Raiders steal tanker from army barracks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I read the article again. The raid happened at 2am. We see a nice Nissan jeep parked in the gateway of the photo. I presume no chase was given due to the hour?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

Wasting your time Feeney, this is the wrong place to engage anyone in a sensible matter.

you must disengage your common sense when entering any thread in After Hours, its a free for all location where we can all blow off steam, trolling is down to a fine art on most threads, in fact most of the folk on this thread must have their own bridges to live under and judging by the derogatory comments about the army they don't get out from under the bridge all that often.

Some posters have exposed themselves for what they are, quite possibly the most unpatriotic individuals in this country, it seems that in this time of austerity that EVERY aspect of Govt is fair game, they show blatant disregard to our nations war dead, no respect whatsoever for any Irish soldier who has served and/or died in service to the state whether here at home or overseas. These in my book are the lowest form of scum that you can find in any society.

Its plain from the lack of information they possess about the defence forces, that they are wholly out of their depth and the only recourse is to shout, like Brick Tamland in Anchorman - "LOUD NOISES".

Comments like for example, sure were neutral - which Ireland is constitutionally not and if we were we'd have to quadruple our military expenditure to defend our own borders without being able to depend on neighbours and partners in europe or through Nato PFP arrangements.

Or concerning the DF budget, compared to our neighbours in almost ALL of the EU is an infinitesimally small part of our GDP and one of the lowest in the world of developed countries.

Theres no common ground at all and no drive by posters to educate themselves about the security forces of the republic. Im not surprised anyway.

Its very easy to sit behind a keyboard and fountain drivel onto the web drowning out all intelligent and factual statements in a sea of sh*te, many experts here today are a prime example of that, regardless of what intelligent argument is put up, they will beat it with a "we outnumber you and because i said so, louder than you" reply. Quite childish really.

They don't represent the majority opinion of the country, but they like to think that they do, most are quite educated people but they come to after hours and leave their brains at the door, these individuals are just the loudest voices in this place and as such, like any baby who has spat the dummy, they will scream and cry and rant and are best to be ignored.

If you feed the troll, you do so at your own peril!

I've personally found the comments, so unfounded and so totally wrong as to be quite comically entertaining. I don't take anyone here seriously, its after hours, its all a laugh. Yeah the army is ****e, couldn't defend this and that etc... Those of us who do know how the big bad world works, know the true picture.

If some here engaged in sensible debate, maybe we could meet in the middle, see each others viewpoints, agree to disagree, yet nevertheless walk away with a better understanding of our adversaries viewpoints and understand where they've come from to have that point of view. I may never agree with them, but at least id understand why they think the way they do. Right now, the only service they have done themselves is to leave me believing that this thread is mostly being posted to from the lobotomy ward in a mental home.

Lots of love,

Carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

2. A soldier with a weapon will not open fire on a truck filed with fuel
    why?
    3. Lets picture the situation, the soldier is in the gate room manning the cctv cameras, he notices a truck traveling at high speed from the barracks towards the gate....how do you suggest said soldier stops said truck without endangering more lives.
    By pursuit and arrest in accordance with the law, and in co-operation with the police on the other side of the border where necessary. This is a tanker we're talking about, not a Lamborghini.

Morpheus wrote: »
    Carry on.

You're right. This would be a great basis for a Carry On movie. Finally a productive use for the Irish army.

A lot of the questions you have Cody unfortunately cannot be answered other than by non members of the DF through conjecture. Anyone who has signed the OSA cannot discuss the reasons why no chase was given, this is admittedly a weak base for defence against your arguments, but if you knew what some of us know about how the military works, you would totally understand why this was the case. sadly we cant talk about it so therefore you can make up whatever comical or insulting reason you want and all we can say is, well thats wrong - and when you ask why, we can only say - just because.

Don't take yourself so seriously Morpheus.

The army doesn't. Sure it's all just a laugh. Stress relief, really, the Army.

In fact, perhaps we should re-name the army "The National Agency for the Prohibition of Stress" or NAPS, for short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

Your right about one thing morpheus,the defence forces can`t talk about it because they were asleep at the wheel and had`nt a f**kin clue what was happening until it was too late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 TheDB

Perhaps the Aer Corps could have provided air surveillance to help recapture the 20,000L truck...oh wait did vandals damage the runway at Baldonnel again

Nice to see that you are engaging the topic at hand, Morpheus. You mention reasonable debate but you closed the discussion on your own forum. You also took 2 sly digs at AH on there too.

