Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luas cross city line

• 16-05-2013 8:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/varadkar-to-sign-contracts-for-luas-cross-city-line-594581.html

As Limerick man, this bothers me because our public transport is terrible. We literally only have a bus service and it's substandard. All we have been given are the electronic timetables! I'm sure it's like that for other counties too (Bar Dublin of course).

Secondly, Would that money not be better off spent on a rail link to Dublin airport? I think that possibly 2 of the major public transport projects that need to go ahead in this country are rail links from Limerick to Shannon airport, and Dublin to Dublin airport.

Are people really that bothered by the 2 Luas lines not being linked? It should be done at some stage, but in the economic climate were in at the minute, surely spending €370m would be better off spent on bring more people from the airports or being spent elsewhere. :confused:

What does AH think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/varadkar-to-sign-contracts-for-luas-cross-city-line-594581.html

As Limerick man, this bothers me because our public transport is terrible. We literally only have a bus service and it's substandard. All we have been given are the electronic timetables! I'm sure it's like that for other counties too (Bar Dublin of course).

Secondly, Would that money not be better off spent on a rail link to Dublin airport? I think that possibly 2 of the major public transport projects that need to go ahead in this country are rail links from Limerick to Shannon airport, and Dublin to Dublin airport.

Are people really that bothered by the 2 Luas lines not being linked? It should be done at some stage, but in the economic climate were in at the minute, surely spending €370m would be better off spent on bring more people from the airports or being spent elsewhere. :confused:

What does AH think?
    The only realistic Dublin airport link is metro north and will cost about 2.5 bl, currently shelfed. Dart underground at a cost of 2.5 bl (I think) was shelfed and is by far the most important infrastructure project. It would benefit the entire country

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

What does AH think?

Well, they've already built a bridge, would be a waste not to get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Well, they've already built a bridge, would be a waste not to get over it.

yeah...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,226 ✭✭✭Tow

Secondly, Would that money not be better off spent on a rail link to Dublin airport?

Sure why would you want that? It has only been on the plans for decades!! There are even tunnels and an underground 'Train Station' under T1, which has now been converted into a check in area.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

It consistently pisses me off that all these thigns happen in Dublin, and I'm from Dublin. I'm living in Limerick, and if I want to get a train to most places, I have to get a connecting train from Dublin. Fucking Dublin! The rail system is a complete joke. Dublin doesn't need an underground rail, it's not as sprawling as London, New York or any other place with one, and it would basically make the Luas redundant, a massive waste. Fix other stuff, you bloody shitehawks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Simples - more people = more need.

When as many people rely on or would use the service you're proposing then its worth discussing.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Great news, the Luas should be connected.

They also need to introduce more lines, probably a line (or 2) that goes in a ring around the city rather than in to town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 DaithiOGormain

In my opinion, Metro North is needed far more than a tram line to Broombridge. It would connect Swords, the Airport, Ballymun, DCU and the city centre, all of which have huge populations or numbers of travellers and commuters who travel to and from them daily and are only served by mediocre bus services. I definitely don't think that Shannon Airport needs a rail link, would cost more than it would be worth. I don't see the need for any international airports outside Dublin anyway to be quite honest, they should all be used as regional airports, including closing Aldergrove (which is actually my nearest airport). Investment would be better being put into one hub airport rather than loads of local airports with international flights.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

If you want infrastructure solely for the reason that "them up there in that Dublin get everything", you can end up with the Western Fail Corridor.

It's not that "Them up there in Dublin get everything", it's that while places like Limerick, Sligo, so on, are basically falling apart at the seams, what's going on elsewhere? Great, new transport! We need that! Oh, in Dublin? Where they have the Luas, the Dart, a bus service that covers the entire county? Oh. Well, I guess I'll just stand in the pissing rain for a bus that might not turn up.

