Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Door to door chugger? Sweet baby jesus

• 27-05-2013 6:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

So is this the new thing, door to door chuggers?
    I've just had "Dan" to the door, usual crack, innane prattle about the weather, handshake, 35c direct debit daily (if you don't mind). Strangly I felt guilty this time, probably because I'm not used to being rude to people at home.

FFS though, can I not get any peace at home? At least on the street you can keep walking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

Zulu wrote: »
    So is this the new thing, door to door chuggers?
    I've just had "Dan" to the door, usual crack, innane prattle about the weather, handshake, 35c direct debit daily (if you don't mind). Strangly I felt guilty this time, probably because I'm not used to being rude to people at home.

FFS though, can I not get any peace at home? At least on the street you can keep walking.

which charity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

It's not a new thing. They've been doing it for years. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Once I signed up to Barnardos out of the guilt of letting two of their charity workers into my house to witness the swastika I had made out of poker chips on the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I have a set of fake raffle tickets made up for just this eventuality.

I'll sign up for their charity if they buy a ticket for mine.

€100 each, wheelchairs for blind babies, only a monster would refuse to help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

It's easier just telling them to f**k off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

What's the prize?

Hownowcow wrote: »
    What's the prize?
    A €50 voucher at HMV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

On a related note, I had 2 Airtricity reps call to the door the other day. Their opening line when I answered the door was "don't worry, we're not here to sell you anything".

Not wanting to use profanity, I just looked them both up and down and told them they should have more self respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Hownowcow wrote: »
    What's the prize?
    a wheelchair for a blind baby, read the post :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Yeah this wasn't the usual mallarky, far more chuggeresk! Some heart disease or other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Insane barking dog ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Ah Dan was it?lovely fella,very chatty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

"It's a good cause, I know because I blinded and crippled them myself"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Boscoirl wrote: »
    a wheelchair for a blind baby, read the post :p

Is it an Irish baby or an African baby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

I use a rule of 3 both at the door and on the street 1st time say no thanks if they ask say again I say very firmly no and if they ask a third time I roar **** off, I think its the way to go, don't want to be rude normally but sometimes needs must.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I just ate an entire €2 bag of chilli nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

oldyouth wrote: »
    On a related note, I had 2 Airtricity reps call to the door the other day. Their opening line when I answered the door was "don't worry, we're not here to sell you anything".

Not wanting to use profanity, I just looked them both up and down and told them they should have more self respect.

I know what i would of told u if u said that to me and i was just doing my job ffs.

If i dont wanna talk to people i dont open the fecking door its simple really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Had one telling me to donate to save tigers.

I politely said no, she went from nice girl to bitch in 0.02 seconds and demanded "Uh.....why not!?!"

"None of your business"

*Close door*

Just closing the door in their face makes it easier.

I never answer the door to strangers and that was a mistake because I thought the GF forgot her keys again.

zerks wrote: »
    Is it an Irish baby or an African baby?
    African babies adopted by lesbian Irish couples

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭seosamh1980

Yesterday a girl came to the door and asked me to sponsor an African baby, I clearly didn't know it was a chugger at the door or I would've stayed firmly behind it! Anyways, I told her I prefer animals to children so would be much more likely to sponsor them so it was a no. Her fake cheery smile fell and she was stumped, so I said "Bye bye now!" and closed the door. Very effective!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

keith16 wrote: »

Should have warmed them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Just had a guy trying to sell me Eircom phonewatch, turned him away, pretty sure he is going to rob my house tonight

I know what i would of told u if u said that to me and i was just doing my job ffs.

Everyone is trying to earn a living but when I answered the door and I saw 2 lads with Airtricity IDs around their neck, I knew what was coming. I'm usually polite and say No Thanks, but when they opened the conversation with "don't worry, we're not here to sell you anything" they lost any respect they were entitled to. If they were prepared to do that to me, they would appear to be well capable of taking advantage of some old dear down the road.

Reel your neck in, it was unprofessional

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I can see them coming up the drive from my front window, and they can see me. As soon as I see someone walk up to the gate I stand up and start taking my trousers off. Works every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I thought it was going to be about old cars, oooo well,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Don't call to my door!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

oldyouth wrote: »
    Everyone is trying to earn a living but when I answered the door and I saw 2 lads with Airtricity IDs around their neck, I knew what was coming. I'm usually polite and say No Thanks, but when they opened the conversation with "don't worry, we're not here to sell you anything" they lost any respect they were entitled to. If they were prepared to do that to me, they would appear to be well capable of taking advantage of some old dear down the road.

Reel your neck in, it was unprofessional

How was that unprofessional? Why would they lose respect from you because they said that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

I only ever give to an animal charity and usually a direct donation,food or buy raffle tickets etc.
    I figure humans can help themselves and the day of sending money to Africa is well over in my opinion.
    With the internet the information has come out regarding the waste and the ngo`s sucking up every dollar they can hiring staff on exorbitant wages or indulging in fine dining.
    Africa will never be sorted out if we keep throwing money at them as they need to figure it out themselves,harsh that may be but its the reality they love the soft touch.
    As for chuggers disturbing you at home its down right rude and invasive of your privacy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 patgmail

I decided a couple of years ago not to give to trocaire, concern, gorta, goal etc until they all combine into a single organisation. There are too many of them in Ireland doing supposedly the same thing and all pay executives big bucks in the process. I now do annual donations to local Alzheimer's and Cancer charities where 100% of the money goes to the cause.

