Raiders steal tanker from army barracks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

This thread has completely lost the real issue.

The nations defence forces were unable to defend their own military compound.

Serious question - what do you learn when you join the army?

The Army are a genuinely fantastic first aid emergency response service for accidents and natural disasters.

But I do think it's time we stopped this pretense about national defenses in relation to the Irish army.

We have European battlegroups for that sort of thing.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,900 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

In fairness, part of the security of a military facility comes from the fact that it is a military facility, guarded by no-nonsense people with guns, who are authorized to use them. Not that they routinely do, or that they are fortresses, but that in the event of identified incursion they will react such that it is not worth the risk to try. The reputation itself provides the security. (And thus reduces the requirements for manning or surveillance expenses)

If the reputation is impuned by incidents of this sort, then eventually someone in charge is going to have to decide just how secure the barracks should really be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

The Army are a genuinely fantastic first aid emergency response service for accidents and natural disasters.

But I do think it's time we stopped this pretense about national defenses in relation to the Irish army.

We have European battlegroups for that sort of thing.

It wasn't the crowns forces who protected the south during 'The Troubles', and not forgetting that NO other European nation faced the same internal security threat as we did (since the end of WWII) that it wasn't just by the grace of God that we didn't tear ourselves asunder like Yugoslavia.

Our defense forces are part of EUFOR and The Nordic Battle Group.

It wasn't the crowns forces who protected the south during 'The Troubles'
    Correct, it was the Garda Síochána.
    and not forgetting that NO other European nation faced the same internal security threat as we did (since the end of WWII)
    erm... the UK, of which Northern Ireland is part.
    Our defense forces are part of EUFOR and The Nordic Battle Group.
    And I am sure the Irish forces will make wonderful nurses and stretcher bearers if the need arises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Correct, it was the Garda Síochána.

erm... the UK, of which Northern Ireland is part.

And I am sure the Irish forces will make wonderful nurses and stretcher bearers if the need arises.

How sleep the brave.. Goodnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Since our army is so small, could we not train them better? as in make the standard Irish soldier the equivalent of a Royal marine... or at least a US marine?

jugger0 wrote: »
    Since our army is so small, could we not train them better? as in make the standard Irish soldier the equivalent of a Royal marine... or at least a US marine?
    We have, what, 10,000 armed forces? It would be almost criminally wasteful to turn 10,000 of our smartest young people into the army for careers which are never likely to be valuable to the state in terms of its armed protection.

Neutrality is one of the few great ideas this state had since inception. we can direct our brainpower at productive enterprises which can make a difference: humanitarian aid to third world countries, diplomacy, and international law, three areas where we already punch way above our weight; helped in part by our neutral status.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

The equivalent of a Marine?
    Have you read the thread?These highly trained (at the taxpayers expense) so called soldiers couldn't mind a truck that was under their noses in a supposedly guarded facility.

What a waste of money and resources training them.
    Let us all pray tonight that somewhere like the Isle of Man doesn't invade us or we are fecked with this bunch of misfits "protecting" us.

We have, what, 10,000 armed forces? It would be almost criminally wasteful to turn 10,000 of our smartest young people into the army for careers which are never likely to be valuable to the state in terms of its armed protection.

Neutrality is one of the few great ideas this state had since inception. we can direct our brainpower at productive enterprises which can make a difference: humanitarian aid to third world countries, diplomacy, and international law, three areas where we already punch way above our weight; helped in part by our neutral status.

Neutrality hasn't stopped countries being invaded, if we only have 10,000 soldiers then they should be trained so that they are the equivalent of other nations elite soldiers, imagine an IRA flying column with the training of Marine recon or Spetznaz... we would wreck an invader..

Every country needs an Army, dont think that war is a thing of the past, we must have the means to defend ourselves instead of just hoping it passes us by.

The equivalent of a Marine?
    Have you read the thread?These highly trained (at the taxpayers expense) so called soldiers couldn't mind a truck that was under their noses in a supposedly guarded facility.

What a waste of money and resources training them.
    Let us all pray tonight that somewhere like the Isle of Man doesn't invade us or we are fecked with this bunch of misfits "protecting" us.

Hence why we need a better trained army.. they get it too soft.

Neutrality hasn't stopped countries being invaded
    Again, we can rely on EU battlegroups for serious defence capability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

I know where your coming from jugger0 but my point is that it is a small army anyhow so I cant figure out how it is not already elite?

