pure bred or cross bred

• 27-05-2013 09:33PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭

just pondering alright ,do any lads here get sick of pedigree dogs that dont "do exactly what it says on the pedigree" i have seen a lot of muck around and was just wondering do any of ye ever have a cross bred dog i.e. springer/terrier, obviously some terrier breeds are betters bush dogs and others ground dogs so has anyone crossed an animal with good results for cover hunting and no fancy hand signal ,circus trained clowns .would love to see pics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

charlie10 wrote: »
    just pondering alright ,do any lads here get sick of pedigree dogs that dont "do exactly what it says on the pedigree" i have seen a lot of muck around and was just wondering do any of ye ever have a cross bred dog i.e. springer/terrier, obviously some terrier breeds are betters bush dogs and others ground dogs so has anyone crossed an animal with good results for cover hunting and no fancy hand signal ,circus trained clowns .would love to see pics

take a look at the thread here hungarian visla X Pointer,or go too the for sale section,getting very popular X breeds,hardier breed,will never buy full breed again for working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭endasmail

IMO there are plenty of dogs out there that are fit for purpose, pedigrees

why mix the bloodlines further when there is no need

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

well deerhunter this is it lad , ive seen dogs with the most impressive paper work and prices in the world and wouldnt go to cover. i have a good springer who is an ignorant so and so but can hunt cover like a hi mac . was thinking of maybe buying a cross bred dog or breeding my own lad back to a good cover bitch of any breed preferablly a terrier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

friend of mine has a springer x lab, savage drive and good in cover

endasmail wrote: »
    IMO there are plenty of dogs out there that are fit for purpose, pedigrees

why mix the bloodlines further when there is no need

Agree but there is a lot of skulduggery in this country in relation to "Pedigrees"
    Unless your trialing/showing dogs most are worth Jack ****

i agree and lads selling dogs on the merits of there ancestors for phone number prices , anyone have a hunting dog with terrier breeding in them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭shaka

I had a beagle who was never intended as gun dog who turned out pretty well from being out with a springer every weekend, he was a serious dog with great stamina- only downside was he could get distracted by scent of a hare. Friend of a friend asked would I let him cover a springer bitch which I did , I didn't take a pup ( sorry I didn't) and he reckoned he got a cracking dog out of litter.
    I have irish water spaniel now who is best fun I've ever had with dog, he is young and they are slow to mature but looking good . Haven't A Gun now but he is very keen to work, covering a bit of everything and when I'm out with him he is looking for the gun if we come across anyone out.

Agree but there is a lot of skulduggery in this country in relation to "Pedigrees"
    Unless your trialing/showing dogs most are worth Jack ****

Sometimes its best to look elsewhere for a "pedigree"

many a good breed of dog has been ruined due to crossing with other breeds

what u mean look elsewhere? :confused:

If your looking for a well bred dog, with checkable bloodlines, if its a German dog: head for Germany.

endasmail wrote: »
    If your looking for a well bred dog, with checkable bloodlines, if its a German dog: head for Germany.

Not necessarily true , some of the best irish water spaniel lines are in Canada/America particulary Canada where they appreciate the hardiness . When/ if I get a bitch ill be going to England or Wales where I know there are good lines both working and show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Seems crossbreeds are becoming ever more popular now as working dogs. Is it because purebreeds are more expensive to buy than a crossbred gundog? So most are opting for a cheaper dog that'll work just as good?
    The likes of sprockers have been around a long time and mixing pointers with other pointers
    Labradoodles are also being worked now aswell.
    I heard of a lad in scotland who works a Gwp x ess that is supposed to be a pure animal on pointer and heavy cover and is also a dog he works a golden eagle with.
    I know in cases where the dog is purebred and has great working lines is expected to be great but is it not also down to how the dog is trained?

Any opinions on that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

well deerhunter this is it lad , ive seen dogs with the most impressive paper work and prices in the world and wouldnt go to cover. i have a good springer who is an ignorant so and so but can hunt cover like a hi mac . was thinking of maybe buying a cross bred dog or breeding my own lad back to a good cover bitch of any breed preferablly a terrier

You say you have a gud hard hitting dog! So they can be got , the problem is ur looking at dogs that are up to date trailing lines where people have breed back to trailing dogs all the time getting smaller and smaller ,

It the grand parents and great grand parents you should be looking at dogs line badger court Druid ! Look him up he was no small dog .

