Gun On the Street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Hownowcow wrote: »
    I personally believe he is a knowall from his tone and attitude. I believe he could have made his point in a reasonable manner.
    He sounds nervous to me, probably has a lot of adrenaline going on. I'd say going hyper-assertive is his way of coping with the bricks he's about to shit. The rapid speech and stumbling over his words, he really doesn't sound comfortable.
    I'm usually non-confrontational, so I can sympathise with what he's going through physically, he probably walked away from that shaking and in need of a lie down. That's my reading of it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

Correlation doesn't imply causation.

Well in that case it can't be argued that US gun laws are responsible for high murder rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Palmy

From the first video the guy needs to stop being a jerk...Man up and realise the Police are just doing their job (which is very dangerous in the States and any country when it involves firearms.) stop trying to provoke a reaction and stop trying to be a big man because you can rattle of a few legal laws and you may have been to college.
    Tell you what buddy if want to be a big man and are so concerned about your legal rights go serve your country.Don't make a fool out of al the hundreds of thousands of service Men and Woman over the years who have given their lives to give you this right...Grow a set.

Palmy wrote: »
    It's the same here,yes you can legally do it.
    It's simple ,guns being carried this way make's people nervous.

Exactly, I never understood why people open carry, if you can get CCW do it, you don't even need one in AZ, everybody can conceal.
    No good can come from having your gun on display, its misguided to think it will put off any bad guys, its far more likely to attract them, they can approach and keep eyes on the gun at all times,and they can disarm you before you even see them.
    Concealed is the way to go, nobody knows who has a gun, and you can comfortably carry without people looking at you like you have 2 heads.

Nino Brown+

You hit the nail on the head.Anyone who does open carrying is doing so to provoke a reaction. Which potentionally can get you killed.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Hownowcow wrote: »
    From what I saw on the video, the police received a report that there was a guy walking around with a gun. I believe that they had a duty to investigate the report. I believe they did investigate the report and satisified themselves that there was no threat to anyone or unlawful behaviour.

There are probably less intrusive ways of doing this.

There was a determined push by the open carry movement in San Diego over the last few years to desensitize the citizenry and police to people wearing firearms (Especially since CCW is not routinely issued, so the only way to be armed was openly). So, they'd be found in the Gaslamp district, walking the beach boardwalk, down the restaurants etc. This wasn't, as Palmy suggests, specifically to provoke a reaction. Though they knew they would probably get one, it wasn't the end goal.

They were nice enough to notify the police when they were having their meetings (again, expecting a reaction). When they first started, sure enough, the calls came in, and the police were dispatched, stopped the citizens, and investigated. Eventually, SDPD had enough of the calls, and simply dispatched an officer or two to always hang around the group, so that citizens would see they didn't need to call the cops all the time. (See http://www.calgunlawyers.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/wolanyk.jpg , notice background) Finally, SDPD realized that there were probably better things for their officers to be doing than babysitting a group of people who were going out to lunch for a couple of hours, and they started letting the dispatchers filter the calls. The conversation would go like this:
    "911"
    "There are people with guns standing out front of Starbucks"
    "Is it a robbery?"
    "No, but they have guns"
    "Are they threatening anyone? Are they shouting? Are they brandishing the guns?"
    "No"
    "Are they wearing guns in their holsters?"
    "Yes."
    "Sir/Ma'am, it's legal."
    "It is?!"
    "Yes, Sir/Ma'am."
    "Are you going to send anyone?"
    "No, Sir/Ma'am. We're not going to send an officer to check on people who are acting legally"

Man-with-gun calls can be handled that way, by simply driving by and looking as aaakev described, it is not necessary to actually stop someone to evaluate a call.
    Exactly, I never understood why people open carry, if you can get CCW do it, you don't even need one in AZ, everybody can conceal.

