Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Sounds like the same stuff they ploy brainwash the workers in RK with... but not as bad.. promises of work in NYC and Paris etc..

They didn't play loud music to you in the morning and tell you how wonderful you are and that you should stay away from negative people? :pac:

Hard luck though dude, keep the head up, and try get a job that pays stamps at the very least if you can..

No music but there was a staff meeting every morning so congratulate peoples efforts the day before.
    If you hit your target you were allowed ring a bell. :pac:

Cheers man, I've been talking to another company already last night so hopefully something comes of it. :)
    Dartz wrote: »
    Oh Christ do I realise I dodged a bullet with this one.

I may have an an interview with the same company. Once I did some sums on it, took a look at the figures offered, it worked out that by week's end on the average payout, I'd be earning -10 Euro once costs were accounted for. There were other alarm bells - like the fact that I really had to dig on the internet to find that it was a door-to-door sales job, was commission-only, among other things.

So I called them up and told them I wasn't interested anymore.

Now it's just back to waiting to hear nothing back from everything else I've sent out there.

At least I got a chance to buy a suit that fit, and to take the new house-car out around the airport roads.

Found them on Jobs.ie with something along the lines of "Want a career, need an opertunity?"
    That'd be them.
    I went from emailing them to working for them in the space of about three working days, I knew that was a bit too good right from the start. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

CianRyan wrote: »
    No music but there was a staff meeting every morning so congratulate peoples efforts the day before.

Cheers man, I've been talking to another company already last night so hopefully something comes of it. :)

Found them on Jobs.ie with something along the lines of "Want a career, need an opertunity?"
    That'd be them.
    I went from emailing them to working for them in the space of about three working days, I knew that was a bit too good right from the start. :p

Christ... :(

You're lucky you've got some sense :eek: some people really get sucked in to these and caught up in their sh1te and end up spending money to go to work.

Any particular sector / regional area you're trying to get work?

I know you're in Dublin not sure where, - I see a new Aldi is near completion on East Wall Rd, worth firing something there way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

We used to have a "gong" for every time we closed a claim.

Wonder where it's gone actually.

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Christ... :(

You're lucky you've got some sense :eek: some people really get sucked in to these and caught up in their sh1te and end up spending money to go to work.

Any particular sector / regional area you're trying to get work?

I know you're in Dublin not sure where, - I see a new Aldi is near completion on East Wall Rd, worth firing something there way?

Yeah, I'm down about €15 from last week, pain in the hole especially as the car insurance is coming out this week so I can't spend a bloody cent. :mad:

I'm after anything at the minute, anywhere in Dublin, north Wicklow, north east Kildare or south east Meath really.
    I have experience in food&drink and I'm trained in sales (:pac:) so I guess they'd be handy.

Good shout about Aldi, I'll have a look at that. :)
    MugMugs wrote: »
    We used to have a "gong" for every time we closed a claim.

Wonder where it's gone actually.

There was a huge gong there too actually, no one ever got to hit it though.
    I know there that old one's gone. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

1999/2000 Avensis diesel?

How good/bad are they?

I had an old Lean burn one and liked it and I assume the diesel is an old school unbreakable lump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

ba_barabus wrote: »
    1999/2000 Avensis diesel?

How good/bad are they?

I had an old Lean burn one and liked it and I assume the diesel is an old school unbreakable lump.

Old school stuff can command a pretty penny.... Once it's mech not much to go wrong :cool:

Like this rare backwards version for example :pac:

Full-19306158.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I can't believe that people actually like these monstrosities :eek:

IMO they are the ugliest car to come out in the last 10ish years. I can honestly say that I wouldn't drive it if I got it for free.

Beauty really is in the eye of the beholder - I think that the 645 are one of the best looking coupes on the road even still.

dgt wrote: »
    Old school stuff can command a pretty penny.... Once it's mech not much to go wrong :cool:

Like this rare backwards version for example :pac:
    I've sent someone to look at it.

