Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why is there a need to be so ignorant?

• 08-05-2013 5:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭burgermasters

As the title said why so ignorant?
    I was sitting at the central bank today waiting for a friend, there were some chuggers around when this one fella waved and said hello to a passing women when she just shouted f++k off? Now i know these guys can annoy ye sometimes but it turns out its the young lads first day from what i heard but this really rude arrogant woman really upset the poor kid! I say she should be ashamed of herself tbh has there was no need for it, what do not peoples think?

• Site Banned Posts: 124 ✭✭The Queen of England

All chuggers should be told to fuck off on a daily basis.

It's not rude. Well, OK, it is rude, but no ruder than an annoying young twat trying to extricate money from you on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

While I wouldn't be so rude, I know people who've done those jobs and they got a lot of the money, so I wouldn't lose sleep over it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭lachin

What's a chugger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

No there's no need to be that ignorant. A lot of folks lack manners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

lachin wrote: »
    What's a chugger
    A slow choo-choo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

It would be just as easy to ignore him, so yes she was ignorant but she might be fed up been harassed every day. I guess it's what they let themselves in for when they accept the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

No need for that at all. Yes they are annoying but it's their job. Just say you've already signed up or point at your invisible watch, smile and leg it. Imagine being on the receiving end of a "Fcuk off" at work!! Not nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭burgermasters

As annoying as they can be there is no need what so ever to be that rude to anybody? I am sure that lady wouldn't like it if was her be spoken to in that manner when there is no need for it? I stand firm she should ashamed of herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

I've always wondered why ignorant came to mean rude over the last while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

What's a chugger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

What's a chugger

chug·ger [chuhg-er]
    noun
    a type of person that deserves to be told to fook off.
    Also called scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Moofster

Well it's really rude.. like i don't like them, but i would'nt be mean to them they're just working!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Hi OP, it's not so much a need in my case, it's more of a hobby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Jimmy Rabbitte Snr

Chugger: Charity Mugger!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Arcsin

Occupational hazard if you're a chugger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

What's a chugger

A charity mugger- one of those annoying "friendly" types who excitedly run towards you on the street, waving a clipboard trying desperatly to get you to donate to charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Chugger: Charity Mugger!!

.....penny drops. Thank you kindly. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭lachin

Right I googled it... Feel a bit thick I didn't know. So it's either a beer pump or paid charity worker....

.....penny drops. Thank you kindly. :)

You're most welcome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I personally think they are a scourge on the city-scape. The practice should be banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Who the hell can even remember their bank account details, never mind hand them over to a student called Fionn? Fionn wearing a luminous yellow bib and stylised facial hair.

A polite 'no thank you' normally does the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Just a "no thanks" and walk on will do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Sergeant wrote: »
    Who the hell can even remember their bank account details, never mind hand them over to a student called Fionn? Fionn wearing a luminous yellow bib and stylised facial hair.

I can! My account number is 72 ahWAIT A MINUTE! Nice try Sergeant. Nice try.

Sergeant wrote: »

More to the point who is going to pass them to a stranger on the street, regardless of his/her I.D!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

SCOOP 64 wrote: »

It really won't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

All chuggers should be told to fuck off on a daily basis.

It's not rude. Well, OK, it is rude, but no ruder than an annoying young twat trying to extricate money from you on the street.
    Elitist, populist crap.
    I take it you have a job and you're alright, Jack.
    For a lot of these young people, it's the only work available.
    At least they're not robbing, begging or spending dole money in the pub.
    I'd be more likely to tell a physically -able begger to "Feck off".

If you don't want to pay a chugger...."No, thank you" and walk on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I try to be polite but my patience with chuggers ran thin after the 4,679th time they tried to block my path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Now i know these guys can annoy ye sometimes but it turns out its the young lads first day from what i heard but this really proactive, assertive, civic-minded woman really upset the poor kid!
    FYP

So, quite possibly his last day too? Well done, that woman. Pick them off one at a time. The only form of professional life lower than a chugger is a clamper. And yes, I do include door to door selling and telemarketing.