One advantage to openly carrying in AZ... Given the weather in the summer, it can be a bit tricky to effectively conceal without having to wear enough clothing to make you stand out or give you heatstroke. Happily, open carry is legal in AZ for those who don't want to worry about if their sidearm is effectively hidden under their T-shirt and shorts.
    No good can come from having your gun on display

Although California is a minority case (as one of six 'shall-issue' States), it is quite likely that the open carry movement here has achieved a fair bit of good. As it currently stands, Sheriffs have full discretion over whether or not to grant you a Statewide CCW permit. Some require that you have a pulse, others that you donated to their election campaign. A lawsuit last year failed on the grounds that the Judge believed that as it was legal to openly carry a weapon (with ammo on your belt), it met the requirement to allow citizens to be armed, and the CCW issuance system was let stand. The open carry movement, particularly in LA and Sacramento, was very effective in garnering negative press (Unlike San Diego, where it went generally unremarked), and the State legislature eventually banned the practice a few months ago. Under the legal precedent now set, it is believed that California shall now become a shall-issue State, after the next court case which is currently in the system is decided. This was a known likely outcome when the open carry movement rejuvenated a few years ago: Most of us would prefer to carry concealed, if given a choice. (I was turned down by my Sheriff, for example. Apparently as an Army officer with a top secret security clearance and 'expert' marksmanship scores, I don't meet her standards for a permit)
    Tell you what buddy if want to be a big man and are so concerned about your legal rights go serve your country

Well, it hasn't done me any good in the firearms respect. Secondly, last I checked, service isn't a pre-requisite to being concerned about your rights. thirdly, I'm not alone. This one came over the wire about a month ago.

http://dailycaller.com/2013/04/12/police-anti-gun-prosecutor-clash-with-soldiers-in-area-around-fort-hood-video/

Fort Hood sergeant (in civvies) and his son are out to go hunting. AR-15 (or similar) on shoulder. Police are called, and intercept him. High point of conversation (if you don't want to bother with the video)

"When you alarm people, and they call us then we come and investigate"
    "And did you explain to them what the law is, sir?”
    "They don’t care what the law is”
    "Do you care what the law is?”
    "In this day and age, they’re alarmed when they see somebody with what you have"
    "Just because a guy has got a firearm, he’s dangerous?"
    "Yes, sir."

This is the wrong attitude. If the citizenry have a problem with something, they have their own mechanisms of addressing it. Getting the police involved when people are legally minding their own business is a mockery of the concept of people who take an effort to research and follow the law, instead pandering to the ignorant.

I understand what you're saying. People should have a right to go about their business without being stopped by the police. But that being said, I really don't see the point in people getting so defensive about being asked a few questions. If I was stopped by the police in the states, it would be have been much easier to be polite, show the officer my CCW and be on my way. Rather than wasting time spouting off laws and precedents and antagonizing somebody who I may need help from someday.
    Likewise in Ireland, I have a legal right to carry my gun when going hunting, but I also understand that the Gardai need to be sure that somebody walking around with a gun isn't going to harm anybody. So if they want a quick chat to make sure I'm coherent and sane, which at the end of the day is all the cop in the video was trying to do, then I'm okay with that.
    For example, I'd be okay with a sane sober guy walking through my neighborhood with a gun, if it's legally held, its his right. Now I wouldn't be so happy about an guy walking through my neighborhood, with a legally held firearm who has mental problems and is off his head on meth, if the cops cant stop people and ask a few civil questions how is anybody supposed to know the difference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Nino Brown wrote: »
    I understand what you're saying. People should have a right to go about their business without being stopped by the police. But that being said, I really don't see the point in people getting so defensive about being asked a few questions. If I was stopped by the police in the states, it would be have been much easier to be polite, show the officer my CCW and be on my way. Rather than wasting time spouting off laws and precedents and antagonizing somebody who I may need help from someday.
    Likewise in Ireland, I have a legal right to carry my gun when going hunting, but I also understand that the Gardai need to be sure that somebody walking around with a gun isn't going to harm anybody. So if they want a quick chat to make sure I'm coherent and sane, which at the end of the day is all the cop in the video was trying to do, then I'm okay with that.
    For example, I'd be okay with a sane sober guy walking through my neighborhood with a gun, if it's legally held, its his right. Now I wouldn't be so happy about an guy walking through my neighborhood, with a legally held firearm who has mental problems and is off his head on meth, if the cops cant stop people and ask a few civil questions how is anybody supposed to know the difference?