I know there's a lot more to building tracks than just sticking them on the floor Gromit style, but not having to go all the way up to Dublin to get to Sligo, or Portarlington to get to Galway, would be a real treat. God forbid you wanna go somewhere in Donegal. If I want to get a train to Wexford, I have to go to Dublin, and go all the way back down. It's absurd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Limerick city is small enough to walk around

There's a whole county outside of the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I know there's a lot more to building tracks than just sticking them on the floor Gromit style, but not having to go all the way up to Dublin to get to Sligo, or Portarlington to get to Galway
    Wouldn't you get the train to Galway via Ennis and Athenry? Sure, you'll have nearly a whole train to yourself.

http://www.irishrail.ie/index.jsp?p=120&n=150

Ok so, I work in town, train in UL, and live near Dooradoyle, how do you propose I get around on that shambles of a bus service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Luas extensions are needed more to suburbs than city centre links

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Ok so, I work in town, train in UL, and live near Dooradoyle, how do you propose I get around on that shambles of a bus service?

Bicycle. Stop at red lights though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Terry1985

As Limerick man, this bothers me because our public transport is terrible.

Maybe ask for dedicated horse lanes?

stoneill wrote: »

Dublin public transport is too city centre focused. If you want to get from somewhere out of town into the city centre that's handy enough.

But if you want to get from Swords to Tallaght, or Dun Laoghaire to Sandyford that's when it's a total pain in the hole.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Eh, so is Dublin City in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

stoneill wrote: »

Isn't there buses for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

OSI wrote: »
    Walk from Dun Laoghaire to Blanchardstown and tell me that.

Dun Laoghaire is not in Dublin City it is in County Dublin.

So change it to Sandyford, still quite a hike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

Limerick and Galway need serious updates to their bus services, but are not the size to constitute having any other form of public transport. Although a rail connection from Limerick to Shannon is a no-brainer.

Cork would really benifit from a bus tram system, which is no where near as expensive as a luas style tram, but would have dedicated lines across the city and to the airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Personally I can't wait for this. At the moment my bus leaves me on Abbey Street and I've to walk over to Stephens Green to get the green Luas line out to Sandyford. Which is daft as there's a red Luas stop right on Abbey street where I get off the bus. Should have been connected from the beginning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

OSI wrote: »
    Walk from Dun Laoghaire to Blanchardstown and tell me that.

Erm, as already pointed out that's not Dublin City. And the whole point of this news story is that it links the Luas lines in the City Centre, it specifically references how much easier it will make it to get from Grafton St to O'Connell St. Hardly long distance is it?

Not that I'm for or against it of course...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Sure while were at why not just follow this example:

darttodingle.jpg?w=400&h=533

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

For those complaining that ibn Dublin we have fully functioning county wide public transport.....in theory we do...the reality is quite different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I'm happy that it is being built,maybe it will be the start of another upgrading of Dublins road and rail services,I'm not from Dublin and don't live there but I realize that it is more important to sort out Dublin's transport before the other regional cities.

The biggest problem for Irish towns/cities re infrastructure is population density IMO. I live in a tower block that is surrounded by other tower blocks and we have bus stops at both entrances to the area that take you to the commuter train station and the intercity train station and city centre with busses running every 15 mins(use the bus card for the commuter train also)

Good services, yet when family members called over they were appalled that I was in a tower block-they equate it with ghetto's or poverty! If we want the European standard of public transport,we have to change our habits first to make them more viable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Robbo wrote: »
    If you want infrastructure solely for the reason that "them up there in that Dublin get everything", you can end up with the Western Fail Corridor.

Exactly.

The boggers wanted and got their rail corridor. :D

They also ignore the billions spent on motorways so they can get to the Big Shmoke for the Gah matches.

crockholm wrote: »
    I'm happy that it is being built,maybe it will be the start of another upgrading of Dublins road and rail services,I'm not from Dublin and don't live there but I realize that it is more important to sort out Dublin's transport before the other regional cities.

The biggest problem for Irish towns/cities re infrastructure is population density IMO. I live in a tower block that is surrounded by other tower blocks and we have bus stops at both entrances to the area that take you to the commuter train station and the intercity train station and city centre with busses running every 15 mins(use the bus card for the commuter train also)

Good services, yet when family members called over they were appalled that I was in a tower block-they equate it with ghetto's or poverty! If we want the European standard of public transport,we have to change our habits first to make them more viable

Maybe so, but where I disagree, as someone who has previously lived in Dublin, is that it's not a big gap between the 2 Luas lines. I agree that it needs to be completed at some stage, but surely there are more important projects that need undertaking, such as the airport rail link.

