidence of this to Parliament.

“It is essential this legislation is urgently reviewed before the start of the new football season.”

Idiotic law, I hope other fans that have been previously convicted because of that law have the money to have appeal and have their names cleared. The treatment of football fans in Scotland is atrocious.

Another Balde for Celtic?
    http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/celtic-target-amido-balde-ill-1921078
    CELTIC target Amido Balde last night insisted Hoops fans will quickly forget about Gary Hooper if he’s given the chance to fill the Premiership-bound striker’s boots.

The super-confident Portuguese frontman reckons a move to the SPL champs can help him achieve his ambition of becoming one of the top marksmen in Europe.

And he claimed he would be the best striker at the club.

Vitoria Guimaraes hitman Balde is hot property and with just a year left on his contract is attracting interest from teams across the continent including Celtic.

And the 22-year-old admitted the prospect of starring in the Champions League with Neil Lennon’s men is a huge attraction as he prepares to move on after a standout season with the Portuguese Cup winners.

Balde revealed he is aware Celtic are lining up a £2.5m bid as they brace themselves for the possibility of losing 31-goal Hooper. Hull are the latest club linked with the Englishman.

Speaking exclusively to Record Sport, Balde said: “I know Celtic have been in contact with my agent because they are going to lose their main striker – but I have more ability than any striker at Celtic.

“If a deal is reached where I end up playing for Celtic, the fans will be asking themselves after a just a few games, ‘Gary who’?

“I think I could go on and be the best striker in Scotland – and one of the best in Europe. Celtic will obviously be playing in Europe again next season and that’s a big thing for me.

“I know they have been watching me for some time – with teams in England and Spain as well – but the important thing to me is that I sign for a team who are playing Champions League football because that is the level I believe I should be playing at.”

With a Celtic spy in the stands, Balde helped shock giants Benfica 2-1 on Sunday to lift the Portuguese Cup.

Balde, who has scored nine goals in 19 league games this term, added: “After the win against Benfica I know what it is like to win trophies – and I want to win a lot more. Most seasons Celtic win trophies and that will also be a big factor in my decision.”

His agent Catio Balde said: “We’re waiting. Celtic have confirmed that an offer will be made.”

Touch of the Banguras about him, cocky wee fecker. "Gary who?". Always the kiss of death! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,919 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Lennon should be crossing him off the list

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/celtic-target-amido-balde-ill-1921078

Touch of the Banguras about him, cocky wee fecker. "Gary who?". Always the kiss of death! :D

I was just thinking of Super Mo when reading that. Maybe if he signs they could form some sort of partnership up front, they would be good for about 200 goals if you were to believe their talk!

Many a player thinks that all they have to do is turn in Scotland and they'll walk on water. History says different. If he could follow through, fair enough but he's far from prolific so its likely he's looking for a easy payday which should have Celtic changing their plans

hmm if hes as good as he thinks he is then why is he with a club thats 9th in the league.. but im always skeptical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭eire4

I think Stokes shot himself in the foot with the whole "I'm tired" stuff wrt those friendlies. Himself and Trap didn't seem to see eye to eye. I think Stokes has grown up a lot since then, and grown into a better player, but I think Trap is still a stubborn git. Would love to see him do well for Ireland.

That is the problem with Trappatoni. He gets the huff with players whether justified or not and then thats that. There is no question when Simon Cox, Connor Sammon, Andy Keogh are getting in squads and on the field there can be no question Stokes is not playing based on Trappatoni's grudge not on Stokes ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Anyone know what's up with broony?

Just in case anyone here hasn't seen this:
    NEIL LENNON will be visiting the Celtic store in Dublin this Tuesday, June 4, and he will be bringing some very special silverware with him – the SPL trophy and the recently won Scottish Cup.

The Irishman became only the third Celtic manager after Jock Stein and Billy McNeill to win the double for Celtic as a player and as a manager, taking his place firmly in the club’s history books.

