Raiders steal tanker from army barracks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

How would a bunch of unarmed pen pushers mind the tanker?.

Threaten would-be robbers with a tax audit?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Morpheus wrote: »
    Wasting your time Feeney, this is the wrong place to engage anyone in a sensible matter.

you must disengage your common sense when entering any thread in After Hours, its a free for all location where we can all blow off steam, trolling is down to a fine art on most threads, in fact most of the folk on this thread must have their own bridges to live under and judging by the derogatory comments about the army they don't get out from under the bridge all that often.

Some posters have exposed themselves for what they are, quite possibly the most unpatriotic individuals in this country, it seems that in this time of austerity that EVERY aspect of Govt is fair game, they show blatant disregard to our nations war dead, no respect whatsoever for any Irish soldier who has served and/or died in service to the state whether here at home or overseas. These in my book are the lowest form of scum that you can find in any society.

Its plain from the lack of information they possess about the defence forces, that they are wholly out of their depth and the only recourse is to shout, like Brick Tamland in Anchorman - "LOUD NOISES".

Comments like for example, sure were neutral - which Ireland is constitutionally not and if we were we'd have to quadruple our military expenditure to defend our own borders without being able to depend on neighbours and partners in europe or through Nato PFP arrangements.

Or concerning the DF budget, compared to our neighbours in almost ALL of the EU is an infinitesimally small part of our GDP and one of the lowest in the world of developed countries.

Theres no common ground at all and no drive by posters to educate themselves about the security forces of the republic. Im not surprised anyway.

Its very easy to sit behind a keyboard and fountain drivel onto the web drowning out all intelligent and factual statements in a sea of sh*te, many experts here today are a prime example of that, regardless of what intelligent argument is put up, they will beat it with a "we outnumber you and because i said so, louder than you" reply. Quite childish really.

They don't represent the majority opinion of the country, but they like to think that they do, most are quite educated people but they come to after hours and leave their brains at the door, these individuals are just the loudest voices in this place and as such, like any baby who has spat the dummy, they will scream and cry and rant and are best to be ignored.

If you feed the troll, you do so at your own peril!

I've personally found the comments, so unfounded and so totally wrong as to be quite comically entertaining. I don't take anyone here seriously, its after hours, its all a laugh. Yeah the army is ****e, couldn't defend this and that etc... Those of us who do know how the big bad world works, know the true picture.

If some here engaged in sensible debate, maybe we could meet in the middle, see each others viewpoints, agree to disagree, yet nevertheless walk away with a better understanding of our adversaries viewpoints and understand where they've come from to have that point of view. I may never agree with them, but at least id understand why they think the way they do. Right now, the only service they have done themselves is to leave me believing that this thread is mostly being posted to from the lobotomy ward in a mental home.

Lots of love,

Carry on.

In all fairness, if you're going to come into AH and p*** all over this forum can we go into the military forum and have a pop at the little clique you're running there?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

TheDB wrote: »
    You don't feel a twinge of hypocrisy mocking the Gardai?

Im pointing out that sh*t happens to everyone.

As for the army jeep. It wasnt a jeep, it was a small 2 seater car/van.

Do you know the story behind that?

Do you know that the driver was flagged down and stopped to assist what looked like a broken down car late at night on a back road?

Do you know that he was pulled from his car, and even though he was unarmed he tried to defend himself and his vehicle and was attacked and threatened with a screw driver by 3 individuals who had just completed a spate of robberies across the wicklow mountains and were being pursued by gardai and yet was lucky to get away uninjured?

2 sides to every story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

may I ask The DB and Cody Pomeray.

Have you ever been involved in any way with the Defence Forces, RDF or PDF service?
    Is that relevant to there being a legitimate reason for the theft of this truck?
    Have you ever set foot inside a military barracks?
    Is that relevant to there being a legitimate reason for the theft of this truck?
    Do you understand the roles the Defence Forces carry out on a daily basis?
    I think most people would be pretty aware of the various roles the defence forces perform, some roles being performed with greater competence than others. I already singled out their assistance to the Department of Transport and their first response in the event of natural catastrophes as being especially important, and which should be retained.
    People like you claim we have no use for the Defence Forces, yet if we didnt and something happened you would be the first people to turn around and say "ah where the feck where the army??
    Nope.

