If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Windmills- Corrupt payment for neighbours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Greensleeves

rancher wrote: »
    Do you not mean protest meetings, Mainstream have 20 people going house to house for the summer meeting the locals and answering their concerns and have an office in Edenderry

Do you happen to know if there is a list of the townslands/areas where they are going house-to-house? It would be much handier to have them visit than to have to drive all the way to Edenderry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Do you happen to know if there is a list of the townslands/areas where they are going house-to-house? It would be much handier to have them visit than to have to drive all the way to Edenderry.
    I'd say that anyone who is concerned would make it their business to go to Edenderry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,815 ✭✭✭maidhc

People living near wind farms will receive at least £100 off electricity bills under a scheme announced by a renewable energy company.
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/personalfinance/10078872/Energy-bill-discount-for-wind-farm-neighbours.html

Small comfort when your house is unsaleable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,977 ✭✭✭Markcheese

maidhc wrote: »

Loads of rural housing and high rural unemployment are much more likely to make your house unsaleable....
    (no link , no study or report just an opinion )

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Markcheese wrote: »
    Loads of rural housing and high rural unemployment are much more likely to make your house unsaleable....
    (no link , no study or report just an opinion )

Maybe, but asuming you don't live in place with loads of rural housing or high unemployment, what right do people have to build these (to make money), while devaling you house.

Fine if compensation is on offer, but it isn't

maidhc wrote: »

I agree. Here's a very sad story from the UK.

http://www.windfarmvictims.org.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

I agree. Here's a very sad story from the UK.

http://www.windfarmvictims.org.uk/

luckily enough many more people wont have to worry about this as planning permission has been granted for a new nuclear power plant in england, and they can contuine to look out over the country side, once the new power station is not on thier door step of course. That is as long as the irish dont get it cancelled.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-22381463

More wind turbines for Laois.

Coillte intend submitting planning applications by mid-summer to erect 18 turbines on their lands at Cullenagh, Clontycoe and Dooary. They have announced information days in two local community centres.

Element Power intend holding a series of “public information sessions” in Laois in July, as well as “a formal community engagement process” ahead of the company submission of its planning applications. No dates or times yet.

http://www.laois-nationalist.ie/2013/05/24/flanagan-predicts-bord-na-mona-wind-farms-from-mountmellick-to-geashill-and-abbeyleix-to-mountrath/

luckily enough we have about another 100 years of coal left so moneypoint will be able to keep its supply to the grid for another while.

http://www.worldcoal.org/coal/where-is-coal-found/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

yellow50HX wrote: »
    luckily enough we have about another 100 years of coal left so moneypoint will be able to keep its supply to the grid for another while.

http://www.worldcoal.org/coal/where-is-coal-found/

And Ming, has another couple of hundred years worth of turf, hidden away in Roscommon.

If you are in Westmeath and are worried about the wind farms proposed for your area The Lakelands Windfarm Information Group have scheduled the following meetings:

Rochfortbridge Information Meeting - Thurs. 30th May @ 9pm - St Josephs Parish Hall / Killucan-Raharney Information Meeting - Sat. 8th June @ 7.15pm - Rathwire Hall

http://lwig.net/index.html and https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lakelands-Windfarm-Information-Group/441901932538961

So basically the farmers in Westmeath are concerned about value of their homes if their neighbour builds a wind turbine? Wonder if there are any pig farms around there?

All this Billions would be thousands of times better invested into L.F.T.R or molten salt reactors using Thorium.

The benefits to a small island with little resources are unimaginable, the benefits far outweigh the disadvantages, the biggest disadvantage is more research is needed and to open the minds of the Irish people to a much safer Nuclear energy.

France pay around 7 cent per kwh (last time I checked)

All this wind energy isn't to benefit the Irish people or for the environment, but to make investors rich as we pay them subsidies from increased taxes and Ireland looks good by the E.U because it does what it's told.

If we had the balls we could research more into L.F.T.R and become leaders in the technology, our universities are some of the best in the world, there is no excuse.

Bear in mind out total energy needs are multiple times higher than just our electricity needs when you take account transport and heating.

