Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

a sports podcast is completely different to comedy or tech though. if you listen to it a few days after, then it's not news. likewise, listening to people talk about what happened 4,5,6 or 7 days ago, which is what it would be if it was only out on a tuesday, wouldn't be as appealing.

there was talk on the radio last night about how tv is changing more to on demand, and people will watch what they want, when they want, except with sport which has to be live. i think it'll be the same with this podcast. a lot of the posters in this thread listen to the football show either live, or on the way to work the next day but no one really listens to them a few days later because the news is out of date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

As far as I know one of the Off the Ball presenters is still on 'Gardening Leave' and they are waiting for that to run out before they can announce where they are going. This is alluded to in the Irish Times piece which states that the only place you can hear the lads THIS MONTH is on the IT podcast. Four of them had a clause in their contracts which stated that they have to wait for one month before being able to return to broadcasting, the fifth member had a three month clause. That the IT gig is not a radio show per se obviously allows them an earlier return.

There's a lot of whispers that they will be going to RTÉ.

It's fairly obvious that this is not their big return to broadcasting. Their big return will be a big return.

Clutching at straws big time there. They way over-estimated their standing and have now been reduced to a weekly podcast. All because they were insisting on an extra half hour being taken from a far more popular show. Bet if they had the option to go back, they'd have accepted Newstalk's decision and left things as they were. Especially the producers or whatever they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

The Irish Times is a really good platform to be attached to. IMO the IT really needs to move into this area. You click on a sports story and have the Second Captains take on the topic embedded; People click around the site more.

RTÉ has multiple platforms available to them on their site. The Irish Times breaking news is being supplanted by twitter, broadsheet, balls.ie ect. They still have long form competitive advantages but you always need new ways to attract users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Ok im over the initial disappointment of not having the lads back on 5 nights a week, Looking forward to hearing them in full flow next Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Clutching at straws big time there. They way over-estimated their standing and have now been reduced to a weekly podcast. All because they were insisting on an extra half hour being taken from a far more popular show. Bet if they had the option to go back, they'd have accepted Newstalk's decision and left things as they were. Especially the producers or whatever they were.

Is it not the case that mcdevitt is still on gardening leave? Doesnt that mean they can't (assuming they stick together) go back on radio yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,057 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Is it not the case that mcdevitt is still on gardening leave? Doesnt that mean they can't (assuming they stick together) go back on radio yet?

My guess is his gardening leave prohibits him from radio work, but he's possibly allowed on other media types (e.g. podcast) before that. Hence the statement re. this month the only place to listen to the second captains is on the irish times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

according to balls.ie, his gardening leave ended over the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Chris 80

I reckon there has to be more than a poxy Irish Times podcast. If there isn't, well then they're feckin eejits for giving up a national gig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

One hour a week, covering all sports won't work IMO. There'll be something else soon. Why else would the statement read "this month.."?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,346 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Chris 80 wrote: »
    I reckon there has to be more than a poxy Irish Times podcast. If there isn't, well then they're feckin eejits for giving up a national gig.

That had absolutely no room for growth? Yeah i hate ambition so much....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Chris 80 wrote: »

They didn't. They were sacked.

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/03/06/losing-it/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

VinLieger wrote: »
    That had absolutely no room for growth? Yeah i hate ambition so much....:rolleyes:

Be fun to see if they can hit 40,000 listeners with a podcast now, and how big it can get if it is to last more than a month. This will give a good indication of how big their show could have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭GSF

The test is that there is nothing they are doing today, podcast, web streaming, writing for the papers, etc that they couldnt also be doing whilst still on the radio working for NewsTalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Cazale

They have a new Facebook page and have described the podcast as "the first step back"

https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=491143324266754&__user=100001595449847

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Chris 80

Skid X wrote: »

They put a gun in their employers hands. Was it really feasible to take over an hour of the most popular show on newstalk? Come on.....Their egos got the better of them. I think this is a Roy Keane/ Mick McCarthy Saipan argument. Personally I'm with Mick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

Ken Early on the Vincent Browne show tonight previewing the newspapers. Should be interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,057 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Ken Early on the Vincent Browne show tonight previewing the newspapers. Should be interesting

Was he any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Expunge

The whole OTB5 business is a great lesson for those working in the media in Ireland today to have a realistic sense of one's own worth.

Yes the show was great. I miss it, but I cannot believe the arrogance and sheer stupidity with which these boys went about things in their dealings with their employer - in as much as we know about it anyway.

For the sort of broadcasting these lads do/did there are really only two options in Ireland - Communicorp and RTE. They have burned their bridges with communicorp and the word must be out about their collegiate stroppiness elsewhere.

Now all that's left is a podcast - a podcast - from the Irish Times.
    Surely an act of charity if ever there was one from a company well known for taking in refugees from time to time.

