Door to door chugger? Sweet baby jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Small town country living FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

rubadub wrote: »

Some billionaire prick could create a job employing people to eat beans and go about town farting all day, carrying blackboards which they grate their nails on.

That mental image is the funniest thing today so far, thanks for cheering me up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I reckon my neighbours scare most of them away, though I did have a guy round signing people up to give a regular contribution to the local hospice recently. I listened to his spiel, told him politely I wasn't interested, and off he went.

It's not a great story, really. But in my defence I'm just killing time in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Hownowcow wrote: »
    What's the prize?

A blind baby in a wheelchair ....obviously.

I love a good conversation. Will keep anyone at the door chatting for ages on any subject. Dont give my bank details or money at the door though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

practice this for two minutes once a day, visualize a chugger then throw the fingers up and bark "shove it". You'll automatically react this way when confronted with a chugger.

When visualizing the chugger don't focus on their high viz jacket, coppers can get very narky when told to shove it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    Small town country living FTW!

Disagree :D I'm a sitting duck here at the end of a lane in the country and my boyfriend who lives in a mobile home up a dirt track on a mountain regularly gets mormons and JW's calling too. Had a JW call to mine last week and looked him straight in the eye while I said I find it most peculiar when people try and tell you your beliefs are wrong even when you have invited the discussion, never mind when someone calls to your door with the intention of telling you that you are a sinner and are going to hell. He then attempted (when asked) to justify the bible's interpretation of equality for men/women, straight/gay......and failed :o Was slightly embarrassed for him, and I didn't exactly try to hide that either :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,023 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Had one telling me to donate to save tigers.

I politely said no, she went from nice girl to bitch in 0.02 seconds and demanded "Uh.....why not!?!"

"None of your business"

*Close door*

Just closing the door in their face makes it easier.

I never answer the door to strangers and that was a mistake because I thought the GF forgot her keys again.

In the past week alone I've had, airtricity, sky broadband, Eircom broadband, and this save the tigers craic.
    Previous to that I've had numerous other charitable and profitable organisations out to reduce whats in my wallet.
    I just tell them all thanks, but I'm already with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭mlumley

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    *opens door*
    Jehovah's Witness
    *closes door*

I had one once,

Jehovah's Witness.

Bloody hell, I didnt even know he had an accident.

Close door.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Private Joker

Had one last month who opened up with " would you like a free ipad ?" while holding it out in front of me . I really should have grabbed it said thanks and closed the door. But i said no , she was a little confused, I was the first person to say no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

Had one last month who opened up with " would you like a free ipad ?" while holding it out in front of me . I really should have grabbed it said thanks and closed the door. But i said no , she was a little confused, I was the first person to say no.

Im intrigued by this free Ipad offer
    whats the catch

"Yeah Ill support Jebus for a free Ipad"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

In secondary school our religion teacher was teaching us a bit about other religions. A couple of JW's called to his house one evening and he took some of their literature saying something like "cheers, I'm a religion teacher in x school and I'm teaching the boys about other religions. This will come in handy."

A year and a half later after they had called twice a week without fail he had to tell them to fück off and not call again.

They even asked could they come into the school to talk to us and couldn't understand why a catholic school wouldn't allow another religion try poach followers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Chugger: Hi, How are you?

Me: Now that you ask I have a nasty rash on my ball bag, you might be able to help me, go to open fly and Chugger runs!!!

Works every time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Nothing makes me laugh more than when my OH and I are in town and the animal groups come up asking for money and my OH says "Sorry, I hate animals" while wearing his UCD Vet student hoodie :D Their faces are priceless!

I got caught by them at the door one day. Gave them bogus bank details and names and went back to my evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭cd07

Those dogs trust hippy fockers called last week. If theres one thing in this world I hate its dogs. I have a big scar on my wrist from an accident years ago so when yer one started bangin on about dogs I rolled up my sleave and said to her "You see what a focking dog did to me.....!" the rant went on for a few minutes before she apologised and left!! Score

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭ezekel

I just had one knock on my door trying to sell me a religious air freshener ...........WTF

ezekel wrote: »
    I just had one knock on my door trying to sell me a religious air freshener ...........WTF

For those unholy toilet pongs! What a bizarre thing to sell door to door!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭ezekel

Aglomerado wrote: »
    For those unholy toilet pongs! What a bizarre thing to sell door to door!!
    Weird.......probably the smell of funeral incense

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Had a guy from Electric Ireland telling me I'd get cheaper rates if I signed up to their direct debit service. I refused to give my bank details to a stranger. I said I'd check their website and sign up if it looked good. The guy complained that if I did that he'd loose his commision and said he's call his supervisor and provide ID if I wanted proof.

