Wallace V Shatter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

That scruffy VAT cheating buffoon from wexford should be turfed out on his ear at the next election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Sergeant wrote: »
    I propose we pay all 'bankers' a thruppence a week alongside basic lodgings and 3 square meals a day. That will attract the calibre of candidate we need to run organisations so systemic to the economic recovery of the country.

again, the banker post wasn't mine. But it's not like Boucher is a whizz kid banker ushered into solve that particular banks woes.

Boucher was in the driving seat up to, and during the meltdown.

That makes him part of the problem, not a solution to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Anynama141

SamHall wrote: »
    again, the banker post wasn't mine. But it's not like Boucher is a whizz kid banker ushered into solve that particular banks woes.

Boucher was in the driving seat up to, and during the meltdown.

That makes him part of the problem, not a solution.
    I agree - he should have been fired out on his ear. But he wasn't forced out by Fianna Failure, and by the time the new government came in, the country's shareholding of BOI was down to 15% or so, so they couldn't force him out if they wanted to.

Basically all of the management of the banks were shown to be mammoth bullsh!tters, and all should have been fired. But what private companies did during the bubble is really not helpful with regard to the cuts and tax rises we are faced with today to close our €10b deficit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Anynama141 wrote: »
    I'm baffled how you could think the tax fraudster/corrupt hypocrite Wallace is on a higher plane than Shatter. But each to their own.
    He's not on a higher plane, he's on a different plane.

Wallace's tax affairs are actually irrelevant to what Shatter did. Do you see that?

He's not on a higher plane, he's on a different plane.

Wallace's tax affairs are actually irrelevant to what Shatter did. Do you see that?
    Yup. It's quite easy to see.

But one of them has shown himself to be a total disgrace and a crook. The other one made public some honest but privileged information about a disgrace and a crook. He should definitely not have - it was a stupid thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

woodoo wrote: »
    That scruffy VAT cheating buffoon from wexford should will be turfed out on his ear at the next election.

FYP

some honest but privileged information about a disgrace and a crook. He should definitely not have - it was a stupid thing to do.
    The fact that Wallace is "a disgrace and a crook" is irrelevant.
    The fact that the information is accurate is irrelevant.

Your persistence with these irrelevancies means I don't think you see the point at all, actually.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Shatter is an absolute idiot for using information he shouldn't have access to just to score points in a personal bitching match with another deputy.

****ing moron, I hope he gets a proper clip around the ear for this, hopefully he loses his ministry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

i think wallace is scum, but what shatter did is as lowdown as you can go, something i wouldnt even expect from FF.
    christ, this country is fcuked with the calibre of politician we have.

The fact that Wallace is "a disgrace and a crook" is irrelevant.
    The fact that the information is accurate is irrelevant.

Your persistence with these irrelevancies means I don't think you see the point at all, actually.
    I notice you ignore the last bit of my post so that you could make it look like you had some sort of rhetorical victory.

Nice try, but that's cheating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

Saw the interview last night.

Alan Shatter was very wrong in what he did, as has been pointed out: and he was also talking nonsense in regard to what he was actually there to debate.

Wallace, despite his bumbling, stumbling delivery was actually making a lot more sense, if you parsed what he was saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

I cringed when I saw Mick was there to debate the issue at hand. He is a self confessed tax cheat.
    The dogs in the street know the craic with penalty points, and Shatter should have been easy pickings in this debate. However the bould Mick wouldn't beat a secondary student in a debate.
    However, I was dumbfounded when Shatter stooped to the level he did. Is the minister for justice keeping tabs on every TD and Senator in the country like a fascist dictatorship would?
    Mick was too thick to realise the gravity of what happened at the time, but it seems with some "mature recollection" he has now become outraged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Pomposity oozes from Alan Shatters every pore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭Xenophile

bleg wrote: »
    What does Clare Daly expect? She blows positive for alcohol the week after she criticises the whole police force and calls them corrupt.

She never blew positive for alcohol. Let's not be intimidated by the Gardai, it's our job to keep them in their place otherwise they are no use to us.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

Shatter is a jumped up, arrogant, selfish me feiner. He's giving Dublin 14 a bad name. Wallace is a chancer and I'm sure would admit it but try getting Shatter to admit making an error?

Xenophile wrote: »
    She never blew positive for alcohol. Let's not be intimidated by the Gardai, it's our job to keep them in their place otherwise they are no use to us.
    Indeed. But she failed to give a sample. The only issue I have is that she was handcuffed, which may not be normal procedure.

I agree re. keeping an eye on the cops - if they are not honest, they are useless.

Shatter is a jumped up, arrogant, selfish me feiner.
    Citation needed.

I notice you ignore the last bit of my post so that you could make it look like you had some sort of rhetorical victory.

Nice try, but that's cheating.
    But I already know you agree that Shatter shouldn't have released the information.

I know that because you said it.

It's there in black and white.

It's pretty standard not to raise an issue after it has been resolved or settled.