Be realistic about your worth or end up like them.
    I'm sure we'll hear of one or two of them again. The rest have nothing special to offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭rafi bomb

Expunge wrote: »
    The whole OTB5 business is a great lesson for those working in the media in Ireland today to have a realistic sense of one's own worth.

Yes the show was great. I miss it, but I cannot believe the arrogance and sheer stupidity with which these boys went about things in their dealings with their employer - in as much as we know about it anyway.

For the sort of broadcasting these lads do/did there are really only two options in Ireland - Communicorp and RTE. They have burned their bridges with communicorp and the word must be out about their collegiate stropiness elsewhere.

Now all that's left is a podcast - a podcast - from the Irish Times.
    Surely an act of charity if ever there was one from a company well known for taking in refugees from time to time.

Be realistic about your worth or end up like them.
    I'm sure we'll hear of one or two of them again. The rest have nothing special to offer.

Its not all that's left though is it? They have even said on their facebook page in reply to someone saying that about the podcast to "be patient"

People keep saying all this ****e about how they are stuck with a times podcast when they have no idea what's actually going on

Yep, Rafi bomb, your are right I don't know anymore than anyone else but the facts are that these lads were holding a decentish evening time audience with a show which was different and entertaining on national radio.

Somewhere along the way, they thought their 'cult classic' should really become a primetime big hitter. They were told to cop themselves on by those responsible for running the whole operation. They didn't and today - not tomorrow - they are holding their puny dicks on an Irish Times podcast - Jobbridge by another name.

The reputational damage to these lads is, in my view, enormous.

This is where the story lies today. Because of the stupidity and God complex of one or all of these college radio lads who achieved a lot through breaks, hard work and talent and then blew it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭northernpower

Yep, Rafi bomb, your are right I don't know anymore than anyone else but the facts are that these lads were holding a decentish evening time audience with a show which was different and entertaining on national radio.

Somewhere along the way, they thought their 'cult classic' should really become a primetime big hitter. They were told to cop themselves on by those responsible for running the whole operation. They didn't and today - not tomorrow - they are holding their puny dicks on an Irish Times podcast - Jobbridge by another name.

This is where the story lies today. Because of the stupidity and God complex of one or all of these college radio lads who achieved a lot through breaks, hard work and talent and then blew it.

Catch a fu**kin grip will ye

"Catch a fu**kin grip will ye"

Okay, northernpower, in response to your elegant retort, I will change 'God Complex' to 'serious and expensive overestimation of worth'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Do you think? I'm not sure that's the case actually.

As we all know, the show had a relatively (compared to Hook) loyal fanbase. I'd imagine the vast majority of those either agree with the 5 that they should have been given a chance to get some of the drivetime audience, or don't care how they dealt with the situation as long as they come back on air soon.

So I think "enormous" may be an exaggeration.

Their reputations in the industry are a different story though.

Yes, I meant reputation in the industry.
    Obviously I can't know for sure, but it can't look good in the eyes of a PD or head of sport after what has happened here.
    They may think to themselves, yeah, I could work with one but not the five and also it may be known privately in these circles who the ringleader or ringleaders are and they may have a smell of trouble from them for some time to come.

Of course I don't know, I am merely speculating.

Reputation of the OTB 5 in the eyes of their fanboys here and elsewhere clearly matters to no one, judging by the actions of Newstalk management.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

dulpit wrote: »
    Was he any good?

He was in with the review of the papers with NT's Jonathan Healy... He was talking about Alex Ferguson leaving united, as most of the papers had a headline which related to that story... He explained to Vincent that the term "hairdryer" was a metaphor, and Ferguson hadnt in fact thrown a hairdryer at David Beckham (which was what Vincent though happened). It was a very short segment, couldnt have been longer than five minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

dulpit wrote: »
    Was he any good?

Good to see young Burley back on air ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Do you think? I'm not sure that's the case actually.

As we all know, the show had a relatively (compared to Hook) loyal fanbase. I'd imagine the vast majority of those either agree with the 5 that they should have been given a chance to get some of the drivetime audience, or don't care how they dealt with the situation as long as they come back on air soon.

So I think "enormous" may be an exaggeration.

Their reputations in the industry are a different story though.

Loyal, but very small in numbers and at the end of the day the ratings say it all. Good luck to the lads, tens of people at waiting to hear their new show!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Loyal, but very small in numbers and at the end of the day the ratings say it all. Good luck to the lads, tens of people at waiting to hear their new show!!!

Sorry, I messed up there. That should have read "relatively small (compared to Hook)".

And let's not argue over the ratings again, it leads nowhere good. :P

"They only had 40k listeners."
    "But that was the highest rated show in that slot! If they had a better slot they'd have better ratings!"
    "But their ratings couldn't justify them getting a move!"
    "If they moved their ratings would've eventually justified it!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 JJ10

any time i see Ken on TV or in a paper I'm still shocked that he looks nothing like I had imagined him to be like. The segment is sooo out of place on Vinny B show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

Ah he got a new studio...