Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Tips... Do u give them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

In the US all tips are shared with staff on that night.
    This is not the US so why should I tip at a restaurant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Ah he's old and liked the attention. No need to be so rude about it...

Fair one, sorry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

I do. Heres one for ya......if it looks like rain don't leave the house without an umbrella ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Ziegfeldgirl27

No I do not tip anyone. I can barely afford to pay for whatever it is, never mind leave a tip - no matter how good the service is. They are getting paid wages too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I tip my barber, he's excellent, puts in great effort each time and his prices have stayed the same for the past 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Why should I pay more for a service that I am already paying for? Its not my problem if they make bad pay. From what some people have posted get food to my door already gets them more money. Why should they get more and why am I expected to pay for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I never tip. Tipping is am Americanism that has been imported from Hollywood movies. As far as I am concerned we have the minimum wage here and that negates the primary purpose of tipping which is to boost the income of the low paid American service industry workers on the grounds of how good their service was. To expect to be paid more for doing your job because you were pleasant or arrived on time is a joke.

This seems a standard Irish belief about tipping.

Problem is when Irish people travel to countries where tipping is a cultural norm and we fail to abide, and it just makes us look cheap and stingy.

Here in Canada 15 - 20 percent is the norm in restaurants, bars, delivery etc. And a dollar tip for every drink you order at the bar. It's not considered "kind hearted" or "generous", it's just the done thing and a taboo to not do it.

Friend of mine works in an Irish bar over here, she's Irish herself but says that the Irish are hands down the worst tippers in the place, it's embarrassing. All her work mates hate serving them for that reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Depends on the food and service really. I don't tip the staff in woodies or the cleaning ladies in work. Why would I tip a fast food delivery driver?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭666irishguy

beks101 wrote: »

Problem is when Irish people travel to countries where tipping is a cultural norm and we fail to abide, and it just makes us look cheap and stingy.

Here in Canada 15 - 20 percent is the norm in restaurants, bars, delivery etc. And a dollar tip for every drink you order at the bar. It's not considered "kind hearted" or "generous", it's just the done thing and a taboo to not do it.

Friend of mine works in an Irish bar over here, she's Irish herself but says that the Irish are hands down the worst tippers in the place, it's embarrassing. All her work mates hate serving them for that reason.

Well this is Ireland so standard Irish beliefs will be the norm and long may they continue in my opinion. To pay 15 to 20 percent on top of what you have already paid is ludicrous. It says more about the culture those people work in than the Irish patrons they serve. If those in charge expect the customer to top up meager wages while the owners benefit in terms of profit from the same customer, I'd prefer not to eat there or drink in their bar.

It's funny how tipping has it's own silly rules on who you tip. For example, do you tip when you buy a loaf of bread from the Canadian equivalent of Tesco? Do you tip when you do business with the clerk in the bank? Do you tip if you meet the Postman when he's delivering your mail? No, you tip for getting an artificial social interaction in a certain social setting. A few bland greetings, small talk, a forced smile and a bit of acting to imply they actually are glad you came in to drink beer or have them drop your food down to the table.

If I was in Canada and some Canadian pint puller get's offended that I don't make a ritual payment that I am not legally obliged to pay from my hard earned money, for them having common courtesy and fetching a bottle from a fridge five feet away then tough.

Tipping at a bar I think personally is insane. So I order a bottle of beer, bar man hands it to me, so aside from the actual price of the beer I'm to give him money for handing it to me. F that to be honest. He gets a wage. I'm paying for the beer not his wages.

Now if it was table service or something like that then I would tip but at the bar itself no way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Boofle

Do people tip their hairdressers? Or should they? I don't but I know some people do - on top of a bill of €80 to €100!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

Boofle wrote: »
    Do people tip their hairdressers? Or should they? I don't but I know some people do - on top of a bill of €80 to €100!
    My hairdresser told me she does not expect any tips but I always give her something at Christmas. Why should hairdressers get tips when ten minutes later the person who had the hair done may be haggling when in a small shop or when buying an electrical appliance or something? Simpler and fairer to say no tips, no haggling on price either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

I work as a delivery driver for a take away restauraunt and I'm amazed at the amount of people that don't tip.

