Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Child Care In Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

oh my god the hysteria, how many creches did they go into? How many hours did they film? No, of course all creches are not that bad. Keep your knickers on people. A lot of child care workers actually like kids so I am sure there things like this would be reported if they were widespread in every creche.

I'm actually quiet concerned. Are you proud of the fact that Ireland is ranked way down the list when it comes down to early childhood services?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭btard

But how do you know it's not widespread?
    They are hardly going to admit to abusing children.

Of course it's widespread. For many obvious reasons. Parents won't want to believe that though. The alternative will be unacceptable to them. A few low paid workers will be sacked and it will be business as usual soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

seamus wrote: »
    That woman will want to make herself very scarce. Lots of parents who know who she is will want to have "words", I'd reckon.

if one of them was my child i would be on my way down to the garda station to see could i file some charge - i would never dream of doing the same to my child

i would imagine some solicitors will be getting a call tomorrow , and rightly so

i hope that the outcome of this is the other operators will buck up their ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

mariaalice wrote: »
    I feel so sorry for parents who have to put there children in crèches I know most don't have any choice, but even if the crèches are fantastic the sheer, cramped noisy environment that those toddlers have to endure could not be good for them. Would any adult go for a nap in a room with 10 other people.

How offensive, you feel sorry for parents put their kids in creche. Jesus save your sympathy for people with real problems. Some people choose to work you know, monsters I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

The repercussions of this, if widespread, will be seen in 10-20 years. I discussed it with a psychologist who explained that children treated like this, especially those who don't get soothing or sympathy when they are hungry/hurt/scared/tired, will develop a very low sense of empathy towards other children and eventually other adults. That can make them quite cruel individuals which manifests itself in various ways towards other people.

Childcare workers should be suitably qualified and as well paid as primary/secondary school teachers. The first 4 years of development are more important than the next 14.

keith16 wrote: »
    I'm actually quiet concerned. Are you proud of the fact that Ireland is ranked way down the list when it comes down to early childhood services?

Why would I be proud or not proud, what a stupid question, I don't run the childcare in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Bambi wrote: »
    There is on my telly :confused:

edit, its on the +1 yokey now

This is very important, man--do you have Sky or UPC?

btard wrote: »
    Of course it's widespread. For many obvious reasons. Parents won't want to believe that though. The alternative will be unacceptable to them. A few low paid workers will be sacked and it will be business as usual soon enough.

Yes of course it is, no evidence it is at all except one program, more hysterics.

Birroc wrote: »
    The repercussions of this, if widespread, will be seen in 10-20 years. I discussed it with a psychologist who explained that children treated like this, especially those who don't get soothing or sympathy when they are hungry/hurt/scared/tired, will develop a very low sense of empathy towards other children and eventually other adults. That can make them quite cruel individuals which manifests itself in various ways towards other people.

Childcare workers should be suitably qualified and as well paid as primary/secondary school teachers. The first 4 years of development are more important than the next 14.

That's exactly the kind of joined up thinking that the likes of Frances Fitzgerald is wholly incapable of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭EdCastle

How offensive, you feel sorry for parents put their kids in creche. Jesus save your sympathy for people with real problems. Some people choose to work you know, monsters I know.

Do you think somehow a parent who choose to stay at home to mind their children isn't work? What's the difference?

One carer was'nt making eye contact with a kid while giving them a bottle

f**k me, worse than hitler.

Actually Hitler was well known for making direct and lengthy eye contact with people he met. People found it disconcerting but they never forgot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

Its not just childhood services we are poor in, do you recall last year and the old folk homes?

EdCastle wrote: »
    Do you think somehow a parent who choose to stay at home to mind their children isn't work? What's the difference?

Of course its work. Its bloody hard work. Sorry if I did not explicitly state working for payment for an employer.

I am not the one judging other people for their choices. That's none of my business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Millicent wrote: »
    This is very important, man--do you have Sky or UPC?

upc

theres two mary robinson sounding experts doing a giles dunphy type analysis of the angry care worker,

upc

theres two mary robinson sounding experts doing a giles dunphy type analysis of the angry care worker,

Dammit. Thought as much. Stupid Sky don't have it, AFAIK. Thanks for that illuminating synopsis though. :pac:

Yes of course it is, no evidence it is at all except one program, more hysterics.