As it happened i did end up signing up but only after checking their site that it was a genuine offer. Nobody should ever give their bank details to a stranger at the door. IDs and supervisors are far too easy to fake, and I'll never sign up to anything at the door.

Usually I ignore calls. It's only the occasionaly time that I forget myself and answer.

This was my first job, in 2001. I did one day. Then I started crying uncontrollably and refused to go back.

It is a horrible, horrible job, and I always sympathise with the chuggers and tell them yes, I tried your job, and no, I couldn't do it, but probably because of that alone I don't have a job now, so I cannot sign up to your cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

for those who get the chuggers calling around,why not get a proper/formal guard dog warning sign screwed onto the house wall? and for added effect,get a cheap dog toy and ruin it to pieces; vicious dog style so it looks realistic,place that in front garden visible near the door.

we never ever get chuggers at ours as its a residential home,maybe theyre afraid of us.:D
    we got one lot of women from a jehovahs witness church once,they were all ready for doing some converting but when told by staff what this fine establishment was they apologised and left-its not as if the residential home signs,the multiple large 'be aware of learning disabled adults' carpark signs,the bigass wheelchair ramp and the institutional style gates coudnt give it away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Had a couple of JW try to stop me on my way home one evening, just said "no thanks" and kept walking by.

Felt guilty then when I realised it was very likely the lad was looking for directions cause they looked lost...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,941 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

OK so it wasn't a door2door call but it was quite bizarre.

yesterday after exiting the chip shop I got into the car, another car pulled up in the space beside me. A 2012 registration big Honda, expensive car.

Guy puts down his window and indicates with his hand I do the same.

'Sorry now boss, you look like a real gent and I am embarrassed to ask you but would you have a few euro for the diesel? I on my way back down the country with the kids and we won't make it"

So I have a look in the back of the car....no kids! (maybe they were in the boot?)

So I asked him, where are the kids?

His flustered reply, I left them in McDonalds with the mother for their dinner.

My answer, "should have used that money for the diesel"

Unbelievable:eek:

yesterday after exiting the chip shop I got into the car, another car pulled up in the space beside me. A 2012 registration big Honda, expensive car.

'Sorry now boss, you look like a real gent and I am embarrassed to ask you but would you have a few euro for the diesel? I on my way back down the country with the kids and we won't make it"

So I have a look in the back of the car....no kids! (maybe they were in the boot?)

Should have bought a cheaper car if he couldn't afford to run it. Asshat.

The use of the word "boss" is a dead giveaway too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

I had one last week. It went like this...

Him: "Hello, I am ..."

Me: "Not Interested"

Him: "Not interested in what?"

Me: "Do you think it matters?"

Him: "No"

(close door).

Still not as bad as Sky Cable people a few years ago. Not only refused to piss off, but also said they wanted to talk to the house holder before leaving. They even came back later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Was putting the kids to bed and fecking Chuggers for barretstown ringing at the door. Only answered it to shut the dog up.
    He fecked off polite enough when I said no but he made a good run of his speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

This happened a girl I know too, except they called to her house out in the country.

I hate chuggers calling to my door I usually just tell them I am already signed up with them or no thanks, but I had 2 old biddy Jws call to my door at 8.30 in the morning, I couldn't even talk to them just opened the door they started their spiel I shook my head and closed the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Adrift

Got sick of these individuals myself. I always answer the door because It may be someone genuine, a neighbour, someone collecting for a genuine cause etc But over the first few months of the year it got ridiculous, it could've been 3-4 calls a week. As the days got longer the calls came in later too, usually when we were putting the baby to bed. So we bought one of these lads

http://www.amazon.co.uk/No-Junk-Mail-Callers-Engraved/dp/B005ERHBY2/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&qid=1376653286&sr=8-9&keywords=No+Cold+Callers

Best 7 euro I've ever spent. We've had the sign up about 2 months now and we've had one call. A lad from Airtricity knocked, I'd say he genuinely didn't see the sign. The satisfaction telling him we don't accept cold calls any longer whilst tapping the sign was unbelievable. He quickly apologised for wasting my time and was on his way.

This sign is more explicit but I don't know anyone with a letterbox that would accomodate it.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Stop-Cold-Calling-Door-Sticker/dp/B008ACETRU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1376653613&sr=8-1&keywords=No+Cold+Callers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I do door to door and I can still knock into your door even with that sign.
    My mate came across sign similar and he got te customer because of the way he talked to him.
    People like you don't seem to get that were just trying to get paid and are paid on commission.
    No need to be a complete a55hole about it.