I bought that bitch pup in January taking the knowledge I've build up true reserch and years of experience . And I've found that spaniels with heavy marking first of all are bigger stronger dogs in general and harder hitting to !
    A bit head strong but would rather that then a timid yoke !

So I ask ' have you focus to much on trailing dogs from recent trailing lines forgetting the dogs they came from .

You'll cross ur dog with a terrier and you'll have no bird buy the time he get back to ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

My EP crossed with an ESS about 14 years ago. The 4 pups were the best gundogs I have ever seen. Destroyed cover, retrieved land and water.

One of the best part was they would hunt for anyone, so the lads that had them used to let friends borrow them for a day's shooting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭223vmax

i agree and lads selling dogs on the merits of there ancestors for phone number prices , anyone have a hunting dog with terrier breeding in them

I have an ESS x Fox terrier. Great energy for hunting all day. She has a great nose will hunt any cover and retrieve no problem. Only problem is she can be a little hard mouthed.

any pic lad is he good in deep cover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Just stick to he hard working lines and the dog should work as good as he is trained ,cross breeds can work fine ,but some terrier mixes will just eat the bird when it is shot if you dont get to it first,droppers have been around for years and work fine,i have seen boxers and staffs trained to flush birds..most lads dont realize a poodle is a hunting dog and are quite commonly used in America they just have been completely turned into show dogs here

lb1981 wrote: »
    Just stick to he hard working lines and the dog should work as good as he is trained ,cross breeds can work fine ,but some terrier mixes will just eat the bird when it is shot if you dont get to it first,droppers have been around for years and work fine,i have seen boxers and staffs trained to flush birds..most lads dont realize a poodle is a hunting dog and are quite commonly used in America they just have been completely turned into show dogs here

im aware that a terrier mix could eat the bird but just wondering did anyone be lucky enough to have a soft mouthed one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

I have had just pure terriers that have pined the bird or rabbit i never had a cross myself

im aware that a terrier mix could eat the bird but just wondering did anyone be lucky enough to have a soft mouthed one

Just wondering after preaching spaniel spaniel spaniel for so long that your thinking about crossing it not ?

any pic lad is he good in deep cover

here you go. Excellent in all kinds of cover.

255995.jpgIMG_0178.jpg

255996.jpg

223vmax wrote: »
    here you go. Excellent in all kinds of cover.

255995.jpgIMG_0178.jpg

255996.jpg

Jaysus he is a mad looking whooore:eek::D

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Just wondering after preaching spaniel spaniel spaniel for so long that your thinking about crossing it not ?

and i still preach springer spaniel ,i always want a breed of one wether it be half bred or full bred, half a springer is worth more than a whole breed of any other gun dog :D:D , i have a full bred springer who if i was to match would have a better chance of winning the lotto but with the way dogs are going im afraid the lotto might be on the cards saturday night.and if i crossed any dog it would be for my benefit and i would not sell the other pups

Jaysus he is a mad looking whooore:eek::D

Dunno if that's a compliment or not!!??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

and i still preach springer spaniel ,i always want a breed of one wether it be half bred or full bred, half a springer is worth more than a whole breed of any other gun dog :D:D , i have a full bred springer who if i was to match would have a better chance of winning the lotto but with the way dogs are going im afraid the lotto might be on the cards saturday night.and if i crossed any dog it would be for my benefit and i would not sell the other pups

Any pictures of the springer

ill try and drum one up

how ta fec do you add a photo here?

Ah see it wouldn but just for ur benefit because what you going to do if ya have a full litter of pups ur going to sell them/ give them away contributing to the problem that ur giving out about !

Same as lads having the best of spaniels only to be told when u ask them that there not registered . The very lads that give out about the state of the spaniel breed are the ones that have or had the best of spaniels and never breed or registered what they had .

Instead of breeding muts , why not focus ur time into getting it right , creating ur own line and try and do something productive with the strong spaniel u have!