It's in Newry with NI plates and a new MOT. Hopefully isn't too bad.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I've sent someone to look at it.

It's in Newry with NI plates and a new MOT. Hopefully isn't too bad.

Beware, the border is awash with laundered diesel (:pac:) and most diesel yokes there run on red wine. High chance it has either or in the tank :(

The person going to look at it is well versed in all of that so knows what they are doing.

Hmmm..... Iphone won't upload pics to picasa or photobucket :confused:

Anyone else experiencing this?

Hmmm..... Iphone won't upload pics to picasa or photobucket :confused:

Anyone else experiencing this?

IPhone 4-5? Set up your photostream and they go to your computer via magic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Some nice old man found my license on the road, called me and now I have it back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Good week so far, off for 4 months since Monday, had a job interview today and have another one tomorrow :)

Also saw this today:

20130522_171312_zps2f140a1c.jpg

2 almost identical Beetles two years apart. Bar the interior colour they're exact same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Some nice old man found my license on the road, called me and now I have it back :D

You sure that's not the fella ya shifted last night?

IPhone 4-5? Set up your photostream and they go to your computer via magic.

Iphone 4. Photostream? Guess I have lots to learn....! :p

Images are there, come up as jpg on the computer, won't upload to either site though.... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I think the real question is.... how did he get your number? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

I wondered that too! but felt I wouldnt ask!
    I presume he looked up the phone book though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Images are there, come up as jpg on the computer, won't upload to either site though.... :(

You can upload straight to pix.ie from an iPhone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

9 days till im low and wide.

(Girlish giggle)

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    You can upload straight to pix.ie from an iPhone :)

Wooooot! : D

I'll try that later, got welding to do :) f*ck study!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

9 days till im low and wide.

(Girlish giggle)

Are you changing wheels?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭ryaner1979

Lads if a main dealer has a car advertised at 18k should I make a bid of 16.5 and go no higher than 17k. The car is in stock a month and it will be a straight cash deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Had an incident this evening, A jogger ran into the side of my car, I was waiting for the oncoming car to pass before i could overtake her and she says she never saw me and just kept running, She wasnt hurt but how the hell do you not see a car. I had stopped so the car wasnt moving but jesus i got some fright when she didnt stop and ran into me :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Autosport wrote: »
    Had an incident this evening, A jogger ran into the side of my car, I was waiting for the oncoming car to pass before i could overtake her and she says she never saw me and just kept running, She wasnt hurt but how the hell do you not see a car. I had stopped so the car wasnt moving but jesus i got some fright when she didnt stop and ran into me :eek:

Expect a solicitor's letter.

People are like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Call of duty is ruining my life!

Dartz wrote: »
    Expect a solicitor's letter.

People are like that.

She can keep it, i must check my car and see if she scratched it and she'll be receiving my letter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Photobucket works on my Iphone no problem. Just go into full site and you can upload photos no problem.
    On another note only 2 exams left :) of course the most difficult exam is still left in Friday morning I may not be in a good mood after that. 54.5 % FAIL rate in that module last year I don't like them odds :(
    Hoping to have my wheels nuts and temperature sensor delivered for the weekend so can't wait to put those on sick of the 45 degree c on the dash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Autosport wrote: »

Before I got contacts I used to run without my glasses on. I could hardly see 3 feet in front of me.
    That said I would see a car, but sometimes, especially on a 15+ mile run I'd be in my own world oblivious to anything around me. Fairly easy to misjudge the distance if a car at that stage (your body is ****ed).

I wouldn't expect any comeback on it. Runners aren't pricks.

Scortho wrote: »
    Before I got contacts I used to run without my glasses on. I could hardly see 3 feet in front of me.
    That said I would see a car, but sometimes, especially on a 15+ mile run I'd be in my own world oblivious to anything around me. Fairly easy to misjudge the distance if a car at that stage (your body is ****ed).

I wouldn't expect any comeback on it. Runners aren't pricks.

It was the shock of it for me, didnt expect her to run into me thats all. I did ask her if she was she ok and she said she was fine.