If I ordered food to my door I wouldn't even think about going to the door without having a tip for the driver...

I also was talking to waitresses in the restaurant and they also said you wouldn't believe amount of times that people don't tip...

I have this regular delivery to a house & the girl gives 30cent all the time while ordering around €35 worth of food... I feel like saying keep it. So I ask the people of After Hours do you tip when your out or getting take aways?

I've never tipped a delivery person, no. There's a delivery charge. And I presume you're on minimum wage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I work as a walking tour guide purely for tips. No wage at all, I can assure you, professions like that exist.

I always try to tip except maybe in the pub. Minimum of 10 percent usually. I guess I tip taxi drivers, barber, waiter, delivery guy and if I was travelling I guess I'd always tip any guide or group leader I had.

Edit: on hair dressers / barbers specifically, I'm particularly careful to tip my barber well. Like I go to the same guy every month, I want him to do a decent job.

Rubbish analogy.

The excuses for sheer greed here are appalling.

Greed? Feck off.

But that's not really our fault though, is it? It's a cultural thing, and there are some countries where tipping doesn't happen at all! Ireland wouldn't be the worst on this score. 15-20% is kerazy, IMO. How on earth do people afford to do all this tipping? And IMO, tips should NOT be expected, they should be discretionary, and rather than be embarrassed, I'd question why they are expected. (staff not being paid enough by their employers)

errlloyd wrote: »
    I work as a walking tour guide purely for tips. No wage at all, I can assure you, professions like that exist.

I always try to tip except maybe in the pub. Minimum of 10 percent usually. I guess I tip taxi drivers, barber, waiter, delivery guy and if I was travelling I guess I'd always tip any guide or group leader I had.

Edit: on hair dressers / barbers specifically, I'm particularly careful to tip my barber well. Like I go to the same guy every month, I want him to do a decent job.

Surely to god he should be doing a decent job at the price your cut costs, not wether you tip him or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭steirishrover

I've never tipped a delivery person, no. There's a delivery charge. And I presume you're on minimum wage?

If u bothered to read the thread at the start I said it was free delivery...

I get €15 when I start work to keep and get to keep delivery charges which range between €1.50 - €2.20... On a normal night we only get about 20 or so deliveries between 2 drivers so do the Maths & without a tip it's not great & also factor in petrol to put into the car plus the mileage bar takes a good hit!!

The reason I started the thread was to get a few opinions on the matter as before I started the job I thought it was the norm to give a tip...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭666irishguy

errlloyd wrote: »

That's insanity. You are doing a job that you yourself admit is essentially one that has an un-guaranteed wage, yet you are compelled to pay those who apart from maybe the taxi-man, with a guaranteed wage a minimum of 10 percent for doing jobs that by their nature, a level of decent service and courtesy will guarantee your repeat business and therefore continued income for them, regardless of whether you tipped or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I get €15 when I start work to keep and get to keep delivery charges which range between €1.50 - €2.20... On a normal night we only get about 20 or so deliveries between 2 drivers so do the Maths & without a tip it's not great & also factor in petrol to put into the car plus the mileage bar takes a good hit!!

The reason I started the thread was to get a few opinions on the matter as before I started the job I thought it was the norm to give a tip...

I believe you are getting screwed.

I know I am but f€ck all else around at the min

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Everyone is using the North America as a reason to tip. Why? We live in Ireland. Under the same logic I could say I don't tip because its rude to tip in China.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Well this is Ireland so standard Irish beliefs will be the norm and long may they continue in my opinion. To pay 15 to 20 percent on top of what you have already paid is ludicrous. It says more about the culture those people work in than the Irish patrons they serve. If those in charge expect the customer to top up meager wages while the owners benefit in terms of profit from the same customer, I'd prefer not to eat there or drink in their bar.
    But that's not really our fault though, is it? It's a cultural thing, and there are some countries where tipping doesn't happen at all! Ireland wouldn't be the worst on this score. 15-20% is kerazy, IMO. How on earth do people afford to do all this tipping? And IMO, tips should NOT be expected, they should be discretionary, and rather than be embarrassed, I'd question why they are expected. (staff not being paid enough by their employers)

Ah I know lads, but other countries' customs and traditions aren't going to change just because you don't agree with them, and while it's all good and well to have your own principles, the reality is that completely ignoring how things are done in a different environment to upkeep these principles can be isolating and breed misunderstanding at best, or foster a bad reputation for the Irish abroad at worst. I've seen it with my own eyes.

