Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What the Loungers did Next... [off topic chat]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭kat.mac

Had the MOST awesome night out on Friday night with peeps I was in college with. Everyone who showed up was nice, fun, relaxed, happy and up for banter and the craic was only mighty. Yay reunions!

Then went on a second date with that guy off of the internet yesterday and it was no craic, so that's the end of that! Not a bad guy at all but there's zero chemistry, and I need that weak-kneed feeling, man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Hot builders in my kitchen :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Toast4532

So I can't go the maths/business studies through the VEC cos its a FETAC Level 5 and the course I am doing now is a FETAC Level 5 so my only others options are to sit maths/business as an external student and get private grinds and then sit the exams in a school, which would be grand if I could afford grinds or else do a level 6 course, which is basically the same as what I am doing now, but with one module of payroll.

Or if I got a paid job, I could possibly afford the grinds, depending on how much I was getting paid and how much they were costing.

I wonder if any teachers would do the grinds at a cheaper rate if I was to do a set number of grinds per week, for a number of months........?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭LottieP25

Toast4532 wrote: »
    So I can't go the maths/business studies through the VEC cos its a FETAC Level 5 and the course I am doing now is a FETAC Level 5 so my only others options are to sit maths/business as an external student and get private grinds and then sit the exams in a school, which would be grand if I could afford grinds or else do a level 6 course, which is basically the same as what I am doing now, but with one module of payroll.

Or if I got a paid job, I could possibly afford the grinds, depending on how much I was getting paid and how much they were costing.

I wonder if any teachers would do the grinds at a cheaper rate if I was to do a set number of grinds per week, for a number of months........?

Would you need a lot of grinds ? I'm resitting some leaving cert subjects, no grinds. But my old school is sending me over course work for free, which is pretty sound.

Maybe go talk to whatever school you are going to be sitting them at and see if they would do something like the above .

Tbh I'm doing better now on my own than I ever was in school .

LottieP25 wrote: »
    Would you need a lot of grinds ? I'm resitting some leaving cert subjects, no grinds. But my old school is sending me over course work for free, which is pretty sound.

Maybe go talk to whatever school you are going to be sitting them at and see if they would do something like the above .

Tbh I'm doing better now on my own than I ever was in school .

I don't know to be honest. I think 2-3 a week but that's just a guess, I could need more, or less. I think if I started with two a week and then maybe if I needed extra then I could get extra.

I also have no leaving cert, so resitting isn't an option. And I'm years out of school anyway so couldn't resit them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Thought I read somewhere on boards that you were in college. So if by any chance you were getting the back to education allowance, you can apply for the internship.

Yes, I just finished college but I didn't qualify for BTEA. I sent my application anyway and they have recieved it. I'll worry about the rest if/when I get an interview! :)

You might get a cheaper rate for grinds from a college student? If you know anyone in college who's studying Maths or Science subjects, get onto them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

Toast have a look at your local VEC website. I know the one here in Laois has adult classes for people who want to do Leaving Cert subject. I know a lady that did her English paper last year.

Larianne wrote: »
    You might get a cheaper rate for grinds from a college student? If you know anyone in college who's studying Maths or Science subjects, get onto them.
    I don't know anyone in college :(
    Toast have a look at your local VEC website. I know the one here in Laois has adult classes for people who want to do Leaving Cert subject. I know a lady that did her English paper last year.
    I was in my local VEC this morning and that's where I got all the information. The VEC one I was looking at it is a Level 5, but because the course I am doing now is a Level 5, I am not eligible for the VEC course.

Not sure what to do now. Going to contact a few tutors and see. I found one, she's an accountant but gives grinds in the evenings and at weekends, will see what she says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I don't know anyone in college :(

Phone your local college and their Students Union. Say you're looking for leaving cert grinds and if they can recommend any students who would be able to do it. They often have post-grads who will give grinds to college students. I had a few in college and I know some of the tutors gave grinds to people doing the leaving cert as well. And they're much cheaper than official grind schools. You just need to work with them because they're not teachers, so you need to tell them where you need help. Apart from that they're great though.

Edit: And I did both economics and business studies for the Leaving Cert and I finished my business degree a few years ago, so if you ever need help send me a message and I'll give you a hand if it's an area I know about. I wouldn't be as good as a real tutor but if you need some explanations or something I'd be happy to help.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Just sat on a call waiting for it to start for 10 minutes.

Then I remembered (for the 8th time today) that it's Memorial day in the states. Duh!

Back to testing I go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

To buy foundation online now, or in two days' time when I'm actually paid? Hmm.

Serious first world problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

Hot builders in my kitchen :cool:
    Pixie, I don't mean to alarm you, but you're not actually supposed to send them to work in the oven. :(

Friends, not food.

Pixie, I don't mean to alarm you, but you're not actually supposed to send them to work in the oven. :(

Friends, not food.