As more of our transport changes to electric there will be a lot more demand for electricity.

We could even produce Hydrogen and export it from all the energy.

L.F.T.R was done before but the program shut down by the U.S military due to the fact uranium was best for bomb making.

rancher wrote: »
    I'd say that anyone who is concerned would make it their business to go to Edenderry

Apparently they have.

"More than 20 residents living in the Killucan-Raharney area, many of them local housewives, travelled to Edenderry on Tuesday of this week, May 21, to protest at the offices of Mainstream Renewable Power, one of the two major companies involved in plans to create windfarms across areas of Westmeath and the midlands."

http://www.topic.ie/news/item/287-home-owners-protest-at-windfarm-firm%E2%80%99s-offices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 philhunt

reilig wrote: »
    Compensation aside, what's wrong with having a windmill 1/2 a mile from your house?
    the noise for a start we have 6 about that distance from us, we had to have double glazing fitted and it can still be heard at night when they are facing a certain way, landowner gets paid loads of money yearly and a stack upfront, noise tests are done on there property :rolleyes: turbines do not exceed noise levels what they fail to mention is that the higher up you are the noisier they get, trust me you do not want these things anywhere near you stick them out at sea

philhunt wrote: »
    the noise for a start we have 6 about that distance from us, we had to have double glazing fitted and it can still be heard at night when they are facing a certain way, landowner gets paid loads of money yearly and a stack upfront, noise tests are done on there property :rolleyes: turbines do not exceed noise levels what they fail to mention is that the higher up you are the noisier they get, trust me you do not want these things anywhere near you stick them out at sea

20k a year apparently makes you deaf to wind turbine noise. And in any case if the noise gets too much for the farmer or his family he can afford to rent a house somewhere else. So long as you don't give a hoot about your neighbours it's a win-win situation. Not very nice obviously, but the farmers signing up for the turbines don't seem that bothered about anybody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭pburns

A lot of farmers I know are putting them up away from their own residences but beside someone else. I know of one case where land was bought in a 'distressed sale' and the purchaser is now hoping the turbines will go on this land - beside the original owner's residence but well away from his own!

I don't know - I'm from a farming background & wouldn't have them on my land. I have a non-farming income though. I can see how a steady income is attractive in such a precarious up-and-down occupation as agriculture.

Having said there are wealthy lads like the above example motivated by greed and ignorance who don't give a **** about neighbours as long as the get the €€€€. It annoys me as well that some inept farmers more interested in going to meetings than making the most of their land with FG/IFA contacts are first in the queue.

The whole thing stinks really and I find it hard to believe it's being seriously considered throughout the midlands where one-off housing means it's always going to be in someone's back yard. No cabinet ministers in the area though and as it benefits big industry and bigger farmers it's tailor-made for FG.

20k a year apparently makes you deaf to wind turbine noise. And in any case if the noise gets too much for the farmer or his family he can afford to rent a house somewhere else. So long as you don't give a hoot about your neighbours it's a win-win situation. Not very nice obviously, but the farmers signing up for the turbines don't seem that bothered about anybody else.

What's the point of coming onto a farming forum to have a pop at farmers??????

pburns wrote: »
    A lot of farmers I know are putting them up away from their own residences but beside someone else. I know of one case where land was bought in a 'distressed sale' and the purchaser is now hoping the turbines will go on this land - beside the original owner's residence but well away from his own!

I don't know - I'm from a farming background & wouldn't have them on my land. I have a non-farming income though. I can see how a steady income is attractive in such a precarious up-and-down occupation as agriculture.

Having said there are wealthy lads like the above example motivated by greed and ignorance who don't give a **** about neighbours as long as the get the €€€€. It annoys me as well that some inept farmers more interested in going to meetings than making the most of their land with FG/IFA contacts are first in the queue.

The whole thing stinks really and I find it hard to believe it's being seriously considered throughout the midlands where one-off housing means it's always going to be in someone's back yard. No cabinet ministers in the area though and as it benefits big industry and bigger farmers it's tailor-made for FG.