I don't exactly enjoy the fact that the price on the bill isn't actually the real amount I'll end up pulling out of my pocket in so many situations, but I made the choice to move to Canada and assimilate and a vital part of that is respecting how things work around here, following their social rules.

I will say that the service industry seems to come with its own set of standards and rules here, the likes of which can be hit or miss at home, in terms of the prompt, professional, polite (sometimes overly polite) service that you receive as a customer. Not that it justifies that 20%, but it goes a way to explain how tipping is a cultural thing over here - wait staff do tend to "work for their tips".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

So you're being paid a bad wage. Why should the customer have to pick up the tab? Your employer should pay you more and if they refuse to then you have the option to quit. It's called a labour market for a reason. If no one tipped, delivery drivers would walk and subsequently the take-aways would be forced to pay more.

The price of something is an agreement between the buyer and seller. Paying a delivery man is an expense of the seller which they should factor into the price rather than offload onto the customer.

It's not greed on our part. If anything it's greed on the take-away owner's part. They're the ones paying the crap wages so they can make more profit.

There's a million and one low paying jobs. Why shouldn't we tip them all? Why stop at the guy who delivers your food?

That's bordering pathetic.. All fake BS smiles to get the tips until someone who doesn't come from a retarded tipping culture shows up. They actually hate serving people for their standard wage?
    Jester252 wrote: »
    Everyone is using the North America as a reason to tip. Why? We live in Ireland. Under the same logic I could say I don't tip because its rude to tip in China.

Same in Vietnam.. Tipping is barely acceptable unless you know the place well and they understand that you're doing it for a good reason. The best case scenario on a once of occasion is them thinking you're a complete retard or stupidly rich. The worst case scenario is them taking it as an insult. Like "use this money to sort your life or out".

American tourists here are the worst.. I see them stumbling their way through giving a tip and they can't understand why the staff are confused and embarrassed. Then they walk away and mutter about stupid staff when in fact, it was probably the first time the staff member had ever seen anyone trying to pay more than the stated price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

It's free delivery where I work

Nothing for free.

Some companies advertise free delivery but also give you a cheaper carryout special price if you collect yourself.

The delivery isn't free, it's loaded into the full price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

I was in the Counter in Dundrum a couple of months ago. Bill came to €32. I put two twenties into the book. At this time I was considering leaving the three quid.
    The waitress while walking away asked me if I wanted change. €8 she wanted. A quarter of the bill.
    Bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 pawspaws

I work as a delivery driver for a take away restauraunt and I'm amazed at the amount of people that don't tip.

If I ordered food to my door I wouldn't even think about going to the door without having a tip for the driver...

I also was talking to waitresses in the restaurant and they also said you wouldn't believe amount of times that people don't tip...

I have this regular delivery to a house & the girl gives 30cent all the time while ordering around €35 worth of food... I feel like saying keep it. So I ask the people of After Hours do you tip when your out or getting take aways?

I pay for the food and I pay a delivery charge , why would I need to tip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

When I was living in Edinburgh we went to a restaurant in the Ocean Terminal in Leith.
    Average Italian meal, but when the bill came there was fifteen percent gratuity already added on with a proviso that we could tick the box to have the tip taken off the total and a new bill issued.
    Well, without looking like a right c**t I just paid it and left.

Hence to say, I never darkened their doors again and will not be put on the spot again feeling guilty for the amended bill. Lesson learned.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Nothing for free.

Some companies advertise free delivery but also give you a cheaper carryout special price if you collect yourself.

The delivery isn't free, it's loaded into the full price

The food is the same price on the sit in menu as it is for the take away menu so nothing is loaded into any price difference.