Its ok he was on a stool bent over :pac:

Meanwhile i said id to pilates and 30ds today, ive been sat on the yoga mat watching arrested development :o

one more episode :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

I just got granted my holidays in work (admittedly for a day or two shorter than I'd thought I'd have, but hey, woohoo!)

Getting me some sunshine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭WinterSong

Today the cheque I've been waiting on for the past few weeks finally arrived. Looks like I'll be booking flights tomorrow, YAY :D:):D:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

God, just watched Will Smith on Graham Norton, class!

Lyaiera wrote: »
    Phone your local college and their Students Union. Say you're looking for leaving cert grinds and if they can recommend any students who would be able to do it. They often have post-grads who will give grinds to college students. I had a few in college and I know some of the tutors gave grinds to people doing the leaving cert as well. And they're much cheaper than official grind schools. You just need to work with them because they're not teachers, so you need to tell them where you need help. Apart from that they're great though.

Edit: And I did both economics and business studies for the Leaving Cert and I finished my business degree a few years ago, so if you ever need help send me a message and I'll give you a hand if it's an area I know about. I wouldn't be as good as a real tutor but if you need some explanations or something I'd be happy to help.

Unfortunately there is no third level college where I live. The nearest college is AIT or Dublin, and I don't drive so I rely on public transport so if I was taking buses/trains etc it would cost me a fortune.

Thanks for your offer, I greatly appreciate it. It is very kind of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Unfortunately there is no third level college where I live. The nearest college is AIT or Dublin, and I don't drive so I rely on public transport so if I was taking buses/trains etc it would cost me a fortune.

Thanks for your offer, I greatly appreciate it. It is very kind of you.

If you'd like, you could PM me your details and I can put up a notice in my college noticeboard (it's a e-noticeboard that's updated every week or so). Students will have gone home for the summer so there might be some living in your area. The noticeboard is only visible to students and staff.

My bedsheets haz ALL of the fresh!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

My bedsheets haz ALL of the fresh!!! :D

I need to change my bedsheets but I'm moving out at the weekend and it's tempting to just live in filth for a few days. :eek:

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I need to change my bedsheets but I'm moving out at the weekend and it's tempting to just live in filth for a few days. :eek:
    But think of the freshy cleanliness of new sheets. :)

<snuggles into duvet and sighs happily>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Lola92

My train was delayed by almost an hour today because some eejit crashed into the Merrion gates. Argh :mad:

I'm so lethargic lately, need to get back running again. And I'm still bloated.

Sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Ilyana 2.0 wrote: »
    I'm so lethargic lately, need to get back running again. And I'm still bloated.

Sigh.

I'm knocking together a new running playlist, getting dressed and heading out. All of a sudden I'm super depressed about being finished college but not knowing if I've passed, therefore if I still can take the job I have lined up. Blehhhh.

I suspect there is something wrong with me. Ive been craving chocolate more so than usual (mainly kinder bueno) and ive been wanting so many cuddles.

Im watching the coolest documentary about freaky weather!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

I suspect there is something wrong with me. Ive been craving chocolate more so than usual (mainly kinder bueno) and ive been wanting so many cuddles.

Im watching the coolest documentary about freaky weather!

Pregnant. Definitely pregnant.

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    I'm knocking together a new running playlist, getting dressed and heading out. All of a sudden I'm super depressed about being finished college but not knowing if I've passed, therefore if I still can take the job I have lined up. Blehhhh.

You'll be okay, try not to be worry about the job until you get the results; and best of luck with them!

I'm not used to not being busy, so I need to fill my time so I don't get even more lethargic during the summer. Going for a run tomorrow, hope that kickstarts me!

Cuddles for you; hope you get some real ones soon! I'm kinda the same, just want to curl up in a ball with someone cuddling me and feeding me chocolate. I have PMS for two weeks every month :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

Dinamo is a freaky freaky man! But quite attractive. ;)

How so Joe wrote: »
    Pregnant. Definitely pregnant.

But no one would have coitus with me.

Im just feeling bleh about myself. :(

Cuddles for you; hope you get some real ones soon! I'm kinda the same, just want to curl up in a ball with someone cuddling me and feeding me chocolate. I have PMS for two weeks every month :(

I can relate. I used to have horrible periods, they would be really heavy, last about 3 weeks and id only get them twice a year. I lost the weight and they were still heavy but would last a week and a half to 2 weeks and i would be in agony!

Hope you get cuddles and chocolate soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

You'll be okay, try not to be worry about the job until you get the results; and best of luck with them!

I'm not used to not being busy, so I need to fill my time so I don't get even more lethargic during the summer. Going for a run tomorrow, hope that kickstarts me!

Same!! I'm only getting contract hours at work (4 :( ) so I'm applying to see if I'm entitled to any SW as I'm finished college. Blehhhhh. I just feel so blehhhh!