Luas cross city line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    Maybe so, but where I disagree, as someone who has previously lived in Dublin, is that it's not a big gap between the 2 Luas lines. I agree that it needs to be completed at some stage, but surely there are more important projects that need undertaking, such as the airport rail link.

I was going from Limerick to Dublin red cow, then red cow to the airport recently using the M7 express. The bus that brought us from Limerick was supposed to arrive at the same time the bus to the airport was departing and it was 10 minutes late so missed the bus. We had to wait for the Luas, get that into town and then wait for the 747 bus to the airport. Luckily we left in plenty of time and didn't miss the flight. Dublin airport is grand to get to when driving but a right pain in the hole by public transport!

My major gripe with the 747 is that it doesn't use the port tunnel enough,but apart from that,it's great.Goes regularly and all day( ok not quite 24 hours)So I don't see the need for a rail extention to the airport just yet,especially as airport traffic has stalled somewhat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

this is amazing! I was just thinking of this yesterday and I mean LITTERALLY! has it been shelved or not :confused:

and then this news today \o/

love it :)

it should have been there since the beginning made no sense to put the rails in not joined from stephens green to henry street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Dublin has a population of 1.2 million. Limerick has a population of 200,000. Thats the counties, not the cities. Limerick city only has a population of 60,000. Dublin has a population of over 530,000.

So if the transport department have 1 billion to spend on new infrastructure in a year then it makes sense to break that up by population and not by geographic size because it's the people that use the systems they build and more importantly pay to use it helping to cover their costs.

It would be great to see a proper tram system to Dublin airport approved but as others have mentioned the plan they have at the moment will cost billions to build. They probably don't have that in their budget but do have the 300m this will cost. They could save that money to put towards building the airport link in the future but that's a few years where they could have been employing builders, civil engineers and contractors who would have otherwise been on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Now even easier for junkies to get around the city (and not pay)

crockholm wrote: »
    I'm happy that it is being built,maybe it will be the start of another upgrading of Dublins road and rail services,I'm not from Dublin and don't live there but I realize that it is more important to sort out Dublin's transport before the other regional cities.

The biggest problem for Irish towns/cities re infrastructure is population density IMO. I live in a tower block that is surrounded by other tower blocks and we have bus stops at both entrances to the area that take you to the commuter train station and the intercity train station and city centre with busses running every 15 mins(use the bus card for the commuter train also)

Good services, yet when family members called over they were appalled that I was in a tower block-they equate it with ghetto's or poverty!
    If we want the European standard of public transport,we have to change our habits first to make them more viable

Im not quite getting your point, what has part one got to do with part 2 :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

In the grand scheme of things it's a relatively small investment that will yield major benefits.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Those who think it merely links the Red and Green lines alone do not understand the Luas BXD project. While it links the two lines, which is important, it also extends the Luas out as far as Broombridge where it will connect with Iarnród Éireann services. The Luas BXD line will also serve DIT's new campus in Grangegorman, alonsgide serving Cabra and Phibsborough. It will also connect various areas in the city centre to the Luas.

So it will do much more than just link the Red and Green lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

As Limerick man, this bothers me because our public transport is terrible.

Money's being spent elsewhere in Limerick. It has four Gardai stations serving a population similar to Tallaght which has one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,677 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Those who think it merely links the Red and Green lines alone do not understand the Luas BXD project. While it links the two lines, which is important, it also extends the Luas out as far as Broombridge where it will connect with Iarnród Éireann services. The Luas BXD line will also serve DIT's new campus in Grangegorman, alonsgide serving Cabra and Phibsborough. It will also connect various areas in the city centre to the Luas.

Agreed, It has major benefits. But it cant take away from how abysmal the red line project was in terms of trying to be an every man tram. Servicing every neighbourhood on its 44 minute route into the city centre. A distance on green line from Dundrum covered in half that time.

most buses get into the city in less time and they have to contend with traffic and traffic lights all over the place.

i can only imagine trying to cover the red line to city and then on to dublin airport. Totally inappropriate setup. Should have been more lines in from the start and less meandering to catchment areas in order to service self interested TDs in the constituencys .

If more future lines are built we need to remove the interest groups on concentrate on design and planning effective efficient routes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭kc90

Erm, as already pointed out that's not Dublin City. And the whole point of this news story is that it links the Luas lines in the City Centre, it specifically references how much easier it will make it to get from Grafton St to O'Connell St. Hardly long distance is it?

Not that I'm for or against it of course...

I think you're missing the point there

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/varadkar-to-sign-contracts-for-luas-cross-city-line-594581.html...I think that possibly 2 of the major public transport projects that need to go ahead in this country are rail links from Limerick to Shannon airport......

Careful, you'll rouse the Commuting & Transport protected regulars & get hounded out of After Hours too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Money's being spent elsewhere in Limerick. It has four Gardai stations serving a population similar to Tallaght which has one.

Think there is 3 garda stations now. Mary st Shipping container station has been closed AFAIK, but I don't think it costs 370m euro to run one either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Not only that the Airport is going to be linked by Metro North anyway so complaining about that misses a solution is coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Stop being sensible.

How are we supposed to complain if people insist on being sensible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

IM0 wrote: »
    Im not quite getting your point, what has part one got to do with part 2 :confused:
    Apologies for the lack of clarity.....High density areas,such as highrises being placed along a route,or altering a route to service high density areas is more profitable( or to be exact, less of a loss,monetarily) .

