Neil prendeville

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭maddragon

I actually like listening to his show. It's Joe Duffy with some music but I can't understand and will never understand how he didn't feel it necessary to flee to South Georgia or Outer Mongolia after his escapade. He gives out about politicians. They have brass necks, his must be pure titanium.

The good thing about the moral high ground is that it isn't covered in semen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Cartuja

Prendeville ain't out of the woods yet with the plane incident.
    Met are still investigating.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

dorgasm wrote: »
    He complains about the mega companies coming here and killing off the corner shops. If there were no Tescos or Aldis then I have no doubt he'd be complaining about how the corner shops are bleeding us dry.

The man is a clown. He'll say anything to rile people up and draw some attention to himself. This thread is playing right into his hands. I hope this doesn't draw any more attention than it already has.

Always with the ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

It seems to be really fashionable in Cork to despise Neil Prendiville. You're not a cool kid until you have something bad to say about him. Maybe its because im a blow-in to Cork, but i quite like his show. Mainly because he calls it as it is, and says things that other social commentators and politicians don't have the balls to say.

After the incident on the Aer Lingus flight, I've never seen so many people gleefully rejoice in the downfall of one individual. It was all rather bitter and sad. There was such a furore to it, than one would think the man had committed murder!

The man had a w@nk on a plane. Big deal! Get over yourselves cool kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

I do agree with him about paying children's allowance to children not living here. Why had to confine it to 'Eastern Europe' is anyone's guess.

By former Russians I reckon he means people from former USSR countries in an attempt to be even more inflammatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭crustyjuggler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

grenache wrote: »
    It seems to be really fashionable in Cork to despise Neil Prendiville. You're not a cool kid until you have something bad to say about him. Maybe its because im a blow-in to Cork, but i quite like his show. Mainly because he calls it as it is, and says things that other social commentators and politicians don't have the balls to say.

After the incident on the Aer Lingus flight, I've never seen so many people gleefully rejoice in the downfall of one individual. It was all rather bitter and sad. There was such a furore to it, than one would think the man had committed murder!

What cemented his place in mastubatory infamy was not so much the **** on the plane, but the **** he came out with afterwards. Had he said "was out of me tree, no idea what I was at, apologies", it never would have taken off the way it did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

Nodin wrote: »
    What cemented his place in mastubatory infamy was not so much the **** on the plane, but the **** he came out with afterwards. Had he said "was out of me tree, no idea what I was at, apologies", it never would have taken off the way it did.

does it really matter?

how many of us have done or said stupid things?

it happened so long ago its time to put in the past and leave it there, just like we do with the stupid things we did/said, there is no need to be dragging it up now, how would you feel if every mistake/stupid thing you did was dragged up everytime you had an opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

it's a cynical exercise to get his listeners all riled up. The same as what certain newspapers do.

Its a form of trolling in order to build up listenership

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

as a voter, tax payer and public masturbator, he has the right to express an opinion on how his tax euros are spent.