He managed to win the double three times as a player but this has been his first as a manager, and it’s something that’s given him great delight.

"It feels amazing," the Celtic manager said. "To win the double as a player was great but to win it as a manager is just fantastic.

"It’s very special, personally, to join those two icons at the club - that’s what you do the job for. It was special playing but this means so much more to me on a personal level.”

The manager will be at the Celtic store in the Jervis Centre this coming Tuesday, June 4 from 4pm – 5pm with both trophies.

Celtic v Liverpool friendly in Aviva confirmed:
    http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/celtic/227835-celtic-to-face-liverpool-in-dublin-friendly-in-second-week-of-spl-season/
    Celtic are expected to announce a friendly with Liverpool at Dublin's Aviva Stadium on August 10.

The SPL champions have opted out of their second league game of the 2013/14 campaign to take part in a glamour tie and will provide the opposition for the English Premier League side's final pre-season fixture.

Celtic boss Neil Lennon is set to be in attendance at an official announcement in Dublin on Tuesday but Ticketmaster have already confirmed the tie by selling tickets on their website.

The two sides last met in the 2002/03 UEFA Cup, with Celtic winning 3-1 on aggregate on their way to appearing in the final in Seville, which they lost to Porto.

The 2013/14 campaign will officially start for Lennon's men long before the Liverpool fixture.

Celtic are due to start their European campaign in the second qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League on July 16/17 and July 23/24.

Should they progress, the second of their third qualifying round ties will be played in the midweek leading up to the fixture with Liverpool.

Celtic also opted out of the second weekend of the 2012/13 season, travelling to Philadelphia to face Real Madrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Pudders

Pudders wrote: »
    Someone employed by the club. Cup final will be his last game. Premiership bound. 3 clubs already enquired and 2 willing to meet club's valuation.

Don't shoot the messenger.

I'll post the source later once the transfer news omes out but was told last night in London.

And you can joke huddleboard etc but this is someone from the club.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/stoke-city-set-test-celtics-1927023

http://www.caughtoffside.com/2013/06/03/arsenal-in-talks-with-celtic-as-victor-wanyamas-agent-issues-come-and-get-me-plea-on-behalf-of-his-client/

Club are doing their best to keep Hooper and Forster. But as I said before Victor is gone. His agent told the club they have no chance of keeping him over a month ago even when Victor was being quoted as wanting to stay at the club.

Tonev deal is dead unfortunately at the moment. Would have been a cracking signing.

3 new signings lined up - striker, midfielder and central defender. Striker only comes into play if Hooper goes. Trying to get Hooper to extend contract which he won't at moment. If he doesn't sign, he will be sold either now or in January so the club doesn't lose out on the cash.

I'm sure I'll be shot down on this again. Just giving you the facts.

You've told us nothing we dont already know just you are trying to play certain things off as if you're on the inside track.

Wanyama isnt off yet, Celtic dont have to sell until there is one year remaining on his contract and the offer to extend is still not signed and a year is along time in football. Celtic will be quite happy to hold onto him for another season unless they are made a ridiculous offer. £10m isnt a ridiculous offer for a star player thats 21 and with 2 years left on his deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Carroller

Celtic v Liverpool confirmed for the 10th August!

Should be a big crowd pulled in for that!

nobody means to shoot it down but you expect everyone to take your claims as fact when a) they arent anything that hasnt been said before and b) come from an unverified source.

I'm sceptical about all deals until i see them in the hoops and even then some

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,747 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Craig Bellamy recounts his short time with Celtic

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/craig-bellamy-talks-time-celtic-1928503
    THE spotlight was intense. About a week after I arrived I made my debut in an Old Firm match.

I had heard all about the atmosphere in those Glasgow derbies and the build-up and the atmosphere in the ground.

I thought I’d take it in my stride. I was used to big games, I had played in other derbies. But everything people had told me was true.

