Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

First blonde heifer ever here. Breeding replacement already marked :D

Just lucky to catch the cow though, she decided to calve into a drain, If I'd been there 1/2 hour later the calf would have been out and drowned in it. :pac:

img2013051200093.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

EDIT- This is where she tried to calve, arseways in.

img2013051200089.jpg

Thank fook for quiet cows!

img2013051200091.jpg

Calf is KCE Blonde btw.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,966 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Hope the blonde calf has a bit of milk on the maternal figures, what is she by?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Hope the blonde calf has a bit of milk on the maternal figures, what is she by?

Kilmoney Bruce. Dam is a PR LM by Navarin and out of a Ulysse dam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Whast does the tattoo say? Though it was Kovu Murr there for a while.

pakalasa wrote: »
    Whast does the tattoo say? Though it was Kovu Murr there for a while.

Hahah not that dedicated to the username! It says 'Aut Vincere Aut Mori' which is Latin. Translates as 'Either Conquer or Die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Hahah not that dedicated to the username! It says 'Aut Vincere Aut Mori' which is Latin. Translates as 'Either Conquer or Die.

Do you like it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

First blonde heifer ever here. Breeding replacement already marked :D

Just lucky to catch the cow though, she decided to calve into a drain, If I'd been there 1/2 hour later the calf would have been out and drowned in it. :pac:

EDIT- This is where she tried to calve, arseways in.

img2013051200089.jpg

Thank fook for quiet cows!

img2013051200091.jpg

Calf is KCE Blonde btw.

Nice team kovu .
    Hope they go well for ya .
    Many left to calf???

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Nice team kovu .
    Hope they go well for ya .
    Many left to calf???
    Thanks, cow has to go this year though, her back foot has been acting up the last couple years and looking at it this morning the growth through the hoof has been ridged the last while, plus the clout (cloot?) has started to be worn away from the skin at the back. Difficult to explain in words actually!

And just the one left! She'll calve in the next day or two, another PB LM in calf to VMP.

Do you like it?

The tattoo? Or the quote?

Both

Thanks, cow has to go this year though, her back foot has been acting up the last couple years and looking at it this morning the growth through the hoof has been ridged the last while, plus the clout (cloot?) has started to be worn away from the skin at the back. Difficult to explain in words actually!

And just the one left! She'll calve in the next day or two, another PB LM in calf to VMP.

Oh stick a pic up of vmp if all goes well ...
    Bought a few straws @ eur5 last year and havent seen any progeny of him yet ;)

Both

I don't actually notice the tattoo anymore, it's been there for a few years now! The quote is off the family crest so yea, I like it.

The arm though....I'm particularly attached to that :rolleyes:

Have one off him in the field, wee blue heifer that was calved the stormy night this week. Can get a pic of her if you like! Lovely colouring, again she's off a PB LM.

Dont go outta your way , whenever you can :)
    Would you not put a LM straw into any of these cows ???
    Are the registered???

Dont go outta your way , whenever you can :)
    Would you not put a LM straw into any of these cows ???
    Are the registered???

All are RG, just not the market we're into at the moment. Most of them we crossed with LM for a year or two and kept the heifers. Originally started with one cow :o She produced two heifers in a row off Navarin, these then produced twins and a heifer and then the heifer had a heifer and the cow had another one and so on....now we have half a herd of them.

Doesnt sound like a bad herd to me so .
    I find the blonde and limousin cow cross great with a BB bull .
    Iv a pb Castleview Casino calf out of a rocky first calver that il keep .
    Hope iv as much luck as you did :D .
    Have the rocky heifer 4 month back in calf to DBZ manitou ..... trial an error maybe

Doesnt sound like a bad herd to me so .
    I find the blonde and limousin cow cross great with a BB bull .
    Iv a pb Castleview Casino calf out of a rocky first calver that il keep .
    Hope iv as much luck as you did :D .
    Have the rocky heifer 4 month back in calf to DBZ manitou ..... trial an error maybe

Is C Casino ERE? We've a smasher of a bull out of him this year, was looking for a replacement but a live calf is just as good! A lot of our cows are by Navarin or PAM. We went through a phase of using him and he seemed to produce a lot of heifers!

