Brother of missing girl stabbed to death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

His real Dad confirmed that he had fresh information about Amys disappearance . We also know his life has been in danger the week leading upto his death .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

SB2013 wrote: »
    Was he charged?
    No, a file was sent to the DPP which seems to indicate that the Gardaí are awaiting authorisation arising from a legal question. They probably want to confirm a case of manslaughter with the DPP before a charge is brought, since Mahon has already offered a confession.
    Howjoe1 wrote: »
    Mahon must have a strong hold over the Mother:
    I can't imagine stabbing someone, but people are looking at this from one side only; we don't know what kind of problems the young lad had.
    TheNap wrote: »
    We also know his life has been in danger the week leading upto his death .
    Yes, and so did the Gardaí, who have released Mahon before a charge is brought, which can be unusual. If you keep an open mind on the source of that threat, combined with the killing of Dean FitzPatrick on Sunday morning, all sorts of possibilities arise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

That poor mum. It's bad enough her two children are dead - she obviously cannot comprehend the man she loved may be responsible for at least one of them dying and so is unable to believe the worst.

What a horrific time she is going through.

Is there any in-depth info about where Amy was last seen and where the stepdad was at the time? I read she was 10mins from the house? Where was he then? How long after she went missing was the alarm raised and where was the stepdad then? Lots of questions....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Mahon must have a strong hold over the Mother: c&P:

Meanwhile, devastated mum Audrey told The Star newspaper “I know he would not have done it on purpose."

But why leave him to die on the street? Why dispose of the knife down a drain?

How is she still standing by him, he killed her son :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭DeadlyH83

I didn't know he disposed of the knife down the drain crazy!
    This story is so strange, I hope news comes out about Amy whatever happened her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭DeadlyH83

WumBuster wrote: »
    I read that in the paper this morning and thought, ok, how do you know he wouldnt have done it on purpose? because that's what he told you??

And she should be too devastated about her son and only child left to be even capable of talking to the press

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,487 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    How is she still standing by him, he killed her son :confused:

This is exactly what I don't understand. Accidently or otherwise, could never stand by anyone who killed my child, not a hope.

https://forumofgames.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Mahon must have a strong hold over the Mother: c&P:

Meanwhile, devastated mum Audrey told The Star newspaper “I know he would not have done it on purpose."

http://www.thestar.ie/star/audrey-fitzpatrick-i-know-there-is-no-way-he-wouldve-done-this-on-purpose/

Audrey Fitzpatrick was reunited with her partner Dave Mahon last night — for the first time since he was arrested as part of the probe into her son Dean’s killing.
    And the devastated mum of missing Irish teenager Amy Fitzpatrick (15) insisted she believed Mr Mahon’s claim that Dean died accidentally.
    “I know he would not have done it on purpose,” Audrey told The Star.
    Sources also said the couple had an emotional reunion in the flat where Dean was stabbed.
    “They are in the same room and they are communicating,” a source told The Star last night.
    “It is all very emotional.
    “But he cannot get through this without her and she cannot get through this without him.
    “They have an unbreakable bond.”
    It’s understood the couple embraced and spent much of the day together in the apartment where father-of-one Dean (23) was stabbed to death on Saturday evening.
    Mr Mahon (42) left the apartment, in Northern Cross near Dublin Airport, for several hours to speak to his solicitor but came back in the afternoon.
    Audrey, who recently turned 45, was inside all day and sources confirmed the couple were together in the same room.
    Speaking a day after Mr Mahon was released from Garda custody without charge following the fatal stabbing of Dean, a devastated Audrey said she had still not seen her son’s body.
    Audrey also said she still didn’t know what happened on that fateful night — and all she wants to do now is to see her son and to make preparations for his funeral.
    “I am not being told anything. I am totally in the dark,” she said.
    “All I want to do is to see Dean.
    “I am still waiting on a phone call to go and see him.”
    Mr Mahon, who presented himself to Coolock Garda Station on Sunday morning, was arrested and detained for 24 hours — but walked free on Monday afternoon.
    He was staying at his father Mick’s house in nearby Santry — but went back to the apartment in the Burnell Square complex yesterday morning.
    He declined to comment when approached by journalists yesterday afternoon.
    Sources say gardai are now preparing a file for the DPP — who will decide on whether charges should be laid.
    That could mean a wait of anything from a few days to six months.
    The couple’s meeting came just a day after Mr Mahon opened his heart to The Star over what he insisted was a horrible accident.
    Mr Mahon left the scene after the incident and says he went to his father’s house in Santry, unaware that Dean was fatally injured.
    He said he only realised Dean was dead when his father woke him the next morning to break the news.
    “I feel so sorry about what happened,” a clearly distraught Mr Mahon told The Star.
    “It was a complete accident.
    “I am not a murderer.
    “I only found out the next morning when my dad told me when I woke up.
    “I love Audrey so much and need to tell her how sorry I am.
    “I will have to live with this forever. Audrey is my main concern now.”
    Mr Mahon and Audrey have led a five-year campaign to highlight the disappearance of Amy, who was aged just 15 when she vanished on Spain’s Costa del Sol in January 2008.
    The pair have been living in the Burnell Square complex since they returned to Ireland from Spain in January last year.
    Audrey was caring for her aged father Joe at his home in nearby Artane when Dean, who was living in Lusk, north Dublin, arrived at the apartment complex on his bike.
    Sources say Dean received a single stab wound in the abdomen after an altercation in the property.
    He is then believed to have fled, fatally wounded, and collapsed on the ground outside the complex at around 11.30pm.
    Dean’s father Christopher has laid rosary beads at the spot where his son fell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭ronan45

Seems a sound bloke this Step Dad !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

ronan45 wrote: »
    Seems a sound bloke this Step Dad !

He didn't even tell her what happened and she still defends him. Some sort of a deeply dysfunctional setup and the children suffered from the fallout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭ronan45

mhge wrote: »
    He didn't even tell her what happened and she still defends him. Some sort of a deeply dysfunctional setup and the children suffered from the fallout.

Well i think maybe he thought that was ketchup on the lads shirt from a Burger King meal earlier....
    and he thought maybe the knife was just a film prop !

tis all pretty plausible.....

And that staggering and gasping for breath,,,, ah sure that looked like an act !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

You don't stab someone by accident. Dean was in no way big he was quite skinny certainly in comparison to him. How could anyone even think of stabbing their own stepson you are meant to care for and love that child. I could understand if they had a fight that went to far and he ended up in hospital but you don't pick up a knife. What a dickless little sissy.:mad:
    I hope he is charged with murder because that is what it is you have to think about picking up a weapon and using it and to then discard it and flee the scene. If it were manslaughter he would have called for help and not gotten rid of the evidence. This is just him playing a game with the police to try and get out of it like he did with his last conviction and the bottle of jack. Lets hope that the judge sees through the lies and justice is served for dean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,956 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

This whole thing just seems bizzare if you ask me,
    Is the mother not all there in the head to be staying with him after he kills her son, self defence is one thing but u dont stab someone and hide the knife,
    Not sure if its the right thing to say but iv heard that both the step dad and brother are but know to be involved with the wrong crowd, ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

DeadlyH83 wrote: »
    And she should be too devastated about her son and only child left to be even capable of talking to the press
    I can't understand this either, family should really be requesting privacy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

a legal row over the body now. It gets murkier..

They seem odd to me , I was put off them when the mother and step-father were on matt cooper talking about amy and the mother was trying to bad mouth the father's family ,despite matt trying to stop her

Clearly since Dean was living with him that he was around for them so he cannot be that bad.

There is clearly something askew , even if it was "accidential" , a mother forgiving the man who killed her son with a knife beggars belief.
    It wasn't a car crash , he stabbed him...ffs.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/funeral-of-dean-fitzpatrick-delayed-amid-family-dispute-over-burial-high-court-hears-29310788.html
    A dispute has arisen over the funeral arrangements of Dubliner Dean Fitzpatrick, who was killed last Saturday in a stabbing incident, the High Court heard today.

The funeral of the 23-year-old has been delayed because of a dispute over the burial arrangements within his extended family.
    His father, Christopher Fitzpatrick, earlier this week contacted the [COLOR=#009900 !important]office[/COLOR] of the Dublin City Coroner Dr Brian Farrell to ask it to delay the release of his son's remains.

Mr Fitzpatrick, who has been estranged for many years from Audrey Fitzpatrick, mother of Dean, wants his son buried in a new plot while Mrs Fitzpatrick wants him buried in a plot connected to her family.
    Counsel for Mr Fitzpatrick told the High Court this morning his client's intention is Dean will be buried in a new plot. It is intended Dean's sister Amy, aged 15, who had gone missing in early 2008 would be buried alongside him, counsel indicated.

Mr Fiztpatrick has brought proceedings against the Coroner aimed at preventing the release of his son's body until the court detrmines the matter.

The President of the High Court, Mr Justice Nicholas Kearns, said he will deal with the matter at 2pm today and he directed Mrs Fitzpatrick should be put on notice of the proceedings.
    Counsel for Mr Fitzpatrick said there had been difficulty serving notice of the proceedings to date but efforts would continue, include by contacting a Garda liaison officer.

The matter was "of extreme ugency" and the hearing will proceed this afternoon, the judge said.
    The funeral Mass had been scheduled to take place this morning at St Brendan's Church in Coolock, north Dublin, with burial at Fingal Cemetery. It remains unclear when the funeral will be held.