I was going from Limerick to Dublin red cow, then red cow to the airport recently using the M7 express. The bus that brought us from Limerick was supposed to arrive at the same time the bus to the airport was departing and it was 10 minutes late so missed the bus. We had to wait for the Luas, get that into town and then wait for the 747 bus to the airport. Luckily we left in plenty of time and didn't miss the flight. Dublin airport is grand to get to when driving but a right pain in the hole by public transport!

Maybe so, but where I disagree, as someone who has previously lived in Dublin, is that it's not a big gap between the 2 Luas lines. I agree that it needs to be completed at some stage, but surely there are more important projects that need undertaking, such as the airport rail link.

I was going from Limerick to Dublin red cow, then red cow to the airport recently using the M7 express. The bus that brought us from Limerick was supposed to arrive at the same time the bus to the airport was departing and it was 10 minutes late so missed the bus. We had to wait for the Luas, get that into town and then wait for the 747 bus to the airport. Luckily we left in plenty of time and didn't miss the flight. Dublin airport is grand to get to when driving but a right pain in the hole by public transport!

My major gripe with the 747 is that it doesn't use the port tunnel enough,but apart from that,it's great.Goes regularly and all day( ok not quite 24 hours)So I don't see the need for a rail extention to the airport just yet,especially as airport traffic has stalled somewhat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

this is amazing! I was just thinking of this yesterday and I mean LITTERALLY! has it been shelved or not :confused:

and then this news today \o/

love it :)

it should have been there since the beginning made no sense to put the rails in not joined from stephens green to henry street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Dublin has a population of 1.2 million. Limerick has a population of 200,000. Thats the counties, not the cities. Limerick city only has a population of 60,000. Dublin has a population of over 530,000.

So if the transport department have 1 billion to spend on new infrastructure in a year then it makes sense to break that up by population and not by geographic size because it's the people that use the systems they build and more importantly pay to use it helping to cover their costs.

It would be great to see a proper tram system to Dublin airport approved but as others have mentioned the plan they have at the moment will cost billions to build. They probably don't have that in their budget but do have the 300m this will cost. They could save that money to put towards building the airport link in the future but that's a few years where they could have been employing builders, civil engineers and contractors who would have otherwise been on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Now even easier for junkies to get around the city (and not pay)

Good services, yet when family members called over they were appalled that I was in a tower block-they equate it with ghetto's or poverty!
    If we want the European standard of public transport,we have to change our habits first to make them more viable

Im not quite getting your point, what has part one got to do with part 2 :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

In the grand scheme of things it's a relatively small investment that will yield major benefits.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Those who think it merely links the Red and Green lines alone do not understand the Luas BXD project. While it links the two lines, which is important, it also extends the Luas out as far as Broombridge where it will connect with Iarnród Éireann services. The Luas BXD line will also serve DIT's new campus in Grangegorman, alonsgide serving Cabra and Phibsborough. It will also connect various areas in the city centre to the Luas.

So it will do much more than just link the Red and Green lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

As Limerick man, this bothers me because our public transport is terrible.

Money's being spent elsewhere in Limerick. It has four Gardai stations serving a population similar to Tallaght which has one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Those who think it merely links the Red and Green lines alone do not understand the Luas BXD project. While it links the two lines, which is important, it also extends the Luas out as far as Broombridge where it will connect with Iarnród Éireann services. The Luas BXD line will also serve DIT's new campus in Grangegorman, alonsgide serving Cabra and Phibsborough. It will also connect various areas in the city centre to the Luas.

Agreed, It has major benefits. But it cant take away from how abysmal the red line project was in terms of trying to be an every man tram. Servicing every neighbourhood on its 44 minute route into the city centre. A distance on green line from Dundrum covered in half that time.

most buses get into the city in less time and they have to contend with traffic and traffic lights all over the place.

i can only imagine trying to cover the red line to city and then on to dublin airport. Totally inappropriate setup. Should have been more lines in from the start and less meandering to catchment areas in order to service self interested TDs in the constituencys .