The thread was only closed as military forum charter was breached repeatedly.
    how can you take sly digs at AH? its AH FFS :)

Can just see him now, doing scratch :)

Scratch is the best stress relief ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Nice to see that you are engaging the topic at hand, Morpheus. You mention reasonable debate but you closed the discussion on your own forum. You also took 2 sly digs at AH on there too.

Ha ha, busted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Can just see him now, doing scratch :)

Scratch is the best stress relief ever!

Is scratch when soldiers sleep, while everything around them is lifted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Wasting your time Feeney, this is the wrong place to engage anyone in a sensible matter.

you must disengage your common sense when entering any thread in After Hours, its a free for all location where we can all blow off steam, trolling is down to a fine art on most threads, in fact most of the folk on this thread must have their own bridges to live under and judging by the derogatory comments about the army they don't get out from under the bridge all that often.

Some posters have exposed themselves for what they are, quite possibly the most unpatriotic individuals in this country, it seems that in this time of austerity that EVERY aspect of Govt is fair game, they show blatant disregard to our nations war dead, no respect whatsoever for any Irish soldier who has served and/or died in service to the state whether here at home or overseas. These in my book are the lowest form of scum that you can find in any society.

Its plain from the lack of information they possess about the defence forces, that they are wholly out of their depth and the only recourse is to shout, like Brick Tamland in Anchorman - "LOUD NOISES".

Comments like for example, sure were neutral - which Ireland is constitutionally not and if we were we'd have to quadruple our military expenditure to defend our own borders without being able to depend on neighbours and partners in europe or through Nato PFP arrangements.

Or concerning the DF budget, compared to our neighbours in almost ALL of the EU is an infinitesimally small part of our GDP and one of the lowest in the world of developed countries.

Theres no common ground at all and no drive by posters to educate themselves about the security forces of the republic. Im not surprised anyway.

Its very easy to sit behind a keyboard and fountain drivel onto the web drowning out all intelligent and factual statements in a sea of sh*te, many experts here today are a prime example of that, regardless of what intelligent argument is put up, they will beat it with a "we outnumber you and because i said so, louder than you" reply. Quite childish really.

They don't represent the majority opinion of the country, but they like to think that they do, most are quite educated people but they come to after hours and leave their brains at the door, these individuals are just the loudest voices in this place and as such, like any baby who has spat the dummy, they will scream and cry and rant and are best to be ignored.

I've personally found the comments, so unfounded and so totally wrong as to be quite comically entertaining. I don't take anyone here seriously, its after hours, its all a laugh. Yeah the army is ****e, couldn't defend this and that etc... Those of us who do know how the big bad world works, know the true picture.

If some here engaged in sensible debate, maybe we could meet in the middle, see each others viewpoints, agree to disagree, yet nevertheless walk away with a better understanding of our adversaries viewpoints and understand where they've come from to have that point of view. I may never agree with them, but at least id understand why they think the way they do. Right now, the only service they have done themselves is to leave me believing that this thread is mostly being posted to from the lobotomy ward in a mental home.

Lots of love,

Carry on.
    For a post largely complaining about a lack of factual statements and "fountaining" drivel there sure is a lot of drivel and a dearth of facts. I think you might be happier in the military forum where you can ban people who disagree with to instead of coming here and waffling insults at them.

Cody and DB could be buddy's.......Thatd make a great tv show, Wonder how those 2 would cope in a section attack

I suppose we'd do a better job then the current Helen Keller's soldiers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

You wouldnt last a minute in the army
    Oh I would be terrible in a real army. I know where my strengths are, and they're not in paramedic aid or taking orders. We all have our strengths and weaknesses, and although I don't know you, it's entirely possible that you'd be terrible at my job too. But that's irrelevant: you don't want my job and I don't want yours.

The truth is something far more uncomfortable: the Irish army is inept at its main function. It does some things pretty well - namely paramedic aid, and assistance to the Department of Transport - and it should be disbanded to serve these functions and avoid the pretense and embarrassment caused by situations like that which arose at Aiken Barracks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Lots of love,

Carry on.

yeah but....yeah but.....none of that takes away from the fact that a very large and slow vehicle, was illegally removed from what was supposed to be a secure compound, allegedly well guarded by the armed forces.

If you can truely tell me that's not a screwup of quite royal proportions I'd love to see the reasoning for that....

Oh....I forgot, you could tell me but then you'd have to kill me....

So much for sensible debate...

Never mind, carry on.