Already been done, hence why the thread was closed. AH is not known for its educated debates lets be honest

Neither is the military forum :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Im pointing out that sh*t happens to everyone.
    No, you were facetiously claiming that the Gardai couldn't even mind their own vehicles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Right, ive genuinely lost faith in humanity.

Was it stolen while you weren't looking? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

hedgehog2 wrote: »
    Your right about one thing morpheus,the defence forces can`t talk about it because they were asleep at the wheel and had`nt a f**kin clue what was happening until it was too late.
    You don't have a fcuking clue about what happened apart from what the journalists told you, and they are adding 2 plus 2 to get 18.

Bambi wrote: »
    In all fairness, if you're going to come into AH and p*** all over this forum can we go into the military forum and have a pop at the little clique you're running there?

If you want to enter the military forum and engage in educated debate about the defence forces and other military subjects then feel free to.

I was under the impression that AH was pretty much a "blow off steam" area? Obviously I must have hurt someones feelings. If Ive insulted anybody here, I do whole heartedly apologise for it.

here, fill this in...

obama-army-hurt-feelings-form-1.jpg

the_syco wrote: »
    You don't have a fcuking clue about what happened apart from what the journalists told you, and they are adding 2 plus 2 to get 18.
    Which part of the coverage is untrue?

Was Revenue's tanker not stolen? Were the gates not rammed at Aiken Barracks? Was there any serious army response?

humbert wrote: »
    No, you were facetiously claiming that the Gardai couldn't even mind their own vehicles.

sarcastically inferring it to point out that the army aren't the only armed state agency to make a mistake. Where was the hue and cry for the gardai to disband when that happened though? Seems to me that the defence forces get singled out for more grief than is warranted sometimes thats all.

If you want to enter the military forum and engage in educated debate about the defence forces and other military subjects then feel free to.

I was under the impression that AH was pretty much a "blow off steam" area? Obviously I must have hurt someones feelings. If Ive insulted anybody here, I do whole heartedly apologise for it.

here, fill this in...

obama-army-hurt-feelings-form-1.jpg

Is there an Irish army version of that form where you can claim compo for hurt feelings? ;)

sarcastically inferring it to point out that the army aren't the only armed state agency to make a mistake.
    You could simply have stated the the Gardai have had similar incidents while extending them the respect you presumably feel the armed forces deserve but instead you cited a most embarrassing incident in a clearly mocking tone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

1. The truck came from inside the barracks

2. A soldier with a weapon will not open fire on a truck filed with fuel.....no matter how cool it may look in the movies

3. Lets picture the situation, the soldier is in the gate room manning the cctv cameras, he notices a truck traveling at high speed from the barracks towards the gate....how do you suggest said soldier stops said truck without endangering more lives.

Invalid argument is invalid
    But how were they able to get into the base and wonder around in the first place??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

Oh and to the people saying it a bad idea to shoot at the truck because it was travelling at high speed close to a urban area.
    Are you serious??
    Would it not be a better idea to stop it before it was able to get into the public road/urban area?
    It could have been a terrorist who was going to turn into a bomb...Why take the chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

But how were they able to get into the base and wonder around in the first place??

That's the question for me really. I wouldn't hold it against anybody that they didn't either stand in the way or fired on what they may well have believed to be the equivalent of a driving bomb. (never mind the potential for all kinds of nastyness with civilians close by).

It's the fact that someone came into the barracks, found the truck and managed to start it without (I presume) too much difficulty.

Once all of that happened it was a given they were going to get away with it.

And while I appreciate all the points with regards to all the 'good stuff' being locked up and guarded properly, surely if people can manage to get inside undetected half the battle is already fought, and lost? In the grand scheme of things stealing a tanker truck is pretty benign, given recent events in London I can only imagine what more horrible things (suitably psychopathic) people could get upto once inside an army barracks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Why didn't anyone jump into those fancy expensive fast jeeps you see them going around escorting the cash vans with and chase after a truck capable of doing max 100kmph?
    Is that the speed these guys respond to an potential threat?

