Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UPC Horizon Set Top Box trial

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭iDann

Does anyone have a direct contact number for Horizon Support?

This install is starting to turn into a complete pain...

Had the box installed Tuesday morning, early doors. Tech was here for an hour or so. But never got past the installation screen which displays a '1090' error code and tells you to contact customer care.

He said it would come on in a couple of hours or so - they just had to sort something in the office - said grand - went to work.

It's still displaying the same error code. I've rang UPC multiple times but basically keep getting fobbed off - That should be sorted this evening/ morning/ afternoon etc. etc.

So basically I've had no TV since Tuesday morning (and they want to charge me an activation fee too - ha!)

I'm so glad I kept my existing modem. Otherwise I'd be sitting here playing board games and listing to the radio.

Switch it off and switch it back on :) had the problem for a hour, then done that and it worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭Horrocksjm

iDann wrote: »
    Switch it off and switch it back on :) had the problem for a hour, then done that and it worked.

I had that error when mine was installed. the box was waiting to be provisioned. The box was rebooted after an hour and all came through.
    Also make sure that the engineer did not put a smart card into the back as the new horizon box does not require it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

I got an email to confirm i was selected for the Trial last week. How long does it take for them to contact you about getting the box and getting it installed?

I was just about to change supplier to sky as I was losing faith, this box is their last hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭garlad

Anyone else get a call from some company about coming out to see how you get on doing a self install?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,513 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Evilbart wrote: »
    Has ANYONE actually had a positive experience and thinks it is worth the upgrade at this point with the amount of bugs
    24 hours later, I would say that my experience has been positive. I had problems with my phone not working (now resolved after a couple of reboots), HD channels not working (resolved after a couple of reboots), DLNA client not recognizing any devices (resolved - installed twonky, but think it may have been fixed by reboots, will go back this evening and try serviio). I had to reboot the box three times yesterday (net access was fine; just the TV services/menu were not responding).

Rebooting the box is a pain, as broadband + phone + tv are all unavailable for a while. If you are someone who likes to have everything working all of the time, then you probably shouldn't go with the trial and should wait for the official release. If you don't mind the occasion reboot/downtime in order to get access to the product sooner (and reap the trial rewards), then give it a lash. It is not an early adopter opportunity, it's a trial.

garlad wrote: »
    Anyone else get a call from some company about coming out to see how you get on doing a self install?

Yeah, i'm having some market research lads coming out to watch me install it and do a small interview. Getting an extra €50 for the bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭cassette50

Eamo71 wrote: »
    How much are you being charged for the upgrade in speed?

It was a free upgrade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭bob11

Hi Guys,

I just for the email asking me to sign up online with a link to the 2 packages for 68.50 or 78.50 per month for either 50 or 100 Meg bundles with anywhere 100 ..

I am currently on
    Fibre Power Max HD anytime world for 81 Euros (30 meg) plus
    2 additional boxes 1 with HD + , so my monthly total is 96 Euros ..

I want to keep my anytime world package (unlimited landline calls) but would love to get the 100 Meg upgrade for same price if I could.

Before I make the call, can anyone else share what pricing they have been offered for the Horizon 100 Meg bundle with Anytime World ?

Thanks in advance,

Bob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭your desired user name

Have been upgraded to 100mb ..Achieving close to this wired, but the best from wifi is 47mb..
    Is anyone getting in excess of 50mb with the new box on wifi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Mikey23

Expecting the courier this afternoon with the new box so sat down to watch a few recorded Daily Shows. My existing box appears to have deleted all my recordings tho - 100% free. I've reset it but no change.

Is this a coincidence or part of the experience others have had on the trial?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

Have been upgraded to 100mb ..Achieving close to this wired, but the best from wifi is 47mb..
    Is anyone getting in excess of 50mb with the new box on wifi?

Im getting 74mb on wifi. Its better than I was getting with the old one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

Mikey23 wrote: »
    Expecting the courier this afternoon with the new box so sat down to watch a few recorded Daily Shows. My existing box appears to have deleted all my recordings tho - 100% free. I've reset it but no change.