I'm not saying I 'agree' with it; and the American's are awfully hypocritical/inconsistent in their laws and policies...but the core idea is that someone is 'innocent until proven guilty'.

If a cop stops you to 'see if you are sane'; what they are really doing is saying, 'Until we talk to UCDVet and make sure he's sane, we don't know if he is. He could be a threat...'

That is essentially 'guilty until proven innocent'. And again, I'm not saying either is better than the other. In a reasonable culture, I think 'guilty until proven innocent' can be applied reasonably. It's the cornerstone of the, 'If you don't have anything to hide, why not let them search you?' argument.

A lot of people are cool with that. And a lot of American's are fine with it too - even though it goes against the beliefs the country was founded on. If they go to an airport - they pretty much give up that right....because (whether true or not) people feel safer when everyone else has to 'prove' they aren't carrying a weapon by going through a metal detector - rather than assuming everyone isn't.

But yeah - for a lot of people, the principal behind it is really important to them. So they are willing to go through a lot of crap to try and stand up for it. I remember a court case in the US where a guy was stopped by a police officer and asked for his id. The guy explained that he was under no legal obligation to do so, and politely declined. Out of principal. The cop kept asking, and he kept refusing, so the cop arrested him. The entire time, he had a perfectly valid, legal ID in his pocket.

He went to jail and spent months fighting a legal battle, the entire time being 100% right. He wasn't rich or famous or anything either, he was just some guy who was doing what he felt was important.

UCDVet wrote: »
    But yeah - for a lot of people, the principal behind it is really important to them. So they are willing to go through a lot of crap to try and stand up for it. I remember a court case in the US where a guy was stopped by a police officer and asked for his id. The guy explained that he was under no legal obligation to do so, and politely declined. Out of principal. The cop kept asking, and he kept refusing, so the cop arrested him. The entire time, he had a perfectly valid, legal ID in his pocket.

He went to jail and spent months fighting a legal battle, the entire time being 100% right. He wasn't rich or famous or anything either, he was just some guy who was doing what he felt was important.

I totally get that, if somebody feels that strongly about it they should stand up for themselves, and fair play to that guy that went to prison for what he believed in, and I understand the guy in video too.
    I just don't think being asked for ID by police when carrying a gun is worth fighting for, in fact I would argue that as long as people aren't being harassed its for the greater good. It takes maybe 1 min of your time to show your ID/license and be on your way.
    Everybody has things they think are worth fighting for, and the right to not have to show somebody a piece of plastic is just not on my list.

That's what the end result is...Great you proved a point..Most of these people are out to prove a point..Who else goes out armed with a video camera and ready to record.
    I have only lived here for a some short period of time and in this time frame have had a murder in my Apartment complex involving the use of a firearm.(in a very nice gated community)and alo a friend had someone shot at a hotel they work at buy a guy who when arrrested told police that he new that day he was going to kill someone.These two incidents happened at 3pm on a Saturday afternnoon and 2.30 pm on Sunday afternoon.I agree with the gun laws here and know i can protect myself and family if i need too and the Law will be on my side.But just feel it is wrong to go out to once again try and provoke a reaction so you can put it on YouTube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Aced_Up

It baffles me also, but I think it is because our culture is so different. I mean, I do my daily stuff and sleep without a thought of 'where is my gun, is it safe' or 'am I safe without my gun'...which is brilliant for me and im sure all that live here.

There was one guy on youtube, open carrying an assault rifle in public while in the countryside with his very young son. A police officer approached him after a complaint. The father was annoyed and would not comply with the officers request to see ID or identify himself. The comments were all pro-gun without any thought of this guy couldve been not in sane mind with his son... it has happened where a father kills all of the family...

