Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Great evening.
    Just mowed one lawn and out On the decking for a cuppa.
    Can hear distant tractors working in all directions, wonderful to see some work going on in the countryside.

Spot sprayed two acres for thistles and ragwort. Our only bad field for both. Slow but on such a glorious evening there is little better a fella could be at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

quadboy wrote: »
    Ha answer to my access problem, how much are these yokes http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/5115923

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/STAR-MINI-ROUND-BALER-HAY-HAYLAGE-VERY-POPULAR-EQUINE-INDUSTRY-/290920079231?pt=UK_BOI_FarmingEquipment_RL&hash=item43bc301f7f Bargain!!

Came across that by fluke ha, I was looking at this: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ATV-12v-SPRAYER-53ltr-1-8m-1-2m-BOOM-WAND-80psi-PUMP-FULL-SPARES-BACKUP-/310596629510?pt=UK_BOI_FarmingEquipment_RL&hash=item4851007406

The quad spray I got is the best thing since sliced pan, saves the expense of having to spray a full field, but no backbreaking lugging a knapsack. But there are some very heavy localized sections of docks etc, I'm wondering should I splash out again on the likes of this, which seems very reasonably priced, or just go the whole hog and get one of the Jarmet tractor sprayers from whites up north! Am I wasting my time with a 1.8M boom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan1 wrote: »
    was thinking that and is there a reason to give 2x10 mls, would 1x 20ml not do?

Easier to inject her in the hip as she's a bit rough with her head at times. No reason to split it up really, just easier to put 10ml of Synulox in twice than try to struggle with a 20ml plunger. I didn't know about the trick of warming the bottle up first and was having difficulty injecting it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Easier to inject her in the hip as she's a bit rough with her head at times. No reason to split it up really, just easier to put 10ml of Synulox in twice than try to struggle with a 20ml plunger. I didn't know about the trick of warming the bottle up first and was having difficulty injecting it.

Ah put ur back into it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Ah put ur back into it

If you were any kind a gentleman you'd be on the quad already have way to leitrim to do it for her:D

Ah put ur back into it

I tried! Not exactly built like a man here:p Plus it's a b**th to inject anyway.
    Tipp Man wrote: »
    If you were any kind a gentleman you'd be on the quad already have way to leitrim to do it for her:D

Tipp Man wrote: »

Well she didnt like that suggestion one bit id say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

dont reuse the syringe tomorrow , use a new syringe and needle

whelan1 wrote: »
    dont reuse the syringe tomorrow , use a new syringe and needle

Ya, have 4 new ones here, only one more injection for her and the cow's out with a new shoe on. Have half a bottle left of it though. Does it store ok?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Well she didnt like that suggestion one bit id say

If at first you don't succeed, try try again,

New haircut will seal the deal:D

hugo29 wrote: »
    If at first you don't succeed, try try again,

New haircut will seal the deal:D

I am dashing in fairness when i get the hair trimmed oh an wait till the gel is on

Ah now will ye stop!

Yeah lads god sake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Yeah lads god sake
    Three is a crowd and all that :D We will leave ye to it :P

I am dashing in fairness when i get the hair trimmed oh an wait till the gel is on

Put up a picture for her on the photo thread, that should work;)

hugo29 wrote: »
    Put up a picture for her on the photo thread, that should work;)

Will a pic of the quad work

Don't ask me, I'm only trying to help, but I'd say probably not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

I am too. But I mean the hair on my back

Is it the heat that's having an effect on all of ye:pac:

Your just as bad as us :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Bulls out to cows today AI finished no more drafting of cows every morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

delaval wrote: »
    Bulls out to cows today AI finished no more drafting of cows every morning

Im hoping to take mine out in the next week or so, will have to start convincing the auld lad soon to have the seed growing.

Our bull has been lame the last while on and off, not bad but we have had the hoofpairer look at him twice now. I'm guessing I really shouldn't be depending on him so to be up to the job for another few wks! Very few repeats so far in fairness, from a quick glance at the PG AI book yday, only 3 or 4 per page, out of what, 20 on the page? So that would be working out at 15 or 20%. Hopefully they are all in calf, and not silent heats etc!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

hosted btap farm group visit today, had great day weather for it... i enjoyed it anyway, think lads were impressed with my grass probably more than my cattle imo

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

It's just the sun, not used to it at all at all, anyone going to the boards session in galway nxt month?:)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    It's just the sun, not used to it at all at all, anyone going to the boards session in galway nxt month?:)

DON'T START THEM OFF AGAIN!! :P

And maybe.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Our bull has been lame the last while on and off, not bad but we have had the hoofpairer look at him twice now. I'm guessing I really shouldn't be depending on him so to be up to the job for another few wks! Very few repeats so far in fairness, from a quick glance at the PG AI book yday, only 3 or 4 per page, out of what, 20 on the page? So that would be working out at 15 or 20%. Hopefully they are all in calf, and not silent heats etc!!!
    not being smart but there are 25 per page and if you are keeping tabs on things you should know this

Ha, letting tailpaint keep tabs for me I guess! Only really care about what isn't serviced yet, and I'd keep an eye on whatever cows are say 18 to 22 days gone incase they are repeating. Icbf handy for looking at the total numbers if i need to.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Ha, letting tailpaint keep tabs for me I guess! Only really care about what isn't serviced yet, and I'd keep an eye on whatever cows are say 18 to 22 days gone incase they are repeating. Icbf handy for looking at the total numbers if i need to.
    but when you are working out submisson rates etc the number served should be at the top of your head, i got a reading over this a few years ago:o if you went to a group meeting and everyone gets asked whats served etc theres nothing worse than trying to guess it on the spot:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Bodacious wrote: »
    hosted btap farm group visit today, had great day weather for it... i enjoyed it anyway, think lads were impressed with my grass probably more than my cattle imo

Lads only see what they're thinking about ;)