He can express his opinion but if is uninformed nonsense he can also be challenged as he was on twitter yesterday
    So, Neil Prendeville, of @Corks96FM posted this today. I'm appalled. https://www.facebook.com/Corks96fm/posts/573296886035901 …;
    And I'll be listening to the show tomorrow, to hear more of his barely disguised racism.
    @ke4no I'd prefer to bullwhack him out of it. It's just made me so mad!
    @HugoBeB @ger_oconnor @Corks96FM @JamesCsn And yet, @Corks96FM are the ones with it on their facebook. It's not his personal page.
    @wasteofgoodskin I take that point, but I'd love to hear just how far he goes with it. It's not right, even if he is a giant troll.
    @Ms_F_Tutu @colm_ryan That's the hard part to fathom, isn't it?
    @cuthbertable I'm more diplomatic than he is.
    @ger_oconnor @HugoBeB @JamesCsn @Corks96FM No, it's not about Cork at all. Plenty of people here would disagree with him.
    So I figure that tomorrow, we'll talk about actual immigration and racism in Ireland. Unless something else happens!
    Goodnight chums!
    @nickykealy not when they're based on incorrect facts.
    @GarethofCork @mePadraigReidy immigration has nothing to do with Ireland's economic or healthcare situation.
    @hairymcboon now that's a great idea.
    Text to @Corks96FM asks why we care more about foreign countries than our own. #facepalm #nonsense
    Prendeville claims that the racism accusations are saddening. Says people missed the other points. Doesn't clarify his comments.
    'They were non nationals.' 'From where?' '.... Emm, Africa?' ignorance and supposition @Corks96FM
    @Barthez wonderful!
    The last three calls have supported Neil. All have given vocal support to his comments @Corks96FM
    All I'm asking is that we acknowledge baseline facts about 'foreigners' and 'immigration'.
    Neil asks why we hone in on racist comments? Because they're wrong. Unchecked racism created a Holocaust- that's why. @Corks96FM
    Outside of those EU citizens, Ireland also welcomes residency applications and operates a system for asylum seekers.
    212,000 people claimed asylum Internationally in 2012. They fled their homes in fear. Just 458 of them came to Ireland. @Corks96FM
    We house those asylum seekers in the Direct Provision system because we don't allow them to work. @Corks96FM
    They often live with their entire family in one room for up to five years. We give them medical cards because they need care but can't pay.
    Asylum seekers represent just 0.013% of the population of Ireland. @Corks96FM
    One of the Direct Provision centres is a mobile home site. We make people live there for years. @Corks96FM
    94% of 2013 asylum decisions have been unsuccessful. @Corks96FM
    Just 21 people have been named refugees so far this year. @Corks96FM
    Just 24% of those seeking asylum were from Nigeria. Other countries featured include Syria, Pakistan, and Afghanistan. Not,I stress,Africa.
    @PeopleofNZ you would think so. But this government refuses to allow it, they say we will be inundated.
    Neil can make points about the poor state of the nation-but he should not have based it on 'Africans' and 'former Russians' @Corks96FM
    He had the capacity and availability to do something meaningful- and he messed it up out of sheer ignorance. @Corks96FM
    And now we have a radio programme full of people saying their own pain is exacerbated by foreigners. That. Is. Wrong. @corks96fm
    I really was going to let it go, I swear, but I find it phenomenal that people could see his blame and lies as reasonable. @Corks96FM
    @daithilinnane This. Yes.
    @Huxley10 @Corks96FM NGOs with not enough funding and not enough help.
    @ireland @Corks96FM It also institutionalises people on a scale not seen since the magdalene laundries
    I have seen the evidence of the DP system and it is diabolical. Neil should visit Drishane Castle and take pictures of the conditions.
    On average, people wait three years to hear a decision in their asylum case. In that time, Ireland will not allow them to work. @Corks96FM
