Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

dzer2 wrote: »
    Jesus Whelan have you no fence to keep the cattle where they should be. We have one neighbour whose animals roam every where so I roped him into buying all the gear and then gave him a hand to fence his boundary with me as I was sick of his animals coming over the hedge and flattening my electric fence.
    we have 4 strand barbed wire fence with electric on top on 90% of the outfarm,where thay got out doesnt have this fence. This bit goes along a bit this guy has rented. it is well fenced and i dont know why they broke out to us as they are up to their knees in grass in his field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Anyone ever have a cow with a clout peeling away from her foot? She's ridiculously lame this morning, hoofcare can't come til Tuesday. Would bluestone help? She's quiet enoiugh to bathe it in the field with salt and water.

It's a vet you need I think TBH. I'd say you might be looking at amputating the crube. If he recommends it I'd go for it. Tried very hard to save a cow with this last year. We save her but I don't know how she'll fare out in the factory, lower part of the leg fairly wrecked. If we'd amputated I think it would have been a cleaner job. She's calved and probably about 8 weeks from finishing at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Muckit wrote: »
    Ah I see. Never even knew there were contractors out there with lorries to ferry slurry, well not in this country anyway. Always interesting to see something a bit different. Never seen anything like that around here. Thanks for posting pics.

Oh one more thing.... did you just have the one slurry tanker spreading?

we shift allot of slurry with trucks, most of these outfits are also shifting pig slurry, industrail sludge etc. they are ideal for light cattle slurry as they can fill quickly. things really slow down filling and emptying which cattle slurry. we usually have two tanks in the field so as not to delay the transfer in the field. I wouldnt never allot a loaded truck on my land though as my soil structure is too important to me :). most of the artics are just under 6k gallons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

thanks for all the good intentions everyone..
    made it thru anyway :D
    see ye in a few weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

It's a vet you need I think TBH. I'd say you might be looking at amputating the crube. If he recommends it I'd go for it. Tried very hard to save a cow with this last year. We save her but I don't know how she'll fare out in the factory, lower part of the leg fairly wrecked. If we'd amputated I think it would have been a cleaner job. She's calved and probably about 8 weeks from finishing at this stage.

Thanks for that, she's always been a bit lame but she went totally arseways this year. She's for the factory this back end anyway, prob doesn't help that she's about 700kg :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

we shift allot of slurry with trucks, most of these outfits are also shifting pig slurry, industrail sludge etc. they are ideal for light cattle slurry as they can fill quickly. things really slow down filling and emptying which cattle slurry. we usually have two tanks in the field so as not to delay the transfer in the field. I wouldnt never allot a loaded truck on my land though as my soil structure is too important to me :). most of the artics are just under 6k gallons

How do they charge by hour, mile or gallon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

delaval wrote: »
    How do they charge by hour, mile or gallon?

my guys charge by the hour or by the load if they surveyed the job, The lads I use are hard lads and really drive on so they dont take your for a ride if by the hour.

Could you pm their number. We have guys round here but it's robbery without a gun!!
    Do they supply nurse tank?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 connormi

The lads I use are hard lads and really drive on so they dont take your for a ride if by the hour.[/QUOTE]

Think we get the same lads have they scania trucks, really drive on alrite and best keep out there way!! Some characters but they really get thro work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

hugo29 wrote: »
    Ok lads and lassies advice required, did not get spraying meadow ground fully, weather this week is not promised great either so it looks like next weekend air earliest to get spraying, I got 2 bags 18-6-12 and 1 bag can per acre out yesterday, there is a heavy crop of very light rush on it (ground was cut bare in April and sub soiled) if I spray now will I set grass back to much bearing in mind covers are still light, but would have a cleaner and lighter return for end July cut or just accept light rush in silage and spray after silage

I've done this before and it does hit the grass. If I have to do it again I think I'll spray after the silage. This year quantity might be more important than getting rid of the rushes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,411 ✭✭✭naughto

we have 4 for the road sat do not expect my pockets to be full afterwads as there way back on last yrs.will throw up a few pics if i rember to bring the camera
    (the we is there cos there my brothers cattle)

Fert spreader just calved and held cleanings!!!
    Dealer coming to do a job on me tomorrow. Bought a new loader last week, wife recons I'll be back contract milking shortly wait till she hears this.

plenty on done deal;) my tractor died today, its a 1991 case 885 4wd with tanco loader, spent a fortune on it a few years ago, mechanic coming tomorrow to tell me what to do

whelan1 wrote: »
    plenty on done deal;) my tractor died today, its a 1991 case 885 4wd with tanco loader, spent a fortune on it a few years ago, mechanic coming tomorrow to tell me what to do

I think I'll go for a new Amazone again. The one I have is 8 years old and has a lot done. All it ever needed was new fins twice a year. On Done deal I will only get something like what I have. My nearest dealer is Amazone so will see what I can do tomorrow

we where shocked when we went looking, what size ya going for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭case 5150

what you mean contract milking ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

got a amazone ZAX 1402 a 3 years ago, no real problems with it but not very impressed with it, always have trouble with getting the last half bag out of it and a few other little bit that annoy me

case 5150 wrote: »
    what you mean contract milking ??

Milking on contract for other farmers is where I started before I got on my feet and got to lease a bit if land

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Do tractor sprayers just run off the pto or do you have to connect hoses to spool valves, think the one valve i have is broke, the trailer hose wouldnt connect in to it

we where shocked when we went looking, what size ya going for?

I am getting the same again a 3 tonne that will fit onto the bogey that I have. Dealer looked about an hour ago quoted 5k to change but that's his opening price.
    This would work out at €100/month for 5 years. The repair estimate is €1200 there is no way I would spend this on an 8 year old machine

I am getting the same again a 3 tonne that will fit onto the bogey that I have. Dealer looked about an hour ago quoted 5k to change but that's his opening price.
    This would work out at €100/month for 5 years. The repair estimate is €1200 there is no way I would spend this on an 8 year old machine
    we where quoted 1000 euro to fix ours,took it home did the bearings our selves for a cost of 115 euro...:rolleyes:

We priced parts all come to 800 agitator,chain, sprocket and lots more as I said it had a dead set of twing and didn't clean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

40 minutes left on this one! You could have a new spreader in time for the 10 o'clock news!
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/121112045211?_trksid=p5197.c0.m619

40 minutes left on this one! You could have a new spreader in time for the 10 o'clock news!
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/121112045211?_trksid=p5197.c0.m619
    how much does that hold?

2500 kg, spreads up to 90 feet. Some of my fields, one run down the middle would meet both ditches!

bidding is moving now on it, would be very cheap at what its at

Factor in possibly €400 to get it home, and nearly €1000 to fill it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

The company I work with has trucks coming back and forth from that area. 100 euro would bring it back if any one is seriously bidding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,887 ✭✭✭mf240

Theres going to be a segment on prime time about the fodder crisis if anyones interested. 10.30

anyone going to the ifa protest tomorrow