Was i right or wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Specialun wrote: »
    Did you even read the post?

He swung his hurley numerous times at my young dog.

Steady!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

Just be glad you don't get charged with assault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

Although I think he deserved it, normal people don't hit people for something so small. So chances are you're a dickhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Your uncontrolled animal in a public place stole his property (probably damaging it).

You apologised and he merely forewarned you about what would happen if the situation occurred again.

You overreacted and I hope you're facing criminal charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

eviltwin wrote: »
    In front of your kids too OP. Classy.

What you talking about willis

I dont have kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

What you talking about willis

I dont have kids.

You said in your OP you went over early before the kids football match began :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

Unless it's self defence, you're never justified in hitting someone no matter what they say to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

If he'd made contact with the dog it's open season as far as I'm concerned. Just be happy he missed and doggy can play another day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭TINA1984

You sound like a right scumbag. You should have kept the dog on a leash if it was a public place as that's the law and you don't have special dispensation to ignore it if you feel like it.

Hopefully the person has rang the Gardai and you'll be caught and done for assault. Where was this park as a matter of interest....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

You shouldn't have hit him, yes he was being a d1ck, but then again he shouldn't have to deal with your dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,096 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Whatever about other legalities around whether it was an off-leash park etc etc...............................I'm fairly certain there's no law governing dogs stealing property, but I'm sure attempted assault on an animal does have some fallout.
    As does smacking people......however satisfying it may be.

I bet the dog is a pitbull isn't it?

You said in your OP you went over early before the kids football match began :confused:

Not my kids.there is a few soccer pitches there so kds from 10 up to adults pay matches there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Dead right. Hope he got his nose broken, big man going for a dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,717 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Where is the third option: We were both wrong to let our dog run loose, without a muzzle, in a public place..

TINA1984 wrote: »
    You sound like a right scumbag. You should have kept the dog on a leash if it was a public place as that's the law and you don't have special dispensation to ignore it if you feel like it.

Hopefully the person has rang the Gardai and you'll be caught and done for assault. Where was this park as a matter of interest....

Does your nose bleed up there on that horse

Not my kids.there is a few soccer pitches there so kds from 10 up to adults pay matches there

In front of others people's kids then. What a big man you must feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

My first thought.

Thanks tina.Im a right scumbag.i eat kids while shooting heroin while drinking cider with my other hand

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Does your nose bleed up there on that horse

i'm on my high horse because I disagree with some knacker who thinks he can break the law when he feels like it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Lots of people deserve punches but that doesn't necessarily mean you have to be the one to punch them. Complete overreaction in my view. Let the guy talk his ****, what difference does it make?

Thanks tina.Im a right scumbag.i eat kids while shooting heroin while drinking cider with my other hand

Well you go around punching people when you're the one who's in the wrong, so yeah, you're a scummer.

No doubt if the lads had 'lost their cool' like you did and decided to give you a few slaps of the their hurleys you'd be crying to the gards about it...

i'm on my high horse because I disagree with some knacker who thinks he can break the law when he feels like it?

And was that a splendid young chap who attempted to hit a dog with a hurley and speaking so nicely when the OP apologized?

Nope.shes a small lab puppy.Around 15months ish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Some very righteous people on here, you must be all pushovers. There is no way he is facing charges from someone that swung a hurley at a dog first. He deserved a belt of the hurl himself from someone that could actually hit their intended target

kowloon wrote: »
    If he'd made contact with the dog it's open season as far as I'm concerned. Just be happy he missed and doggy can play another day.

If he made contact with her he could have done serios damage to her.shes still a puppy

In front of others people's kids then. What a big man you must feel.

I said before the kids arrive.i could see no kids.if kids were there the dog would not be loose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Would love to hear the other side of this story.

Was thinking the very same thing. I swear your honour, he head butted my fist as I was stretching...

UrbanSea wrote: »
    And was that a splendid young chap who attempted to hit a dog with a hurley and speaking so nicely when the OP apologized?

If the OP had followed the law in the first place and had his dog on a lead then none of this would have happened in the first place.

If he made contact with her he could have done serios damage to her.shes still a puppy

But he didn't.

OP I have dogs and I love them to bits but I also know how bloody annoying unleashed dogs can be when you are out in public. If someone doesn't understand dogs then you have to expect they are going to get pissed off if a dog gets in their way.

For your dogs safety she should be on a lead, its the law for one thing. If she is an active dog then you have the option of dog parks she can go to.