Jaysus I remember having to listen to all this sihte about 10-15 years ago when it was mobile phone masts, and before that esb pylons. Most of the folks round here cribbing and protesting over them were the 1st people I knew to have mobiles and were forever complaining about the lack of coverage in the area and when they got a local mast where still not happy. How many of these protestors and constantly giving out about the cost of their esb and gas bills because we are so reliant on the supply's from Colombian coal to Monet point and russian gas, Norwegian and aisan oil? It's no wonder irish companies aren't trying to build wind turbines as they couldn't be bothered with the crap from the crank next door. That is why forgiven companies are more likely to come here and take the profits back out of the country.

There are a crowd near here bitching about wind turbines too, I have no issue with them so don't go to the local meeting. My neighbour is concerned about the issues raised and went. After about an hour of doom and gloom one person asked "what were the alternatives?" And when nuclear was mentioned the place descended into a farce. She just got up and left.

Better, put away those laptops and iPhones...........

http://www.safespaceprotection.com/electrostress-from-wireless-routers.aspx

What's the point of coming onto a farming forum to have a pop at farmers??????

I'm not having a "pop", I'm simply pointing out some unpalatable truths.

Better, put away those laptops and iPhones...........

http://www.safespaceprotection.com/electrostress-from-wireless-routers.aspx

Oh please, what nonsense that's posted on that website!!!

Posting websites with lots of nonsense seems to be part of this thread so say I'll have a go too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭pburns

Jaysus I remember having to listen to all this sihte about 10-15 years ago when it was mobile phone masts, and before that esb pylons. Most of the folks round here cribbing and protesting over them were the 1st people I knew to have mobiles and were forever complaining about the lack of coverage in the area and when they got a local mast where still not happy. How many of these protestors and constantly giving out about the cost of their esb and gas bills because we are so reliant on the supply's from Colombian coal to Monet point and russian gas, Norwegian and aisan oil? It's no wonder irish companies aren't trying to build wind turbines as they couldn't be bothered with the crap from the crank next door. That is why forgiven companies are more likely to come here and take the profits back out of the country.

There are a crowd near here bitching about wind turbines too, I have no issue with them so don't go to the local meeting. My neighbour is concerned about the issues raised and went. After about an hour of doom and gloom one person asked "what were the alternatives?" And when nuclear was mentioned the place descended into a farce. She just got up and left.

A mobile phone mast is not comparable to these monstrosities and I don't remember them causing anything like the same concern. Any I know of were placed on top of existing structures. Yes, there are pylons near me and they are unsightly - I was young when they went up and don't remember a big fuss. IMO they were put up in an era when country people were perhaps less informed and less inclined to question the motives of government and big business. And that was electricity for use in our own country.

What has the cost of Irish ESB and gas bills got to do with these windfarms where the power is being exported to the UK? Not that I'm one of the 'anti-Brit' brigade drawing cheap-shot comparisons to the Cromwellian plantation. Bottom line however is that foisting these wind-farms in as densely a populated area as the midlands where there was no regulation on one-off housing is a political stroke and it's wrong.

I heard some of the local gob****es planning to allow these on their land were brought down the country by the wind companies to see turbines in operation so the could ease their minds and consciences about noise. As if a 2-3 hour visit to a turbine only a fraction of the size was going to be educational!

pburns wrote: »
    A mobile phone mast is not comparable to these monstrosities and I don't remember them causing anything like the same concern. Any I know of were placed on top of existing structures. Yes, there are pylons near me and they are unsightly - I was young when they went up and don't remember a big fuss. IMO they were put up in an era when country people were perhaps less informed and less inclined to question the motives of government and big business. And that was electricity for use in our own country.

What has the cost of Irish ESB and gas bills got to do with these windfarms where the power is being exported to the UK? Not that I'm one of the 'anti-Brit' brigade drawing cheap-shot comparisons to the Cromwellian plantation. Bottom line however is that foisting these wind-farms in as densely a populated area as the midlands where there was no regulation on one-off housing is a political stroke and it's wrong.

