Was i right or wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Specialun wrote: »
    Nope.shes a small lab puppy.Around 15months ish

A 15 month lab aint small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

Dead right to hit him, some people think they can give all the verbal abuse they want to someone and never risk getting a smack. I can't understand swinging the stick at a dog in the first place, I can't stand animals meself but wouldn't dream of swinging at one for grabbing me ball, unless it was in me sack at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

Guy sounds like a prick. A dog took his sliotar for **** sake, it's not a big deal. I might get pissed off in the owner didn't try to get the sliotar back to me, but it sounds like you did and were apologetic even after him trying to hit your dog.

You probably shouldn't have punched him, but I don't have any sympathy for him either if your story is accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

TINA1984 wrote: »
    Well you go around punching people when you're the one who's in the wrong, so yeah, you're a scummer.

No doubt if the lads had 'lost their cool' like you did and decided to give you a few slaps of the their hurleys you'd be crying to the gards about it...

Nope i wouldnt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

If the OP had followed the law in the first place and had his dog on a lead then none of this would have happened in the first place.

So what, do you abide by every single law? Loads of people walk their dogs off a lead, does that mean that a fella could try and hit it with a hurley? No, he was the scumbag for doing that, I'm glad he got hit, pity he didn't get a proper hiding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,717 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Oh and with regard to the young lad being smart mouthed... That's just a characteristic of most kids these days.. I cycle a bit and usually one knacker in any group of teens/ young lads has some smart ar$e remark to shout after me. But unless you want to start a row with every single one of them ... and tbh, I would love to break one of their fkn jaws.. you just have to ignore it.

If you cant put up with someone making a smart remark without hitting them, then you're better off just staying at home and not putting yourself in that situation..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,096 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

kneemos wrote: »

Too small for the scumbag with the hurley all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

he then says "f uck you mate.your c unt of a dog nicked my ball". Again i apolgised and said she was wrong to which he repled "if she does it again next time i wont miss" i lost it and punched him and he landed on his hole.

You were wrong to apologise to the twat & wrong to thump him also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭TINA1984

UrbanSea wrote: »
    So what, do you abide by every single law? Loads of people walk their dogs off a lead, does that mean that a fella could try and hit it with a hurley? No, he was the scumbag for doing that, I'm glad he got hit, pity he didn't get a proper hiding

typical Irish attitute, loads of people break the law so that makes it ok so.

Oh and with regard to the young lad being smart mouthed... That's just a characteristic of most kids these days.. I cycle a bit and usually one knacker in any group of teens/ young lads has some smart ar$e remark to shout after me. But unless you want to start a row with every single one of them ... and tbh, I would love to break one of their fkn jaws.. you just have to ignore it.

If you cant put up with someone making a smart remark without hitting them, then you're better off just staying at home and not putting yourself in that situation..

True, but if you're gonna mouth off, someday you'll have to back that up.
    They won't all be 15 month old puppies...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭LowKeyReturn

Legally - you're in the wrong.

Morally - I was with you until you said 'I did boxing' and the strong punch thing - so you know your own strength and landed the first punch anyway.

My 2 cents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

In my opinion you were 100% correct in your actions. It is just regrettable that you were forced to take such actions.

For attempting to hit a dog with a hurley the guy deserved a punch irrespective of who's dog it was.

For talking to you in the manner in which he did and issuing a threat he deserved a punch.

I think that you showed great forbearance. In similar circumstances I doubt if I would have been able to.

You have my respect sir.

kneemos wrote: »

She actually is small for the breed of dog.she has dysplasia very young so wont be the same size.that mixed with her being a girl she would be a wee bit smaller

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

typical Irish attitute, loads of people break the law so that makes it ok so.

You seem to be missing the point. Who is the scumbag, the one who attempted to hit a dog with a hurl or the fella who hit him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭BQQ

Marsden wrote: »
    I can't understand swinging the stick at a dog in the first place

He was probably trying to frighten him into dropping the ball.

Hard to believe he'd miss the dog if he was really trying to hit it tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

I'll never understand the acceptance of vigilante justice on boards... You can't just punch someone in the face because you disagree with them.