    Justice Minister says that if we allowed them to work we would open the floodgates. @Corks96FM
    I really doubt that, with people emigrating left right and centre.
    No response to any of these actual, evidenced, facts from @Corks96FM
    And this. RT @Huxley10: @ireland also the fact that children are being raised in Direct Provision conditions. A national scandal.
    The fact is that we treat some immigrants like dirt. We wouldn't stand for it if it was the Irish children. I don't see the difference.
    Maybe it's how I was raised but people are people. Human decency shouldn't be measured depending on your skin colour or country of origin.
    @irlchrism @Corks96FM I don't because I'm listening. They have yet to let a person tell Neil he's wrong. He has 58 minutes to improve that.
    There are so, so many things we could actually fix if we didn't have to address this nonsense. #prendeville
    @GarethofCork @mePadraigReidy Neil Prendeville connected these things on air yesterday.
    @GarethofCork @mePadraigReidy there is thousands leaving Ireland in welfare, if EU parents work here and their kids are in other countries.
    @GarethofCork @mePadraigReidy I fail to see how it's an issue. In fact, I find it incredibly sad that a parent would be separated from kids.
    @GarethofCork @mePadraigReidy my friend we do not give handouts. The welfare system here is tight.
    @ireland It's the Magdalene Laundries for the 21st century, complete with a snappy new euphemism and convenient scapegoat.
    Nothing in the world makes me more mad than racism. It's utter nonsense.
    .@ireland Well done on calling out this tripe. I've seen more informed & better researched arguments scribbled on toilet walls #prendeville
    @AodhanORiordain Thank you. I really appreciate that. I've been at this for months and it's like nobody hears.
    @keithmobrien I believe RT @stunt_penguin @Corks96FM He got absolutely creamed by Keith O'Brien's response.
    @borogovedub @jmcaree take a check at the 96fm facebook page. You'll see it fairly fast.
    And incidentally- thank you all so much for listening to this and learning the actual facts.
    @TheGreatPodgsby @AodhanORiordain Actually, most Labourites would say Aodhán's one of the braves.
    96fm have just raised the plight of the homeless young man near the Cork Opera House. I've seen him but he won't accept anyone helping him.
    Very sad scenario. We talked about homelessness the other day, and it's devastating that it continues like this.
    New caller on @corks96fm saying that racism doen't matter because the ship is sinking.
    And yet if you asked me, I would say racism is a big leak in any sinking ship.
    There are no direct flights from Africa to Ireland, according to Neil. Let's check. @corks96fm
    And also, what about boats? What about people who are trafficked into Ireland? @corks96fm
    @ireland @Corks96FM Aer Lingus fly to agadir in winter from Dublin. Morocco is Africa :P
    . @ireland @Corks96FM He really should stop saying "Africa" like it's a country.
    @pmcchambers @Corks96FM Absolute lies- barefaced shameful lies!
    @robertbabington I'm fine with that. Citizenship is a privilege and ought to have that attached. Your point is perfectly fair.
    @emer4612 Where did you hear this? That's incredibly sad.
    For Neil: RT @cmcgovern @Corks96FM @ireland Agadir (Morocco) and Enfidha (Tunisia) & Sharm el Sheikh (Egypt) (not including Canary Islands)
    No response from @Corks96FM, even when we have evidenced real facts. That's toothless, to use Neil's own word.
    @robertbabington This is also true. You'd be amazed what other cultures do to adapt to us though. They really love the Irish attitude!
    @emer4612 Really shows you how opinions spread, doesn't it?
    27 minutes left of the Prendeville show. Then I have a really fun question for everyone for a break. ;)
    @ireland if @Corks96FM had any duty of care as a public broadcaster, they should be retweeting your timeline.
    Ireland is allegedly now racist to its own people in order to support lame ducks- an actual comment on radio right now.
