a nation of haters?

13»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    A quick gallop through some of your posts would point in that direction.The contents are not Joycean. If only you could shed the anger.

The contents of my posts are quite happy and positive and the negative ones are there to counter the rise of malignance. They are not intended to be "Joycean". If only you could get past the cherry picking.

It's not. AH is also not representative of boards.ie.

Yes but it can be heart breaking at times :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

old hippy wrote: »
    Sometimes I read boards.ie and I wonder if some of us are tipping over into madness or a parody so extreme, we can't see it for what it is.

We* hate ourselves. We hate foreigners. We hate ourselves for liking foreigners. We hate ourselves for hating foreigners. We hate ourselves for adopting foreign customs. We hate ourselves for not adopting foreign customs. We hate our desire to be part of the world. We hate our desire to be isolated. We hate the British. We hate those who hate the British. We hate the Americans. We love to hate the Americans. We hate those who love to hate the Americans. We hate accents. We hate D4 accents. We hate Northern accents. We hate culshie accents. We hate skanger accents. We hate bland accents. We hate those who hate the myriad of accents in our island. We hate those who left. We hate those who stayed. We hate the left. We hate the right. We hate nationalism. We hate those who hate nationalism. We hate unionism. We hate those who hate unionism. We hate the church. We hate the gays. We hate the church that hates the gays.

(all of the above may be untrue or true. and by "we", I mean "some" and by "some" I mean a majority or a minority. depending on the day that's in it)

old hippy wrote: »
    The contents of my posts are quite happy and positive and the negative ones are there to counter the rise of malignance. They are not intended to be "Joycean". If only you could get past the cherry picking.

Am not quite sure that this is joined up writing. Anyone else confused?

WilyCoyote wrote: »

Am not quite sure that this is joined up writing. Anyone else confused?

Not as confused as you seem to be. I think most people got the gist of it. It's not meant to poetic, "Joycean" or whatever else you ascribe to it.

Your forgot the disclaimer underneath

(all of the above may be untrue or true. and by "we", I mean "some" and by "some" I mean a majority or a minority. depending on the day that's in it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 jamesjoyce1710

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    eh....Haters gonna hate

yep and playas are gonna play!!

the only constant is the game, games is the game,

so in conclusion if a hater is gonna hate, he should hate the game n not the playa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

yep and playas are gonna play!!

the only constant is the game, games is the game,

so in conclusion if a hater is gonna hate, he should hate the game n not the playa

That's just stream of consciousness rubbish.

9959 wrote: »
    That's just stream of consciousness rubbish.

That's no way to talk about James Joyce ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

There's your problem. Boards.ie isn't any more representative of "the nation" than Joe Duffy is.
    It's actually a phenomenon which is seen right across the internet, regardless of the topic. Those who take the time to find a forum and write something are more likely to be complaining about it - let's face it, you don't look for a transport forum just to come and say "Irish rail are the best!", you either come looking for information or you come to rant.

The same can be said about relationships. I remember going through a phase in which I tried to give friendly help on relationship forums and developed the sense that all long term relationships were doomed to turn into a pair of platonic flat mates who only barely tolerate eachother because they have no choice, then one day I had the beautiful epiphany of realizing that nobody comes to relationship help forums to post about how amazing their partner is, so obviously I was only going to hear the stories of relationships gone wrong if I kept hanging out there.

Chin up OP. Like 4chan, Boards.ie is presented purely for entertainment purposes. The stories posted here are artistic works of fiction and falsehood - only a fool would take anything posted here as fact.

Very well put.

I would go as far as to say that anyone feeling a bit down and depressed would do well to avoid spending much time on Boards.ie and similar sites. They are corrosive to a positive life outlook, like a slow but powerful soul-destroying radiation.

• Site Banned Posts: 103 ✭✭newsunglasses

No i think it is very stupid to tar us all with the same brush and call us a nation of haters..

Im sick of lazy stereotypes being thrown aroudn tbh..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Ah, boards.ie, or rather AH, is not representative of Irish people at all. There's a lot of negativity here. Irish people can be stereotyped as being "self loathing" but I find the self loathing MUCH worse here on boards than in real life. In real life Irish people are fun, sound, good craic, more positive "it'll be grand sure" attitude which I love :D

That said, threads come along on AH which make me literally burst out laughing with the comments - so AH does have some genuinely hilarious, witty and sound people who seem like they'd be good craic in real life. I haven't been on boards.ie for THAT long, but even I find myself thinking there used to be a lot more funny and interesting threads on here, with classic AH one-liners, wheras now there is just lots of racist, bitter, misogynist, díckhead comments. But then again, maybe nothing has changed and it is more that I spend more time on boards (I'm procrastinating more as I age :( :pac:) so I notice it more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Hammar

Ah, boards.ie, or rather AH, is not representative of Irish people at all. There's a lot of negativity here. Irish people can be stereotyped as being "self loathing" but I find the self loathing MUCH worse here on boards than in real life. In real life Irish people are fun, sound, good craic, more positive "it'll be grand sure" attitude which I love :D

That said, threads come along on AH which make me literally burst out laughing with the comments - so AH does have some genuinely hilarious, witty and sound people who seem like they'd be good craic in real life. I haven't been on boards.ie for THAT long, but even I find myself thinking there used to be a lot more funny and interesting threads on here, with classic AH one-liners, wheras now there is just lots of racist, bitter, misogynist, díckhead comments. But then again, maybe nothing has changed and it is more that I spend more time on boards (I'm procrastinating more as I age :( :pac:) so I notice it more.

I hate Jaffa Cakes, disgusting filthy yokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Hammar wrote: »
    I hate Jaffa Cakes, disgusting filthy yokes.

That's it. I'm leaving boards forever :( *sobs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Hammar

That's it. I'm leaving boards forever :( *sobs*

I would run a 10 mile marathon with 20 lb weights strapped around each ankle with a small asian man strapped to my back shouting insults at me while whipping the back of my head while a midget on a moped follows me with a paintball gun that's shooting frozen paintballs at my nether regions only to be greeted by a pack of wild hyenas that I have to kill with my bare hands blind folded just shake hands with the janitor that cleaned your high school classroom at the end of it all.

Secretly, I loves you all.