There seems to be something of a disdain for living in highrises/ towers in Ireland,the example given earlier alluded to their surprise at me living 6 stories up in a tower.This is a European norm,but back home people prefer to have more space around them.

So,if we want better public transport infrastructure we have to get used to bunching a little closer together:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

awec wrote: »
    Dublin public transport is too city centre focused. If you want to get from somewhere out of town into the city centre that's handy enough.

But if you want to get from Swords to Tallaght, or Dun Laoghaire to Sandyford that's when it's a total pain in the hole.

Spot on. Using Dublin as an example is only valid if you refer to the City Centre. I live in Bray, and if I worked in Terenure for example it would takle me hours to get there via public transport.

crockholm wrote: »
    Apologies for the lack of clarity.....High density areas,such as highrises being placed along a route,or altering a route to service high density areas is more profitable( or to be exact, less of a loss,monetarily) .

There seems to be something of a disdain for living in highrises/ towers in Ireland,the example given earlier alluded to their surprise at me living 6 stories up in a tower.This is a European norm,but back home people prefer to have more space around them.

So,if we want better public transport infrastructure we have to get used to bunching a little closer together:)

thats very true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Think there is 3 garda stations now. Mary st Shipping container station has been closed AFAIK, but I don't think it costs 370m euro to run one either.

It's not costing 370M euro to run this Luas extension. :rolleyes: That's what it's costing to build.

Typical bogger whinging mentality.

Dublin generates far more in taxes than is put back into by the government. If the culchies are objecting maybe it's time to leave them to fund themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭becost

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Exactly.

The boggers wanted and got their rail corridor.

They also ignore the billions spent on motorways so they can get to the Big Shmoke for the Gah matches.
    It's not costing 370M euro to run this Luas extension. That's what it's costing to build.

Dublin generates far more in taxes than is put back into by the government. If the culchies are objecting maybe it's time to leave them to fund themselves.

Pot calling the kettle black? :D

There's a forum out there just for people like you: http://wanker.lefora.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭andersat2

that LUAS line into Cabra will be useless.
    People from Finglas will not gonna use it - as it too far from Finglas.
    Ashtown is served by 123 bus and DART.
    Ashington is served by 122 bus (usually empty bus running).
    Cabra and Phibsboro - served by a number of buses.
    So who will gonna use that LUAS line???

Have you ever seen how 38, 39 buses to Blach / Ongar are overcrowded??
    or 25 to Lucan?? Anightmare on rush hour!!
    I think kind of LUAS to Blanch or Lucan would be more useful!

in addition to that, I'm imagine nightmare traffic in Phibsboro and Navan Rd. while this line will be biuld..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

Isn't there buses for that?

Same argument can be made for cross city. Try waiting for a 25 or 66 at 6am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

If the culchies are objecting maybe it's time to leave them to fund themselves.

Does that mean Dublin based socialists will stop coming West and telling us how "our" oil is being stolen?!

Well worth it if that's the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

andersat2 wrote: »
    in addition to that, I'm imagine nightmare traffic in Phibsboro and Navan Rd. while this line will be biuld..

Take a look at the plans, the line is basically going on the old railway line which is off road from Broadstone to Broombridge. Traffic disruption should be minimal.

Broombridge is less than ten minutes walk from Finglas South so it should get use.

The huge issue, which is widely acknowledged, is the Broombridge station and access to it from Cabra and Finglas pose some pretty significant security concerns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭andersat2

to get from Broombridge st to Finglas South - you need to cross a Tolka Valley park. It's only for brave persons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭Daith

to get from Broombridge st to Finglas South - you need to cross a Tolka Valley park. It's only for brave persons!

Broombridge isn't a picnic either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

That's what I meant when I said there are security concerns. If those are addressed then the LUAS line from Broombridge would be accessible for thousands upon thousands more users.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

that LUAS line into Cabra will be useless.
    People from Finglas will not gonna use it - as it too far from Finglas.

There is a lot of evidence and research that contradicts your view.

Detailed feasibility studies were carried out, you hardly think this was just decided upon on a whim do you? People were claiming that the Luas would be useless before it was constructed, with people arguing that commuters would still use the bus network and the likes. They were wrong.

EDIT - Here is a map of Luas BXD so people can get a sense as to what the project is about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

There is a lot of evidence and research that contradicts your view.

Detailed feasibility studies were carried out, you hardly think this was just decided upon on a whim do you? People were claiming that the Luas would be useless before it was constructed, with people arguing that commuters would still use the bus network and the likes. They were wrong.

Same was said back in the 1970's when the DART was first mooted, turned out to be the most successful public transport project in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

It's not costing 370M euro to run this Luas extension. :rolleyes: That's what it's costing to build.

I know that, I was just pointing out that the running of a Garda station is lot lower than the building of a light rail line.

Culchie? Me? Limerick City is a CITY as the name suggests, plus I was born near London, which, not to get technical, makes you the bogger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

CHealy wrote: »
    Limerick and Galway need serious updates to their bus services, but are not the size to constitute having any other form of public transport. Although a rail connection from Limerick to Shannon is a no-brainer.

Cork would really benifit from a bus tram system, which is no where near as expensive as a luas style tram, but would have dedicated lines across the city and to the airport.

Galway just needs to be nuked from orbit.
    Worked in Ballybrit and went to college in NUI for years and put up with the ****ty ****ty traffic.

Moved to Dublin 8 months ago and there's more traffic but the congestion is no where near as bad. Like not even 25% as bad and I get off at the red cow interchange every morning and evening at rush hour.

The Galway road system needs a major overhaul but doing anything about it would make it worse.