    . @AnGiogoir @Corks96FM Unemployment at 14.1%. Your emigration figures are correct. 50,000 immigrants a year? Give me a source, I beg you.
    .@ireland @corks96fm Unemployment at 15%. 300k emigrated in last 3 years. 50k plus immigrants a year. You're wrong I'm afraid.
    @NiallOK How did you know? ;)
    @emer4612 Fact. Retweeting this. :)
    @ireland i just think that parents and adults shud correct their kids in the first instance of any form of racism either it's a joke or not.
    @katia75014 Oh, some people have wonderful experiences and that's amazing. But on a broad scale, the asylum system is poor.
    @katia75014 I would hope you'll always be welcome here. The people themselves are fab, but the incorrect facts are dreadful.
    @RommelBurke @Corks96FM A challenge if ever I heard one!
    Last hour really good example of why broadcasters need to constantly monitor their social networks when live programming @ireland @corks96fm
    @brenstrong You'd be tuning into @corks96fm . No doubt their listenership will go up today. The country!
    @unakavanagh @emer4612 Absolutely appalling. If we start that young, there's the centre of the issue.
    @AnGiogoir @ireland nearly half of that number (300k) that emigrated were of another nationality than Irish. Immigrants returning home.
    @Stephen_Madden @AnGiogoir @Corks96FM Outflow of Irish, yes, but overall the emigration figures are correct. We count them all as one.
    @katia75014 This is a great point that I had entirely neglected!
    @jonathan_mccrea Nope, I've heard nothing. Worse, I also posted on their Facebook page pointing out the lack of response.
    Aisling - Just wondering - have the producers invited you on the prog to discuss? @ireland
    Some of you are asking if @corks96fm have contacted me. Nope. We're ironically facing radio silence.
    Also, forgive me if I miss some of your tweets, this has really taken off.
    @AnGiogoir @ireland @corks96fm 50k immigration of which 12% ( 6,000) are non-EU. 10,000 or more are Irish returnees.
    . @NiallOK Yes he said that some schools in the US don't admit white pupils and that that's reverse racism.
    Nice to have someone operating the @ireland account with some teeth for once.
    @pmcchambers A second load of lies. Most of them can't afford buses. You've just reminded me of something else.
    @AnGiogoir Just to help you, this from a year ago: http://factsaresacred.ie/memes/is-irish-emigration-at-the-highest-rate-since-the-famine/ …; @ireland @Corks96FM
    I had completely forgotten to give you facts about the money we pay asylum seekers.
    In Ireland, an adult Asylum Seeker in DP accommodation receives €19.10 per week. A child receives just about half of that.
    That is the entirety of their disposable income. 20 quid a week- wonder if any of us could do it.
    Some of them have hospital appointments in different counties, and struggle to pay the transport. Obviously.
    @nickykealy I'm fine with looking after our own, and first. But that doesn't allow us to neglect others and to lie about it.
    @jonathan_mccrea Absolutely. I'm seeing this as an opportunity to tell the truth on something pivotal in society. But it's a bad system.
    @ERN_Malleyscrub @snoring_cat Haha, no harm done! ;)
    Follow the @ireland twitter account today. Aisling is ripping that bigot Neil Prendeville on Cork's 96FM a new hole.
    @wearerabble @ireland ..and it's a beautiful thing.
    Conversation on casual racism on @ireland. Good to bring this up again: So where are you from? You don’t look Irish. http://unakavanagh.com/archives/1876 ;
    @nickykealy As do I. But a balance is vital, or else we're not worth the constitution we wrote.
    @discostubugaloo @pmcchambers Absolutely not. Does not exist. I promise you that, from experience. Does not happen.
    @ireland also useful > Invisible Children Installation > http://m.limerickleader.ie/community/community-news/latest-news/limerick-exhibition-highlights-invisible-children-1-4942878 …;
    @Ciarastweets @jonathan_mccrea Precisely. That was why I decided to go through this this morning.
