why is there a need to be so ignorant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

I simply say no thank you and move on. However, I have had individuals yell after me trying to make me feel guilty for not donating. That is what is egregious. I think some cross the line between assertiveness and physical/emotional assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Just a "no thanks" and walk on will do.

Except it dosent and they continue to badger you for money. Honestly, they wouldnt be a very good chugger (oxymoron!) if they gave up on your first no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,428 ✭✭✭cml387

If only..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Arcsin wrote: »
    Occupational hazard if you're a chugger.

She was probably a bit too harsh, but the way chuggers invade your space is AS rude, IMO, in a different way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

When back in Ireland, I tell them I've no work and no welfare as I'm a returned Irishman.
    They dont believe me and look at me funny, but it's the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Oops maybe I should back off with the shoryuken. Probably not the most polite thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Turtyturd wrote: »
    It really won't

Agreed, I have actually seen chuggers chase people in the street. I once had to step onto the road to sidestep one once. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

hey op, have you got a sec?

Catch You Next Tuesday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Catch You Next Tuesday, my good man.

Cant Understand New Techology indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

The only ignorance in this thread is thinking that a polite "no thanks" will ensure a chugger will stop harassing you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Arcsin

I simply say no thank you and move on. However, I have had individuals yell after me trying to make me feel guilty for not donating. That is what is egregious. I think some cross the line between assertiveness and physical/emotional assault.

Emotional assault? Is that like hurting someone's feelings to a criminal degree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ask them how much they give out of their wages to the charity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I know chuggers are annoying but I don't think anyone should be told to f*ck off just for trying to do their job.

According to the OP he wasn't harassing her, so the woman telling him to f*ck off is the height of rudeness IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

if they are harassing you, by all means tell them to feck off, but to tell them to feck off on the first contact is just knackery.
    And as it was a woman in the OP, most unladylike and I'd bet she was on her way to see Dr. Clap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

At least they're not robbing, begging or spending dole money in the pub.
    I'd be more likely to tell a physically -able begger to "Feck off".

They kind of are begging. They're bothering people going about their business on the street for money in order to support themselves.
    Actual beggars are actually less annoying, they mostly just sit there with their cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

As the title said why so ignorant?
    I was sitting at the central bank today waiting for a friend, there were some chuggers around when this one fella waved and said hello to a passing women when she just shouted f++k off? Now i know these guys can annoy ye sometimes but it turns out its the young lads first day from what i heard but this really rude arrogant woman really upset the poor kid! I say she should be ashamed of herself tbh has there was no need for it, what do not peoples think?
    If you take 250 people storming down/ strolling down the pavement outside the central bank, a proportion of them are going to have something going on their lives that is making them very f*cking pissed off.

That's fine. They can keep it to themselves, maybe even if you bang into them, cut in front of them, or hold them up. When the green man turns orange as they arrive at the pedestrian crossing, they grit their teeth and stare at their feet.

But a chugger CANNOT invade that persons day with an entirely contrived greeting and an ulterior motive, and expect that person to smile back at the chugger.

They're thinking "That chugger just looked me up and down with their grubby eyes and decided to invade my bad mood to get their commission"

Chugger is lucky to get away with a f*ck off, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭burgermasters

hey op, have you got a sec?

No thanks im in a hurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭burgermasters

If you take 250 people storming down/ strolling down the pavement outside the central bank, a proportion of them are going to have something going on their lives that is making them very f*cking pissed off.

That's fine. They can keep it to themselves, maybe even if you bang into them, cut in front of them, or hold them up. When the green man turns orange as they arrive at the pedestrian crossing, they grit their teeth and stare at their feet.

But a chugger CANNOT invade that persons day with an entirely contrived greeting and an ulterior motive, and expect that person to smile back at the chugger.

They're thinking "That chugger just looked me up and down with their grubby eyes and decided to invade my bad mood to get their commission"

Chugger is lucky to get away with a f*ck off, tbh.