The atmosphere got to me. I felt like I couldn’t breathe. I was being watched everywhere.

Glasgow was a tough city. You were adored and you were hated. Even I realised I had to tread carefully.

The night before the game, people from a neighbouring building rigged up some contraption that allowed them to fire water bombs across on to the balcony of the apartment I was renting.

I wasn’t there. I was with the team at a hotel but my family was staying there. It was ingenious but it gave them a hell of a shock.

After everything that had gone on at Newcastle, I didn’t really feel ready to play in that first match against Rangers at Celtic Park. I was still a bit frazzled. We lost 2-0.

We were in Inverness one night for a game that was postponed the next day. But that night someone staggered into a police station in Glasgow and said they had just been assaulted by Craig Bellamy.

Inverness is about 200 miles from Glasgow. Funnily enough, they didn’t press charges.

Despite that, I loved it at Celtic. The standard of football is probably below the English Championship, but when you talk about clubs of stature and tradition, you have two of the greatest clubs in the world playing in that league and that makes it special.

When I went into my second Old Firm game I was ready for it.

This one was at Ibrox, which is a fantastic ground, but I wasn’t intimidated by it and I got the second goal, which was the winner in a 2-1 victory.

To score the winner in an Old Firm game was one of the dreams I’d had when I had made the move.

It felt as though that victory had secured us the league title. We were five points clear with four games to play.

We lost to Hibs in our next game but went into our final match away at Motherwell with a two-point lead.

Rangers were away at Hibs and had a better goal difference than us so we knew a draw might not be enough.

It was going to be a ‘Helicopter Sunday’. The league trophy would be airborne until its destination was decided one way or the other.

When Chris Sutton scored 29 minutes in, we were cruising. As long as it stayed like that, there was nothing Rangers could do.

As the end of the game drew nearer, we started to get nervous and there were two minutes left to play when it happened.

A mis-hit shot bounced into our area and Scott McDonald cushioned it on his chest and then hooked it over our goalkeeper, Rab Douglas, into the net.

Rangers were winning 1-0 at Easter Road. A sense of panic swept over us. We had to score again. We threw everybody forward. But then Motherwell broke forward and McDonald scored again.

We had lost 2-1 and lost the league by a point. I was vaguely aware that the noise of a helicopter buzzing overhead had disappeared. It was carrying the SPL trophy to Easter Road.

It was a desperate, desperate feeling. We went into the changing rooms and there was just silence.

I have heard Neil Lennon say it was the most sickening blow of his career. Martin O’Neill didn’t attempt to disguise his disappointment, either.

He just muttered something about seeing us on Wednesday or Thursday. That was it.

I was in shock. I went back to my apartment where Claire and the kids were waiting. But I needed to be by myself. I left them at the apartment, went straight to the airport and got a flight to Cardiff. I didn’t sleep for two days.

I felt tormented by it. I thought I was cursed, I thought I was destined never to win anything. I stayed at my mum and dad’s house and drank.

I wallowed in self-pity and didn’t think about Claire and the kids being by themselves.

Eventually, I snapped out of it and told myself I had to get ready for the Scottish Cup Final. I knew there was a chance to salvage something.

There was extra emotion attached to the final because it was Martin O’Neill’s last game as manager. He was going to take time off so he could help care for his wife, who was suffering from cancer, and nobody really thought he would be back.

We were up against Dundee United. It was another match we were expected to win but after what had happened at Motherwell, no one was taking anything for granted.

Alan Thompson scored in the 11th minute and I felt a sense of elation when the final whistle blew. Martin went up to lift the trophy himself.

He was very popular with the players and everyone was keen to make the gesture as they knew it was the end of an era.

It was the end for me too at Celtic.

You weren't "shot down" last time, I made a joke about your source being the Huddleboard, that's all. In fairness, you never ever posted here before either, so it's not like you have a decent history of calling out ins and outs correctly before anyone else!