    There are 9 minutes left of this show. Neil says he is sad that people took small portions of his speech and called them racist.
    He says "You can only do the best you can." Says he'll be long gone and the issues will just get worse. @Corks96FM
    @blainesligonew The state gives them that €19.10 each week. They're not allowed to work.
    Annnnd he finishes on an anectote about an abandoned buggy by a foreign national. I want to see the actual proof of that story.
    Every non national does NOT have a medical card! That is a complete falsehood Neil! @Corks96FM
    @AnGiogoir @Corks96FM Visa entry applications doesn't equal successful ones. Please, dont be biased with facts.
    .@ireland @corks96fm http://bit.ly/11E4mB5 ; Actually. 83,990 entry visa applications in 2011.
    I wish I had heard the first caller, Joe, who is now bring lambasted for being entirely reasonable.
    @borogovedub I've heard it four times today, so far. Raging.
    @ireland There is no proof, it's just racist scaremongering. Truly awful stuff.
    @achillgooner @ireland I could do it for a week, maybe, but not long term. Replacing a broken umbrella would blow your budget.
    Show has ended.
    My entire aim with this morning was to provide actual facts and challenge false assertions.
    I'm inspired by how many of you responded so well to a controversial issue.
    I am incredibly proud of every single one of you who sent me facts, looked things up and helped me out.
    We may change nothing, but that's no excuse not to try. Racism is a poison and lies are a dirty currency.
    So, from the bottom of my heart, thank you all so much. <3
    @ireland Non-irish nationals are often invisible in this country, and I say that as one who is working here, not seeking asylum.
    @ireland Great job! Wish people would learn the difference between a migrant, an asylum seeker and a refugee! http://www.unhcr.ie/do1thing/learn-a-fact-about-refugees …;
    @TimForde Someone went into this earlier and heroically contacted each one. Hero!
    @unakavanagh @redmum @ireland I myself and a lot of people I know have had people not believe we're Irish.
    @blainesligonew Better accommodation, access to the workplace, access to education, fair welfare payments.
    The @CorkEveningEcho are looking for comments on #prendeville . This whole timeline is pretty accurate for that!
    My apologies for being briefly offline- Twitter locked me out for too many tweets! Oops!
    On a side note, anyone interested in this topic should follow @NascIreland @DorasLuimni and @MigrantRightsIR. They're all amazing.
    Fair play to @ireland .It's easy to ignore racist comments as ridiculous but refuting them is important to show that racism is always wrong.
    After @ireland's morning discussing racism, I've decided to publish this blog a little early: http://www.taraflynn.ie/blog/racist-bb/ ;
    @aidankelly I'm amazed by how many new followers there have been. :O
    @darraghdoyle Thank you so much. You guys gave me the shot, so it's on WorldIrish really. :)
    @soundmigration High praise coming from you- thank you so much!
    @unakavanagh @darraghdoyle 'Twill be bettah than de Eurovision!
    @unakavanagh @aidankelly @darraghdoyle Cannot wait to see it. Will be there with giant, mocking banner. :P
    Okay guys. Here's a light hearted one. If you were a superhero, what would your #obscuresuperpowers be?
    Mine is that no matter where I go or what I'm doing, a penguin would always find me. #obscuresuperpowers
    @Rchambers22 I did say obscure! And nope, cos I could somehow use it!
    @delphinecoudray This is great! I love this one!
    @Rchambers22 I would train it to fight people from the knees down!
    I would train the penguin to fight people from the knees down, and to bring friends! #obscuresuperpowers
    @ireland Slower than average hair growth, "she saves a fortune on haircuts". It's actually a terrible burden.
    @ireland the ability to always locate the elusive second sock #obscuresuperpowers
    @ghughes365 I have a terrible fear of birds, so I'd take the duck sized lions and cuddle them! Probably to my detriment!