Originally from Donaghmede, Mr Fitzpatrick was fatally stabbed during a scuffle in an apartment at Northern Cross, Malahide Road, shortly before 11.30pm last Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

juice1304 wrote: »
    You don't stab someone by accident. Dean was in no way big he was quite skinny certainly in comparison to him. How could anyone even think of stabbing their own stepson you are meant to care for and love that child. I could understand if they had a fight that went to far and he ended up in hospital but you don't pick up a knife. What a dickless little sissy.:mad:
    I hope he is charged with murder because that is what it is you have to think about picking up a weapon and using it and to then discard it and flee the scene. If it were manslaughter he would have called for help and not gotten rid of the evidence. This is just him playing a game with the police to try and get out of it like he did with his last conviction and the bottle of jack. Lets hope that the judge sees through the lies and justice is served for dean.
    The defence will not be that the man was murdered by accident; Gardaí have already said the man is claiming self defence or manslaughter.

Findings of manslaughter would be nothing new in fatal stab cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I find the mother's behaviour since her son was killed very sad to be honest.

It seems this Mahon guy is very controlling over her, it's clear her self-confidence has been eaten away by him which explains her behaviour to the guy who killed her son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

There is something very, very sinister going on here, I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Judge released his body to his woman.

If anyone wants any speculation on the sinister stuff shoot me a PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

What a cop-out by the Judge..

"I Can't decide who his body should go to, So here, (Dean's Girlfriend) You deal with it."

I'll agree it's unusual, but what the heck is that Judge given that position for??

Link
    The High Court has ordered the body of Dean Fitzpatrick be released to his partner, Sarah O'Rourke.
    The decision was made following a dispute between his parents over where he should be buried.
    Mr Justice Nicholas Kearns said it was appropriate that given the dispute between his parents his body should be released to his common law partner and mother of his child.
    Ms O’Rourke wept in the witness box as she gave an undertaking to the High Court that everyone would be respected in the funeral arrangements.
    The funeral of the 23-year-old had been delayed because of a dispute over the burial arrangements within his extended family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,717 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

He said he only realised Dean was dead when his father woke him the next morning to break the news.
    “I feel so sorry about what happened,” a clearly distraught Mr Mahon told The Star. It was a complete accident.I am not a murderer."

The last judge didnt believe his cock and bull story the last time and I'm sure they wont believe this..

How is being stabbed an accident? Given what he said the last time, he'll probably claim they were chopping onions together when the knife slipped?.. And how can he claim that "jaysus I didnt know that he died until I heard the news".. What did he think was going to happen when he left the guy losing blood.. The very minimum he should have done was to ring the emergency services and tried to save the guy's life... Instead he tried to get rid of the knife and conceal the crime...

HOW can the missus stand behind him????

Read two posts above yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

She has just lost her son, the man she trusted most is responsible, id imagine she feels very lonely right now and he is there, she will come to her senses in time.

Allyall wrote: »
    What a cop-out by the Judge..

"I Can't decide who his body should go to, So here, (Dean's Girlfriend) You deal with it."

I'll agree it's unusual, but what the heck is that Judge given that position for??

If she was his wife there would be no court case, it's the right decision to let his partner decide imo, when the parents cannot agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Neeson wrote: »
    Judge released his body to his woman.

If anyone wants any speculation on the sinister stuff shoot me a PM.

speculation or facts?

HondaSami wrote: »
    She has just lost her son, the man she trusted most is responsible, id imagine she feels very lonely right now and he is there, she will come to her senses in time.

If she was his wife there would be no court case, it's the right decision to let his partner decide imo, when the parents cannot agree.

Yeah, but she's his girlfriend. I don't know for how long.

But my point is, that the parents will still be fighting, and the Girlfriend will be getting it now from both parties.
    The Judge should have decided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

speculation or facts?

Words of people who know people involved. Unfortunately we may never know the "facts".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 LEEGA

What a tragedy :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Allyall wrote: »
    Yeah, but she's his girlfriend. I don't know for how long.

But my point is, that the parents will still be fighting, and the Girlfriend will be getting it now from both parties.
    The Judge should have decided.

And he will still be dead, the parents should agree on the last thing they can do for their son, it's a burial place, if it's that difficult to choose then they could have gone for cremation.
    The girlfriend will decide where to bury him and the parents will have to accept it, it depends what she wants but id say she will go with what the father wants considering who is responsible for the lads death.

RIP to him, it's a sad story all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

HondaSami wrote: »

I'd say the time for her to come to her senses passed a few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

SB2013 wrote: »
    Was he charged?

Good point. I'm wrong so..