No castleview is CWI . Standing in Dovea....
    Lovely head on him and heifer is the same .
    Afaik he not great on the oul docility though , which is as important as the milk and fertility in replacements .

ERE is elite erasmus . Big boy that lad .

Are your limos quiet ???

No castleview is CWI . Standing in Dovea....
    Lovely head on him and heifer is the same .
    Afaik he not great on the oul docility though , which is as important as the milk and fertility in replacements .

ERE is elite erasmus . Big boy that lad .

Are your limos quiet ???

Duh Kovu....shouldn't have been so lazy and walked to the book :P

All are quiet enough, Acer, the cow in the photo was halter trained and was even ai'd in the field with it on her. Her two daughters are the same, lugs of cattle that have to be pushed out of the way, it was one of those that I had calving this week by torch to VMP. Two others are V quiet but wouldn't be trusted after calving and the other few are quiet to touch but not halter trained. So yes, all very quiet, even more docile than the crossbreeds we have. A lot to be said for having a quiet mother to a calf though, once hey watch you pet the mother they can see you as a trustworthy being.

Duh Kovu....shouldn't have been so lazy and walked to the book :P

All are quiet enough, Acer, the cow in the photo was halter trained and was even ai'd in the field with it on her. Her two daughters are the same, lugs of cattle that have to be pushed out of the way, it was one of those that I had calving this week by torch to VMP. Two others are V quiet but wouldn't be trusted after calving and the other few are quiet to touch but not halter trained. So yes, all very quiet, even more docile than the crossbreeds we have. A lot to be said for having a quiet mother to a calf though, once hey watch you pet the mother they can see you as a trustworthy being.

AI in the field ..... now your just boastin :D ....

Jaysus i could tlk bout them all day , but told herself we'd go out for dinner :rolleyes:.
    Il throw up a pic of that cwi heifer when i get a chance .
    You work on the vmp one ...
    Gluck

AI in the field ..... now your just boastin :D ....

Jaysus i could tlk bout them all day , but told herself we'd go out for dinner :rolleyes:.
    Il throw up a pic of that cwi heifer when i get a chance .
    You work on the vmp one ...
    Gluck

Enjoy the dinner, I've to go see calf now so will have it up when you get back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I don't actually notice the tattoo anymore, it's been there for a few years now! The quote is off the family crest so yea, I like it...
    Any relation to The Bull?
    (see my signature below)

pakalasa wrote: »
    Any relation to The Bull?
    (see my signature below)

I'm a woman like your mother. If ye knew how to keep the women happy you'd still be in paradise.

If ye knew how to keep the women happy you'd still be in paradise.

Sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Sorted
    Ha! Just when you think you've everything sorted.....:eek:

Here ya go Rich! Born this week, forget what night it was but it was the stormy one- ah, the Wednesday. Dam is off Palmares.

bhsdxs.jpg

img2013051200099.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭renandstimpy

20130513175139.jpg
    20130513175043.jpg
    some of last years calves .. Blacks out of our stock bull then red out of ai lm and charolais out of pedigree saler cows and ai bull vagabond
    20130513174422.jpg
    20130513174403.jpg
    previous years will be ready for factory around august .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Good grass there. I see yer place a bit flooded like ourselves, how could it be any other way! Where do you send them .... ballyhaunis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭renandstimpy

Muckit wrote: »
    Good grass there. I see yer place a bit flooded like ourselves, how could it be any other way! Where do you send them .... ballyhaunis?

Ya grass not bad but only the last 2 weeks ,cover is about 4-5 inches bit more in spots .... good ould pig slurry .... They all go to ballyhaunis alright they will be the last of the aa to get the top up in the factory .

Ya just when you think it is getting dry again it starts to rain ... and i woulnt mind that is sandy clay soil and is normally dry enough to drive across in van even in wet weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

This is a February heiffer from one of our mixed bag of FR & FRX cows, in calf to God knows what. Her card says FR but there was supposed to be some Montbeliarde in the crosses somewhere, and she looks a bit like that to me. Any opinions?

8736596802_ab4e276c1b_z.jpg