Why didn't anyone jump into those fancy expensive fast jeeps you see them going around escorting the cash vans with and chase after a truck capable of doing max 100kmph?
    Despite the law clearly saying that the army may exercise powers of arrest in conjunction with the Gardaí, it seems as though some posters feel there is a regulatory bar on doing so, which makes the army essentially helpless.

What would be a high speed for a typical oil tanker, with 20,000 litres of fuel inside,anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

It could have been worse. 13 truckloads of ammunition were taken back in the 40's.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christmas_Raid

Wonder who was in charge of the gate that night :pac:

Despite the law clearly saying that the army may exercise powers of arrest in conjunction with the Gardaí, it seems as though some posters feel there is a regulatory bar on doing so, which makes the army essentially helpless.

What would be a high speed for a typical oil tanker, with 20,000 litres of fuel inside,anyone know?

"quick lads, lets chase it!!"

"no point sarge, those boys always bail into another getaway car and then torch the first one"

"oh yeah, good point"

Cienciano wrote: »
    It could have been worse. 13 truckloads of ammunition were taken back in the 40's.

well... we DID get most of it back in fairness! a few days later :)

humbert wrote: »
    You could simply have stated the the Gardai have had similar incidents while extending them the respect you presumably feel the armed forces deserve but instead you cited a most embarrassing incident in a clearly mocking tone.

you obviously dont get barrack room banter ... god knows ive already gotten it in spades from some ex army current gardai colleagues over this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

wexie wrote: »

It's the fact that someone came into the barracks, found the truck and managed to start it without (I presume) too much difficulty.

Purely conjecture, but it's possible the truck had a GPS tracker fitted, in which case finding it wouldn't have been a problem. It's also not beyond the realms of possibility that whoever stole it had a spare key.

People seem to be assuming that the perps were snooping around the barracks and just happened to come across the tanker, which imo is unlike to be the case. They could have been in and out in a matter of minutes.

As for those saying they should have opened fire at a truck approaching at speed... well, just lol.

Cienciano wrote: »

I know my granda was in charge of helping to nick the stuff. Apparently he spent a good few hours afterwards chatting about what a disgrace it was to the free state lads that were manning a cordon :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Purely conjecture, but it's possible the truck had a GPS tracker fitted, in which case finding it wouldn't have been a problem. It's also not beyond the realms of possibility that whoever stole it had a spare key.

People seem to be assuming that the perps were snooping around the barracks and just happened to come across the tanker, which imo is unlike to be the case. They could have been in and out in a matter of minutes.

As for those saying they should have opened fire at a truck approaching at speed... well, just lol.

LOL, I don't think there is anybody here that's assuming people just 'happened to be strolling' around the barracks and went :oooh look:eek: a truck full of diesel, that'll come in handy some day.

Of course this was planned in advance. But...even with keys and a GPS tracker they shouldn't have been able to get into the barracks in the first place. Never mind the truck not being suitably disabled to prevent a quick get away. (and yes we can argue about who should have been responsible for that, however, if I was in charge of guarding a large vehicle I think I'd make it nice and easy on myself and make sure it's not going anywhere either way)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

charlemont wrote: »
    We seized a tanker, Oh boy we did.
    We' ll put it on auction for a bid..
    Behind the big high walls for safe keeping.
    Didn't realise the boys were a creepin.
    Over the walls they came a leaping.
    Where is our tanker ?
    Something is wrong
    Have a look the fúcking thing is gone.
    The gates of the barracks were a busted.
    Leaving all the soldiers and the Gardaí a disgusted.

Two Tankers and they could have done a version of Convoy

you obviously dont get barrack room banter ... god knows ive already gotten it in spades from some ex army current gardai colleagues over this!
    Ah, that must be it. Taking it at face value it looked like someone mocking the Gardai while complaining about people deriding the army and then trying very hard to weasel out of admitting it.