Point taken, but the chuggers don't know if your going through some hard times! They are in fact just doing a job! If i am not in a rush i give them the time of day! If in a rush i just say sorry don't have the time or whatever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I've found that a nice polite 'no thanks' is working wonders for me with them lately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭bacon n eggs

Ignorance is not knowing, lack of knowledge.

Lady knew what she was doing so just rude. Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

P_1 wrote: »
    I've found that a nice polite 'no thanks' is working wonders for me with them lately

I use the invisible chugger technique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭xxmeabhxx

I have been approached by some very rude chuggers to be honest. A simple no thanks doesn't always cut it. Once I was walking along, made no eye contact or gave any sign I was remotely interested in them but a girl still came over. I said "Sorry, I'm in a rush" and the girl just said "no problem, I'll walk with you!" and started walking along yapping away about whatever charity it was she was collecting for. That's a bit OTT in my opinion, if someone says no then leave them alone. Now I've never cursed at them but I can't say I've never been tempted. They have been getting better though. I think they've been told to tone it down maybe because it's been months since I've been pursued by one after clearly showing disinterest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

Point taken, but the chuggers don't know if your going through some hard times! They are in fact just doing a job! If i am not in a rush i give them the time of day! If in a rush i just say sorry don't have the time or whatever!

Some people don't have life too easy and others could be going through a rough time. The chugger basically temporarly forces their way into that persons life. Some people react different. I personally pretend they're invisible unless they physically block my path and depending on my mood the tone of the "go away" can change.

Chuggers are just doing their job. But people are just living their lives and don't give a f*ck if a noisy professional charity collector feels a little hurt by their remarks. I'd bet the lady in the OP has probably forgotten about this interaction by now and that chugger will never approach her again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

It saves time. Smiling politely doesn't work, neither does trying to walk past them. On more than one occasion these people have stood right in front of me in the street and physically stopped me from walking.

At least telling them to fuck off straight away lets them know not to waste their time or yours. Some of them should count themselves lucky they don't get punched in the face for harassing people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I once saw a woman in the street selling scratchcards for charity and bought one off of her. I saw her again about ten minutes later and she asked me again if I wanted to buy one. I said "I just bought one off you a few minutes ago". She said "did you?" as if I was lying. I saw her again a while later and she asked me for the third time. At this stage I stopped being polite and just ignored her. I didn't tell her to fuck off but I felt like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I once saw a woman in the street selling scratchcards for charity and bought one off of her. I saw her again about ten minutes later and she asked me again if I wanted to buy one. I said "I just bought one off you a few minutes ago". She said "did you?" as if I was lying. I saw her again a while later and she asked me for the third time. At this stage I stopped being polite and just ignored her. I didn't tell her to fuck off but I felt like it.

Admit it, you were stalking her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭leedslad

endacl wrote: »

Actually, come to think of it, chuggers are third lowest. Politician, clamper, than chugger.

So estate agents and solicitor's stock has risen since the recession?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Fluorescence

I've only ever told chuggers to feic off twice. Normally I'll be friendly and say "No sorry" with a smile. But sometimes the fuckers just won't leave you be.

One guy followed me down the street because I had a Schuh bag in my hand and told me I should feel ashamed for spending my money on banalities and wouldn't spare him a cent. So I asked him when the last time he'd donated to charity was, cause I'd donated €50 that month (it was at the time of SFF last year), and to kindly fuck off. I was fuming for 3 days after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Aced_Up

No need to be so rude.

I usually say "no thanks" or "I have an interview"... They sometimes say "good luck!"

If I'm feeling cheeky, I would create a shocked face while pointing up... If they look up I speed past.

One kept shouting "Irish Cancer?" to passers by, said it to my bro... He replied "err, no thanks". Had me in stitches! The chugger should not say it with annotation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Guy/girl who gets off his/her hole and gets a job no one would really want = scum

Guy/girl who won't get out of bed for less than 1700-1800 a month because it's "not worth their while"= poor aul crater down on their luck