Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Child Care In Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭earlyevening

inmyday wrote: »
    Is it just me.
    Or has anyone else seen worse things in the middle of tesco.

Of course the things in the video shouldnt happen in creches. But Ive seen a lot worse.

Prime time making the whole country panic.

Dont give a fk what scummers do to their own brats in Tesco but dont want to be paying a grand a month for some one to abuse my kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Is it just me.
    Or has anyone else seen worse things in the middle of tesco.

Of course the things in the video shouldnt happen in creches. But Ive seen a lot worse.

Prime time making the whole country panic.

I wouldn't say they are making anyone panic. They are highlighting deficiencies in the child care system in Ireland. RTE should be applauded for this program.

OK - some people may panic, but a lot of creches will be looking over their shoulder for a long time after this, and rightly so.

And no, I've never seen kids forcefully thrown about or have things pulled out of their hands, or have stuff thrown at them.

Principally because I don't shop in tesco :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭35cent

I'll watch it tonight if it's on the RTE player. I remember a creche near I live when I was a kid. All you could hear was kids crying and the carers screaming at them constantly. It probably isn't widespread, but it doesn't surprise me that this goes on in creches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

How long before the "ah here leave it out" is dubbed over the video images?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭inmyday

Dont give a fk what scummers do to their own brats in Tesco but dont want to be paying a grand a month for some one to abuse my kid.

Agreed. But do you expect your child to get looked after properly by strangers for 10 hours a day, for a 1000€ a month???

What do people expect? These creche workers are being put under pressure, looking after multiple children at once. They are gonna lose their head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,947 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Agreed. But do you expect your child to get looked after properly by strangers for 10 hours a day, for a 1000€ a month???

What do people expect? These creche workers are being put under pressure, looking after multiple children at once. They are gonna lose their head.

At 1000 per child a month, the owners are raking it in while paying their staff poorly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,009 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

There should be CCTV all over these creches as a requirement to them getting a licence.
    Shocked to see little kids being thrown about like that. All those involved should be sacked and prosecuted for assault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

There are good and bad creches, and good and bad child care workers.

Myself and my sister are both qualified to work in child care (level 6, although I chose not to work in that industry, I only did the course to prepare me for a degree in a semi-related field).

She worked in a creche for a year, until she couldn't handle the way the children were treated and walked out, refusing to even work notice, and reported it to the HSE.

Being given gone off food, violence used (much like the 'throwing' in the Primetime footage), being fed food that fell on the floor, being screamed at, no free play, no circle time, ratios completely ignored (my sister was left to mind 21 toddlers and wobblers at one stage by herself for a full 9 hour shift), etc etc. For that reason, I'd never send my child to ANY creche when I have them, because you never truly know what's going on behind your back.

On the other hand, there are some great creches out there. My cousins are going to a few (don't know their names) and are well looked after, well fed, stimulated and happy.

It's hit and miss to a degree, but because of the 'miss,' I would never send a child to creche.

• Site Banned Posts: 124 ✭✭The Queen of England

keith16 wrote: »

And no, I've never seen kids forcefully thrown about or have things pulled out of their hands, or have stuff thrown at them.

Principally because I don't shop in tesco :)

I only shop in my local health food grocers. It has a higher class of clientele, although last week I saw a mother slap her son on the face with an organic kumquat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

One carer was'nt making eye contact with a kid while giving them a bottle

f**k me, worse than hitler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Bambi wrote: »
    One carer was'nt making eye contact with a kid while giving them a bottle

f**k me, worse than hitler.

It goes against what is the expected level of care that the person is educated and trained for....

But of course, ignore the fact that violence, both verbal and physical, was being used against children so that you can make a sarcastic remark.

I only shop in my local health food grocers. It has a higher class of clientele, although last week I saw a mother slap her son on the face with an organic kumquat.