I didn't have that, well not last night anyway, I didn't look this morning but our box was taken away about 11am so didn't have time to watch anything anyway.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

Mikey23 wrote: »

Same thing happened me. Noticed about 3 nights ago that all my recordings were gone. Although the planner was still ok.
    Presumed it was just me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭wowzer

Box installed 2 hours ago, still no phone or broadband. Engineer said it could take an hour for it to come on. Was this the same for everyone else or did the bb, phone and tv work more or less straight away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

wowzer wrote: »
    Box installed 2 hours ago, still no phone or broadband. Engineer said it could take an hour for it to come on. Was this the same for everyone else or did the bb, phone and tv work more or less straight away?

What area are you in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭wowzer

What area are you in?

Dublin 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭sexylou138

goose06 wrote: »
    Have a look at this and see if this helps you're wifi speeds

http://www.countrymilewifi.com/simple-free-ways-improve-wifi-reception.aspx

Thanks for that..but as you know the horizon box is the router/modem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Evilbart

Ok still waiting for technician was told three times by UPC the last few days that he would be here before 2pm and not even a phonecall yet? Guess I just wasted half my day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭sexylou138

Just to let EVERYONE know..UPC DO NOT want your old boxes back. You keep them. You can cancel the trial and revert to your old package at ANYTIME
    If you're asked to return it REFUSE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Meesared

sexylou138 wrote: »
    Just to let EVERYONE know..UPC DO NOT want your old boxes back. You keep them. You can cancel the trial and revert to your old package at ANYTIME
    Technically true, but after the trial is over and you keep the Horizon, they will likely want the old boxes back, they will be useless after you get Horizon installed as it will be deactivated. But hold onto the box all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭irish_stu

Awaiting dpd to the d24 area for delivery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭goose06

Thanks for that..but as you know the horizon box is the router/modem

Sorry thought you had mentioned you were using your old router still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭ozmo

darraghn wrote: »
    Not so good so far

...overscan pushes some of the screen off the edge of my 1080p 40" Samsung - - not sure how I can fix it with Horizon...

There is a "GAME Mode" setting on the Samsung TVs you can manually set the HDMI channel to - it has Zero overscan and fixes this
    - works great for actual game consoles too(otherwise you are missing a huge portion of the screen).

“Roll it back”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Gdauto123

Did anyone else lose the remote record option on the horizon iPhone app ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭ozmo

Free Internal 3.5" Sata hardrive - yay! (only joking - Im sure they want them back - my sister for one has been hassling them for weeks to get a modern HDR (black) UPC box - she was installed this year but given this really ancient noisy huge yoke that takes ages to startup - but they said there was none of the newer types available)

“Roll it back”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

Which one of the UPC boxes are you speaking about?
    I specifically asked about this on the phone before install and also asked the engineer when it was installed. I was told I could not keep the old box, it had to go back to UPC. It was either one or the other but I can't keep both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭flanna

Self installed mine in the last hour without any hassle, going through the channels though and the aspect ratio on some of them are changing on their own and still trying to find a code to pair the remote to my tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭JKGT

Self install is the same as any other upc self install.... 15 mins to setup, Getting around 75mbs wireless and the range seems to be a lot better...

Currently my router is 192.168.15.1, and everything else has an ip between 192.168.15.2 and 192.168.15.255
    Does the horizon box have an ip of 192.168.192.1?
    Can you change it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,270 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

I had my install this afternoon.

Went fine.

Phone - working fine
    Broadband - works fine. Same speeds as I was getting before (100mb line).
    TV - will take getting used to.

I reconfigured the box with the settings I used previously, for IP, SSID, password, etc. So, I don't need to change any of my home network setup. Very easy to do.

TV - the UI is fast and easy to use. Looks slick. Picture is clear. I have it set to 1080p, without issue. The audio though, seems to be bad. Cutting in and out. I'm using it via HDMI from the box to an AV receiver. I also tried using the SPDIF connection, with the same result. I will continue to play with it, and check a few things.