I said he was around 22ish. Thats no kid.thats a yound adult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭purpur1

You sound like a right scumbag. You should have kept the dog on a leash if it was a public place as that's the law and you don't have special dispensation to ignore it if you feel like it.

Hopefully the person has rang the Gardai and you'll be caught and done for assault. Where was this park as a matter of interest....

The scumbag is the person who was trying to belt a dog with a hurley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭kingcobra

I'm afraid OP you were wrong to punch him. The other man was acting like a fool considering it was only a small dog that took the sliotar and that it'd be returned back to him fairly quickly. It still doesn't merit a punch however and you are pretty lucky you didn't get the sh**e kicked into you, including your wife if she was around you at the time.

Siuin wrote: »
    I'll never understand the acceptance of vigilante justice on boards... You can't just punch someone in the face because you disagree with them.

Bit more than a 'disagreement' though in this case if all this is accurate.
    Attempted assault on an animal, threats made, dogs off leads etc etc..........bit more than your usual in fairness.

McDermotX wrote: »
    Bit more than a 'disagreement' though in this case if all this is accurate.
    Attempted assault on an animal, threats made, dogs off leads etc etc..........bit more than your usual in fairness.

Still no excuse- the OP was not in immediate danger. You can't just assault someone because they piss you off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

You sound like your well able to look after yourself being a boxer and all that.

From the OP it sounds like it doesn't take a lot to get you aggressive.

Why is the missus angry with you?
    Because there was an altercation or because there was an altercation again?

Siuin wrote: »

It was a bit more than a disagreement.its not like he said stevie gerrard was ****e and i think otherwise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭TINA1984

You seem to be missing the point. Who is the scumbag, the one who attempted to hit a dog with a hurl or the fella who hit him?

You seem to be missing the point. You're saying its acceptable for you to assault someone even when you are the person who is clearly in the wrong.

It was a bit more than a disagreement.its not like he said stevie gerrard was ****e and i think otherwise

Yet you weren't in personal danger- you way overreacted to the situation and tbh I'd be glad to see you charged with assault. If you can't figure out that you were wrong by yourself than perhaps a trip to court would put you right. A friend of mine got one punch on a night out in Cork a few months back and now has severe brain injuries-- it only takes one punch to kill someone and you're lucky that all you did was hurt him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Your man deserved the punch but it was still a stupid thing to do. You didn't know if him or his mates were also boxers or what will happen if they see you or your girlfriend again. It's never worth starting something.

You sound like your well able to look after yourself being a boxer and all that.

From the OP it sounds like it doesn't take a lot to get you aggressive.

Why is the missus angry with you?
    Because there was an altercation or because there was an altercation again?

I cant even remember the last time i punched somebody before today.shes of the opinion that i should have walked away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭666irishguy

I think you were foolish to hit him, If he acts like that over a sliotar that cost fcuk all, then he could very well decide to try and cop a few grand out of you for hitting him. If I heard this story in less detail, the first thing I'd be asking myself is; "were they scumbags or ordinary lads?" If they were ordinary lads then I'd assume you just hit him to be a big man and you knew they hardly be the kind to lay into you. Dog should have been on a lead and none of this would have happened, but it's pointless to argue about now. If it went to court it would just look like a bunch of lads playing hurling, dog robs the sliotar, one lad chases after it waving a hurley, doesn't touch the dog, owner catches the dog, sliotar gets handed back, a few words are exchanged in the heat of the moment and a former boxer decks a lad as a result. They had three hurleys and you are the one who resorted to violence. Foolish move for the above reason, but the three of them could have turned on you and you could have been injured or worse. Lads have died from hitting their heads on the pavement in drunken arguments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Actually as the OP is a boxer, does that mean that his assault could be classified as assault with a weapon (i.e. his boxing skills)?

Remember hearing something similar before if someone with martial arts skills assault you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Both of them? Why punch him just because he offered an empty threat? Is he going to punch his wife for disagreeing with him too? Sounds like a caveman.