Oh my god! That poor delicious kumquat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I tried to watch it but lasted all of 5 seconds. Someone told me the main points though. I feel sick. Heartbreaking. Absolute scumbags. :(

• Site Banned Posts: 124 ✭✭The Queen of England

I tried to watch it but lasted all of 5 seconds.

That often happens me with porn.

Esoteric_ wrote: »
    It goes against what is the expected level of care that the person is educated and trained for....

But of course, ignore the fact that violence, both verbal and physical, was being used against children so that you can make a sarcastic remark.

I only watched a few minutes at the start, carers too busy texting, kids being strapped into chairs and kids being left in rooms on their own.

Did'nt see anything I'd bust the pitchforks out over, maybe they saved the kids being smacked around etc for later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

Childcare should never be driven by profit. Very sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Ah feck, I missed it and it won't be repeated or put on the RTE Player. Can anyone tell me what happened?

Millicent wrote: »
    Ah feck, I missed it and it won't be repeated or put on the RTE Player. Can anyone tell me what happened?

Would it not be on RTE+1 a bit later?

One carer wasn't making eye contact with a kid while giving them a bottle

f**k me, worse than Hitler.

See that the problem is people do not understand the level of care young children need, lack of eye contact indicates lack of interest in the child.

Anyone looking after children need to be doing it from the heart or else the child is geting indifferent care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

oh my god the hysteria, how many creches did they go into? How many hours did they film? No, of course all creches are not that bad. Keep your knickers on people. A lot of child care workers actually like kids so I am sure there things like this would be reported if they were widespread in every creche.

The comments I am hearing about this also make me want to vomit, oh I am so glad my child is not in a creche, those poor parents who have to go to work. Oh the hysteria. Yes of course the people in question should be punished but widespread as is being made out I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Is there a +1?!

I TOLD YOU NO! IT'S FUCKING NAP TIME. GO TO SLEEP YOU LITTLE BOLLIX.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,009 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

oh my god the hysteria, how many creches did they go into? How many hours did they film? No, of course all creches are not that bad. Keep your knickers on people. A lot of child care workers actually like kids so I am sure there things like this would be reported if they were widespread in every creche.

The comments I am hearing about this also make me want to vomit, oh I am so glad my child is not in a creche, those poor parents who have to go to work. Oh the hysteria. Yes of course the people in question should be punished but widespread as is being made out I don't think so.

But how do you know it's not widespread?
    They are hardly going to admit to abusing children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

That woman will want to make herself very scarce. Lots of parents who know who she is will want to have "words", I'd reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭seb65

At the same time, it's hard to blame the staff here.

They work long hours, not well paid, perhaps not qualified, and it's not their fault that ratios are so low. So when they have to manage more kids than they should, of course they will be frustrated.

There is something more systemic at play here.

Low paid/unqualified people still know that you do not curse and flip children around like a bed sheet.

I blame the individual workers 100%. No one forces them to work at a creche.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Well most people are normal and do not behave cruelly towards children, so why would creche workers be any different? Many of them love children more than your average bear, hence their choice of career.

I TOLD YOU NO! IT'S FUCKING NAP TIME. GO TO SLEEP YOU LITTLE BOLLIX.

Is that you Mammy?

Millicent wrote: »
    Is there a +1?!

There is on my telly :confused:

edit, its on the +1 yokey now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Can anyone link me to a synopsis of tonight's show as I couldn't watch it from UK plus it won't be on iplayer ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I'd be fairly confident that the creche my daughter was in was not like this.
    They had video cameras in every room which were all connected to the monitors in the manager's office where she would be for most of the day.
    They also had an open door policy for parents where the parents could just walk in absolutely any time of the day, and I regularly did pop in at various times depending on my college schedule that day.
    And I got an overall good vibe from the staff, the kids, and the place in general.
    Now I know that's only one creche out of thousands, but there were only 3 creches looked at in that show tonight I think, so going by that, that's 1 out of 4 creches are decent at least!