    @ireland more to the point - who would win in a fight; a lion-sized duck or two duck-sized lions?
    @Shane__obrien You know, you'll surprise yourself with what your brain can achieve when the time comes. I'm sure of it. :)
    @Rchambers22 You had to wreck it, didn't you? All I wanted was a wee buddy.
    @BeeNiBee @ghughes365 I did say obscure!! I did not say reasonable, sensible and measured! :D
    @ireland being able to study by literally eating books =P
    @BeeNiBee @ghughes365 Yes! This I like!
    @BeeNiBee @Rchambers22 @ghughes365 that's the only ridiculous part?!
    Jobbridge seeking a chip shop assistant. RT from the amazing @squidlimerick: http://intern.jobbridge.ie/Default.aspx?q=B+fomdowzS8kaDnSlUDk1yW26DjUJdnNZmJvk4EsxDKnmmsSN00TwaZaIEFImBsaaGNRm1iHqg5kX6b3kPYAFGpQj6XSq5Z5xpG6YejShRwE4iXJAhWa8Oav1x6NCtZpz+vtmn2PvG3iHi9TEQk3kM9zOOvWd7ubzbmyBG3OTZJpBPAbWlh3lzKcSEE5uGR4fZYrwDZ4aTY04mweCY53TXf5KP8t8nFbldI4YH1OqPYANtYlNp32Rpa0lzv9cHm5aRp8xLNzRDXqm7G/Mc3n+VZTnMGmXaWHRWaT13uC2GDXPBk3tHOOrNet0qtJ8yOpFtfk04gw9URlQ8wM3WfpDWgQ7OhzxrhWyH2mqSSIJz8j9CKNhPHoTuErjKh2lL328N5aR4GKQrxNCJbCY2p/HnKFWXQtaeHgGKVoFp/odBGD6e32LzoTsMoOEiQnDybuQOIrU3irfdfQF6P0DP5rpzfed8s9d73v …;
    @Barthez what was the response?
    @Barthez I'm happy they responded at all.
    @ireland The National Lottery had the courtesy of responding to me regarding their advertising during the Prendeville show.
    #96Neil prendeville is A cork legend and #corkpassport holder. Get stuffed the rest of @ireland. @corks96fm is 100% cork irish
    @tonguelash @Corks96FM you're entirely fine with his comments? Even though there are huge factual inaccuracies?
    @nickykealy you're still entitled to your opinion! And you certainly aren't offensive. :-)
    @benkenealy @nickykealy also entirely true.
    @ireland I have friends that are not from Ireland but who havve come and set up home here and work. I havve no problem with that and think
    @ireland its great. Its where benefits to our own citizens are cut who do not deserve it and still we have to keep taking in people
    @nickykealy recently fair opinion. My war is fundamentally against nonsense blame. I may not agree with you but that doesn't make you wrong.
    @ireland even though we can't afford it as the country is on its knees. I have a huge problem with that.
    @nickykealy that should say entirely, not recently. My apologies for the typing error!
    @ireland Well, respect to you. And no, you can't blame any particular people for our problems. I (cont) http://tl.gd/lqmpee ;
    I've just been through my Twitter, Facebook & email welcomes home - am overwhelmed. Thanks to everyone who took the time to write. So nice.
    Have a look! @ireland #clouds pic.twitter.com/niKo6twr0l
    @mrcbehan Yes I figured it would be this one. I'm divided on it.
    @mrcbehan Like, on the one hand, brilliant turning Abercrombie's policy on themselves. But a bit like Ryanair, it's all PR for them.
    @mrcbehan And then are they undermining the homeless by saying the homeless aren't worthwhile in their own right?
    @mrcbehan I think they really did have the best of intentions though, so I appreciate it for that reason.
    @mrcbehan That would have been a great idea!
    @declan_leonard @stuartclark66 possibly, yup. He just went about it all wrong and that's bad in itself.
    Dang, I really wanted to find it by myself!! pic.twitter.com/0OJLRc4cQ8
    Ooooh third option has emerged already! RT @bigglesgr @ireland Bewleys
    @deshocks Ah here now! Ticking all the boxes ain't on!
    @johnmadden78 I find Tetley's offensively meek. I don't know why that is. But good on you for being different!
    @deshocks @james_mc_f That's fascinating! On the fence indeed! ;) I'll let you off this once!
    This question never, ever fails to get the debate going, I swear. Brilliant.
    @ireland Robert's. And for extra snob- points, only their Luxury Kenyan.
    @krabbe You win the snob award without any doubt! No fear of you!
    @ireland That is all ! pic.twitter.com/Gq5qgfn1Vk
    @krabbe Totally amazing background!
    @travors Ah now! I said 'twas grand! :D

