Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a nation of haters?

• 09-05-2013 5:01pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭

Sometimes I read boards.ie and I wonder if some of us are tipping over into madness or a parody so extreme, we can't see it for what it is.

We* hate ourselves. We hate foreigners. We hate ourselves for liking foreigners. We hate ourselves for hating foreigners. We hate ourselves for adopting foreign customs. We hate ourselves for not adopting foreign customs. We hate our desire to be part of the world. We hate our desire to be isolated. We hate the British. We hate those who hate the British. We hate the Americans. We love to hate the Americans. We hate those who love to hate the Americans. We hate accents. We hate D4 accents. We hate Northern accents. We hate culshie accents. We hate skanger accents. We hate bland accents. We hate those who hate the myriad of accents in our island. We hate those who left. We hate those who stayed. We hate the left. We hate the right. We hate nationalism. We hate those who hate nationalism. We hate unionism. We hate those who hate unionism. We hate the church. We hate the gays. We hate the church that hates the gays. We hate the haters who hate the church who hate gays.

(all of the above may be untrue or true. and by "we", I mean "some" and by "some" I mean a majority or a minority. depending on the day that's in it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

You know who I hate?

YOU!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Who's this we you're talking about? speak for yourself ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I like cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

I HATE cake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭SNORBEAST

I hate old hippies..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Arcsin

Goodshape wrote: »
    I HATE cake.

I ate cake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

Dude you need to chill out a bit and stop taking what people post on the internet so seriously. I cant speak for others but i definitely become more opinionated when posting on the likes of boards. Then i log off and realise i really dont give a sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

After Hours equals Real Life??? I don't think so!

The cake is a lie btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

Reading an internet forum isn't a good gauge. Boards seems to have more than it's fair share of gobsh¡tes and keyboard warriors. Would these people speak their words face-to-face like they do on here? I don't think so, or they would spend most of their day picking up their teeth.

From the people I meet in a real world situation, we're a great people! A bit begrudgerish (new word alert), but great for all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

eh....Haters gonna hate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

There should be a prize for anybody who can read that whole post without hitting the back button

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

Hate is a very strong word to. Use i think it's dislike.

Plus freedom of speech allows us to publicly dislike want we like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Nabber wrote: »
    Plus freedom of speech allows us to publicly dislike want we like
    I'd say its closer to the truth to say anonymously-publicly. That we're a nation of hatin' keyboard warriors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I hate people making up a load of crap to suit their made up pointless argument :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I HATE cake.

HERETIC!

Chucken wrote: »
    After Hours equals Real Life??? I don't think so!

The cake is a lie btw.
    There's no cake?:eek:

I hate funny chickens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Schnitzel Muncher

Is it coz I is black?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭yohan the great

Haters gon' hate potatoes gon' potate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

People throw around the word "hate" so much that it doesn't mean anything anymore.

"I hate Geordie Shore!"... Do you really hate Geordie Shore, or is it just a TV show that you don't enjoy watching? I think Geordie Shore is ****. But I don't hate it. I'm not in it's target audience so therefore do not enjoy it.

Please stop misusing the word "hate", people. You're ruining it for the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

It's said that the Irish are a nation of begruders... and being Irish and living in Ireland all my life - I have to agree. Seen alot of examples.

But I think its actually just people in general. No one wants anyone to get ahead unless its themselves (or those closest to them) Life is a rat race. So the americans, english, french etc you name it etc are the same.

Maybe we just express it more 'openly'

Haters gon' hate potatoes gon' potate
    And tomatoes gonna er. . burst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

And tomatoes gonna er. . burst.

Gonna tomat...obviously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

some people are full of hate....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

old hippy wrote: »
    Sometimes I read boards.ie and I wonder if some of us are tipping over into madness or a parody so extreme, we can't see it for what it is.

I've found over the years and various accounts I've had, boards.ie is absolutely not any kind of barometer for wider Irish society. You only have to take a break from boards for a few weeks and come back, you'll be instantly struck by the amount of ill-will, negativity and passive aggression.

