If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Wha? no rain here. Tis just a passing shower giving navan a bath :pac:. http://www.met.ie/latest/rainfall_radar.asp
    Tomorrow will be raining, just checked it there. So get all you car washing done today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    What was the asking?

Asking 13000 purchased for 11.5k after a prolonged negotiation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,326 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Saw this today, absolutely bizzare to see a jag with wheeltrims

imagecje.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Saabrina passed the nct today. A glorious day since it broke down on the way to the test 6 weeks ago and I was told it was an economic write off.

Another victory for us bangernomic-ites, :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Saw this today, absolutely bizzare to see a jag with wheeltrims

http://img854.imageshack.us/img854/269/imagecje.jpg

Paddy spec in a nutshell..... Was it a 2.0D?

Whilst opening a bolt the ratchet slipped and I punched the concrete yard..... Oucheeee to say the least :(

dgt wrote: »
    Paddy spec in a nutshell..... Was it a 2.0D?

Whilst opening a bolt the ratchet slipped and I punched the concrete yard..... Oucheeee to say the least :(

Yeah 2.0D

Was curious so found em on rimmerbros website, uk got them too.

On a side note, I checked the site on the new price on the 17 inch sport wheels on my S.

http://www.rimmerbros.co.uk/Item--i-XR843333

€1,824 inc VAT :o

That's not even main dealer.

Yeah 2.0D

Was curious so found em on rimmerbros website, uk got them too.

On a side note, I checked the site on the new price on the 17 inch sport wheels on my S.

http://www.rimmerbros.co.uk/Item--i-XR843333

€1,824 inc VAT :o

That's not even main dealer.

I'm guessing the boggo spec was for fleet purchases and the like.... Unlike here :pac:

That's eye watering that price :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Asking 13000 purchased for 11.5k after a prolonged negotiation!

Sounds decent depending on the asking. What year is it, mileage and where you get it from? Did it have a decent history?

Gets me thinking, would I make anything breaking the Jag? I'm sure I'd only sell it for under €500. Don't know if there'd be much call for body parts and the likes.

Now I like the sound of this :cool:

Potentially more to be made that way rather than selling a whole car

It'd be a shame to break it up, but to be fair its days are numbered with the massive tax rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

This took planning about two weeks ago

99999_zps7b3209c0.png

100000_zpsa58f933e.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Were you at the Racecourse today Colm? Didn't spot you around.

Have you got the S type on dd?

Were you at the Racecourse today Colm? Didn't spot you around.

Have you got the S type on dd?

No and No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭thecomedian

How bad would a Cat D write off be?
    Is it usually just cosmetic damage or could it be anything?

How bad would a Cat D write off be?
    Is it usually just cosmetic damage or could it be anything?

Probably nothing major.

I wouldn't mind a crashed car as long as I knew where the damage was, ie. front and not the roof etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Probably nothing major.

I wouldn't mind a crashed car as long as I knew where the damage was, ie. front and not the roof etc.

I hope is wont be too bad, I'll find out tomorrow. I always wonder how they write them off when the damage isn't major

Depends on who does the quote to fix it sometimes, lol.

I saw a repair quote for a Mini in the thousands for something that would of been done for a grand. The quote had all brand new parts, all emblems etc.

Turns out the Mini Cooper S was only a Cooper, was previously crashed and also was previously silver (was white now).

That's dodgey for ya :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭BdaraB

Dr.Rieux wrote: »
    This took planning about two weeks ago

IMG-20130424-WA0000.jpg

My Dad sent me his a few weeks ago :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Now I'm looking at 407 Coupes to add to the list :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Just noticed brining afew mates and my brother to the pub there that the lights on the dials below my new head unit don't work, the a/c temperature and fan setting ones.

Confused, did he steal their power feed as a shortcut or ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

Was hearing really loud as fook exhaust noises all week in the new house - here's me thinking it was a boy racer with a monster exhaust or a motorbike of some sort which I was used to in my last place. Was walking to the house back from my car yesterday, hear it again and I think "ah ha, I've figured out the bastard" and turn around...

Orange Lamborghini Murciélago convertible booting it out from the estate opposite! My face in the same spot for 5 minutes???

shocked-cat-o.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Just happenned to be off there today and tomorrow so thought i would ring NCTS for the craic while having a cup of tea and feeding the pooch to see if i could improve on 20th July booking i got on the 10th of may (headed up to blanch later in the week and nct being out 5 months = not good)
    and got a date at 9.35 tomorrow :)

Weather allowing got a nice list of stuff planned for today.

Wash/detar/wash/clay/polish/hoover and clean out my interior.

Might even try out my new axle stands and paint my calipers and put on my new dmb decals.

But for now im doing a fry up while watching premiership years on sky sports and bringing said pooch for a ramble.
    img20130507122111.jpg

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTrtWLCLVfbeggPFjyacrXljci7MBE-KQRP9_xCGKHsOUZFxhrWDg

Right..... That's those pesky exams out of the way. Just 2 reports and a log left to do..... Then summer can commence :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Right..... That's those pesky exams out of the way. Just 2 reports and a log left to do..... Then summer can commence :cool:

Langer! Well done :)
    Only 1 more for me, php...yay

Without opening a huge can of worms...is RJ banned forever now or what can anyone tell me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Langer! Well done :)
    Only 1 more for me, php...yay

Without opening a huge can of worms...is RJ banned forever now or what can anyone tell me?

I've heard he's gone.
    Didn't spot a prison thread.

Myself and James had our clashes of opinion but he was a good lad for the forum. I'll miss him about the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

We all had our clashes with him :pac:

but he was an ok guy at the back of it all :) i mean who doesn't like an arguement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

He picked out/suggested my current motor :(

Ive never had a run in with him, must be down to a mutual dislike for a certain car brand :pac::D

There was a prison thread alright, 'took it' with dignity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Cheensbo wrote: »
    He picked out/suggested my current motor :(

Ive never had a run in with him, must be down to a mutual dislike for a certain car brand :pac::D

There was a prison thread alright, 'took it' with dignity.

He took it in a true RoverJames manner, put it that way. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

hehehe summer will indeed commence! :D
    CianRyan wrote: »
    I've heard he's gone.
    Didn't spot a prison thread.

Myself and James had our clashes of opinion but he was a good lad for the forum. I'll miss him about the place.

Think he's gone, doubt he'll rereg, he still lost his bet though...:D

We got on well I think, both tended to just take it easy and not clash often. :)