Seems like @Corks96FM have deleted Niall Prendeville's rant from facebook but haven't issued an apology of any sort.How come?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I don't mind him calling things as they are, but he often tends to make inflamatory remarks for which, a lot of the time, he has no evidence to back them up. The guy is a professional wind-up merchant.

A few years back, Cork City were playing a European qualifier in Eastern Europe. They got beaten, and Prendeville made a remark that they might have been too busy on the beer the night before the game. The thing escalated and by the end of the show, the solicitor for Cork City FC was on the programme threatening legal action unless Prendeville made an apology. Cue grovelling apology.

Sooner or later, you're going to belong to a section of society which he will offend. I think the reason why a lot of Cork people had a sense of schadenfreude following his plane incident was the whole "what goes around comes around" thing. I'll admit that I didn't feel sorry for him in the least, and you have to admit, his Neurofen excuse was one of the most feeble and pathetic explanations I've ever heard.

The fact that 96FM have removed his article from their FB page speaks volumes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

You make it sound as if public masturbation is something that we're all going to do at one point or another in our lives! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Mr Whirly

Phone in shows only exist to get stupid people to be stupid on the air for the entertainment of other stupid people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

Neil is a legend.

The man has huge ratings so he's doing something right.

Rock on Neil. Rock on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭ShadowGal

He was talking about wearing a "fag bag" a few weeks ago.

ya he's a real gem of a guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Mr.Christmas

Cartuja wrote: »
    From what I know of Neil, he didn't write it unaided.
    The piece is causing quite a stir on Leeside.
    I've noticed a lot of anger on all talkshows recently. Something's gonna give.

Aside from that, Prendeville made some comment today, saying that he would'nt be able to criticize the government from the middle of June.
    Has there been some change in the broadcasting law?

What!? You mean there were two or more people involved in writing such incoherent babble. Surely not? Neil is not the brightest at all. Here is an example of what he wrote for the Cork Independent a few years back - before they got rid of him.

"I spent some time in my home in Kerry recently, over Christmas, and listened to some re-runs of the broadcast career of the late Alaistar Cooke, for me one of the greatest broadcasters of all time. Along with Sir Robin Day and Gay Byrne. Cooke died at the age of 98, a week before he delivered his last famous "letter from America" 60 years of radio telescopes from NYC, pouring his life and emotion to a world wide audience. "

Neil has a limited command of English. I doubt anyone helped him. Who would want to associate themselves with such idiocy?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Neil has his finger on the pulse of the nation. Fair dues to him for calling it as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Neil has his finger on the pulse of the nation. Fair dues to him for calling it as it is.

The only thing he tends to have his fingers on is his own cock and usually in public.
    Strange how the "nation" never vote for these extremist policies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

The only thing he tends to have his fingers on is his own cock and usually in public.
    Strange how the "nation" never vote for these extremist policies.
    A slur against the great mans name and nothing ever came of such a horrible claim against him. His comments from the public sector employees to the influx of foreign nationals are all correct.

Also as pointed out on his show by a caller yesterday the liberals would brand anyone who agrees with him a republican or racists which is a bit like this forum when the issue is discussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Im pretty sure that him having a stroke on the plane was more than a "Claim"

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Couple of posts removed. Please report anything which crosses the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Its huge, apparently

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

He is a one trick pony.If all the black taxi drivers went home he'd be out of a job as thats all he ever talks about on his show.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    You make it sound as if public masturbation is something that we're all going to do at one point or another in our lives! :pac:

No. Thats just what you are taking from it. Im merely putting what he did in the context of the OTT reaction. I don't believe it equates to the several months of public hounding that him and his family were subjected to. I felt sorry for his wife and kids. They didn't deserve it.

ShadowGal wrote: »
    He was talking about wearing a "fag bag" a few weeks ago.

ya he's a real gem of a guy

If you're offended by that, you really should not leave your house in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

If you're offended by that, you really should not leave your house in the morning.

I wouldn't be offended at all, although I'm not gay so I can't actually comment on the word 'fag' in the context entirely.

However, I would expect someone in a professional capacity not to be such a monumental retard to be honest. If I said that to the public in my job I would be fired. And with good cause too.

There's a big difference between me calling you a fag on boards, and getting kicked off for being horrible, and me in a professional capacity using that word to a larger audience.

Vague statements shouted at people with no real political or economic knowlege is just for ratings and just makes it all seem hystrionic and childish to me.

I'm very uneducated on politics etc, but his rantings look like horoscopes to me: broad, sweeping, generalised and written by a fool for even more foolish people to buy into.

AND NO I'm not saying if you like him you are a fool, I'm saying that's how I read it, and if you buy into what ANYONE says without engaging your brain you are an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭ShadowGal

Offended enough to not leave my house ? Not at all.

I think it sounds awful though. Is it cool for kids to say fag bag ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

darkdubh wrote: »
    He is a one trick pony.If all the black taxi drivers went home he'd be out of a job as thats all he ever talks about on his show.

What is it that he says about them, might I ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Article has been removed from Facebook.

Prendeville's original on-air rant lives on in full here:

http://itonlyencouragesthem.wordpress.com/2013/05/15/neil-prendevilles-radio-rant/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Nodin wrote: »
    What is it that he says about them, might I ask?

A while back he said live on air,that he would not get into a taxi in Cork,with a black driver.

How he got away with saying this,I dont know.

Dont know what he does when he goes to places like New York etc.