The point of my post not resolved was your persistence with irrelevant tags like crook and disgrace.

Wallace's tax dealings are an irrelevance to Shatter's behaviour last night, and therefore so are those tags.

woodoo wrote: »
    That scruffy VAT cheating buffoon from wexford should be turfed out on his ear at the next election.

You maybe wish to know that it was the Fianna Fail vote that elected Mick Wallace, if nothing else he brings a bit of colour and "curiosity" to the Dail.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

Wallace's tax dealings are an irrelevance to Shatter's behaviour last night, and therefore so are those tags.
    Indeed - in a black and white world, context is irrelevant.

I'd be quite happy if Shatter resigned tomorrow. Wallace should be locked up.

Indeed - in a black and white world, context is irrelevant.
    Nope.

In a logical examination of the Minister for Justice's behaviour, raising Wallace's tax dealings is an irrelevance.

This is extraordinarily simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭h2005

Indeed. But she failed to give a sample. The only issue I have is that she was handcuffed, which may not be normal procedure.

I agree re. keeping an eye on the cops - if they are not honest, they are useless.

No she didn`t. Pretty obvious was she was targeted.

SB2013 wrote: »
    Was Wallace not part of the musketeers who released the personal information of thousands of people taken without authorisation from the Garda pulse system? But now he has a problem with his own information being accessed. Seems a bit hypocritical.

Shatter should have come into the Dail and made these allegations when Wallace was in the House. Wallace is right to take the Minister to task.

Nope.

In a logical examination of the Minister for Justice's behaviour, raising Wallace's tax dealings is an irrelevance.

This is extraordinarily simple.
    Keep banging that drum. It's clear that simple is your thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Fred Cohen

Posted this in the politics forum
    Minister Shatter said

Quote:
    “Deputy Wallace himself was stopped on a mobile phone last May by members of An Garda Síochána and he was advised by the guard who stopped him that a fixed ticket charge could issue and he could be given penalty points,” he said. “But the garda apparently, as I’m advised, used his discretion and warned him and told him not to do it again.”
    So who advised him of this? It could have come from two sources

1. Mr Wallace. Very unlikely.

or

2. An Garda Siochána. From which I can see 3 sources

2.1. The Garda who stopped him. How often do ordinary members of AGS get to have a chat and gossip with the Minister for Justice about who they saw driving while on a mobile phone. As well as that, given the antipathy that the Minister is held in by the ordinary member on the street I find this equally unlikely. Also why would they risk their job by disclosing confidential information.

2.2. The stop was logged somewhere and given to the minister. This opens up a whole new can of worms such as why was it logged, who gave him the file, what else is in the file, are their files on other politicians, what is the purpose of these files, etc,etc,etc. i.e. Political policing.

2.3. The Guard who stopped him said it to someone else who told the Minister. Given that (imho) most Guards are more likely to describe their sexual fetish with ostriches rather than discuss their days work with a civilian, I also find this unlikely and as a solicitor I'm sure he knows not to rely on hearsay.

Citation needed.

No, not for people who follow Shatter's clever but revealing self righteousness.

h2005 wrote: »
    No she didn`t.
    Uh - she did.
    On Monday night 28th January, after meetings in the Dail, I attended a meeting in Swords and left at 9.30pm for another meeting requested by a family on the Southside of the city near the Canal. I arrived after 10pm and spent almost two hours discussing issues which I had raised in the Dail. Before I left I was offered a hot whiskey for a cold.

I left at midnight and not being familiar with the area found myself on the road to Ballyfermot at Kilmainham and took a right turn onto the South Circular Road trying to get back onto the North side – unfortunately there is No Right Turn at this junction and this was brought to my attention by Gardai in a car who stopped me.

I was breathalysed but the equipment didn’t register a reading. I was arrested and handcuffed on the side of the road. I objected to being handcuffed and stated that I would willingly go to the Garda station. I was told by the arresting Garda that this was ‘procedure’.
    h2005 wrote: »
    Pretty obvious was she was targeted.
    I wonder how they made her make the illegal turn? :confused:

The handcuffing sounds dodgy. The leak was inevitable given the context, but I suppose we should disapprove of it in theory at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

MW says the Garda Comm report was a 'whitewash'
    AS says MW has had the benefit of Garda discretion
    MW says it didn't happen
    MW later says that despite the fact that it didn't happen AS should not have mentioned it (wtf !)

If it happened, then MW lied (again)
    If it didn't happen, is he accusing AS of lying ?

The handcuffing sounds dodgy. The leak was inevitable given the context, but I suppose we should disapprove of it in theory at least.

Handcuffs are not theory. Let's condemn the practice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

Shatter should have come into the Dail and made these allegations when Wallace was in the House. Wallace is right to take the Minister to task.

That would have made it ok? It seems they both have had access to the Garda system.
    Handcuffs are not theory. Let's condemn the practice.

Condem the handcuffing of prisoners? Seems a little unsafe.