I heard some of the local gob****es planning to allow these on their land were brought down the country by the wind companies to see turbines in operation so the could ease their minds and consciences about noise. As if a 2-3 hour visit to a turbine only a fraction of the size was going to be educational!

so your objection to these wind mills is because they are;

1) ugly monstrosities, hardly a genuine reason not to like them. if we were all so superficial then we would have elected Andrea corr as our president rather than a short bald OAP. That said they are an awful lot prettier then some giant chimney stacks next to a huge freighter landing coal into a massive yard.

2) the power generated is to be used to the power homes in britan. so what, if an energy company feels that building wind turbines in Ireland is economical to then it should be economical to build them for irish consumers too. this is more of a political and regulation issue rather then the turbines themselves. if it is economical to generate in ireland for the british market then why cant an irish company do it we export most of our food there so why not our energy too. the ESB have sold off an number of their power plant what's to stop someone buying them and supplying only to britan????

3) the land they are being put on are owned by gobsh*tes? there are plenty of gobsh*tes in this country that dont own any land but will crib about loads of stuff they see when they take their dogs for walk out the country every second suday.

4) the midlands is too denstly populated for these yoke. jaysus since when has the midlands become densely populated???? if by the midlands you mean naas, leixlip and navan. should all windturbines be put on top of a mountain in kerry or mayo.

the reality is that we as an island nation with little or no fossil fuel reserves of our own rely on foreign import for our energy needs and unless we find an alternative to them then we will have to deal with having some of the highest enegry costs in europe.

so what are our alternatives?????
    hydro, we only have a few small hydro plants in ireland and these are mainly now used for storage for mains water use and for load balancing the main grid. so we cant use them to supply the bulk of our needs.

Turf?? according to the EU we cant cut any more bogs for this anymore.

Bio fuel, its unlikely we would have enough quality farmland to grow energy crops in this country to provide enough power. and where would be get our cereals from that would be displaced?

Pumped water storage. well there would be uproar if we flooded some river vally in the west and put up more windturbines to drive the water pumps i suppose.

Nuclear, it works in france and other countries. even the more progressive countries like finland and sweden are updating their ones to make them more efficient and safer. If only we could find a way recycle the waste.

Import our electricity from britan and france. that is just putting us a the mercy of their tarrifs and most would probably come for fossil fuels and nuclear anyway.

so bright sparks other than knocking windturbines cos you dont like the look of them or because you dont the lad owning and he is getting a few bob and your not. what are the alternatives for us to generate our own source of renewable energy???

Farmers are the people who need to be careful in this debate. They live in the communtiy and bear the brunt of the local backlash. The CEO of BnaM, Coillte or a closed down mine won't, and the windfarm developers won't.

If there is noise from these turbines (which it seems there is), and if they disrupt peoples lives (which it seems they do) and if it means peoples houses are worth a lot less (which seems to be the case). Then the farmer needs to rememeber:

1) They may have a liability to others, and have assests which makes them a prime mark
    2) They are the people who need to deal with electric fences being cut, gates opened and bricks though the window if things get really out of hand.

Going back to the thread title there is an apparent policy emerging where the farmer is being used a a pawn and having to sign these agreements. The bigger landowners don't.

I am anti wind, but very pro farmer. But as a solicitor and a farmer I would set the dogs on a windfarm developer before I would sign any agreement with one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Seems, wind mills in most countries are erected to take advantage, of the existing wind.
    In Ireland, they just create new wind, of the useless kind.

Seems, wind mills in most countries are erected to take advantage, of the existing wind.
    In Ireland, they just create new wind, of the useless kind.

Hopefully all the hot air will power a good summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

philhunt wrote: »

We have 23 that distance from a property that we own.
    There's more noise from our neighbour's cattle than the windmills - yes there is a whistleing from them during gale force winds, but there is a whistling from the trees too - and anything else higher than ground level.

When we were young there used to be a coal mine there and a coal powered ESB station a few miles away. There's no coal dust in the air now. There's no poisonous smoke from the Stack. Loads of locals are employed in the maintenance of these turbines. Tourists come into the area to look at them and spend money in the local economy.

They are a valuable asset to this area!