Actually, come to think of it, chuggers are third lowest. Politician, clamper, than chugger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

hey op, have you got a sec?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

No good if they insist on following you up the street. F off is too right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

I simply say no thank you and move on. However, I have had individuals yell after me trying to make me feel guilty for not donating. That is what is egregious. I think some cross the line between assertiveness and physical/emotional assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

Except it dosent and they continue to badger you for money. Honestly, they wouldnt be a very good chugger (oxymoron!) if they gave up on your first no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

If only..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Arcsin wrote: »
    Occupational hazard if you're a chugger.

She was probably a bit too harsh, but the way chuggers invade your space is AS rude, IMO, in a different way.

When back in Ireland, I tell them I've no work and no welfare as I'm a returned Irishman.
    They dont believe me and look at me funny, but it's the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Oops maybe I should back off with the shoryuken. Probably not the most polite thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Turtyturd wrote: »
    It really won't

Agreed, I have actually seen chuggers chase people in the street. I once had to step onto the road to sidestep one once. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Catch You Next Tuesday.

Catch You Next Tuesday, my good man.

Cant Understand New Techology indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

The only ignorance in this thread is thinking that a polite "no thanks" will ensure a chugger will stop harassing you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Arcsin

I simply say no thank you and move on. However, I have had individuals yell after me trying to make me feel guilty for not donating. That is what is egregious. I think some cross the line between assertiveness and physical/emotional assault.

Emotional assault? Is that like hurting someone's feelings to a criminal degree?

ask them how much they give out of their wages to the charity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I know chuggers are annoying but I don't think anyone should be told to f*ck off just for trying to do their job.

According to the OP he wasn't harassing her, so the woman telling him to f*ck off is the height of rudeness IMO.

if they are harassing you, by all means tell them to feck off, but to tell them to feck off on the first contact is just knackery.
    And as it was a woman in the OP, most unladylike and I'd bet she was on her way to see Dr. Clap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

At least they're not robbing, begging or spending dole money in the pub.
    I'd be more likely to tell a physically -able begger to "Feck off".

They kind of are begging. They're bothering people going about their business on the street for money in order to support themselves.
    Actual beggars are actually less annoying, they mostly just sit there with their cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

As the title said why so ignorant?
    I was sitting at the central bank today waiting for a friend, there were some chuggers around when this one fella waved and said hello to a passing women when she just shouted f++k off? Now i know these guys can annoy ye sometimes but it turns out its the young lads first day from what i heard but this really rude arrogant woman really upset the poor kid! I say she should be ashamed of herself tbh has there was no need for it, what do not peoples think?
    If you take 250 people storming down/ strolling down the pavement outside the central bank, a proportion of them are going to have something going on their lives that is making them very f*cking pissed off.

That's fine. They can keep it to themselves, maybe even if you bang into them, cut in front of them, or hold them up. When the green man turns orange as they arrive at the pedestrian crossing, they grit their teeth and stare at their feet.

But a chugger CANNOT invade that persons day with an entirely contrived greeting and an ulterior motive, and expect that person to smile back at the chugger.

They're thinking "That chugger just looked me up and down with their grubby eyes and decided to invade my bad mood to get their commission"

Chugger is lucky to get away with a f*ck off, tbh.

No thanks im in a hurry.

If you take 250 people storming down/ strolling down the pavement outside the central bank, a proportion of them are going to have something going on their lives that is making them very f*cking pissed off.

That's fine. They can keep it to themselves, maybe even if you bang into them, cut in front of them, or hold them up. When the green man turns orange as they arrive at the pedestrian crossing, they grit their teeth and stare at their feet.

But a chugger CANNOT invade that persons day with an entirely contrived greeting and an ulterior motive, and expect that person to smile back at the chugger.

They're thinking "That chugger just looked me up and down with their grubby eyes and decided to invade my bad mood to get their commission"

Chugger is lucky to get away with a f*ck off, tbh.

Point taken, but the chuggers don't know if your going through some hard times! They are in fact just doing a job! If i am not in a rush i give them the time of day! If in a rush i just say sorry don't have the time or whatever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I've found that a nice polite 'no thanks' is working wonders for me with them lately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭bacon n eggs

Ignorance is not knowing, lack of knowledge.

Lady knew what she was doing so just rude. Simples.