Nobody is denying its a screw up. Were all human and we learn from our mistakes. The army isnt solely responsible either though, revenue IMO should have disabled the vehicle, thats not the army's responsibility, they simply provided revenue with a place to park it.

Like I said, the thread was closed in the military forum as the forum charter was repeatedly breached, if anyone has a problem with that they can go to the moderators authority and challenge it. On boards, if anyone wants to participate in a forum then they are volunteering in good faith to abide by the forums charter.

The AH charter is different and I don't think that this thread should be closed.

I'm getting too many chuckles from it.

I still dont see how firing 3 or 4 assault rifles into a 40 ton mobile incendiary, travelling at 30 or 40 mph towards the brick room you are in and the heavily urbanised T Junction with houses with civilians sleeping in them, directly behind you, is a sensible idea.

I can see how security patrols need to be reviewed and the state of the perimeter walls and fences and CCTV and motion cameras and motion activated lights etc DO need to be reviewed to see if anything could have been done differently.

I still dont see how firing 3 or 4 assault rifles into a 40 ton mobile incendiary, travelling at 30 or 40 mph towards the brick room you are in and the heavily urbanised T Junction with houses with civilians sleeping in them, directly behind you, is a sensible idea.
    I certainly can't speak for everyone else but the threat of being fired upon would only have been effective before it reached that speed (if it did reach that speed) and well before it was whizzing past them out the gate. Its status as an incendiary has been addressed and I haven't seen a convincing counterargument.

I'd also question whether the army base was simply a place to park it or whether it was a secure place to park it. I'd assume it was taken to be the latter which I think on the part of the revenue would have been a perfectly reasonable assumption. If the army had explained to the revenue that they couldn't offer security then perhaps the revenue would have disabled the truck.

Nobody is denying its a screw up. Were all human and we learn from our mistakes. The army isnt solely responsible either though, revenue IMO should have disabled the vehicle, thats not the army's responsibility, they simply provided revenue with a place to park it.
    Typical poor brother mentality; if you're not blaming Revenue I suppose it will be the Gardaí's fault.

The fact is that Revenue had a reasonable expectation that property under storage in Aiken Barracks - Aiken Barracks being an army compound under armed guard - was deposited safely. Furthermore, there would appear to be a prima facie implication that the truck was stored with the consent of the administration at Aiken Barracks. If the army had an issue with the truck not having been disabled, the time to have raised that would have been prior to the arrangement occurring.

Not whining about it after a pretty audacious robbery for which there is absolutely no explanation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,240 ✭✭✭Markcheese

"The truth is something far more uncomfortable: the Irish army is inept at its main function. It does some things pretty well - namely paramedic aid, and assistance to the Department of Transport - and it should be disbanded to serve these functions and avoid the pretense and embarrassment caused by situations like that which arose at Aiken Barracks."
    Well that's one viewpoint, and if you believe in it strongly maybe you should put together a manifesto with likeminded individuals and stand in the next election ... I dont agree with you...
    Yeah security at the base should prob be improved, the time for shooting was prob when the lads were breaking into the base(of course then we'd be discussing how terrible the army were for shooting local lads messing after coming out of the pub )

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

but how on earth did they get away???

They failed to properly fill out the necessary permission to do job (safety approval form 7-a) paperwork.

Can't exit the base without it don'tchaknow

Typical poor brother mentality; if you're not blaming Revenue I suppose it will be the Gardaí's fault.

Na, the Gardai have enough problems hanging onto their own stuff, never mind watching over Revenues trucks...

http://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/local/stolen-garda-car-turns-up-in-comer-1-4538071

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

the_syco wrote: »
    Correction; they were used to guard a truck that Revenue were too cheap to guard themselves. I'd wonder where Revenue parked it.

=-=

As well as a barrier, having something that would burst your tyres unlessas deactivated would be very beneficial.

Ah here the_syco thats a terrible excuse.

The Revenue are not an armed branch of the State.They gave a tanker to the armed branch of the State to look after and they couldn't.

It's not about being cheap it all comes from the one pot.Revenue are probably 90% pen pushers but probably the most effective arm of the State.

How would a bunch of unarmed pen pushers mind the tanker?Thats why we have an armed forces.

Na, the Gardai have enough problems hanging onto their own stuff, never mind watching over Revenues trucks...

http://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/local/stolen-garda-car-turns-up-in-comer-1-4538071

Yeah they are too busy looking out for stolen army jeeps...

http://www.herald.ie/news/courts/two-charged-over-stolen-army-jeep-driven-into-gardai-27949200.html

You don't feel a twinge of hypocrisy mocking the Gardai?