If more future lines are built we need to remove the interest groups on concentrate on design and planning effective efficient routes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭kc90

Erm, as already pointed out that's not Dublin City. And the whole point of this news story is that it links the Luas lines in the City Centre, it specifically references how much easier it will make it to get from Grafton St to O'Connell St. Hardly long distance is it?

Not that I'm for or against it of course...

I think you're missing the point there

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/varadkar-to-sign-contracts-for-luas-cross-city-line-594581.html...I think that possibly 2 of the major public transport projects that need to go ahead in this country are rail links from Limerick to Shannon airport......

Careful, you'll rouse the Commuting & Transport protected regulars & get hounded out of After Hours too!

Money's being spent elsewhere in Limerick. It has four Gardai stations serving a population similar to Tallaght which has one.

Think there is 3 garda stations now. Mary st Shipping container station has been closed AFAIK, but I don't think it costs 370m euro to run one either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Not only that the Airport is going to be linked by Metro North anyway so complaining about that misses a solution is coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Stop being sensible.

How are we supposed to complain if people insist on being sensible?

IM0 wrote: »
    Im not quite getting your point, what has part one got to do with part 2 :confused:
    Apologies for the lack of clarity.....High density areas,such as highrises being placed along a route,or altering a route to service high density areas is more profitable( or to be exact, less of a loss,monetarily) .

There seems to be something of a disdain for living in highrises/ towers in Ireland,the example given earlier alluded to their surprise at me living 6 stories up in a tower.This is a European norm,but back home people prefer to have more space around them.

So,if we want better public transport infrastructure we have to get used to bunching a little closer together:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

awec wrote: »
    Dublin public transport is too city centre focused. If you want to get from somewhere out of town into the city centre that's handy enough.

But if you want to get from Swords to Tallaght, or Dun Laoghaire to Sandyford that's when it's a total pain in the hole.

Spot on. Using Dublin as an example is only valid if you refer to the City Centre. I live in Bray, and if I worked in Terenure for example it would takle me hours to get there via public transport.

Apologies for the lack of clarity.....High density areas,such as highrises being placed along a route,or altering a route to service high density areas is more profitable( or to be exact, less of a loss,monetarily) .

There seems to be something of a disdain for living in highrises/ towers in Ireland,the example given earlier alluded to their surprise at me living 6 stories up in a tower.This is a European norm,but back home people prefer to have more space around them.

So,if we want better public transport infrastructure we have to get used to bunching a little closer together:)

thats very true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Think there is 3 garda stations now. Mary st Shipping container station has been closed AFAIK, but I don't think it costs 370m euro to run one either.

It's not costing 370M euro to run this Luas extension. :rolleyes: That's what it's costing to build.

Typical bogger whinging mentality.

Dublin generates far more in taxes than is put back into by the government. If the culchies are objecting maybe it's time to leave them to fund themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭becost

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Exactly.

The boggers wanted and got their rail corridor.

They also ignore the billions spent on motorways so they can get to the Big Shmoke for the Gah matches.
    Zebra3 wrote: »
    It's not costing 370M euro to run this Luas extension. That's what it's costing to build.

Typical bogger whinging mentality.

Dublin generates far more in taxes than is put back into by the government. If the culchies are objecting maybe it's time to leave them to fund themselves.

Pot calling the kettle black? :D

There's a forum out there just for people like you: http://wanker.lefora.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭andersat2

that LUAS line into Cabra will be useless.
    People from Finglas will not gonna use it - as it too far from Finglas.
    Ashtown is served by 123 bus and DART.
    Ashington is served by 122 bus (usually empty bus running).
    Cabra and Phibsboro - served by a number of buses.
    So who will gonna use that LUAS line???

Have you ever seen how 38, 39 buses to Blach / Ongar are overcrowded??
    or 25 to Lucan?? Anightmare on rush hour!!
    I think kind of LUAS to Blanch or Lucan would be more useful!

in addition to that, I'm imagine nightmare traffic in Phibsboro and Navan Rd. while this line will be biuld..