Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Wha? no rain here. Tis just a passing shower giving navan a bath :pac:. http://www.met.ie/latest/rainfall_radar.asp
    Tomorrow will be raining, just checked it there. So get all you car washing done today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    What was the asking?

Asking 13000 purchased for 11.5k after a prolonged negotiation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Saw this today, absolutely bizzare to see a jag with wheeltrims

imagecje.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Saabrina passed the nct today. A glorious day since it broke down on the way to the test 6 weeks ago and I was told it was an economic write off.

Another victory for us bangernomic-ites, :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Saw this today, absolutely bizzare to see a jag with wheeltrims

http://img854.imageshack.us/img854/269/imagecje.jpg

Paddy spec in a nutshell..... Was it a 2.0D?

Whilst opening a bolt the ratchet slipped and I punched the concrete yard..... Oucheeee to say the least :(

dgt wrote: »
    Paddy spec in a nutshell..... Was it a 2.0D?

Whilst opening a bolt the ratchet slipped and I punched the concrete yard..... Oucheeee to say the least :(

Yeah 2.0D

Was curious so found em on rimmerbros website, uk got them too.

On a side note, I checked the site on the new price on the 17 inch sport wheels on my S.

http://www.rimmerbros.co.uk/Item--i-XR843333

€1,824 inc VAT :o

That's not even main dealer.

Yeah 2.0D

Was curious so found em on rimmerbros website, uk got them too.

On a side note, I checked the site on the new price on the 17 inch sport wheels on my S.

http://www.rimmerbros.co.uk/Item--i-XR843333

€1,824 inc VAT :o

That's not even main dealer.

I'm guessing the boggo spec was for fleet purchases and the like.... Unlike here :pac:

That's eye watering that price :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Asking 13000 purchased for 11.5k after a prolonged negotiation!

Sounds decent depending on the asking. What year is it, mileage and where you get it from? Did it have a decent history?

Gets me thinking, would I make anything breaking the Jag? I'm sure I'd only sell it for under €500. Don't know if there'd be much call for body parts and the likes.

Now I like the sound of this :cool:

Potentially more to be made that way rather than selling a whole car

It'd be a shame to break it up, but to be fair its days are numbered with the massive tax rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

This took planning about two weeks ago

99999_zps7b3209c0.png

100000_zpsa58f933e.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Were you at the Racecourse today Colm? Didn't spot you around.

Have you got the S type on dd?

Were you at the Racecourse today Colm? Didn't spot you around.

Have you got the S type on dd?

No and No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭thecomedian

How bad would a Cat D write off be?
    Is it usually just cosmetic damage or could it be anything?

How bad would a Cat D write off be?
    Is it usually just cosmetic damage or could it be anything?

Probably nothing major.

I wouldn't mind a crashed car as long as I knew where the damage was, ie. front and not the roof etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Probably nothing major.

I wouldn't mind a crashed car as long as I knew where the damage was, ie. front and not the roof etc.

I hope is wont be too bad, I'll find out tomorrow. I always wonder how they write them off when the damage isn't major

Depends on who does the quote to fix it sometimes, lol.

I saw a repair quote for a Mini in the thousands for something that would of been done for a grand. The quote had all brand new parts, all emblems etc.

Turns out the Mini Cooper S was only a Cooper, was previously crashed and also was previously silver (was white now).

That's dodgey for ya :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭BdaraB

Dr.Rieux wrote: »
    This took planning about two weeks ago

IMG-20130424-WA0000.jpg

My Dad sent me his a few weeks ago :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Now I'm looking at 407 Coupes to add to the list :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Just noticed brining afew mates and my brother to the pub there that the lights on the dials below my new head unit don't work, the a/c temperature and fan setting ones.

Confused, did he steal their power feed as a shortcut or ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

Was hearing really loud as fook exhaust noises all week in the new house - here's me thinking it was a boy racer with a monster exhaust or a motorbike of some sort which I was used to in my last place. Was walking to the house back from my car yesterday, hear it again and I think "ah ha, I've figured out the bastard" and turn around...

Orange Lamborghini Murciélago convertible booting it out from the estate opposite! My face in the same spot for 5 minutes???

shocked-cat-o.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Just happenned to be off there today and tomorrow so thought i would ring NCTS for the craic while having a cup of tea and feeding the pooch to see if i could improve on 20th July booking i got on the 10th of may (headed up to blanch later in the week and nct being out 5 months = not good)
    and got a date at 9.35 tomorrow :)

Weather allowing got a nice list of stuff planned for today.

Wash/detar/wash/clay/polish/hoover and clean out my interior.

Might even try out my new axle stands and paint my calipers and put on my new dmb decals.

But for now im doing a fry up while watching premiership years on sky sports and bringing said pooch for a ramble.
    img20130507122111.jpg

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTrtWLCLVfbeggPFjyacrXljci7MBE-KQRP9_xCGKHsOUZFxhrWDg

Right..... That's those pesky exams out of the way. Just 2 reports and a log left to do..... Then summer can commence :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Right..... That's those pesky exams out of the way. Just 2 reports and a log left to do..... Then summer can commence :cool:

Langer! Well done :)
    Only 1 more for me, php...yay

Without opening a huge can of worms...is RJ banned forever now or what can anyone tell me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Langer! Well done :)
    Only 1 more for me, php...yay

Without opening a huge can of worms...is RJ banned forever now or what can anyone tell me?

I've heard he's gone.
    Didn't spot a prison thread.

Myself and James had our clashes of opinion but he was a good lad for the forum. I'll miss him about the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

We all had our clashes with him :pac:

but he was an ok guy at the back of it all :) i mean who doesn't like an arguement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

He picked out/suggested my current motor :(

Ive never had a run in with him, must be down to a mutual dislike for a certain car brand :pac::D

There was a prison thread alright, 'took it' with dignity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Cheensbo wrote: »
    He picked out/suggested my current motor :(

Ive never had a run in with him, must be down to a mutual dislike for a certain car brand :pac::D

There was a prison thread alright, 'took it' with dignity.

He took it in a true RoverJames manner, put it that way. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

hehehe summer will indeed commence! :D
    CianRyan wrote: »
    I've heard he's gone.
    Didn't spot a prison thread.

Myself and James had our clashes of opinion but he was a good lad for the forum. I'll miss him about the place.

Think he's gone, doubt he'll rereg, he still lost his bet though...:D

We got on well I think, both tended to just take it easy and not clash often. :)