My own guess is that this is widespread to some degree. The qualifications required and pay rates for the child care workers being the main causes. It's a tough job and not many can do it well. If I had a child in a creche I would be sourcing a clandestine listening device just to check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

dar100 wrote: »
    Its not just childhood services we are poor in, do you recall last year and the old folk homes?
    A few bad apples doesn't make "we" poor in particular areas. How come the majority who do good always get sidelined for the minority who do bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭btard

Keep trying to convince your self.

Why would I be proud or not proud, what a stupid question, I don't run the childcare in Ireland.

Excellent, so not only are you an advocate of the "ah shure it's grand, don't be getting your knickers in a twist, it's grand, it's grand it's grand" way of thinking.

You also are part of the "shure it's not my fault, nothing to do with me" pass the buck type attitude too?

You must have incredibly high standards.

I don't think it's a stupid question at all. Why would you not have pride in your community. And by extension, your country?

The stats presented in the show are damning and inescapable. I expect better of my country. You may not give a damn however, and if you are happy with mediocre to poor standards, then best of luck to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

the creche was called links and its logo was a chain...bit of a giveaway tbf

btard wrote: »
    Keep trying to convince your self.

My child is not in a creche and never was so I have no need to convince myself of anything.

A few bad apples doesn't make "we" poor in particular areas. How come the majority who do good always get sidelined for the minority who do bad?

In this case, its not the minority, 75% of creches have breached child care regulations, that's a majority!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,863 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I haven't read this thread fully, but can anyone confirm of its true that RTE won't be shoiwng tonights programme on their RTE Player?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Feck
    I missed it :(

Why didn't one of you remind me? :D

Quazzie wrote: »
    I haven't read this thread fully, but can anyone confirm of its true that RTE won't be shoiwng tonights programme on their RTE Player?

Apparently it's true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Prime time is always repeated at 3.30am ish and isn't tonight.
    Wonder why?

Also, I can't access the 3player on it

I think that was said, but you can be certain somebody recorded this and will upload to youtube. That is what normally happens in these instances.

Smidge wrote: »
    Prime time is always repeated at 3.30am ish and isn't tonight.
    Wonder why?

Also, I can't access the 3player on it

I linked to an article on it here: http://www.thejournal.ie/prime-time-creche-investigation-927922-May2013/

Apparently it's to respect the parents and to protect the kids.

Well most people are normal and do not behave cruelly to wards children, so why would crèche workers be any different? Many of them love children more than your average bear, hence their choice of career.

I am sure a lot of people who work in crèches are kind and loving and do love children more than average, however they still need training to do the jobs they are not minding their own children they are minding other peoples children.

I am mildly shocked at some people reaction to the program of course there should not be a which hunt of staff, but in no way was any of it acceptable and I can not believe someone would think it was minor enoughs behaviour they were looking at.

Excellent, so not only are you an advocate of the "ah shure it's grand, don't be getting your knickers in a twist, it's grand, it's grand it's grand" way of thinking.

You also are part of the "shure it's not my fault, nothing to do with me" pass the buck type attitude too?

You must have incredibly high standards.

I don't think it's a stupid question at all. Why would you not have pride in your community. And by extension, your country?

The stats presented in the show are damning and inescapable. I expect better of my country. You may not give a damn however, and if you are happy with mediocre to poor standards, then best of luck to you.

I didn't say its grand at all, I am saying that based on my experience I don't think it widespread as is being made out. That does not mean I don't give a damn, more hysterics. Just put words into my mouth there for me and tell me what I think because I don't take pride in something that is actually nothing to do with me.

With the program one good thing is that there will be pressure to improve inspections etc. which happened with the old folks home program, which can only be a good thing really.

However I do think the extent is being exaggerated. People are behaving as if all creches are like this when I don't think they are.