Gongoozler wrote: »
    How was that unprofessional? Why would they lose respect from you because they said that?

Not here to sell me anything??? They were lying to me with their 1st breath. What other lies were they going to spout in order to get me to sign on the bottom line? Sorry, but they give other hard working reputable reps a bad name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

What patgmail said above.

Only time I bought something from cold callers was an Irish writer selling his book door to try and make some money to eat/write his next book.
    Bought the book cos I liked his attitude. Crap book but that's not the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

the usual prattle is to get you to say a bunch of yeses so that its harder to say no at the end. Last guy at the door started off with "do you like dogs?" me: "no"..... cue crickets

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

silverharp wrote: »
    the usual prattle is to get you to say a bunch of yeses so that its harder to say no at the end. Last guy at the door started off with "do you like dogs?" me: "no"..... cue crickets

"Do you like dogs?"
    "I like them medium rare" tends to get rid of them quick enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

An unexpected knock on the door is seldom good news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Koptain Liverpool

Have more respect idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I had a couple of lads call here a few weeks ago trying to sell me Eircom phone watch.

I politely told them that i simply couldn't afford it and he would only be wasting his time trying to sell it to me.

Then one of them asks did i not value the safety of my family, so i told him to get off my property and not to come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I'm curious, has anyone ever written to a TD or counsellor about this? Because it's honestly getting to the stage where I feel it might be time for steps to be taken. This situation is getting a bit out of hand and just as with beggars, no one wants to be heckled every time they leave their house (or indeed, every time they get a knock at the front door!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

If i want to avail of services like eircom phone watch or airtricity for example, i will pick up my phone and contact them. I dont appreciate people calling to my door when they clearly never take no for an answer.

Yes i am aware i dont need to answer, sometimes i have done unexpectedly, expecting someone else, or going from car to house, cue panic run to unlock porch and lock it again while running in pulling curtains closed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Bebo stunnah

TheUsual wrote: »

Only time I bought something from cold callers was an Irish writer selling his book door to try and make some money to eat/write his next book.

I'd happily throw anyone that called to my door a few bob if they tried to eat a book. I even have a selection for them to chose from if they hadn't their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

I'd happily throw anyone that called to my door a few bob if they tried to eat a book. I even have a selection for them to chose from if they hadn't their own.

I wish he had eaten the book.
    Video on YouTube and I would make millions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

It's not your "job" to enter onto somebody's property to extort money from them. Once you are told no, the permission to be on the property is removed and you are then trespassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

*opens door*
    Jehovah's Witness
    *closes door*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    *opens door*
    Jehovah's Witness
    *closes door*

I once invited the JW that called to our house inside because it was raining and my brother came home, he wouldn't be a known giver of fcuks to be honest, and said "who let those cnuts inside?" While standing looking directly at her.

The poor woman was in such a hurry running out she left her bag behind and after calling religiously every fortnight for the past 8 or so years, she hasn't been seen about the place since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭alph

A chugger came into the pub last Saturday in a tracksuit with no ID and approached about 10 people to donate to a drug rehabilitation scheme or something.

He was told to fk off fairly quickly by staff though.

Not even safe from them in the pub now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

I once invited the JW that called to our house inside because it was raining and my brother came home, he wouldn't be a known giver of fcuks to be honest, and said "who let those cnuts inside?" While standing looking directly at her.

I laughed... brilliant!

I like the cut of your bros' jib... that'll learn them! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

The ones from Spar by any chance? I love those!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Ah I remember around the time the arse fell out of the Celtic tiger and I desperately needed money for college so I got a job as an on the street chugger, all fake smiles and faking to care about poor people standing on the street 10-6 getting abuse spat at and fighting off junkies, knowing if you didn't get any sign ups you could be out of a job a week later.

Crazy times, tough tough job but I still reckon its better than the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Definitely not a new thing.

Its rampant in my area.

JWs aren't the worst, they normally just give a flyer and go.

The electricity and broadband ones aren't too bad, they are easily dispatched, but the charities wanting your direct debit details are hard deal with.

World Vision & World Wildlife Fund are extremely pushy, and I ended up signing up for World Vision, she guilt tripped me so bad, and no she wasn't good looking.

I signed up, cancelled it after a few months, got loads of letter from them, and a while later they were back at my door again. Different person though.

I said, ye were here a few months ago, his response "well we got such a good reaction, we came back", I said sound, sure I signed up last time, so he left.

Such a good reaction my ass, if they did, they would have no reason to be back calling to the same houses, either that or he knew I cancelled the DD.

Anyways, I tell people I know, if they are visiting, to knock, then just come in and let a shout, I am suspicious of anyone who rings the bell now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Been getting loads of these in my estate as well. I generally never answer the door any more if I can get away with it, as I live too far from my friends for them to call over unannounced. My OH is a lot more soft about it and usually answers the door, and then feels bad about saying no if it's a charity or something. I hate chugging in all its forms - people from Barnardos who knock and go straight into a speil about the charity so that you're standing there for a good 5 minutes before you get a word in edgeways to say no, bucket collections for rehabilitation centres, people who want to talk about God. Ours is an estate with lots of families and if there's a school fundraiser going on I'll have a load of teenagers coming with sponsorship forms. One will come on a Monday night with the sponsorship form and you feel you have to put something decent on it when everyone else on the card has written €5, and then on Tuesday night there'll be another one looking for money as well. I wouldn't be stingey about giving something towards a local charity but when there's three people knocking in one week it's a bit much!