So polling boards.ie is just that, polling boards.ie. Don't expect to glean any more from it than that. There are often similar polls held on thejournal.ie as there are here but when compared to each other, the results vary hugely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    eh....Haters gonna hate

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

(all of the above may be untrue or true. and by "we", I mean "some" and by "some" I mean a majority or a minority. depending on the day that's in it)

I don't understand! And by "I" I mean "I" and by "don't" I mean "don't" and by "understand" I mean "have a fuc*ing clue what you are talking about"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Fpr the hellofit i am going to Follow this post so i can recieve some hate mail in my email inbox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

kfk wrote: »
    I don't understand! And by "I" I mean "I" and by "don't" I mean "don't" and by "understand" I mean "have a fuc*ing clue what you are talking about"

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Is the name old hippy not ageist? Why do you hate old people, old hippy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭a5y

I'm having a hard time telling if your post is a parody.
    We* hate ourselves. We hate foreigners. We hate ourselves for liking foreigners. We hate ourselves for hating foreigners. We hate ourselves for adopting foreign customs. We hate ourselves for not adopting foreign customs. We hate our desire to be part of the world. We hate our desire to be isolated. We hate the British. We hate those who hate the British. We hate the Americans. We love to hate the Americans. We hate those who love to hate the Americans. We hate accents. We hate D4 accents. We hate Northern accents. We hate culshie accents. We hate skanger accents. We hate bland accents. We hate those who hate the myriad of accents in our island. We hate those who left. We hate those who stayed. We hate the left. We hate the right. We hate nationalism. We hate those who hate nationalism. We hate unionism. We hate those who hate unionism. We hate the church. We hate the gays. We hate the church that hates the gays. We hate the haters who hate the church who hate gays.

It's like you took all the dull hyperbole and hollow similes of Alanis Morrisette's Ironic and that too preachy poster from Trainspotting and and decided to breed them into some kind of weaponised wall of text.

I've read better angsty teenage poetry than this, and I feel I may be doing a disservice to angst ridden teenage poets by comparing them to this.

For what its worth I don't hate this, its just poorly composed, utterly unconvincing, built on a string of staggeringly offensive and inaccurate assumptions and passed as truth without a shred of evidence supporting it with no shortage of evidence to the contrary.

And I don't hate you, but I do dislike you. You don't think before you post and posts composed with that mindset drown out ones that took longer to be put together, editted and divided into paragraphs.

That said I appreciate the giant red arrow you pointed at yourself, sometimes its hard to decide who needs to be added to the ignore list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Gotta nuke something

elefant wrote: »
    Gotta nuke something

I nominate North Korea. Then we'll see which is best Korea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

old hippy will say anything for a bit of attention. But his latest rantings might make one assume that he has stopped taking his meds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

I hate the hate word.

It's a pointless emotion.

Complete waste of time and I hate wasting time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I HATE cake.
    As the cake is a lie, is your hate also a lie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Hate is such a smelly word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    old hippy will say anything for a bit of attention. But his latest rantings might make one assume that he has stopped taking his meds.

He just states his opinions, from reading his posts I've noticed that he's not loose, he believes in what he says. I'm sure he doesn't expect everyone to agree with him. Boards is about debate, it would be very boring if we all agreed with one another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

He just states his opinions, from reading his posts I've noticed that he's not loose, he believes in what he says. I'm sure he doesn't expect everyone to agree with him. Boards is about debate, it would be very boring if we all agreed with one another.

Well, if he believes his opening post. Oh I give up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭carrick79

This has Lily Allen written all over it, someone should contact her record agency... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Bootsy.

F*ck all that hateful sillyness, shur why would ya give an absolute flying sh*te anyway. I'm a feckin godless heathen, when we're dead we're done, let's enjoy this whole oul nonsense while we're here, peace and love a nd goddamn muthaf*ckin’ happiness all the f*king way :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

I hate travellers and chavs. Die scum !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

I've found over the years and various accounts I've had, boards.ie is absolutely not any kind of barometer for wider Irish society. You only have to take a break from boards for a few weeks and come back, you'll be instantly struck by the amount of ill-will, negativity and passive aggression.

So polling boards.ie is just that, polling boards.ie. Don't expect to glean any more from it than that. There are often similar polls held on thejournal.ie as there are here but when compared to each other, the results vary hugely.
    agreed.

its possible that what some of who people think are individuals,are all sockpuppet accounts of the same various individuals,the deviant art forum to use an example is full of one persons sockpuppeting-he isnt just using different accounts there he is pretending to be different people,the individual has ruined the whole place with their resentful, narcisistic and pyschopathic like nature.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Was Ireland ever the land of saints and scholars and the land of a thousand welcomes?

Or were we really always just a nation of begrudgers that were only happy when things were going our way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

I hate myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

You need to lay off the "funny" fags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Tbf to the OP sometimes on some threads the Irish(who mostly post on here)do come across as uber begrudgers and have a real dislike for their own country- is it a mindset I wonder? Or maybe the demographic of the age of people on here(I'd say most are in the late teens/early twenties)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

have to say I'm utterly self loathing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

gugleguy wrote: »
    have to say I'm utterly self loathing

You can get help for that:p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

You need to lay off the "funny" fags.

What does that even mean, old boy? :confused: