Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

People buying cigarettes/booze for children

• 14-05-2013 08:42AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

In work at the minute.

Had a girl no older than 15 trying to buy Silkcut Purple a while ago. 'For her ma'... :pac:

When I declined she hung around on the forecourt asking customers to go in for her. After a few minutes a woman around 30 y/o agreed. This is in plain view of me and other customers who had declined her requests.

I declined to sell the woman both her own cigarettes and the brand the girl was looking for. To which she threw a mini-wobbler and stormed out.

What fully grown adult decides 'yup. I'll follow along with the wishes of a child to buy them fags'. :mad: :rolleyes:

Used to work in an off-licence in Summerhill too. Our heads were melted trying to keep one eye on the CCTV for people talking to kids outside, then coming in. Normally looking for something sensationally obvious like Five naggins of your cheapest Vodka there mate. .... "No!". undoubtedly we missed most of it and the drink ended up in the hands of kids. There's only so much you can do.

If you're the kind of person that buys kids drink/ciggs then you're an infected knob end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Sounds like the woman was following your wishes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Dean0088 wrote: »

If you're the kind of person that buys kids drink/ciggs then you're an infected knob end.

Summerhill resident hits out at blowjobs for booze scandal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Dean0088 wrote: »

Luckily you can be cured by a simple over the counter cream though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

scummy kid: will ya get me cans?

Me: No Fuck off.

simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,359 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

In my day you could buy the cursed things easily,must be the equivilent of a junkie trying to get a fix for teenagers these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

FatherLen wrote: »
    scummy kid: will ya get me cans?

Me: No Fuck off.

simples.

What he said

Seriously, how weak willed do you have to be that you can't say no to a teenager? They're the group that most inspires me to say "shag off"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,251 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Didn't a man get stabbed to death for refusing to get some teenagers booze?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

My view now
    Kid: Here mister, buy me cans
    Me: No, fuck off you little knacker
    Kid: Prick

My view then
    Me: Here mister, buy me cans
    Grown up: No, fuck off you little knacker
    Me: Prick

Lighten up OP, kids have to get their drink and ciggies somewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

You could always buy them becks non alcoholic and tell them you're taking 25% commission from their money :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Just take their money and buy them chocolate fags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭EDDIE WATERS

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Just take their money and buy them chocolate fags.

Or when they say buy me some cans buy 10 cans of coke for them

I wouldn't do it myself but one lad I know sometimes buys a naggin for a few if they are looking for it. They usually ask for 3 or 4 but he will just get them one.

He says what harm will one naggin do among a few and that we were all young once and looking for drink and needed someone to get if for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

I've been asked to get vodka by ones before (i knew them) i said i wasn't sure on Vodka but i'd make them a deal. I'd get the booze for them but it wasn't vodka it was cans or nothing.

3 16 year olds having a couple of cans in my eyes is better than 3 16 year olds knocking back vodka.

And before you grab your pitchforks i did talk to the most sensible one and told him no matter what happened if sh*t hit the fan give me a call. They would have got it anyway as there is a few people in town that would sort them out and it was the lessor of 2 evils

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

When I'm asked I go with the 'Buy me a a bottle of Captain Morgans and I will get it.

They are always on a tight budget, it's a win win. They either buy it for you or tell you 'Ah you're ok'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,251 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Nabber wrote: »
    When I'm asked I go with the 'Buy me a a bottle of Captain Morgans and I will get it.

They are always on a tight budget, it's a win win. They either buy it for you or tell you 'Ah you're ok'

So you don't mind putting children at risk once you get paid?

Nice! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

It puts staff in an awkward position too.

Slip up once, and if there's a garda going past or if the kid ends up in a state somewhere, you could be in hot water for a one second lapse in judgement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Koptain Liverpool

Recently saw a homeless guy in Phibsboro coming out of the off licence with a full 24 slab of cans of bulmers. I was a bit surprised as I know this guy - he's always begging in phibsboro with his dog. I didn't think he'd have the money for a slab and also you don't usually see him drinking too much on the street.
    It all made sense when I saw a gang of young teenagers holding his dog around the corner until the slab was exchanged!
    Can't blame the homeless guy for doing it for a few quid or the teenagers for their initiative but I'm surprised the off licence sold the slab to him (knowing it probably wasn't for him)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Recently saw a homeless guy in Phibsboro coming out of the off licence with a full 24 slab of cans of bulmers. I was a bit surprised as I know this guy - he's always begging in phibsboro with his dog. I didn't think he'd have the money for a slab and also you don't usually see him drinking too much on the street.
    It all made sense when I saw a gang of young teenagers holding his dog around the corner until the slab was exchanged!
    Can't blame the homeless guy for doing it for a few quid or the teenagers for their initiative but I'm surprised the off licence sold the slab to him (knowing it probably wasn't for him)

Sure they weren't holding him for ransom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

I used to sit outside The Belgrove in Clontarf asking people to buy me smokes. Then I found out my oldest brothers mate worked there.

Used to always say "my brother said it's cool if you sell them to me" - and she did :D

But now, 12 years later, I've quit smoking and would never buy them for anyone underage.

Booze is a different story though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Didn't a man get stabbed to death for refusing to get some teenagers booze?

They still didn't get their booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

I would not dream of buying fags or booze for random "Youths". However if my over 16 nephews or nieces wanted a few cans I probably would help them out. No fags. No spirits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm surprised there are so many people that can't see the harm in buying alcohol for kids.
    Oh wait, this is Ireland, silly me, I forgot. Carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,359 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I'm surprised there are so many people that can't see the harm in buying alcohol for kids.
    Oh wait, this is Ireland, silly me, I forgot. Carry on.

"Sure they're going to get it anyway"is the usual justification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Its a bit stupid though, shop should only be responsible for the person they exchange money with.

Notify the Gardai and then leave it up to them to do something.

Rather than this Mickey Mouse setup of having the shop watching to see if its an Adult buying for children.

Just hand over the CCTV in that case.

But alas I think the Gardai wouldn't be arsed and would be dealing with other issues such as speeding fines.

A few random checks and heavy fines would stop people buying drinks for kids, at the moment the comeback is all on the store that sold it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

My mates and I used to do the same thing a few years ago. To this day I haven't done it and don't intend to. I'm still young enough that I can use the excuse, "sorry, mate, I forgot my id" so the kid doesn't think I'm a bellend :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32 heinz hummer

i remember this 15year old yungfella asking me to buy him cans outside the local supervalue, i took his cash went in the front way and straight out the back exit of the shop,

score

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I used to sit outside The Belgrove in Clontarf asking people to buy me smokes. Then I found out my oldest brothers mate worked there.

Used to always say "my brother said it's cool if you sell them to me" - and she did :D

But now, 12 years later, I've quit smoking and would never buy them for anyone underage.

Booze is a different story though.

How so? Surely the effects of alcohol consumption is a far greater risk then 20 silk cut purple..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

How so? Surely the effects of alcohol consumption is a far greater risk then 20 silk cut purple..

Booze is fun in large doses. Fags are a complete waste of time and money (40 a day man here).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Booze is fun in large doses. Fags are a complete waste of time and money (40 a day man here).

I was asking SR why he wouldn't buy smokes for teenagers but would buy drink?

As for the part in bold... So what!??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Tough one TBH , I did thigs when I was younger 15-17 and we would wait for hours to try and get some drink or someone to go in for us. We didn't really cause any hassle either , usually just went to a house and what not.

So I'm conflicted when I get asked now , on one hand it's no way , piss off and on the other it's looking back and going...I used to be that ****er standing there for hours.

So I'd usually judge it based on what I see and what age I think they are.

15 -
    ' Here , will ya go in the offa and get is 8 nagans and a crate?'
    'No piss off'

16+

'Sorry mate , if their any chance you could get us two nagans please?'
    'Ok but that's it'