Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

cheers..up all morning..fecking nerves ;)

Best of luck van, few brands does the trick,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭satstheway

Best of luck Van.
    I'm 4 years in. Its not all that bad :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Best of luck Van. If you have half the fun I had you'll have a good day.

satstheway wrote: »
    Best of luck Van.
    I'm 4 years in. Its not all that bad :eek:

4 years you're not even run in yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

Best of Luck Van .... for a great day and many happy years

33 years in here ...

turning 60 in a couple of weeks and any poster that refers to their dad as the "auld fellow" will be on ignore list :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

jomoloney wrote: »

33 years in here ...

turning 60 in a couple of weeks and any poster that refers to their dad as the "auld fellow" will be on ignore list :rolleyes:
    33 years ! you would have murdered someone and got a lesser sentance than that :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

delaval wrote: »
    On my wedding morning my father called and took me aside and hie advice was........'when you move into your house after 'moon you will be presented with a list of jobs like shelves, hang pics, curtain poles etc., he told me never to finish that page as you will be presented with another page immediatly' I thank fully followed his advice and never get asked to do such jobs.

All the best no need to be nervous you will not regret it and it is a great day.

I got married in a fairly large abbey .. before the end of the service, when we went through into the Lady chapel to sign the registry away from the crowd my Father in law (who has four daughters) emptied the pockets of his morning coat one by one producing the bride's sunglasses, keys, cigarettes, phone, coins, half used paper tissues etc. etc. etc. and said to me "Here, you can carry this crap now".

Good Luck.

jomoloney wrote: »

33 years in here ...

I was at a wedding almost 20 years ago. I was talking to a good friend of my "oul fellas" at it and was refering to the oul fella as the oul fella. The guy who is the same age as my father to within a couple of weeks was more than a little put out by me refering to the oul fella. They would have been probably 46/47 at the time or just a few years older than I am now:eek::eek::eek:. It's f'n scary how fast time rolls around. BTW jo after this long I'm set in my ways so you better just put me on the ignore list straightaway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭stanflt

Busy at slurry- hoping to get 300k gallons our before 6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

stanflt wrote: »
    Busy at slurry- hoping to get 300k gallons our before 6

Lovely green stubble the way to have it quick re growth. Did you fert first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Vander, best of luck with it. May all your Ups and downs be in the bedroom!!!
    14 years this week and 3 kids later so it ranks as one of my better decisions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭stanflt

Yeah 3.5 bags acre of 22-1.7.11 with 7 sulphar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

trucks turning in a field, I give up. Trucks are the only way to shift slurry any distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Hope your weather holds Vander, been raining here for well over an hour :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

wont make it either..
    have a good excuse though
    getting hitched :D

Are you sure we cant talk you out of it:D:D:D:D

Enjoy the day at least your getting a fine day for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

trucks turning in a field, I give up. Trucks are the only way to shift slurry any distance.

Bob to really piss you off, we used to drive trucks into stubble fields in Oct to load the beet on my home place!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Wahoo!
    Best of luck Vander! Hope you have a great day :)

We'll all be here to tell you the real story when you get back, and it's all too late :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Sitting on laptop trying to buy One Direction tickets.
    Feck how life has changed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

bbam wrote: »
    Sitting on laptop trying to buy One Direction tickets.
    Feck how life has changed!
    for you or the kids:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Jaysus lads/lassies, I leave for a week with a strep throat and you're off getting hitched, taking pictures of wellies in fields and dosing yourselves with sprays.

Not to mention Redzer showing off his good looks!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

wohoo just back after fixing me laptop, bloody network connection..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Best of luck Vander!!

I fcukin nearly burned me self alive half hour ago, poured a load petrol on heap a bushes and flicked a match, fcuking flames shot back, singed hair eyebrows and even eyelashes, roasted me hand and arm, got lots of sympathy as well

Fcukin pain is unreal, someone looking out for me today

Any brain waves on a safe way to burn them,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

hugo29 wrote: »
    I fcukin nearly burned me self alive half hour ago, poured a load petrol on heap a bushes and flicked a match, fcuking flames shot back, singed hair eyebrows and even eyelashes, roasted me hand and arm, got lots of sympathy as well

Fcukin pain is unreal, someone looking out for me today

Any brain waves on a safe way to burn them,

Sorry for your troubles, BUT, FFS, what were you thinking using petrol. Madness, if you don't mind me saying.

Rag soaked in diesel. Far, far safer. Burns much slower than petrol. Gets your fire going nicely.

Sorry for your troubles, BUT, FFS, what were you thinking using petrol. Madness, if you don't mind me saying.

Rag soaked in diesel. Far, far safer. Burns much slower than petrol. Gets your fire going nicely.

Oh I know madness, was walking past them on way to fill chainsaw and decided to try a bit petrol, paying for it now, thought I was back far enough
    Ur think at my age one would have sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭fredweena

Fire is so dangerous. I should know. I knocked a fire extinguisher off a wall yesterday and it landed on my toe. Cue day in A&E.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Oh I know madness, was walking past them on way to fill chainsaw and decided to try a bit petrol, paying for it now, thought I was back far enough

Jayzus, temptation is awful. I can see how you might just to as you did on the spur of the moment.
    At least nobody in hospital.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Jaysus lads/lassies, I leave for a week with a strep throat and you're off getting hitched, taking pictures of wellies in fields and dosing yourselves with sprays.

Not to mention Redzer showing off his good looks!:D

Jaysus, I dont know about that now :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

WHUMP! I believe is the sound when it takes off.