Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UPC Horizon Set Top Box trial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

iDann wrote: »
    Did it say something about unable to complete installation?

Yip, but the technician said it would fix itself, it didn't look like a screen that was retrying, once I got him out the door I rebooted, he was going to call back after next appointment but no need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭iDann

JoeyJJ wrote: »
    Yip, but the technician said it would fix itself, it didn't look like a screen that was retrying, once I got him out the door I rebooted, he was going to call back after next appointment but no need.

Same problem here. They came and installed it after telling me the appointment was cancelled. Thanks I'll do that there :D

Hopefully it works, was chancing my arm but yer man was unsure himself worst I thought it would do was fail again and sher where is that worse off :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,513 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

darraghn wrote: »
    The only delay was getting the provisioning done at the back end - apparently it has been slow to date but getting better.
    That's what bothers me about the self-install option. Nobody to escalate the provisioning for you. At least it's an 1800- support number for self-install.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭Horrocksjm

Waiting here with anticipation for a upc engineer to show up and install my horizon box. One question. Is it possible to watch a channel from the box on an iPad not using the new app which I believe is separate. Have seen some differing views on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Meesared

Horrocksjm wrote: »
    Waiting here with anticipation for a upc engineer to show up and install my horizon box. One question. Is it possible to watch a channel from the box on an iPad not using the new app which I believe is separate. Have seen some differing views on this.
    Well you can watch TV online through Horizon online, but you do need the app

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭lar77

Been playing with it for a day now. The speed of channel change, guide etc is great, the menus are slick if a little over complicated. So lots of improvements over the old HD box but ....

The pic switches to an over all light blue, almost inverted image now and again. Sometimes it fixes itself, others I had to pull the HDMI and plug it back in. Switched the box to RGB to see if that fixes it.

Have had a lot of freezes, especially when you hold down the arrow button the scan through the guide quickly. Is there a way of changing the day on the guide??

The box would not turn on this morning with the remote or the power button on the front of the box. Had to kill the power with the switch on the back and reboot.

Once I got no pic at all, had to reboot.

The general image quality (excluding HD) is not as sharp as the old HD box.

The box is much noisier than the old HD box, even in standby.

When on the Medium power standby the box does a sort of reboot when powered on, takes a good while.

Youtube vids won't play. The other apps seem ok.

Is there a quick way of seeing what is currently being recorded?

Using my own router (works with the Horizon WiFi still active) so not sure how good the built in Wifi is. I can see both the Horizon wifi and my routers wifi two stories up (attic) and the Horizon signal is much weaker than the linksys router.

Ah sorry I was under the impression the box would broadcast to an iPad like using it as an additional screen.

What apps does the horizon box have installed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭grimm2005

Got the email yesterday to sign up online, rang the number posted up here instead as I wanted to make sure I kept what I have on the current package and also to make sure I get to keep the router and use it in another room. All set up alright and the new package is actually a little bit cheaper then what we were paying currently. Was told that DPD will text to arrange delivery with Thursday being the latest and we'll also get an email to confirm all the changes. Have yet to recieve either a text or email yet though. Looks like they've gone for the self install option in my case anyway, which is fine by me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

Just got the email this morning to register online, but as above, I just got a "free" upgrade from 120Mbps to 150Mbps so I don't want to be downgraded to 100Mbps, nor sign up for 12 months, particularly for a service that's still in beta.

Will call the number above instead.

Edit - the text at the bottom of the email:
    When you are accepted onto the trial you will be required to move to a new bundle. You will be asked to provide feedback on your experience of the service which will be used to ensure the service offers the best experience when we launch to the public.

I thought this had been denied above?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭grimm2005

One thing I should mention, that they told me that I was on a 120mb connection and that I'd either have to move down to 100mb or upto 150mb for an extra €5 a month. Since I was never notified or even knew that I was given an upgrade to 120mb I just asked to go back to 100mb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭garlad

Anyone with the box try and do port forwarding? Be nice to get confirmation on this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭iDann

Does anyone get this...screen goes blank if your playing music, But sound stays, it seems to happen when I stream it from twonky on my iPhone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Hi Lads

If the router is installed in the box, can I still keep my old router (no wireless) as I have it attached to the Airport Extreme and the NAS, Apple TV, TV, Xbox attached to that network

These are all (except TV) in a different room that the current box and TV

I don't want to have to move NAS, Xbox etc into the living room

Cheers

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭belmulletman

Hi Lads

If the router is installed in the box, can I still keep my old router (no wireless) as I have it attached to the Airport Extreme and the NAS, Apple TV, TV, Xbox attached to that network

These are all (except TV) in a different room that the current box and TV

I don't want to have to move NAS, Xbox etc into the living room

Cheers

I did... just let them know you want to keep the existing modem. I have mine all set up just right and everything was connected just so... so opted to keep my modem and just connect the box to it.

how did you connect the bx to it ? wireless to your old router?

I connected via ethernet, but you can connect it to your existing wireless network.

Also, I would recommend NOT having the box scan your network for media. I found it really slowed the box down!

I connected via ethernet, but you can connect it to your existing wireless network.

Also, I would recommend NOT having the box scan your network for media. I found it really slowed the box down!

ah...I have one of those power things..that should work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,274 ✭✭✭MrVestek

ah...I have one of those power things..that should work

I wouldn't rely on those being very fast though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 fumancu

crap they didnt give me that option they said i had to give modem back just got this in dismorning am i able to buy my own router

Achilles wrote: »
    I wouldn't rely on those being very fast though.

Depends on which ones you have / quality of your power lines. I'm in an apartment and have 500megabit adapters and get between 80-100 at the opposite end of the apt (and faster depending on what else is turned on at the time). In saying that, the 500mb ones are expensive, but needed them as 200mb ones couldn't hand streaming HD content from my NAS drives.

Spoke to a bloke who asked why do I want to keep old modem...as everything is consolidated onto new box...he didn't get it at all....

Should I just tell the installer.?

Spoke to a bloke who asked why do I want to keep old modem...as everything is consolidated onto new box...he didn't get it at all....

I guess so! I self installed before the trial so not sure how they are doing it now tbh!

Depends on which ones you have / quality of your power lines. I'm in an apartment and have 500megabit adapters and get between 80-100 at the opposite end of the apt (and faster depending on what else is turned on at the time). In saying that, the 500mb ones are expensive, but needed them as 200mb ones couldn't hand streaming HD content from my NAS drives.

I stream HD / 3D movies via my NAS on Wireless network and have no issues.

I could connect the new box wireless to my Network

I stream HD / 3D movies via my NAS on Wireless network and have no issues.

I could connect the new box wireless to my Network

Fair enough... I was getting 40+megabit throughput on HD movies with DTS and was causing buffering, so upgraded my adapters to handle 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

grimm2005 wrote: »
    One thing I should mention, that they told me that I was on a 120mb connection and that I'd either have to move down to 100mb or upto 150mb for an extra €5 a month. Since I was never notified or even knew that I was given an upgrade to 120mb I just asked to go back to 100mb.

Thanks grimm. In the last round of "free" upgrades I was told I'll be automatically being upgraded to 150Mbps, but I don't think it's happened yet.

Will call them to be doubly-sure it's not a new contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭kitsy13

How long in general does the horizon sign up email take to come through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭thefishone

Definitely tell the installer,there should be no problem connecting the horizon box
    to your current setup.If they say no way,then at least hold onto your router.