I mean they cant mind one tanker that is already on their barracks?
    How much more training do they need?
    With the defence forces budget and only ten thousand of them we should basically have a ten thousand strong SAS squadron.

Instead we end up with an army that looks like Sgt Bilko is running the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭WakeUp

Have to agree with the other people here critising what happened. In short one of our military installations being breached and compromised, unchallenged, is unacceptable infact its a farce.
    The number of troops we have for the size of our territory should be enough but if we cant even defend our own bases in peacetime what is the point. That army base was in Louth close to the border im not sure what level of security the army designates to the various bases if indeed it even varies levels around the country, but any bases and the personel in them close to the border they really need to be on their toes. Unacceptable what happened it really is and if this is a reflection of the professionalism within a certain element of the armed forces, then they need to get their sh1t together and fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Simple,,,,Guy (yes 1 soldier)on the gate new who he was dealing with,,,and s@*t himself,, game over,,cross the border in 7-12min's,,depending on lights at that time,,basically no traffic. The END...:cool:

ardle1 wrote: »
    Simple,,,,Guy (yes 1 soldier)on the gate new who he was dealing with,,,and s@*t himself
    This guy is supposed to come to the defence of the nation when called upon, and he can't look after a gate?

What are the chances our hero is going to lose his job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

This guy is supposed to come to the defence of the nation when called upon, and he can't look after a gate?

What are the chances our hero is going to lose his job?

He wont lose his job,why should he???? Remember he's guarding the gate from incoming,, eh fire,, what about the guys guarding the perimeter,,what about the guy 'manning' the cctv ,,what about the guys in Ridleys (nightclub in Town)...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

I heard the Irish Army have tax free bars in the barracks and some soldiers duty is to be barmen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Again, we can rely on EU battlegroups for serious defence capability.

I thought you said neutrality was a good idea?

No, I identified it as a good idea for the Irish state, not as a general principle. I don't think all global,or European, armies should be abolished. Just the Irish and the British.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Over half a billion euro in retail stock stolen every year

Link.

And I doubt there was a security man sacked in all of that HALF A BILLION STOLEN, compared to what ~ thirty grand of laundered diesel, and some people here want someone SHOT!!.. Get real.
    You've quoted my post but your response doesn't seem to be connected.

Are you implying that the negligence involved in not noticing a large number of small items pilfered from separate locations is equivalent to not noticing an enormous truck being stolen until it's crashing through the gates? Also, am I supposed to be convinced that nobody faced consequences because you doubt it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 TheDB

No, I identified it as a good idea for the Irish state, not as a general principle. I don't think all global,or European, armies should be abolished. Just the Irish and the British.

You can't get rid out the Irish Army, they provide a necessary backup to the structure of the state. However, the current lot have been shown to be useless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 TheDB

You are completely misinformed about the soldiers of the Defence Forces. I suggest you educate yourself before making such ridiculous comments.

Eh read what he said again. The Defence Forces couldn't even defend their own barracks and it's not the first time this has happened. How can we trust them to be able to defend the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

These highly trained (at the taxpayers expense) so called soldiers couldn't mind a truck that was under their noses in a supposedly guarded facility.
    Correction; they were used to guard a truck that Revenue were too cheap to guard themselves. I'd wonder where Revenue parked it.

=-=

As well as a barrier, having something that would burst your tyres unless it was deactivated would be very beneficial.

TheDB wrote: »
    You can't get rid out the Irish Army, they provide a necessary backup to the structure of the state. However, the current lot have been shown to be useless.
    I don't believe you can get rid of them as a generally commendable emergency response unit in the event of natural disasters.

However, you certainly can get rid of them as a purportedly defensive structure, by splitting them into an Order of Malta like emergency response unit, as well as a Coast Guard and anti-trafficking unit attached to the Department of Transport.

I think it's time we stopped the pretense about Irish defence capacity. This is an organisation which appears incapable of manning a gate, let alone a 1,500km coastline. If we would have to rely on EU battlegroups anyway, we may as well just formalise the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

1. The truck came from inside the barracks

2. A soldier with a weapon will not open fire on a truck filed with fuel.....no matter how cool it may look in the movies

3. Lets picture the situation, the soldier is in the gate room manning the cctv cameras, he notices a truck traveling at high speed from the barracks towards the gate....how do you suggest said soldier stops said truck without endangering more lives.

Invalid argument is invalid

Aren't you the one that said they should have shot the tyres out?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Ok, that makes perfect sense.

Not.