So, this was where I was gobsmacked and could not at all understand why they were blindly defending the father. OK, he has rights... but if it was me, I would be happy to comply, the police officer is merely looking out for the general public and more importantly, my son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

UCDVet wrote: »

I'm sorry but that man must have had a seriously convoluted and distorted view of what is important. He went to jail to prove a point that he shouldn't have had to provide id for the cop? What point was he proving by going to jail other than that he was a pompous prick? What difference did he expect to make by going to jail? Who did he feel he was helping out in doing this?

I have no problem with someone standing up for what they believe in once it is something worth standing up for. By going to jail that man made a big deal out of nothing. All it shows of him is that he is too immature to take a bit of responsibility and show a bit of respect (for himself as well as the cop). He could have manned up and dealt with it maturely and realized that it was as simple as showing the cop the id and he could have been on his merry way. However he decided against this mature way of dealing with the situation and went to jail for it. It's just plain stupidity. There is no necessity to take things like that to this extreme. Being as stubborn as that is not a trait to be admired.

I can see that you are just going to reply to this saying "oh but he was standing up for what he believed in" or "It was his right". Is it really his right to waste months of time trying to prove a fickle point so that he can go home at night and feel smug about himself? This man obviously just had a greatly bloated sense of self-importance.

Palmy wrote: »
    But just feel it is wrong to go out to once again try and provoke a reaction so you can put it on YouTube.

That may not be the ultimate goal, though. Open carry, as I exampled earlier, could be part of a political process. And the recording may well be as much for their own protection as anything else: Their only defense in court if there ever is something strange going on which results in his being in that situation will be their own camera footage.
    The comments were all pro-gun without any thought of this guy couldve been not in sane mind with his son...

What, so now everyone is to be treated as potentially insane until proven otherwise?
    It takes maybe 1 min of your time to show your ID/license and be on your way.

This is true, but how valuable is your time?

I, like most people, usually have somewhere that I need or want to be when I'm driving. The response to "May I look in the trunk" is normally going to be "yes", just so I can get going. But since I'm kindof fond of my 4th Amendment right, on the rare occasion that I'm able to sit around for a half-hour on principle, I'll say 'no'. It is not a pro-forma request.

It doesn't need to be for a right either, I'll stand on principle on most anything. I blocked the gate of the largest US base in Iraq with my tank for twenty minutes because I didn't agree with a daft policy on weapons clearance procedures there. And I had been out for three days and would much rather have been fed and showered, but I felt that making a point was more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

But since I'm kindof fond of my 4th Amendment right, on the rare occasion that I'm able to sit around for a half-hour on principle, I'll say 'no'. It is not a pro-forma request.

It doesn't need to be for a right either, I'll stand on principle on most anything. I blocked the gate of the largest US base in Iraq with my tank for twenty minutes because I didn't agree with a daft policy on weapons clearance procedures there. And I had been out for three days and would much rather have been fed and showered, but I felt that making a point was more important.

You don't sound like much fun....

I can be pretty dry all right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Aced_Up

That may not be the ultimate goal, though. Open carry, as I exampled earlier, could be part of a political process. And the recording may well be as much for their own protection as anything else: Their only defense in court if there ever is something strange going on which results in his being in that situation will be their own camera footage.

What, so now everyone is to be treated as potentially insane until proven otherwise?.

Well, given the 'situation I mentioned, then yes...I would rather that was the case. If the officer makes a judgement when asking for ID that the 'open-carrier' appears to be sane... that would make me feel safer (in that environment).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

SeaDaily wrote: »
    But killing someone with a gun and a knife are so different. It's so easy to pull the trigger of a gun. Not so easy to stab someone to death.

Really, have you ever pointed a gun at someone with the likelihood that you may have to squeeze the trigger?.. Or worse case scenario have you ever had to shoot at someone?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

What, so now everyone is to be treated as potentially insane until proven otherwise?

I believe it is something we should all be cleared of. I know I passed the test... :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

aaakev wrote: »
    I regularly carry a gun in public when going hunting i could have my rifle slung over my shoulder walking along some main roads. Do you think that is wrong?

If I saw you walking through the streets of Dublin/Galway/Cork/Limerick with a hunting rifle I would make myself scarce very quickly. Out the country I wouldn't think twice about it. I've gone hunting with friends many times when I was younger.

