People buying cigarettes/booze for children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Dean0088 wrote: »
    In work at the minute.

Had a girl no older than 15 trying to buy Silkcut Purple a while ago. 'For her ma'... :pac:

When I declined she hung around on the forecourt asking customers to go in for her. After a few minutes a woman around 30 y/o agreed. This is in plain view of me and other customers who had declined her requests.

I declined to sell the woman both her own cigarettes and the brand the girl was looking for. To which she threw a mini-wobbler and stormed out.

What fully grown adult decides 'yup. I'll follow along with the wishes of a child to buy them fags'. :mad: :rolleyes:

Used to work in an off-licence in Summerhill too. Our heads were melted trying to keep one eye on the CCTV for people talking to kids outside, then coming in. Normally looking for something sensationally obvious like Five naggins of your cheapest Vodka there mate. .... "No!". undoubtedly we missed most of it and the drink ended up in the hands of kids. There's only so much you can do.

If you're the kind of person that buys kids drink/ciggs then you're an infected knob end.

You should be a bouncer, you'd love the power tripping involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

It's a moral dilemma. On the one hand I don't want to do scumbag teenagers any favours. On the other hand cigarettes and alcohol might help kill them a little quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

I have a great idea to solve the problem: Close all the off-licenses at 10 PM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I don't drink at all these days and I guess on principle I should say no. Then again you have to put yourself in their shoes. Their whole night could be ruined. I remember how desperate I was at 14 or 15 to get some hooch. It was usually the preamble to taking advantage of some pissed up young wan. So on the basis of sentimentality and giving youth a fair shake I think I'd have to say yes :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

what ever about not giving the woman the cigarettes for the teenager but why not let the woman buy her own ones? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

This was the only way to get a few cans in your early teens

3 cans and you were flying

good times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Is that off licence in Galway with the back door onto the other street still there?

That was a great spot to make a few bob out of teenagers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

It puts staff in an awkward position too.

Slip up once, and if there's a garda going past or if the kid ends up in a state somewhere, you could be in hot water for a one second lapse in judgement.

Deano baby,you're going to get the gizzard ripped out of you on this one....:o

Better solution would be to replace ALL Social Security/Childrens Allowance etc payments with an Alcohol/Tobacco allowance....with double units to the youngest ...That will sort out the problem within a generation......Darwin had it figgered pretty well....:D

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭HollyB

It puts staff in an awkward position too.

I've only been asked a few times but I always let a staff member in the shop know that I was asked, and what I was asked to get. If they're the ones whose necks will be in the noose, they should at least get a heads-up, especially if the kids are a few doors down and not visible through the shop window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

SunnyDub1 wrote: »
    what ever about not giving the woman the cigarettes for the teenager but why not let the woman buy her own ones? :confused:

It's law.
    You cant sell to someone once you have reasonable suspicion of them supplying them to someone under-aged.

Had the Op sold her the one pack of cigs and the woman walked outside and given the teen one of hers, Op would be in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

BizzyC wrote: »
    It's law.
    You cant sell to someone once you have reasonable suspicion of them supplying them to someone under-aged.

Had the Op sold her the one pack of cigs and the woman walked outside and given the teen one of hers, Op would be in trouble.

Its a stupid law since it can be interpreted in many ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

2 young fellas and a young one (all around 16) asked me and a friend to get them drink the other day.

I'm pushing 26, but apparently look 3/4 years younger and I just said I had no ID with me. The fellas said fair enough and the girl threw a hissy fit. Bloody hoodrat.

On a similar note, has anyone tried buying drink in Tesco? I'd say you could buy a rifle easier! Some lady on a checkout in there asked if I was 18 when buying drink before and when I said no I was met with a blank look for about 5 awkward seconds before I said I was 25. Don't think the Irish sense of humour was too well received by the lady, who was foreign. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Nope. Never get asked either, must have an undercover cop look about me.

I'm having teenage flashbacks to supercans of Coke with a small bottle of vodka. At the start of the night it was 90% coke and 10% vodka but then later it was 90% vodka and 10% coke.
    Disgusting !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭HollyB

BizzyC wrote: »
    It's law.

I had a similar issue years ago, when I was working in a supermarket. There was quite a sizeable group of teenagers queuing to buy alcohol and cigarettes and, when I asked for ID, they were under 18 so I couldn't sell to them. I think they were a school tour group, and the legal drinking age must have been lower in their country, because when I refused, one of the teachers escorting them tried to buy them for them and was annoyed when I couldn't sell them to him, knowing that he was buying for minors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,231 ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

SunnyDub1 wrote: »

I was annoyed at this stage so told her to feck off all together.

As far as I'm concerned she tried to buy for an under age kid - therefore no sale unless it's coca cola and tayto.

