Hello Mary Lou, goodbye credibility...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I never would have associated Mary Lou McDonald or Sinn Fein with credibility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

goose2005 wrote: »
    I really can't fathom why the far-left are all so staunchly opposed to a tax on assets, while the right-wing government struggle to bring it in. Shouldn't it be the other way around?

Yes, that would make sense!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Don't politicians require a tax clearance certificate from now on?
    Therefore if you are elected but have not paid your taxes, you will be barred..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I really can't fathom why the far-left are all so staunchly opposed to a tax on assets, while the right-wing government struggle to bring it in. Shouldn't it be the other way around?

Living in a house up to a certain size is not seen as an asset but as a home.

Taxing investment properties and properties over a certain size is logical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

The issue is that it is vulnerable to being regressive, not that SF are opposed to any asset tax as a broad policy.

In fact, Sinn Féin specifically proposed a wealth tax as a fairer alternative to taxing a pretty ordinary asset class like a family home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

non story since when has any politician practiced what the preach? SF are still the best option there IMO

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

A game you can play with friends or co workers is everyone speaking like mary lou. You can vary how extreme / sarcastic the voice to personal taste. Becomes addictive about the point where the novelty wares off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Living in a house up to a certain size is not seen as an asset but as a home.

Taxing investment properties and properties over a certain size is logical.

What would be the differentiating factors that would decide whether a house was a 'home' or big enough to be taxed?

What would differentiate the opulent palaces of the bourgeoisie from the meagre hovels where the Plain People of Ireland go home to rest their weary bodies after a day of being oppressed?

Sergeant wrote: »
    What would be the differentiating factors that would decide whether a house was a 'home' or big enough to be taxed?

What would differentiate the opulent palaces of the bourgeoisie from the meagre hovels where the Plain People of Ireland go home to rest their weary bodies after a day of being oppressed?
    We had a mansion tax up to 1997, we could do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,971 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

So Fine Gael bring in an awful regressive tax that will yield the taxpayer absolutely nothing...

...and there's people bitching about a Shinner paying it?

Tony EH wrote: »
    So Fine Gael bring in an awful regressive tax that will yield the taxpayer absolutely nothing...
    €500 million in a full year, i.e. half a billion more than 'nothing'.

The tax is stupidly designed, I'd agree, and the media attempt to essentially deflect criticism for the tax to Sinn Féin is ridiculous in the extreme. However, objectively speaking, property is a potentially valuable source of taxation to the exchequer.

Hopefully a more progressive form will arise, which will simultaneously encourage a healthier attitude to property ownership in the State.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

She didn't. Tell me she didn't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

non story since when has any politician practiced what the preach? SF are still the best option there IMO

Best option? She's done one of the biggest U turns in her parties history in the dail. Last time I ever vote for her or her party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

This is just SF getting on the right side of the property tax debate.
    The issue didn't turn into the battleground issue they expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

snubbleste wrote: »
    Don't politicians require a tax clearance certificate from now on?
    Therefore if you are elected but have not paid your taxes, you will be barred..
    how does mick wallace still have his seat so?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

how does mick wallace still have his seat so?

He has a tax clearance certificate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

He has a tax clearance certificate.

did he make it himself using crayons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

did he make it himself using crayons?

He has a payment schedule in place, out of his Dail wages I think.

Bit mad, but I know a couple of lads who'd have an instalment plan in place and they can get a cert, I don't think Wallace is getting preferential treatment specifically.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

So what should Mary Lou do then?

She is opposed to the tax in principle, as are most of the country, but if she doesn't pay it she is breaking the law which is a bad example to set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Phoebas wrote: »
    This is just SF getting on the right side of the property tax debate.
    The issue didn't turn into the battleground issue they expected.

Yeah, that's exactly what it looks like.
    Sinn Féin said yesterday it would publish legislation later this summer to repeal the property tax and hoped the bill would get support from Labour backbenchers.

Ms McDonald said it would be published in July. Revenue say payments must be made in July.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Opposing the property tax and refusing to pay it are two very different things.

Did she or SF urge people not to pay it? If they didn't, I don't see any issue in her paying it herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Opposing the property tax and refusing to pay it are two very different things.

Did she or SF urge people not to pay it? If they didn't, I don't see any issue in her paying herself.
    The Dublin TD admitted: “We’re not instructing people to do anything one way or the other. We will, as a family, be paying it for the simple reason that if we don’t pay it, it will be taken from us.”

The SF deputy leader said she had told constituents was not a question of ‘won’t pay’ but rather ‘can’t pay’ now at this stage for many families.

They didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

K-9 wrote: »
    He has a payment schedule in place, out of his Dail wages I think.

Bit mad, but I know a couple of lads who'd have an instalment plan in place and they can get a cert, I don't think Wallace is getting preferential treatment specifically.

Ah, so Wallace is paying back the money he owes us out of the money we're paying him. That's grand so. Hope he's not paying us too much, as that might leave him short. Poor lad can't even afford a haircut anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

To answer the proposition put forward by the OP, I would have to argue that Mary Lou still maintains the level of credibility she has always had

david75 wrote: »
    She's done one of the biggest U turns in her parties history in the dail
    Compliance with the law?

Bit harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,971 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

For Paws wrote: »
    Ah, so Wallace is paying back the money he owes us out of the money we're paying him. That's grand so. Hope he's not paying us too much, as that might leave him short. Poor lad can't even afford a haircut anymore.

He'll need a few bob for more pink shirts as well.

Tony EH wrote: »
    He'll need a few bob for more pink shirts as well.

Do you ever get the feeling that what Mick Wallace sees in the mirror is not what we're seeing ?

As for Mary Lou(d), it's a case of 'do as I say, not as I do'.

Anyway, aren't Sinn Fein going to abolish the LPT after they go into coalition with Fianna Fáil after the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

All this talk of a u-turn is just more opportunist crap being used to slag Sinn Féin.
    The SF repeal bill is opportunist crap. It is just transparent populism that has clearly no hope of success.

Phoebas wrote: »
    The SF repeal bill is opportunist crap. It is just transparent populism that has clearly no hope of success.

Really ?. Are they just trying to be populist ?

Ah, that's terrible. Who'd have believed it eh ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭emo72

oh, I will pay it. But when I pay it, I will make a pact with myself never to vote FF/FG/LAB/GREEN again.NEVER/NEVER/NEVER/NEVER.

**** them. they have made their choice. now i will make mine. Have the money *****. I will have my revenge. Josephine Fehilly, you look as if you enjoy what you're doing so much. Why?