I am not sure about this aspect gun law in America. I can see the points of the proponents that it is a right for US citizens. It seems crazy however, that this man can walk through a city street with gun in hand and not be asked to prove he holds it legally and to provide a licence/permit or even an id card. Had he been a criminal planning to use the gun in a violent crime this act alone could have discouraged him. Fair play to the police men in this situation. They ascertained that the man was not a threat and let him on his way. I hope the man's attitude does not put them off approaching and questioning all persons with carrying guns.

One of the you tube comments was from a person from that city and he said that if a person wants to carry a legally held firearm in public, then it must not be concealed. It must be held in plain view unless that person has a special permit to conceal. I would feel very nervous in a situation where I saw a person walking towards me with a gun in hand, especially if I know that the police have no power to even check for a permit.

It seems crazy however, that this man can walk through a city street with gun in hand and not be asked to prove he holds it legally and to provide a licence/permit or even an id card.

Why?

It is estimated that there are some 2 million unlicensed drivers in California alone (and about 24 million licensed). In other words, just under one in ten people in California are driving illegally. They are almost three times as likely to have an accident as a licensed driver (according to CA DMV), and cars kill more people in the US than firearms do. Is it reasonable for police to start randomly pulling people over to see if they have a driver's license? After all, if they have one, it only takes a minute or two, and 2,800 people were killed on California's roads in 2011. Doing some quick maths, finding those illegal drivers would save some 500 lives a year.

But no. It is an established law that police in the US cannot arbitrarily pull people over absent any evidence of wrongdoing. If you have done nothing wrong, and have given no indication of doing anything wrong, then you should enjoy the priviliges of protection against search and detention.

The courts have addressed this for firearms as well. The Supreme Court, for example, has ruled that police may not search a man not displaying a weapon, even if an anonymous tip came in explicitly identifying him as having one.

More directly on point, the 4th Circuit last month (One level below the Supreme Court) unanimously ruled that carrying a gun in a place where it is legal to do so is not sufficient grounds to stop the firearms holder.

Excerpt:
    The Government contends that because other laws prevent convicted felons from possessing guns, the officers could not know whether Troupe was lawfully in possession of the gun until they performed a records check. Additionally, the Government avers it would be "foolhardy" for the officers to "go about their business while allowing a stranger in their midst to possess a firearm." We are not persuaded.
    Being a felon in possession of a firearm is not the default status. More importantly, where a state permits individuals to openly carry firearms, the exercise of this right, without more, cannot justify an investigatory detention. Permitting such a justification would eviscerate Fourth Amendment protections
    for lawfully armed individuals in those states.

The 4th Circuit covers North and South Carolina, Virginia, and Maryland.

The 3rd Circuit ruled in a similar case in 2000, that covers New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware. (And the Virgin Islands, where the case originated). In this case, the court stated
    This situation is no different than if Lockhart had told the officers that Ubiles possessed a wallet, a perfectly legal act in the Virgin Islands, and the
    authorities had stopped him for this reason. Though a search of that wallet
    may have revealed counterfeit bills-the possession of which is a crime under
    United States law, see 18 U.S.C. § 471-72-the officers would have had no
    justification to stop Ubiles based merely on information that he possessed a
    wallet

Going further back, the 10th Circuit in 1993 also found that an investigatory detention initiated by an officer after he discovered that the defendant lawfully possessed a loaded firearm lacked sufficient basis because the firearm alone did not create a reasonable suspicion of criminal activity. That covers Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah and Wyoming.

Although that leaves still 37 States where Federal courts have not issued an opinion, State courts have also issued rulings, so I know you can add Washington, Arizona, Georgia Wisconsin, South Dakota, and Florida to the list that this issue has been settled.
    Had he been a criminal planning to use the gun in a violent crime this act alone could have discouraged him.

Had he been a criminal planning to use a gun in a violent crime, he could also have concealed his firearm and avoided police interference that way too.
    Fair play to the police men in this situation. They ascertained that the man was not a threat and let him on his way. I hope the man's attitude does not put them off approaching and questioning all persons with carrying guns.