BTW I say this as someone who did his fair share of underage drinking, smoking yada yada.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Well if it's any consolation, her mother probably beat her with a belt for not getting the cigarettes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Tea-a-Maria

A bunch of kids asked me to buy them booze when I was 17.I was amused.:D

• Site Banned Posts: 103 ✭✭newsunglasses

In work at the minute.

Had a girl no older than 15 trying to buy Silkcut Purple a while ago. 'For her ma'... :pac:

When I declined she hung around on the forecourt asking customers to go in for her. After a few minutes a woman around 30 y/o agreed. This is in plain view of me and other customers who had declined her requests.

I declined to sell the woman both her own cigarettes and the brand the girl was looking for. To which she threw a mini-wobbler and stormed out.

What fully grown adult decides 'yup. I'll follow along with the wishes of a child to buy them fags'. :mad: :rolleyes:

Used to work in an off-licence in Summerhill too. Our heads were melted trying to keep one eye on the CCTV for people talking to kids outside, then coming in. Normally looking for something sensationally obvious like Five naggins of your cheapest Vodka there mate. .... "No!". undoubtedly we missed most of it and the drink ended up in the hands of kids. There's only so much you can do.

If you're the kind of person that buys kids drink/ciggs then you're an infected knob end.

In my day we used to hang around outside at the back out of plain view of the off license window and ask passing people to go in and buy us a few cans,a naggin,some vodka,and a packet of 20 fags..Thats the difference pacman.gif

Doing that in plain view is just thick.:rolleyes:

A lot of offies back in the day used to serve us face to face even if we were young.

It was only in the main offie in town that we used to get other people to go in for us,as the deals were cheaper,you'd get more bang for your buck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

The only person I've ever bought drink for when they were underage was my sister, who was 17 at the time, and had permission from our mother to have a few alcopops.

Aside from that, I don't do it. I just say that I don't have my ID, because despite being 24, I pass for a 16 year old, or I tell them it'll cost a tenner each as payment. One feckin' eejit actually agreed to pay me a tenner if I got him 2 naggins once. I declined. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pingi

When I was 19 I worked in a supermarket and one day when I coming out of work, my friends younger brother who I knew was turning 18 in few weeks and that his family knew he smoked asked me if I'd go back in and buy him 40 Benson.

I saw nothing of helping him out, went in got them and handed him the 40 Benson in broad daylight in front of the shop, me wearing my uniform (him looking older than me)

Anyways he turned around and handed 20 to a child on a bike wearing a primary school uniform... apparently the child had asked him if he would get him fags :o

I almost killed him, I was in panic all night in case I'd get fired. Lesson learnt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

The assumption people are making here is that, if a kid can't buy cigs or booze from the store, they'll just go home and study their bible.

In my experience that *never* happened.

I had friends who would try to buy alcohol, then try to get someone else to buy alcohol, then would shoplift alcohol or steal it from the homes of family members/friends. Sad? Absolutely - but what's better in the long run, giving 3 17 year-olds a few beers or those same kids hanging out with homeless/drug addicted people trying to get them to buy them beer, having them get caught shoplifting?

Worse than that, was my older sister. When her and her friends were still under-aged they just found sleazy older guys who they could drink and smoke with. The older guys were just trying to get the young, impressionable girls drunk so they could take advantage of them. Which they did.

My parents tried really hard to keep my sister away from that stuff and it didn't work. They pulled a complete 180 and would let my little sister and her friends come over and hang out. And yeah, they would get drunk and they would make out with their 'boyfriends' or whatever. But they were at home, they were all in the same room, and they had adults right upstairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Polka_Dot

The only time I've ever been asked to buy alcohol for someone was once when I was 15/16. The kids asking were probably older than I was! :pac:

If I was asked now though I don't really know what I'd do. If they were 15 year olds asking me to buy naggins I'd refuse, but if they were say 16/17 and just wanted a few cans I might. Wouldn't buy smokes though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

I just take their money and keep walking.Hopefully they will of learnt a lesson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭froggie76

Its a pain in the arse alright, people getting snotty and abusive to you when you wont hand over 5 of the cheapest naggins for the bunch of 10 years olds hanging around outside!! So the 10 o clock close for the offie hasnt solved the underage drinking problem like they said it would :(
    The law is the law people will always try get around it, but like a previous poster said, dont be hanging around in full sight, if I dont see you, then your not there and when you get your stuff, feck off some where out of sight to drink it - not roaming up and down the main street you dope!

Always thought there should be penalties for adults buying for underagers, actually think there might be but its not enforced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

FatherLen wrote: »
    scummy kid: will ya get me cans?

Me: No Fuck off.

simples.

You're a gobshíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I was just about to answer this seriously and then I realized I'm still not 18 yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭froggie76

frozenfrozen as someone who is not 18 yet what is your view on it?
    Seriously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Buying kids drink, there's a word for that.

Grooming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I was just about to answer this seriously and then I realized I'm still not 18 yet

Really? :eek: I thought by your posting style that you were like in your mid 30's. You seem very very mature..