I doubt it will.
    The question is if the courts will do so.
    One of the you tube comments was from a person from that city and he said that if a person wants to carry a legally held firearm in public, then it must not be concealed. It must be held in plain view unless that person has a special permit to conceal. I would feel very nervous in a situation where I saw a person walking towards me with a gun in hand, especially if I know that the police have no power to even check for a permit.

Again, the people you want to be nervous about tend to carry their firearms concealed. Usually because they're prohibited from carrying one in the first place. The courts have left the open or concealed debate up to the various State legislatures, as they can best decide which is the best method to permit in their State. The 'traditional' view is that carrying concealed weapons is the act of scoundrels and miscreants, lawfully armed people have nothing to hide. The 'modern' view is that guns scare people, and in the interests of not panicking people, weapons should be concealed.

That said, most States don't care, and permit either/or.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I live in New Mexico and have seen open carry by non-uniformed people precisely three times in 18 months. One a guy having lunch in an unlicensed restaurant and two fellas on motorcycles (seem to make sense to carry a firearm holstered on your hip riding a bike rather than the risk of rashing wth the gun inside your shirt/jacket.)

If it is is legal, which it is in my state - what is the problem? 100 years ago it was suspicious to hide your firearm rather than carrying it 'cowboy' style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

Why?

It is estimated that there are some 2 million unlicensed drivers in California alone (and about 24 million licensed). In other words, just under one in ten people in California are driving illegally. They are almost three times as likely to have an accident as a licensed driver (according to CA DMV), and cars kill more people in the US than firearms do. Is it reasonable for police to start randomly pulling people over to see if they have a driver's license? After all, if they have one, it only takes a minute or two, and 2,800 people were killed on California's roads in 2011. Doing some quick maths, finding those illegal drivers would save some 500 lives a year.

But no. It is an established law that police in the US cannot arbitrarily pull people over absent any evidence of wrongdoing. If you have done nothing wrong, and have given no indication of doing anything wrong, then you should enjoy the priviliges of protection against search and detention.

If that is the case then I would personally vote for policies that allow for police to have check points to check for licence etc. as they do here. I however am Irish and do not live in America. Americans can vote for whatever laws and legislation they wish and I respect that.

Again, the people you want to be nervous about tend to carry their firearms concealed. Usually because they're prohibited from carrying one in the first place. The courts have left the open or concealed debate up to the various State legislatures, as they can best decide which is the best method to permit in their State. The 'traditional' view is that carrying concealed weapons is the act of scoundrels and miscreants, lawfully armed people have nothing to hide. The 'modern' view is that guns scare people, and in the interests of not panicking people, weapons should be concealed.

Perhaps it is because it is something that is foreign to me; seeing someone walking the city streets with a handgun. As I said I would not feel worried in the slightest walking by people out the country with hunting rifles/shotguns as the guns are tools used for utility/enjoyment. The only reason I could imagine someone having a handgun walking around the city streets is for protection purposes. Maybe I'm coming at it from a view point of others carrying a gun and me being unarmed. Perhaps if I was an American citizen I would carry one myself and feel that the playing field is levelled. I could imagine that if that was the norm here then I would not be nervous about the situation.

I am the type of person who likes to be strong and fit and I train on and off in Muay Thai both for the sporting aspect and so I feel confident in my ability to protect myself and those dear to me if needs be. If handguns were the norm here I would probably make sure I had one and that I was very good at using it. I am personally glad they are not the norm here but that is just my preference.

Anyway thanks for replying to my post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Having watched the video in the OP I'm in two-minds.

While I wouldn't want it for Ireland, guns are far more available and legal in the US and I broadly support the right for people to have and carry guns around, in principle. As I say, not a fan of it, don't think it's clever but would support someone's right to do it.

BUT, I don't support someones right to be a dick about it. If a man is seen wandering about with a gun in his possession it's reasonable for people to be somewhat concerned and for police to confront him and let him know that people have been alarmed by it.

The guy in the video is clearly making his political point (and videoing it) but wins zero sympathy from me for the way he goes about it. He essentially has no empathy for his fellow citizens and how they might feel seeing a man with a gun wander their streets. He's all about his rights to open-carry. He's not gonna win friends like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Reindeer

SeaDaily wrote: »
    But killing someone with a gun and a knife are so different. It's so easy to pull the trigger of a gun. Not so easy to stab someone to death. This argument that people are going to murder no matter what is so tiresome.

And just a question to all those defending the place of guns in American society: if it were up to you would you legalize guns in Ireland?

When in Ireland, I do not carry a gun, and I do not feel a need to. When I am back in Texas, I'll keep a gun in the house because the chances of the law showing up after a 911 call before an armed criminal has their way with me are quite low. Texas is larger than France, but has 1/3 the people and police. They simply can not protect you, and a bat and an attitude isn't gonna do the job against an armed robber most of the time. I also possess a Texas concealed carry license, but usually only carry if I am travelling. I've had more firearms training and experience than most armed police in Europe would get. I fired my first handgun when I was 8, and have won and taken part in many firearms competitions. Will a firearm insure my safety? Nothing is certain. But if I show up to my living room with a sharp stick against a burglar with a shotgun, I doubt it's the burglar they end up mopping off the floor.

America does have it's gun issues. But, until they find a way to remove all the guns from the hands of criminals first, I'd rather they not start by removing them from law abiding citizens. I very much doubt gun crime would drop when the criminals are the ones that get to be armed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭garv123

Really, have you ever pointed a gun at someone with the likelihood that you may have to squeeze the trigger?.. Or worse case scenario have you ever had to shoot at someone?.

Thats a silly question.. Everyone in After hours would pull the trigger of course... As long as it could be done using their keyboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

People need to drop this mysticism they have about guns. Guns are inanimate objects. They are not inherently evil objects predisposed to causing mayhem, they are tools and have a wide variety of purposes. Secondly people should stop characterising American gun owners as backward lunatics. Like any group in society they constitute a wide bunch. Judging someone for owning a gun is no different to judging someone for owning a motorbike or a chainsaw or a fishing rod.

I owned two guns in Ireland and used them for shooting in season as well as shooting vermin such as mink and rabbits. To me, a gun was nothing more than an implement for the above. Like any other tool I'd exercise caution using it, the same way I would when driving a car or operating a digger or using an angle grinder. In my experience (and I'm not saying everyone with concerns about guns shares this) those hysterical about guns often have little interaction with them, their uses or people who own them.

However, what I don't get about parts of the USA is the attachment to ownership of military-grade assault weapons. These are also tools, only their purpose is to inflict disproportionate harm on someone in a combat context. Whether these have a place in a peaceful society is a different argument altogether. I had a few arguments with gun owners in America about this and the only real rationale I got from them boiled down to "it's my right and I'll own one cos' I can." There was rarely a practical explanation as to why someone needed an Armalite rifle in their house beyond that.

The vast majority of people who own these guns are law-abiding people with no malicious intent, but I'd still love to hear a reason as to why they are necessary.

FTA: Define "military grade assault weapon" first, then I'll respond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Weapons that were designed for use in a military context, I think you know well what I'm referring to.

Take for an example the likes of an AR-15 or an AK-47 or a P90.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

That's because most of those places are crazy backward towns that most people choose not to live in. Allow people to carry weapons in NY or Chicago and you'd see big increases in the respective murder rates.

Chicago doesn't allow handguns to be owned/sold in the city and we set a record for murders last year,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

A Gun is a weapon. A dangerous weapon that is designed for one task only which is to harm or kill a living thing. A car, a knife, a baseball bat and many other things people refer to are either not weapons but items that have multiple purposes. To see someone carrying a weapon in a location where there is obviously no hunting game is quite intimidating and would make me question the motives of the individual or worry about where I am. If you arent hunting then you are either planning to harm someone, afraid for your safety or a dickhead trying to showoff which in that case you shouldnt be allowed to carry a weapon.

Someone with a knife or blunt object will be unable to kill mutiple people easily whereas someone with a gun can cause devastation. There is a huge difference between the two and comparing them is disengenous.